Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 14-15, and 75 are pending in the application and are the subject of this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 15 September 2025 and 20 March 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 14-15, and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson et al (WO 2014/070686 A1; previously cited) in view of Verschoor et al (US 2013/0137598 A1; previously cited), Eden et al (US 2011/0275542 A1; previously cited), and Hermann et al (US 2008/0118911 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Swanson teaches a method comprising providing a lateral flow assay (Abstract) configured for multiplex detection of two or more analytes (Par. 48), wherein the different analytes may be detected by a competitive format reaction, a sandwich format reaction, or a combination of competitive format and sandwich format on the same test strip (Par. 73).
In an exemplary embodiment of the assay, a first analyte is detected by a competitive format assay wherein the conjugate release pad comprises a first antibody specific for the analyte and conjugated to an IR or NIR dye (i.e. a first complex), and the membrane comprises an adsorbed, immobilized first stripe of a first capture reagent, which may comprise an antigen specific for the first antibody. In this format the target analyte competes with the immobilized antigen (first capture reagent) for binding to the first antibody (Par. 7-9).
Swanson further teaches that the lateral flow assay may comprise a sandwich format for the detection of additional analytes (e.g., a second and third analyte of interest as in instant claim 1). Swanson teaches that in the sandwich format, the conjugate release pad comprises an adsorbed but not immobilized conjugate comprising an antibody specific for the analyte of interest wherein the antibody is conjugated directly to an IR or NIR dye (e.g., a labeled second antibody configured to specifically bind a second analyte of interest and a labeled third antibody configured to specifically bind a third analyte of interest), and the membrane comprises an adsorbed, immobilized stripe of a capture reagent downstream from the conjugate release pad (i.e., downstream of the labeled second antibody or labeled third antibody, respectively), which comprises a capture antibody (i.e., a second immobilized capture agent specific to the second analyte and a third immobilized capture agent specific to the third analyte which form second and third capture zones), specific for a second epitope of the target analyte different from the first epitope (Par. 7-10).
Though Swanson does not explicitly teach the lateral flow assay comprising exactly three antibodies, capture zones, and analytes of interest, as in the instant claim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lateral flow assay taught by Swanson to specifically include three antibodies, capture zones, and analytes of interest, wherein the first analyte is detected by a competitive format and the second and third analytes are detected by sandwich format. Swanson teaches generically that the disclosed lateral flow assay is suitable for multiplex detection of two or more analytes (Par. 48), and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a multiplex detection assay for three target analytes in order to analyze a sample containing three different analytes of interest. Additionally, Swanson teaches that competitive format detection and sandwich format detection can be used for detection of different analytes on the same test strip and teaches that one of ordinary skill would be motivated to employ both formats on the same test strip in order to achieve accurate detection of different analytes over a high range of concentrations (Par. 92). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to detect three analytes using a competitive format for the first analyte and a sandwich format for the second and third analyte because one would be motivated to use the proper assay format for the proper target analyte, and Swanson teaches for example, that competitive format is suitable for avoiding complications caused by the hook effect for higher concentration analytes (Par. 94). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making these modifications because Swanson explicitly teaches a lateral flow assay that can be multiplexed and that may combine competitive and sandwich format detection for two or more analytes on the same test strip.
Swanson further teaches applying a fluid sample to the first complex, the labeled second antibody, and the labeled third antibody such that the second analyte becomes bound to the labeled second antibody and the third analyte becomes bound to the labeled third antibody (Par. 48: the LFA is configured for detection of two or more analytes on a single test device; Par. 92: the LFA may employ both sandwich-based detection and competitive-based detection of different analytes on the same test strip; Par. 77: the method of using the strip comprises loading the strip with a fluid sample at the conjugate release pad, wherein the target analytes present in the sample will come into contact with the first complex, and the second analyte of interest and third analyte of interest will bind to the labeled second antibody and labeled third antibody, respectively, which are disposed in the conjugate release pad, as described in Par. 7, wherein binding of the second analyte of interest to the labeled second antibody forms a second complex, and binding of the third analyte to the labeled third antibody forms a third complex).
Swanson teaches flowing the fluid sample and the first complex to the first capture zone wherein the first target analyte competes with the immobilized antigen (first capture reagent) for binding to the first antibody (Par. 7-9, 36);
Flowing the second complex and third complex to the second and third capture zones, respectively, and binding the second complex and third complex to the second immobilized capture agent in the second capture zone and the third immobilized capture agent in the third capture zone, respectively (Par. 7-10, 36);
Detecting a first signal from the first complex bound to the first immobilized capture agent in the first capture zone, a second signal from the second complex bound to the second immobilized capture agent in the second capture zone, and a third signal from the third complex bound to the third immobilized capture agent in the third capture zone (Par. 75: target analytes bound to their respective capture zones are detected by irradiating the capture zones with IR or NIR light, and detecting a resultant emission from the capture zones as an indication of the presence of the analyte-bound conjugate; Par. 104);
Correlating the first signal, the second signal, and the third signal to a concentration of the first analyte, a concentration of the second analyte, and a concentration of the third analyte in the sample, respectively (Par. 47: analyte detection can be quantitative, providing an amount of the analyte present in the sample, wherein quantitative detection of the analyte is correlated to signals read at each capture zone, as described in Par. 75 and 115; Par. 104).
Swanson differs from the instant claim in that Swanson fails to teach the specific competitive assay format comprising a first complex coupled to a flow path of the lateral flow assay, the first complex comprising a label, an antibody or a fragment thereof that specifically binds a first analyte of interest, and the first analyte.
Regarding claim 1, Verschoor teaches a lateral flow assay which may employ multiple capture zones to create a multiplex test (Par. 12). Verschoor further teaches that the lateral flow assay may comprise a competitive assay format comprising a first complex coupled to a flow path of the lateral flow assay, the first complex comprising a label, an antibody that specifically binds a first analyte of interest, and the first analyte; applying a fluid sample to the first complex; and flowing the fluid sample and the first complex to the first capture zone, where the first analyte in the fluid sample and the first complex compete to bind to the first immobilized capture agent in the first capture zone (Par. 11-12: The capture zone comprises anti-target analyte antibodies immobilized in a line on the membrane. In competitive format, the conjugate pad contains labelled antibodies that are already bound to a target analyte or to an analogue of it. If the target analyte is also present in the sample it will therefore not bind with the conjugate and will remain unlabeled. As the sample migrates along the membrane and reaches the capture zone, an excess of unlabeled analyte will bind to the immobilized antibodies and block or outcompete the capture of the conjugate so that no visible line is produced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lateral flow assay taught by Swanson to use the first complex taught by Verschoor (i.e. a first complex coupled to a flow path of the lateral flow assay, the first complex comprising a label, an antibody that binds the first analyte of interest and the first analyte) for detection of the first analyte, because this amounts to simple substitution of known elements to achieve predictable results. Swanson teaches that the disclosed competitive assay format is useful for detecting analytes at higher concentration, because the competitive format avoids complications caused by a potential hook effect at high concentrations of the target analyte (Par. 104). Swanson additionally teaches that it will be understood by those skilled in the art that various changes may be made and equivalents may be substituted without departing from the scope of the invention, and that other aspects, advantages, and modification will be apparent to those skilled in the art to which the invention pertains (Par. 96). The first complex taught by Verschoor is understood herein to be substitutable with the first complex taught by Swanson to achieve predictable results because both references disclose a competitive format lateral flow assay wherein the competitive format will serve to mitigate the hook effect at high concentrations of the first target analyte. The hook effect occurs in non-competitive assays when high concentrations of a target analyte result in a false negative test result due to an excess of unlabeled target analyte binding to the capture reagent in the capture zone. This effect is avoided in a competition assay such as those taught by both Swanson and Verschoor, because in the competitive format of Swanson, the target analyte competes with the immobilized antigen (first capture reagent) for binding to the first antibody, while in the competitive format taught by Verschoor, unlabeled analyte competes with labelled analyte-antibody complex to bind to the antibody in the capture zone. In both instances, a higher concentration of target analyte results in a lower detectable signal at the capture zone (due to reduced binding of labeled conjugate), and a lower detectable signal corresponds to a higher concentration of target analyte. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both Swanson and Verschoor are directed to multiplex lateral flow assays incorporating a competitive assay format which will mitigate the hook effect for a higher concentration analyte, and because Swanson explicitly teaches that the disclosed invention may include modifications and substitutions of equivalents recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art (Swanson, Par. 96).
In the device of Swanson in view of Verschoor as described above wherein a first analyte is detected via a competitive format and a second and third analyte are each detected via a sandwich format, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the lateral flow assay is configured such that the first signal decreases as the concentration of the first analyte in the sample increases within a range of concentration, the second signal increases as the concentration of the second analyte in the sample increases, within a range of concentration, and the third signal increases as the concentration of the third analyte in the sample increases within a range of concentration. In the lateral flow assay taught by Swanson in view of Verschoor, the first analyte is detected by competitive assay format wherein a preformed complex of labeled antibody and target analyte competes with unlabeled target analyte in the sample to bind to the first capture antibody in the capture zone (Verschoor, Par. 11-12; Swanson, Par. 104). In this format, increased concentration of the first analyte of interest in the sample will lead to relatively higher binding of unlabeled analyte in the capture zone as compared to binding of labeled analyte in the capture zone, thereby resulting in decreased signal from the capture zone. In the lateral flow assay taught by Swanson in view of Verschoor, the second and third analyte are detected by sandwich assay format wherein the second (or third) analyte of interest binds to a second (or third) labeled antibody upstream of the second (or third) capture zone to form a second (or third) complex which is then captured by the immobilized capture agent specific to the second (or third) analyte in the second (or third) capture zone. In this format, increased concentration of the second (or third) analyte in the sample results in increased binding of labeled antibody-analyte complex in the second (or third) capture zone, thereby producing increased signal.
Regarding control zones, Swanson teaches that the lateral flow assay may comprise one control zone which may comprise a single positive control zone, wherein a signal generated at the positive control zone is independent of the presence and concentration of target analytes in the sample (Par. 7-10: the membrane comprises an adsorbed immobilized first stripe of a first capture reagent and an adsorbed, immobilized second strip of a second capture reagent different from the first capture reagent, wherein the first and second stripes collectively differentiate between analyte-bound and analyte unbound conjugate. For example, in a competitive reaction scheme format the first capture reagent may comprise an antigen specific for the first antibody, and the second capture reagent may comprise a control antibody specific for the first antibody or the analyte. In a direct or double sandwich format, the first antibody may be specific for a first epitope on the analyte; the first capture reagent comprises a capture antibody specific for a second epitope on the analyte different from the first epitope, and the second capture reagent comprises a control antibody specific for the first antibody; Par. 67: in embodiments, the second stripe functions as a control stripe and is configured to indicate that the test is properly completed i.e. that conjugate has reached the second stripe. In such embodiments, the first stripe operates as the test stripe to indicate the presence or absence of analyte in the sample. The first stripe is position between the conjugate release pad and the second stripe; Par. 70-71: the LFA device may be configured for multiplex detection of at least two analytes. In the multiplexed device, the device comprises a third stripe of a third capture reagent specific for a second analyte of the sample. The third stripe may be positioned between the first stripe (for detecting a first analyte) and the second stripe (the control stripe) such that the first stripe remains closest to the conjugate release pad and the second stripe remains furthest from the conjugate release pad. In such an arrangement, the second stripe can function as a control stripe for both first and third stripes).
That is, Swanson specifically teaches that the lateral flow device can be formatted for multiplex detection of two or more analytes and that the multiplexed device can comprise a single control line, wherein the signal generated at the positive control zone is independent of the presence and concentration of the target analytes present in the sample (i.e. the control zone is positioned downstream of all test zones such that the immobilized capture reagent at the control zone may bind to labeled antibodies which have not been immobilized at the test zones and signal will be generated at the test zone to indicate proper functioning and flow of reagents on the lateral flow device, regardless of whether any of the target analytes are or are not present in the sample).
Regarding claim 1, Swanson further teaches that the first analyte of interest may comprise CRP (i.e. such that the first complex may comprise an antibody or fragment thereof that specifically binds CRP, and the first capture zone may comprise an immobilized antibody or fragment thereof that specifically binds CRP (Par. 12; Par. 102 and 104: in an example, CRP is detected at a first capture zone via a competitive format assay; Par. 94; Par. 70-72).
Swanson differs from the instant claim in that it does not explicitly teach that the second analyte of interest in Mx1 or that the third analyte of interest is PCT.
Regarding claim 1, Eden teaches a test strip which can be used to detect CRP and Mx1 and teaches that CRP and Mx1 can be used as biomarkers to detect infection (Abstract: methods of detecting infection using biomarkers; Par. 9-10: method distinguishes an infected subject from a subject with non-infectious disease or a healthy subject. The method may comprise measuring expression level of CRP or Mx1; Par. 317: detection of multiple determinants (i.e. biomarkers) can be performed on a test strip with detection sites for multiple different analytes).
Regarding claim 1, Hermann teaches a test strip device for the detection of diagnostic biomarkers, and teaches specifically that the biomarkers detected may be CRP and PCT (Par. 57, 49, 52, and 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Swanson in view of Verschoor to further include Mx1 as the second analyte of interest (such that the labeled second antibody or fragment thereof specifically binds Mx1 and the second capture zone comprises a second immobilized antibody or fragment thereof that specifically binds Mx1) and PCT as the third analyte of interest (such that the labeled third antibody or fragment thereof specifically binds PCT and the third capture zone comprises a third immobilized antibody or fragment thereof that specifically binds PCT), as taught by Eden and Hermann. Swanson teaches a multiplexed lateral flow assay which can be used for the detection of biomarkers such as CRP for diagnostic applications (Par. 70-72, 87, 94, 101-102). Eden teaches that expression levels of CRP and Mx1 can be detected on a test strip as part of a method for diagnosing infection (Par. 9-10, 205, 317). Hermann teaches that a test strip can be used to detect CRP and/or PCT in a sample wherein these markers may be associated with infection (Par. 49, 52, 54, 57). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification for the purpose of simultaneously detecting CRP, Mx1 and PCT as clinically relevant biomarkers of infection (see Eden, Abstract, Par. 9-10; see Hermann, Par. 27). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both Swanson, Eden, and Hermann all disclose test strips which can be used to measure CRP and other analytes in a biological sample.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a competitive format assay for the detection of CRP and a sandwich format assay for the detection of Mx1 and PCT, because CRP is generally present at higher concentrations, and Swanson teaches that competitive format assays are advantageous for overcoming the hook effect for higher concentration analytes, and teaches that a combination of competitive format and sandwich format may be used to detect higher and lower concentration analytes on a single multiplexed test strip (Par. 3, 85, 92-95). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in formatting the device in this way because it follows directly from the teachings of Swanson that competitive and sandwich assays may be present on the same lateral flow device.
Regarding claims 1, 3-4, and 75 Swanson further teaches the method wherein the amount of the first complex, the amount of the labeled second antibody or fragment thereof, and the amount of the labeled third antibody or fragment thereof are such that the lateral flow assay is capable of generating a first signal, second signal, and third signal that correlate to the first analyte being present in the sample at a concentration at least six (or at least seven) orders of magnitude greater than the concentration of the second analyte and the third analyte present in the sample (Par. 12: the assay may be multiplexed for detection of two or more analytes; Par. 102 and 104: in an exemplary embodiment, the lateral flow assay may be used for multiplex detection of CRP and IL-6, wherein CRP concentrations in healthy and sick patients may range in concentration from 0.05-200 ug/ml and IL-6 concentration in human plasma is normally at a concentration of 0.1-100 pg/ml; wherein CRP is detected at a first capture zone via competitive assay and IL-6 is detected at a second capture zone via sandwich assay (Par. 104, 94)).
This range of concentrations covers at least six (or at least seven) orders of magnitude, such that the device taught by Swanson in view of Verschoor is understood to be capable of detecting and generating signal for a first analyte detected by competitive assay and a second and third analyte detected by sandwich assays, wherein the concentration of the first analyte is at least six (or at least seven) orders of magnitude greater than the concentrations of the second and third analytes. Detection of analytes across this broad range of concentrations is a specific focus of the invention of Swanson, and is particularly relevant to an embodiment for the detection of CRP, Mx1, and PCT as discussed above, since CRP may be present at a much higher concentration than the other two analytes (Swanson Par. 3, 85, 92-95, 101; Eden Par. 164).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Swanson further teaches indicating a disease condition, a non-disease condition, or no condition based on the respective concentrations of the first analyte, the second analyte, and the third analyte (Swanson teaches that the disclosed lateral flow assay can detect presence and concentration of different biomarkers which can be used to aid diagnosis, predict future illness, evaluate disease states, and predict responsiveness to therapies in Par. 87 and 102). In the particular device of Swanson in view of Verschoor, Eden, and Hermann which detects CRP, Mx1, and PCT, the conditions evaluated may be viral or bacterial infection or inflammation, since Swanson, Eden, and Hermann all collectively teach that these are biomarkers associated with infection (Hermann Par. 27: PCT may be detected as a general inflammatory marker in case of the diagnosis of particular infections; Par. 54: PCT may be used as a prognostic parameter selective for bacterial infections; Par. 49, 52: CRP as a routine inflammatory parameter; Eden, Fig. 4A-4E, Par. 9-10, 205: biomarkers useful in diagnosing viral infection vs bacterial infection vs no infection include the expression level of CRP and Mx1; Par. 165: CRP levels in the blood may rise in response to inflammation. PCT may be used as a more sensitive and specific marker or infection; Swanson Par. 101: CRP is synthesized in the liver in response to inflammation and is recommended as a biomarker of infection, cardiovascular risk, trauma, tissue necrosis, autoimmunity, and some cancers). Such that from the collected teachings one of ordinary skill in the art can conclude that a reading which comprises elevated Mx1 and/or PCT is indicative of a viral or bacterial infection, while a reading which comprises elevated CRP without elevation of either Mx1 or PCT is indicative of inflammation but not indicative of viral or bacterial infection and a reading which comprises normal levels of all three biomarkers would be indicative of no condition. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such diagnostic conclusions for the purpose of diagnosing disease conditions and infections, and would have a reasonable expectation of success in drawing these conclusions based on the teachings of the prior art regarding these particular biomarkers.
Regarding claim 14, Swanson further teaches the method wherein the sample is a whole blood sample, a venous blood sample, a capillary blood sample, a serum sample, or a plasma sample (Par. 11).
Regarding claim 15, Swanson further teaches the method wherein the sample is not diluted prior to applying the sample to the lateral flow assay (Par. 50: the sample may be blood or a blood component such as plasma, or may be blood or a blood component diluted with an aqueous solution (wherein specification that the sample may be blood or a blood component OR may be diluted, indicates an embodiment wherein the sample is blood or a blood component that is not diluted)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments 20 March 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 112(b) rejections are persuasive, and the 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Regarding the 103 rejections, Applicant argues that Swanson is insufficient to teach a positive control zone wherein “a signal generated at the positive control zone is independent of a presence and concentration of” the target analytes. Applicant argues that because the positive control zone binds to conjugate which is not bound at the test line, signal generated at the positive control zone is not independent of the presence and concentration of the target analytes. This argument is not persuasive.
Swanson at Par. 67 teaches: “the second stripe functions as a control stripe and is configured to indicate that the test is properly complete – i.e. that conjugate has reached the second stripe” which requires that signal is generated at the positive control zone regardless of whether the target analytes are present in the sample. Thus, the positive control zone and test zone differentiate between bound analyte bound conjugate (which binds to the test zone) and analyte unbound conjugate (which can only bind to the control zone and not the test zone). This teaching requires that there is an excess of conjugate present on the test strip than could be bound at the test line, such that signal is generated at the control line to indicate proper function of the test strip independent of the presence of target analytes. As such, proper design and function of the control line taught by Swanson requires an excess of conjugate such that conjugate can saturate and produce signal at the control line regardless of the concentration of target analyte in the sample. Applicant’s argument that the control line binds to conjugate that is not bound at the test line is not sufficient to indicate that this relationship changes the signal generated at the control line based on the presence and concentration of analyte in the sample. The 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLIS FOLLETT LUSI/Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/CHRISTOPHER L CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677