DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, and 7-20 are currently pending. Claims 2 and 4-6 are cancelled. The amended claim 1 does overcome the previously stated 103 rejections based upon Lee, Heo, and Umeyama. However, the amended claim 1 does not overcome the previously stated 103 rejections based upon Lee, Kim, and Umeyama. Therefore, upon further consideration, claims 1, 3, and 7-20 are rejected under the following 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2015/0111091) in view of Kim (US 2005/0221178), and further in view of Umeyama et al (US 2017/0271709).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 8, and 12, Lee et al discloses a secondary battery “100” comprising:
an electrode assembly “120” comprising a first electrode plate “121” (positive electrode plate) having first non-coating portions “121a” (positive electrode non-coating portion), a second electrode plate “122” (negative electrode plate) having second non-coating portions “122a” (negative electrode non-coating portion), and a separator “123” between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate, the first non-coating portion and the second non-coating portion being exposed at opposite sides of the electrode assembly;
a case “110” having a top opening and an internal space accommodating the electrode assembly;
a cap plate “160” sealing the top opening of the case;
a first collector plate “132a” & “134a” (positive electrode current collector plate) perpendicular to the first non-coating portion and welded to the first non-coating portion along a first welding line;
a second collector plate “132b” & “134b” (negative electrode current collector plate) perpendicular to the second non-coating portion and welded to the second non-coating portion along a second welding line;
a first terminal “170a” (positive electrode terminal) on the cap plate and electrically connected to the first collector plate; and
a second terminal “170b” (negative electrode terminal) on the cap plate and electrically connected to the second collector plate;
wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a second separator “123”, and wherein the first electrode plate “121”, the separator “123”, the second electrode plate “122”, and the second separator “123” are sequentially stacked;
wherein the first welding line joining the first collector plate to the first non-coating portion extends widthwise along the first collector plate is perpendicular to a height direction of the first non-coating portion, and wherein the second welding line joining the second collector plate to the second non-coating portion extends widthwise along the second collector plate is perpendicular to a height direction of the second non-coating portion;
wherein at least one of the first collector plate and the second collector plate has an area equivalent to a cross sectional area of the electrode assembly; wherein the first non-coating portion is in line-contact with the first collector plate; wherein the second non-coating portion is in line-contact with the second collector plate ([0049],[0053], [0054],[0062],[0063],[0069],[0092] and Fig. 1b and 5d).
However, Lee et al does not expressly teach a first welding line joining the positive electrode current collector plate to the positive electrode non-coating portion extending in a continuous line widthwise along the positive electrode current collector plate, and a second welding line joining the negative electrode current collector plate to the negative electrode non-coating portion extending in a continuous line widthwise along the negative electrode current collector plate, wherein the first welding line has a width substantially equal to a width of the electrode assembly, and wherein the secondary battery does not include a component between the positive electrode current collector plate and the electrode assembly (claim 1); wherein the first welding line comprises a plurality of first welding lines, which are spaced apart along a direction parallel to the edge of the positive electrode non-coating portion and/or second welding line comprises a plurality of second welding lines, which are spaced apart along a direction parallel to the edge of the negative electrode non-coating portion (claim 12).
Kim discloses a welded portion “40” (first welding line / second welding line) that is formed by laser welding on each of the collector plates “10”, “12”, wherein the welded portion has a width substantially equal to a width of the electrode assembly; wherein the welded portion comprises a plurality of first welding lines, which are spaced apart along a direction parallel to the edge of the positive electrode non-coating portion and/or second welding line comprises a plurality of second welding lines, which are spaced apart along a direction parallel to the edge of the negative electrode non-coating portion; wherein the secondary battery does not include a component between the positive collector plate “10” (positive electrode current collector plate) and the electrode assembly “8” ([0048],[0058] and Figs. 1 and 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Lee secondary battery to include a first welding line joining the first collector plate to the first non-coating portion extending in a continuous line widthwise along the first collector plate, and a second welding line joining the second collector plate to the second non-coating portion extending in a continuous line widthwise along the second collector plate, wherein the first welding line has a width substantially equal to a width of the electrode assembly, wherein the secondary battery does not include a component between the positive electrode current collector plate and the electrode assembly in order to easily attached collector plates without decreasing the collection efficiency of the electrical current even if the lengths of the positive uncoated region and the negative uncoated region exposed outside separator are not lengthened to the length necessary for attaching separate leads to the uncoated regions ([0060]).
However, Lee et al as modified by Kim does not expressly teach a positive electrode current collector plate that is fused to the positive electrode non-coating portion along the first weld line by a laser with an intensity not completely fusing the positive electrode current collector plate (claim 1).
Umeyama et al teaches the concept of adjusting the power output of a laser beam so that a plurality of current collector foils protruding from the first end portion in the second extension direction are fused only partially in the second extension direction
([0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Lee/Kim secondary battery to include a positive electrode current collector plate that is fused to the positive electrode non-coating portion along the first weld line by a laser with an intensity not completely fusing the positive electrode current collector plate in order to prevent the non-coating portions (current collector foils) from being subjected to concentrated tensile stress in the extension direction ([0017]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Lee et al discloses an entirety of positive electrode non-coating portion “121a” facing the positive electrode current collector plate “130a” contacts a surface of the positive electrode current collector plate and an entirety of the negative electrode non-coating portion “122a” facing the negative electrode current collector plate contacts a surface of the negative electrode current collector plate “130b” (Figs. 1b and 5d).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al does not expressly teach the positive electrode
current collector plate has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more, and/or wherein the negative electrode current collector plate has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Lee secondary battery to include positive electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more, and/or negative electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more because changes in size was held to have been obvious (In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)). There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed thicknesses of the positive electrode current collector plate and the negative electrode current collector plate.
Regarding claims 13-15, Lee et al also discloses first collector plate “132a” (positive electrode current collector plate) that has a rectangular shape and at least one of the opposite sides of the electrode assembly “120” that has a rectangular shape; wherein the first electrode plate does not have a portion extending beyond an area of one side of the electrode assembly (Figs. 1c and 2).
Regarding claims 16-18, Lee et al also discloses a cap plate “160” that has a safety vent “163” (vent hole), and wherein the safety vent is sealed by a vent member, wherein the vent member has a notch, and an electrolyte injection hole “161”, and wherein the electrolyte injection hole is sealed with a plug “162” ([0068] and Fig. 1a).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Kim and Umeyama et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Umeyama et al (US 2016/0072119).
However, Lee et al as modified by Kim and Umeyama et al does not expressly teach a positive electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more, and/or wherein the negative electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more (claim 11).
Umeyama ‘119 discloses a current collecting plate “74” that has a thickness of about 1 mm ([0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Lee/Kim/Umeyama secondary battery to include a positive electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of about 1 mm, and/or wherein the negative electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of about 1 mm in order to provide a current collector plate with suitable strength for welding to current collector non-coating portions.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Kim and Umeyama et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guen (US 2019/0312252).
However, Lee et al as modified by Kim and Umeyama et al does not expressly teach a positive electrode terminal that is in contact with the cap plate (claim 19), and an insulation member between the cap plate and the negative electrode terminal (claim 20).
Guen discloses a first terminal “50” (positive electrode terminal) that is in contact with a cap plate “31” and a second terminal “52” (negative electrode terminal) that is disposed on a first insulation member “60” formed on the cap plate “31” ([0048],[0059] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Lee/Kim/Umeyama secondary battery to include a positive electrode terminal that is in contact with the cap plate, and an insulation member between the cap plate and the negative electrode terminal in order to simplify the configuration for connecting between the electrode terminal and the current collecting member, as well as minimizing the current loss due to resistance ([0016]).
Claims 1, 3, 7-11, 12, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2005/0221178) in view of Umeyama et al (US 2017/0271709).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 8, and 12, Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising:
an electrode assembly “8” comprising a positive plate “2” (positive electrode plate) having uncoated regions “2a” (positive electrode non-coating portion), a negative plate “6” (negative electrode plate) having uncoated regions “6a” (negative electrode non-coating portion), and a separator “4” between the positive plate and the negative plate, the uncoated regions “2a” and uncoated regions “6a” being exposed at opposite sides of the electrode assembly;
a container “16” (case) having a top opening and an internal space accommodating the electrode assembly;
a base plate “24” (cap plate) sealing the top opening of the container;
a positive collector plate “10” (positive electrode current collector plate) perpendicular to the uncoated region “2a” and welded to the uncoated region “2a” along a first welding line “40”;
a negative collector plate “12” (negative electrode current collector plate) perpendicular to the uncoated region “6a” and welded to the second non-coating portion along a second welding line “40”;
a positive terminal “18” (positive electrode terminal) on the base plate and electrically connected to the positive collector plate; and
a negative terminal “20” (negative electrode terminal) on the base plate and electrically connected to the negative collector plate;
wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a second separator “4”, and wherein the positive plate, the separator “4”, the negative plate, and the second separator “4” are sequentially stacked;
wherein the first welding line “40” joining the positive collector plate to the uncoated regions “2a” extends widthwise along the first collector plate is perpendicular to a height direction of the uncoated regions “2a”, and wherein the second welding line “40” joining the negative collector plate to the uncoated regions “6a” extends widthwise along the negative collector plate is perpendicular to a height direction of the uncoated regions “6a”;
wherein at least one of the positive collector plate and the negative collector plate has an area equivalent to a cross sectional area of the electrode assembly; wherein the uncoated regions “2a” is in line-contact with the positive collector plate; wherein the uncoated regions “6a” is in line-contact with the negative collector plate;
wherein the welded portion “40” (first welding line / second welding line) is formed by laser welding on each of the collector plates “10”, “12”, wherein the welded portion has a width substantially equal to a width of the electrode assembly; wherein the welded portion comprises a plurality of first welding lines, which are spaced apart along a direction parallel to the edge of the uncoated regions “2a” and/or second welding line comprises a plurality of second welding lines, which are spaced apart along a direction parallel to the edge of the uncoated regions “6a”; wherein the secondary battery does not include a component between the positive collector plate “10” (positive electrode current collector plate) and the electrode assembly “8” ([0045],[0048],[0055],[0058] and Figs. 1 and 8).
However, Kim does not expressly teach a positive electrode current collector plate that is fused to the positive electrode non-coating portion along the first weld line by a laser with an intensity not completely fusing the positive electrode current collector plate (claim 1).
Umeyama et al teaches the concept of adjusting the power output of a laser beam so that a plurality of current collector foils protruding from the first end portion in the second extension direction are fused only partially in the second extension direction
([0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim secondary battery to include a positive electrode current collector plate that is fused to the positive electrode non-coating portion along the first weld line by a laser with an intensity not completely fusing the positive electrode current collector plate in order to prevent the non-coating portions (current collector foils) from being subjected to concentrated tensile stress in the extension direction ([0017]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Kim discloses an entirety of uncoated regions “2a” facing the positive collector plate “10” contacts a surface of the positive collector plate and an entirety of the uncoated regions “6a” facing the negative collector plate contacts a surface of the negative collector plate “12” (Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 11, Kim does not expressly teach the positive electrode
current collector plate has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more, and/or wherein the negative electrode current collector plate has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Kim secondary battery to include positive electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more, and/or negative electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more because changes in size was held to have been obvious (In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)). There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed thicknesses of the positive electrode current collector plate and the negative electrode current collector plate.
Regarding claims 16, 18, and 20, Kim also discloses a base plate “24” (cap plate) that has a safety vent “28” (vent hole), and wherein the safety vent is sealed by a vent member “28”; an electrolyte injection hole (not labeled), wherein the electrolyte injection hole is sealed with a plug; and an insulation member “26” between the base plate and the negative electrode terminal “20” ([0045] and Fig. 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Umeyama et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Umeyama et al (US 2016/0072119).
However, Kim as modified by Umeyama et al does not expressly teach a positive electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more, and/or wherein the negative electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of approximately 1 mm or more (claim 11).
Umeyama ‘119 discloses a current collecting plate “74” that has a thickness of about 1 mm ([0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kim/Umeyama secondary battery to include a positive electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of about 1 mm, and/or wherein the negative electrode current collector plate that has a thickness of about 1 mm in order to provide a current collector plate with suitable strength for welding to current collector non-coating portions.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Umeyama et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guen (US 2019/0312252).
However, Kim as modified by Umeyama et al does not expressly teach a positive electrode terminal that is in contact with the cap plate (claim 19), and an insulation member between the cap plate and the negative electrode terminal (claim 20).
Guen discloses a first terminal “50” (positive electrode terminal) that is in contact with a cap plate “31” and a second terminal “52” (negative electrode terminal) that is disposed on a first insulation member “60” formed on the cap plate “31” ([0048],[0059] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kim/Umeyama secondary battery to include a positive electrode terminal that is in contact with the cap plate, and an insulation member between the cap plate and the negative electrode terminal in order to simplify the configuration for connecting between the electrode terminal and the current collecting member, as well as minimizing the current loss due to resistance ([0016]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “neither Lee, nor Heo, nor Umeyama, nor Umeyama '119, nor Guen, nor Kim, whether taken alone or in combination, discloses, teaches, or even suggests at least the abovementioned limitations of amended independent claim 1, and there is no apparent reason why a person having ordinary skill in the art would have, upon reviewing the cited references as a whole, combined or modified their disclosures in such a way as to arrive at the limitations of independent claim 1”.
In response, as stated above in the 103 rejection, Kim discloses a secondary battery does not include a component between the positive collector plate “10” (positive electrode current collector plate) and an electrode assembly “8” as shown in Figs. 1, 2, and 7 and described in para. [0055]. Therefore, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Umeyama does teach all of the limitations of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/12/2026