DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard (US 20130338526) in view of Kumta et al., (US 20140255952; hereinafter Kumta), Hoon et al., (US 20050153379; hereinafter Hoon), and Shim, Bong Sup, et al. to “Integration of Conductivity, Transparency, and Mechanical Strength into Highly Homogenous Layer-by-Layer Composites of Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes for Optoelectronics,” Chemistry of Materials (2007), 19(23), pp. 5467-5474 (hereinafter Shim).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-6, Howard (Figures 1-3) discloses a method for catecholamine (dopamine) sensing comprising: outputting a signal responsive to a level of at least one catecholamine (dopamine) in neural tissue from a catecholamine sensor (read modality/sensor), wherein the detected catecholamine comprises epinephrine, norepinephrine, or dopamine; analyzing the signal responsive to a catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue using circuitry connected to the catecholamine sensor (read modality/sensor), the circuitry comprising at least one computing device comprising a processor (Interface 1), memory accessible by the processor, and program instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor; generating, using the circuitry, data representing the catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue; and transmitting the generated data representing the catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue using communication circuitry. The catecholamine sensor inherently utilizes signal separation, so the catecholamine sensor is inherently operable to decrease false-positive recordings by utilizing signal separation. ([0011]-[0014], [0044], [0103]-[0107]: the read modality/sensor may be configured for neurotransmitter level measurement, wherein the neurotransmitter may be dopamine as stated in paragraph [0044]).
Howard fails to disclose that the catecholamine sensor comprises a plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes vertically aligned relative to a silicon substrate. However, Kumta teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person comprising a plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes as electrodes/biosensors, wherein the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are vertically aligned relative to a silicon substrate ([0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrodes/sensors disclosed by Howard with the carbon nanotube biosensors taught by Kumta because both electrodes/sensors perform the same sensing function, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Howard/Kumta fails to teach that the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are coated with at least one of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoroether, wherein the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are coated with a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group, and the coating of the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes improves the detection of catecholamines. However, Hoon teaches a sensing method using a sensor comprising carbon nanotubes ([0085]) coated with Nafion ([0093]), which is a coating comprising a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group (paragraph [0702] of the instant specification discloses that Nafion consists of a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta to include a Nafion coating on the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes, as taught by Hoon, because the modification would provide a selectively permeable ion-exchange membrane based on desired particle size and ionic charge as required (Hoon; [0093]).
Howard/Kumta/Hoon fails to teach that the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes is adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers. However, Shim teaches using single walled carbon nanotubes in optoelectronics, wherein the single walled carbon nanotubes may be adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers (Section: Electrical Conductivity of [PVA/(SWNT + PSS)]n LBL Films). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta/Hoon to include the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers, as taught by Shim, because the modification would provide a winning combination of parameters for optoelectronics and energy harvesting (Shim; Section: Introduction) for energy efficiency, device compactness, and enhanced functionality.
Regarding claim 7, Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim teaches the system of claim 1, but Howard/Hoon/Shim fails to teach that the catecholamine sensor comprises a plurality of structures including at least one of graphene, carbon nanohorns, graphene nanofoams, graphene nanorods, and graphene nanoflowers. However, Kumta teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising carbon nanotubes/graphene nanorods as electrodes/sensors ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrodes/sensors disclosed by Howard with the carbon nanotubes/graphene nanorods taught by Kumta because both electrodes/sensors perform the same sensing function, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 8, Howard (Figures 1-3) further discloses that the system comprises a device implanted in the neurocranium ([0011]-[0014], [0044], [0103]-[0107]).
Regarding claims 9 and 12-14, Howard (Figures 1-3) discloses a catecholamine (dopamine) sensor system comprising: a catecholamine (dopamine) sensor (read modality/sensor) configured to output a signal responsive to a level of at least one catecholamine (dopamine) in neural tissue, wherein the detected catecholamine comprises epinephrine, norepinephrine, or dopamine; circuitry connected to the catecholamine sensor (read modality/sensor) comprising at least one computing device comprising a processor (Interface 1), memory accessible by the processor, and program instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform: analyzing the signal responsive to a catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue, and generating data representing the catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue; and communication circuitry configured to transmit the generated data representing the catecholamine level in the neural tissue. The catecholamine sensor inherently utilizes signal separation, so the catecholamine sensor is inherently operable to decrease false-positive recordings by utilizing signal separation. ([0011]-[0014], [0044], [0103]-[0107]: the read modality/sensor may be configured for neurotransmitter level measurement, wherein the neurotransmitter may be dopamine as stated in paragraph [0044]).
Howard fails to disclose that the catecholamine sensor comprises a silicon substrate and a plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes vertically aligned relative to a silicon substrate. However, Kumta teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person comprising a plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes as electrodes/biosensors, wherein the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are vertically aligned relative to a silicon substrate ([0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the structure of the catecholamine sensor disclosed by Howard with the structure of the carbon nanotube biosensor taught by Kumta because both electrodes/sensors perform the same sensing function, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Howard/Kumta fails to teach that the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are coated with at least one of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoroether, wherein the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are coated with a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group, and the coating of the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes improves the detection of catecholamines. However, Hoon teaches a sensing method using a sensor comprising carbon nanotubes ([0085]) coated with Nafion ([0093]), which is a coating comprising a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group (paragraph [0702] of the instant specification discloses that Nafion consists of a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta to include a Nafion coating on the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes, as taught by Hoon, because the modification would provide a selectively permeable ion-exchange membrane based on desired particle size and ionic charge as required (Hoon; [0093]).
Howard/Kumta/Hoon fails to teach that the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes is adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers. However, Shim teaches using single walled carbon nanotubes in optoelectronics, wherein the single walled carbon nanotubes may be adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers (Section: Electrical Conductivity of [PVA/(SWNT + PSS)]n LBL Films). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta/Hoon to include the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers, as taught by Shim, because the modification would provide a winning combination of parameters for optoelectronics and energy harvesting (Shim; Section: Introduction) for energy efficiency, device compactness, and enhanced functionality.
Regarding claim 15, Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim teaches the system of claim 9, but Howard/Kumta/Shim fails to teach that the catecholamine sensor comprises a plurality of structures including at least one of graphene, carbon nanohorns, graphene nanofoams, graphene nanorods, and graphene nanoflowers. However, Kumta teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising carbon nanotubes/graphene nanorods as electrodes/sensors ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrodes/sensors disclosed by Howard with the carbon nanotubes/graphene nanorods taught by Kumta because both electrodes/sensors perform the same sensing function, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 16, Howard (Figures 1-3) further discloses that the system comprises a device implanted in the neurocranium ([0011]-[0014], [0044], [0103]-[0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025, with regard to the newly amended claim limitations, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The catecholamine sensor inherently utilizes signal separation, so the catecholamine sensor is inherently operable to decrease false-positive recordings by utilizing signal separation. Therefore, Examiner maintains that the cited reference(s) disclose/teach the invention as recited in the currently amended set of claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794