DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard (US 20130338526) in view of Kumta et al., (US 20140255952; hereinafter Kumta), Hoon et al., (US 20050153379; hereinafter Hoon), Shim et al. to “Integration of Conductivity, Transparency, and Mechanical Strength into Highly Homogenous Layer-by-Layer Composites of Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes for Optoelectronics,” Chemistry of Materials (2007), 19(23), pp. 5467-5474 (hereinafter Shim), and Okandan et al., (US 9907496; hereinafter Okandan).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-6, Howard (Figures 1-3) discloses a method for catecholamine (dopamine) sensing comprising: outputting a signal responsive to a level of at least one catecholamine (dopamine) in neural tissue from a catecholamine sensor (read modality/sensor), wherein the detected catecholamine comprises epinephrine, norepinephrine, or dopamine; analyzing the signal responsive to a catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue using circuitry connected to the catecholamine sensor (read modality/sensor), the circuitry comprising at least one computing device comprising a processor (Interface 1), memory accessible by the processor, and program instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor; generating, using the circuitry, data representing the catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue; and transmitting the generated data representing the catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue using communication circuitry. The catecholamine sensor inherently utilizes signal separation, so the catecholamine sensor is inherently operable to decrease false-positive recordings by utilizing signal separation. ([0011]-[0014], [0044], [0103]-[0107]: the read modality/sensor may be configured for neurotransmitter level measurement, wherein the neurotransmitter may be dopamine as stated in paragraph [0044]).
Howard fails to disclose that the catecholamine sensor comprises a plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes vertically aligned relative to a silicon substrate. However, Kumta teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person comprising a plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes as electrodes/biosensors, wherein the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are vertically aligned relative to a silicon substrate ([0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrodes/sensors disclosed by Howard with the carbon nanotube biosensors taught by Kumta because both electrodes/sensors perform the same sensing function, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Howard/Kumta fails to teach that the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are coated with at least one of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoroether, wherein the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are coated with a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group, and the coating of the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes improves the detection of catecholamines. However, Hoon teaches a sensing method using a sensor comprising carbon nanotubes ([0085]) coated with Nafion ([0093]), which is a coating comprising a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group (paragraph [0702] of the instant specification discloses that Nafion consists of a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta to include a Nafion coating on the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes, as taught by Hoon, because the modification would provide a selectively permeable ion-exchange membrane based on desired particle size and ionic charge as required (Hoon; [0093]).
Howard/Kumta/Hoon fails to teach that the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes is adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers. However, Shim teaches using single walled carbon nanotubes in optoelectronics, wherein the single walled carbon nanotubes may be adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers (Section: Electrical Conductivity of [PVA/(SWNT + PSS)]n LBL Films). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta/Hoon to include the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers, as taught by Shim, because the modification would provide a winning combination of parameters for optoelectronics and energy harvesting (Shim; Section: Introduction) for energy efficiency, device compactness, and enhanced functionality.
Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim fails to teach that the optoelectronic circuitry is adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers via a beam splitter. However, Okandan (Figure 1A) teaches as optical probe (100), (Col. 5, lines 40-64), comprising circuitry adapted to separate desired optical neural signals using a beam splitter (Col. 20, lines 59-62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim to include a beam splitter adapted to separate desired optical neural signals, as taught by Okandan, because the modification would enable focusing or directing of optical neural signals as desired (Okandan; Col. 20, lines 59-62). Furthermore, since the beam splitter of the modified system would be adapted to separate desired optical neural signals, the optoelectronic circuitry of the modified system may be adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers by separating the received incoming optical neural signals and the outgoing optical neural signals using a beam splitter as taught by Okandan.
Regarding claim 7, Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim/Okandan teaches the system of claim 1, but Howard/Hoon/Shim/Okandan fails to teach that the catecholamine sensor comprises a plurality of structures including at least one of graphene, carbon nanohorns, graphene nanofoams, graphene nanorods, and graphene nanoflowers. However, Kumta teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising carbon nanotubes/graphene nanorods as electrodes/sensors ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrodes/sensors disclosed by Howard with the carbon nanotubes/graphene nanorods taught by Kumta because both electrodes/sensors perform the same sensing function, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 8, Howard (Figures 1-3) further discloses that the system comprises a device implanted in the neurocranium ([0011]-[0014], [0044], [0103]-[0107]).
Regarding claims 9 and 12-14, Howard (Figures 1-3) discloses a catecholamine (dopamine) sensor system comprising: a catecholamine (dopamine) sensor (read modality/sensor) configured to output a signal responsive to a level of at least one catecholamine (dopamine) in neural tissue, wherein the detected catecholamine comprises epinephrine, norepinephrine, or dopamine; circuitry connected to the catecholamine sensor (read modality/sensor) comprising at least one computing device comprising a processor (Interface 1), memory accessible by the processor, and program instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform: analyzing the signal responsive to a catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue, and generating data representing the catecholamine (dopamine) level in the neural tissue; and communication circuitry configured to transmit the generated data representing the catecholamine level in the neural tissue. The catecholamine sensor inherently utilizes signal separation, so the catecholamine sensor is inherently operable to decrease false-positive recordings by utilizing signal separation. ([0011]-[0014], [0044], [0103]-[0107]: the read modality/sensor may be configured for neurotransmitter level measurement, wherein the neurotransmitter may be dopamine as stated in paragraph [0044]).
Howard fails to disclose that the catecholamine sensor comprises a silicon substrate and a plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes vertically aligned relative to a silicon substrate. However, Kumta teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person comprising a plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes as electrodes/biosensors, wherein the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are vertically aligned relative to a silicon substrate ([0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the structure of the catecholamine sensor disclosed by Howard with the structure of the carbon nanotube biosensor taught by Kumta because both electrodes/sensors perform the same sensing function, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Howard/Kumta fails to teach that the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are coated with at least one of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoroether, wherein the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes are coated with a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group, and the coating of the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes improves the detection of catecholamines. However, Hoon teaches a sensing method using a sensor comprising carbon nanotubes ([0085]) coated with Nafion ([0093]), which is a coating comprising a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group (paragraph [0702] of the instant specification discloses that Nafion consists of a tetrafluoroethylene main chain with perfluoroether side chains terminated with a sulfonic acid group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta to include a Nafion coating on the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes, as taught by Hoon, because the modification would provide a selectively permeable ion-exchange membrane based on desired particle size and ionic charge as required (Hoon; [0093]).
Howard/Kumta/Hoon fails to teach that the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes is adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers. However, Shim teaches using single walled carbon nanotubes in optoelectronics, wherein the single walled carbon nanotubes may be adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers (Section: Electrical Conductivity of [PVA/(SWNT + PSS)]n LBL Films). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta/Hoon to include the plurality of single walled carbon nanotubes adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers, as taught by Shim, because the modification would provide a winning combination of parameters for optoelectronics and energy harvesting (Shim; Section: Introduction) for energy efficiency, device compactness, and enhanced functionality.
Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim fails to teach that the optoelectronic circuitry is adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers via a beam splitter. However, Okandan (Figure 1A) teaches as optical probe (100), (Col. 5, lines 40-64), comprising circuitry adapted to separate desired optical neural signals using a beam splitter (Col. 20, lines 59-62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim to include a beam splitter adapted to separate desired optical neural signals, as taught by Okandan, because the modification would enable focusing or directing of optical neural signals as desired (Okandan; Col. 20, lines 59-62). Furthermore, since the beam splitter of the modified system would be adapted to separate desired optical neural signals, the optoelectronic circuitry of the modified system may be adapted to function as both recording electrodes and stimulating optical fibers by separating the received incoming optical neural signals and the outgoing optical neural signals using a beam splitter as taught by Okandan.
Regarding claim 15, Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim/Okandan teaches the system of claim 9, but Howard/Kumta/Shim/Okandan fails to teach that the catecholamine sensor comprises a plurality of structures including at least one of graphene, carbon nanohorns, graphene nanofoams, graphene nanorods, and graphene nanoflowers. However, Kumta teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising carbon nanotubes/graphene nanorods as electrodes/sensors ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrodes/sensors disclosed by Howard with the carbon nanotubes/graphene nanorods taught by Kumta because both electrodes/sensors perform the same sensing function, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 16, Howard (Figures 1-3) further discloses that the system comprises a device implanted in the neurocranium ([0011]-[0014], [0044], [0103]-[0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/01/2026, regarding the newly amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 9, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference Okandan, which teaches an optical probe comprising circuitry adapted to separate desired optical neural signals using a beam splitter. Accordingly, in combination with Howard/Kumta/Hoon/Shim, the modified system/method teaches the invention as claimed at least in amended independent claims 1 and 9.
Conclusion
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794