DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Due to a long list of IDS submitted, Examiner refers Applicant to MPEP 2004 and in particular to point 13 which states: It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant's attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. V. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff'd, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC V. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
In the instant case, it appears that many of the cited references are either irrelevant or marginally pertinent. Note that consideration by the examiner of the information submitted in an IDS means nothing more than considering the documents in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0032196 to Albisser in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0289823 to Rack-Gomer et al. (“Rack”).
Regarding claim 37, Albisser discloses a system comprising a glucose sensor (i.e., conventional glucose meter) configured to obtain glucose data from a person with diabetes (PWD) ([0027]); an interface (80), a controller ([0025]; i.e., controller of computer 13) comprising: at least one processor (i.e., processor of computer 13) ([0025]; Fig. 1); and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e., memory or program storage of computer and device 12) storing instructions thereon ([0025]-[0026]) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the controller to: receive, by way of the interface, a user selection of a fear of hypoglycemia index (FHI) for the PWD ([0050]-[0051]; i.e., probability of risk is selectable range), the FHI defining an acceptable probability of defining an acceptable probability that an undesirable blood glucose level of the PWD will be achieved ([0051]; i.e., probability of risk for hypoglycemic threshold); calculate an event probability that the undesirable blood glucose level of the PWD will be achieved ([0051]-[0054]; i.e., calculating probability risk of the expected blood glucose in order to determine the probability risk is greater than 5% or other selectable range); determine an insulin therapy program for the PWD to at least substantially align the calculated event probability with the acceptable probability defined by the FHI (step 105) ([0055]; Fig. 8); and generate instructions to deliver insulin according to the insulin therapy program ([0058]); and an insulin pump (i.e., insulin pump) configured to receive the generated instructions from the controller and to deliver insulin according to the generated instructions ([0058]; i.e., dosing adjusted based on suggested quantity), but does not teach the aggressiveness index.
Rack teaches a selection of an aggressiveness index defining a preference of the PWD to have one of higher, lower, or moderate blood glucose levels relative to one more threshold blood glucose values ([0318], Figs. 31A-31B; for example, when the glucose level is low as shown in Figs. 31A, and the user chooses the “Nothing” option, the user is preferring to have a lower glucose level, it is noted that due to the alternative language, simultaneous teaching all three of the blood glucose levels are not required to meet the limitations of the claim). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the aggressiveness index of Rack into the system of Albisser in order to allow the user to option to choose to remain at a higher or lower blood glucose level depending on the urgency or the particular situation [0324-0327] and/or to minimize the number of alerts. Once combined, the FHI would be based at least partially on the selected aggressiveness index.
Regarding claim 38, Albisser and Rack disclose the system of claim 37, Rack further teaching the undesirable blood glucose level comprises a blood glucose level of the PWD being below a threshold blood glucose level of the one or more threshold glucose values (Fig. 31A).
Regarding claim 39, Albisser and Rack disclose the system of claim 38, Albisser further teaching calculating the event probability that the undesirable blood glucose level will be achieved comprises: receiving an up-to-date blood glucose data for the PWD from the glucose sensor (step 33) ([0035]); and calculating the event probability of the PWD achieving a blood glucose level below the threshold blood glucose level based at least partially on the up-to-date blood glucose data ([0051]).
Regarding claim 40, Albisser and Rack disclose the system of claim 39, Albisser further teaching determining the insulin therapy program for the PWD to at least substantially align the event probability with the acceptable probability comprises: determining one or more target blood glucose levels aligning the event probability of the PWD achieving a blood glucose level below the threshold blood glucose level with the acceptable probability defined within the FHI (step 104) ([0054]); and calculating a basal insulin dose or rate for the PWD based at least in part on the determined one or more target blood glucose levels ([0059]).
Regarding claim 42, Albisser and Rack disclose the system of claim 37, Albisser further teaching the controller comprises a device separate and discrete from the insulin pump (Fig. 1).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albisser and Rack as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2005/0055242 to Bello.
Regarding claim 41, Albisser and Rack disclose the system of claim 37, Albisser further teaching the controller is part of a computer ([0025]) and that the system comprises an insulin pump ([0032], [0058]) but does not explicitly disclose that the insulin pump comprises the controller. However, it has been held that choosing from a finite number of solutions to obtain a predictable result is a rationale for determining obviousness. KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). It can be seen that there are only a finite number of solutions for how the controller and the insulin pump can be related: the controller is part of the insulin pump or the controller is separate and discrete from the insulin pump. Therefore, it also would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Albisser with the insulin pump comprising the controller since this is one of a limited number of possible ways that the insulin pump and the controller are related to each other.
Moreover, it is noted that Bello also discloses a system for delivering medication including insulin ([0261]), wherein the pumping unit of the infusion system may include the controller or alternatively does not have a controller ([0427]). Therefore, since both Albisser and Bello discloses a system for delivering insulin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Albisser with the feature of the insulin pump comprising the controller since Bello discloses that it is well known in the art for a pumping unit delivering medication to not have a controller but accept control signals from a separate controller such as a central computer (similar to the configuration disclosed by Albisser) as an alternative to a pumping unit comprising the controller ([0427] of Bello).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claims objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Albisser and Rack as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /THEODORE J STIGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783