DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 03/23/2026, claims 1, 16, and 31 have been amended. Claims 3, 5, 15, 18, 19, 22-30, and 33-81 were previously cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-14, 16, 17, 20, 21, 31, 32, and 82 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 13, 14, 16, 20, 21, 31, and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2016/0121479, cited on 03/11/2022 IDS, hereinafter Lin), in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0077863, hereinafter Huang), Angle et al. (US 2014/0207281, hereinafter Angle), and Zimroni et al. (US 10,820,159, hereinafter Zimroni).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a system (¶ 0020, mobile robotic device communication system 100), comprising:
a mobile device (¶ 0030, remote computing device 135 such as a mobile phone), and
a mobile cleaning robot (mobile robotic device 125) comprising:
a drive system configured to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment in the user's residence (¶ 0049, action instructions make a vacuuming robotic device 125 travels through the house or property, therefore, the robotic device has a drive system);
a communication system configured to receive, from the mobile device and via a wireless communication link (¶ 0024, mobile robotic device 125 may include a wireless transceiver [corresponds to the recited communication system] operable to receive action instructions from the remote computing device 135 through a Wi-Fi or other communication capabilities [corresponds to the recited wireless communication link]);
a controller circuit (¶ 0035, application-specific integrated circuits of a home automation system 110 performs applicable functions. Functions of the Lin’s control circuit is referred as functions of the home automation system in the following discussion; ¶ 0023-24 and 0059, the system of Lin utilizes sensors such as a boundary sensor, a GPS sensor, and a Wi-Fi positioning system sensor to detect a person entering/exiting of a geo-fencing. The sensors are integrated with home appliances to operate them according to the information acquired by the sensors. The mobile robotic device 125 may receive input data from sensors, and may obtain and execute action instructions locally without the need for interaction with the home automation system 110. Thus, as shown in a block 530 of fig. 5, the mobile vacuuming robotic device updates and executes action instructions based on the received data including the information of the user entering of exiting the geo-fence) configured to:
generate a mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to conduct a mission in the environment including a first mission routine in response to the indication of the user entering the pre-defined geographical zone, and a second mission routine different from the first mission routine in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (¶ 0023 and 0059, the system provides action instructions based upon received input data and/or set action instructions based upon an operation rule, may be updated based on newly received data at either the home automation system or the mobile robotic device. The mobile vacuuming robotic device, during the course of the vacuuming operation, may detect, for example via a motion sensor of the robotic device or the home automation system, that a user has come home, and may derive updated action instructions indicating that the vacuuming operation should be terminated. The mobile vacuuming robotic device may execute the updated action instructions by terminating the vacuuming operation and may, for example, return to a charging station. On the other hand, in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone, the system may receive data indicating that the property is no longer unoccupied, then the system may process the input data and obtain new or revised action instructions. Therefore, Lin teaches the mobile robot device can perform different mission routines by receiving instructions based on a user’s entering or exiting the geo-fencing),
wherein the pre-defined geographical zone defined by virtual boundaries around and extending beyond a perimeter of a user's residence by a predetermined distance (¶ 0023 and 0059, the home automation system may receive data via one or more sensors including a global positioning system (GPS) sensor for detecting proximity of a person relative to a predetermined distance from a dwelling (e.g., geo-fencing)), but does not disclose explicitly the mobile device is configured to display, on a user interface of the mobile device, the first and second mission routines, the first and second mission routines each selectable and programmable by the user.
Huang teaches, in an analogous cleaning field of endeavor, the mobile device is configured to display, on a user interface of the mobile device, the first and second mission routines, the first and second mission routines each selectable and programmable by the user (¶ 0054-56, Huang teaches two different cleaning schedules for autonomous cleaning robot to conduct and a user can use a handheld computing device to select a first cleaning schedule or a second cleaning schedule and to input cleaning schedule parameters to cause the autonomous cleaning robot to initiate cleaning mission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin to provide the mobile device for selecting and programming the mission routines as taught by Huang so that the user can initiate cleaning remotely.
Lin as modified by Huang does not disclose explicitly the first and second mission routines on the mobile device display correspond to the user entering and exiting the pre-defined geographical zone.
Angle teaches, in an analogous cleaning field of endeavor, the first and second mission routines on the mobile device display correspond to the user entering and exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (¶ 0042, a cleaning system can determine a user’s away state by detecting location of a user’s mobile handset, and it can enter into an away-state mode of operation based on indication of a non-occupancy condition; ¶ 0153, the cleaning system comprises a scheduling database including data representing intended missions compatible with the occupancy database; ¶ 0157-63, a user receives graphical representation of the occupancy data on a mobile device and the user can schedule activity of the robot in different ways. Therefore, Angle teaches a user can utilize a mobile device to access different missions corresponding to the user’s occupancy (in or away state)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin as modified by Huang to provide mission control corresponding to the user’s entering and exiting as taught by Angle so that household cleaning is effectively executed regardless of the user’s occupancy.
Lin as modified by Huang and Angle does not disclose the mobile device configured to track geographical locations of the mobile device over time, and to generate an indication of a user entering or exiting a pre-defined geographical zone by comparing the tracked geographical locations of the mobile device to the pre-defined geographical zone.
Zimroni teaches, in a locating tracking system field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the mobile device configured to track geographical locations of the mobile device over time, and to generate an indication of a user entering or exiting a pre-defined geographical zone by comparing the tracked geographical locations of the mobile device to the pre-defined geographical zone and a controller circuit configured to receive from the mobile device the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (col. 6:4-8:57 and figs. 2-3, Zimroni states, for example, an operating system 216 enables running apps of a mobile device 102 and tracking the location and movement status of the mobile device by detecting whether the mobile device is inside or outside of geo-fences, a triggering module 224 triggers starting or stopping application program when the mobile device detects entering/exiting the geo-fence, and a network communication module 214 manages communication between the mobile device 102 and other computing devices via a network interface. The system of Zimroni compares the location of the mobile device to the geo-fence, allows the mobile device to provide the location data to applications on the mobile device, and requests operating system [corresponds to the recited controller circuit] to perform functions according to the location data. Therefore, the system of Zimroni utilizes the mobile device to generate indication of a user entering or exiting the geo-fence, and the operating system receives the location data from the mobile device. Although a trigger module of Zimroni triggers certain actions such as starting an application program on the mobile device based on the location data. Thus, Zimroni teaches the location information is utilized in operation of a program. However, Zimroni also teaches the mobile device interacts with another computing device through the network interface. Lin also teaches the mobile cleaning robot communicates with the mobile device. Therefore, the mobile device of Zimroni is capable of communicating with the mobile robotic device of Lin to enable the mobile robotic device to execute instructions based on the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone received from the mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lin as modified by Huang and Angle to provide the mobile device for geographical location tracking as taught by Zimroni for efficient tracking of the mobile device locations with low power consumption (Zimroni, abstract).
Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the communication system of the mobile cleaning robot is configured to receive the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (Zimroni, col. 6:4-8:57 and figs. 2-3, as discussed above, an operating system 216 enables running apps of a mobile device 102 and tracking the location and movement status of the mobile device by detecting whether the mobile device is inside or outside of geo-fences, a triggering module 224 triggers starting or stopping application program when the mobile device detects entering/exiting the geo-fence, and a network communication module 214 manages communication between the mobile device 102 and other computing devices via a network interface; Lin ¶ 0024, the mobile robot device 125 has a wireless transceiver for receiving data from the remote computing device 135. Therefore, the robot of Lin can receive the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone from the mobile device of Zimroni).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni to receive the indication as taught by Zimroni so that it can communicate with other device through a network communication module (Zimroni col. 7:22-27). It would allow other device to receive and take action based on the detected location data.
Regarding claim 2, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone includes an indication of the mobile device, holdable by the user, entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (Lin, ¶ 0030-31, a remote computing device 135 including a mobile phone is configured to interact with sensor units 115 to sense the occupancy data; Zimroni, col. 4:62-64 and 6:4-7:32, the system detects the mobile device 102 such as a smart phone entering and/or exiting the geo-fence. The smart phone is to be held by a user).
Regarding claim 6, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the controller circuit is configured to, in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone, generate a mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to initiate the mission (Lin, ¶ 0055 and 0059, the home automation system operates the mobile robotic device according to an operation rule such that vacuuming occurs when the property is unoccupied. The system may receive data indicating that the property is no longer unoccupied, then the system may process the input data and obtain new or revised action instructions).
Regarding claim 7, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the controller circuit is configured to, in response to the indication of the user entering the pre-defined geographical zone, generate a mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to continue, abort, or suspend a presently unfinished mission, or to postpone the presently unfinished mission to a subsequently scheduled time (Lin, ¶ 0059, the mobile vacuuming robotic device, during the course of the vacuuming operation, may detect that a user has come home, and may derive updated action instructions indicating that the vacuuming operation should be terminated.).
Regarding claim 8, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the controller circuit is configured to, in response to the indication of the user entering the pre-defined geographical zone, generate a mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to continue the presently unfinished mission for a specific time based on an estimated time of completing the mission or a portion thereof (Lin, ¶ 0059, after the mobile vacuuming robotic device has initiated a vacuuming operation, the home automation system may receive data indicating that the home or property is no longer unoccupied, then the home automation system may revise action instructions of the vacuuming operation; Angle ¶ 0015 and 0084, when user’s mobile device enters network (e.g., house or property), it notifies a mobile robot of its presence. The mobile robot alters its operation to adapt to the occupancy. The robot may move to a different, unoccupied zone to continue vacuuming operation, or operate in a quieter mode; ¶ 0037, a processor of a mobile robot may determine time span for the robot to substantially cover a surface based on mission time and boundary area, pre-plan routine, and command the robot to cover the surface area within estimated completion time. Thus, Angle’s mobile robot can continue unfinished mission even when a user enters the pre-defined geographical zone. Because the Angle’s robot executes routines stored in the memory, it can move the different area or runs on the quieter mode when the user enters the premises in order to continue cleaning routines with consideration of the estimated time to finish the operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile robotic device of Lin as modified by Huang and Angle to execute the unfinished mission for a specific time as taught by Angle so that a user can make sure the house is cleaned as much as possible regardless of the occupancy of the house. It allows the user to increase efficiency of time use by not vacuuming manually.
Regarding claim 9, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the mobile cleaning robot is operatively in communication with one or more internet-connected devices associated with the user's residence, wherein the controller circuit is configured to generate the mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to conduct the mission based on respective operating states of the one or more internet-connected devices, the respective operating states indicative of the user entering or exiting the user's residence (Lin, ¶ 0020, 0023-24, 0033, the home automation system or the mobile robot communicates with a camera sensor, a motion sensor, or a proximity sensor to detect a location of a person relative to a predetermined distance from a dwelling. The sensor units 115 may be integrated with a home appliance and detects a movement. The home automation system may communicate with the sensor units 115 and the mobile robotic device 125 via internet to transmit action instructions).
Regarding claim 10, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the mobile cleaning robot is operatively in communication with a home automation system configured to network one or more internet-connected devices associated with the user's residence and to detect the indication of the user entering or exiting the user's residence, wherein the controller circuit is configured to generate the mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to conduct the mission based on the indication of the user entering or exiting the user's residence detected by the home automation system (Lin, ¶ 0020, 0023-24, 0033, the mobile robotic device communication system 100 may comprise the home automation system which communicates with a camera sensor, a motion sensor, or a proximity sensor to detect a location of a person relative to a predetermined distance from a dwelling. The sensor units 115 may be integrated with a home appliance and detects a movement. The home automation system may communicate with the sensor units 115 and the mobile robotic device 125 via internet, and provides action instructions to the mobile robotic device 125 based on the sensed data to the home automation system).
Regarding claim 13, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the controller circuit is configured to:
detect an indication of user engagement in an audio-sensitive event in the environment based on information about respective operating states of one or more internet-connected devices associated with the user's residence (Lin, ¶ 0031-33 and 0040, home automation system may communicate with the remote computing device via network including internet and detects events occurring in the property through sensors including an audio sensor); and
generate the mission control signal to suspend or postpone the mission or to prevent the mobile cleaning robot from performing a specific action for as long as the audio-sensitive event continues in response to the detected indication of user engagement in the audio-sensitive event (Angle ¶ 0094, a mobile robot automatically drives away from an occupant, quiet itself, or turn off its power to quiet to the mobile robot when the occupant takes a phone call. When the call ends, the mobile robot autonomously returns to where it discontinued its mission and return to an active mission state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller circuit of Lin as modified Huang and Angle to pause cleaning as taught by Angle so that the cleaning robot does not hinder human activities.
Regarding claim 14, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in claim 13, wherein the controller circuit is configured to generate the mission control signal to prevent the mobile cleaning robot from performing an action producing a noise level interfering from the detected indication of user engagement in the audio-sensitive event (Angle ¶ 0030 and 0094, a controller communicates with a drive system and a processor. A mobile robot automatically drives away from an occupant, quiet itself, or turn off its power to quiet to the mobile robot when the occupant takes a phone call).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium that includes instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a machine, cause the machine to perform operations (¶ 0071-73, sensor unit comprises a processor module, communication module, a storage module, and a memory module are configured to execute various functions including processing the occupancy data and providing action instructions to the mobile robot device) comprising:
establishing communication between a mobile device holdable by a user and a mobile cleaning robot configured to move about an environment in a user's residence (¶ 0030 and 0032, a remote computing device including a mobile phone may be configured to interact with sensor units to send and receive signals, store and retrieve data, and execute modules. The remote computing device may communicate with the mobile robotic device through the network);
generating a mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to conduct a mission in the environment including a first mission routine in response to the indication of the user entering the pre-defined geographical zone, and a second mission routine different from the first mission routine in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (¶ 0023 and 0059, the system provides action instructions based upon received input data and/or set action instructions based upon an operation rule, may be updated based on newly received data at either the home automation system or the mobile robotic device. The mobile vacuuming robotic device, during the course of the vacuuming operation, may detect, for example via a motion sensor positioned on the robotic device, that a user has come home, and may derive updated action instructions indicating that the vacuuming operation should be terminated. The mobile vacuuming robotic device may execute the updated action instructions by terminating the vacuuming operation and may, for example, return to a charging station. On the other hand, in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone, the system may receive data indicating that the property is no longer unoccupied, then the system may process the input data and obtain new or revised action instructions. Therefore, Lin teaches the mobile robot device can perform different mission routines by receiving instructions based on a user’s entering or exiting the geo-fencing), wherein the pre-defined geographical zone defined by virtual boundaries around and extending beyond a perimeter of a user's residence by a predetermined distance (¶ 0023 and 0059, the home automation system may receive data via one or more sensors including a global positioning system (GPS) sensor for detecting proximity of a person relative to a predetermined distance from a dwelling (e.g., geo-fencing)), but does not disclose explicitly displaying different first and second mission routines, each selectable and programmable by the user on a user interface of the mobile device.
Huang teaches, in the analogous cleaning field of endeavor, displaying different first and second mission routines, each selectable and programmable by the user on a user interface of the mobile device (¶ 0054-06, Huang teaches two different cleaning schedules for autonomous cleaning robot to conduct and a user can use a handheld computing device to select a first cleaning schedule or a second cleaning schedule and to input cleaning schedule parameters to cause the autonomous cleaning robot to initiate cleaning mission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin to provide operation of displaying different mission routines that are selectable and programmable as taught by Huang so that the user can initiate cleaning remotely.
Lin as modified by Huang does not disclose explicitly the first and second mission routines on the display correspond to the user entering and exiting the pre-defined geographical zone.
Angle teaches, in an analogous cleaning field of endeavor, the first and second mission routines on the display correspond to the user entering and exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (¶ 0042, a cleaning system can determine a user’s away state by detecting location of a user’s mobile handset, and it can enter into an away-state mode of operation based on indication of a non-occupancy condition; ¶ 0053, the cleaning system comprises a scheduling database including data representing intended missions compatible with the occupancy database; ¶ 0157-63, a user receives graphical representation of the occupancy data on a mobile device and the user can schedule activity of the robot in different ways. Therefore, Angle teaches a user can utilize a mobile device to access different missions corresponding to the user’s occupancy (in or away state)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin as modified by Huang to provide mission control corresponding to the user’s entering and exiting as taught by Angle so that household cleaning is effectively executed regardless of the user’s occupancy.
Lin as modified by Huang and Angle does not disclose tracking, via the mobile device, geographical locations of the mobile device over time and detecting, via the mobile device, an indication of the user entering or exiting a pre-defined geographical zone by comparing the tracked geographical locations of the mobile device to the pre-defined geographical zone.
Zimroni teaches, in a locating tracking method field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, tracking, via the mobile device, geographical locations of the mobile device over time and detecting, via the mobile device, an indication of the user entering or exiting a pre-defined geographical zone by comparing the tracked geographical locations of the mobile device to the pre-defined geographical zone (col. 6:4-7:32, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory causes a mobile device 102 to run apps to track the location and movement status of the mobile device and to detect whether the mobile device is inside or outside of a geo-fence and whether the mobile devices enters and/or exits the geo-fence. Thus, the system of Zimroni compares the location of the mobile device to the geo-fence. Although a trigger module of Zimroni triggers certain actions such as starting an application program based on the location data on the mobile device, not the mobile cleaning robot, Zimroni teaches the location data obtained by the mobile device can be utilized to execute instructions. Because Lin teaches the mobile cleaning robot communicates with the mobile device, the teaching of Zimroni can be combined with Lin to teach that the mobile cleaning robot can execute instructions based on the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone received from the mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lin as modified by Huang and Angle to provide the mobile device for geographical location tracking as taught by Zimroni for efficient tracking of the mobile device locations with low power consumption (Zimroni, abstract).
Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches transmitting the detected indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone from the mobile device to the mobile cleaning robot via a wireless communication link (Zimroni, col. 6:4-7:32, the mobile device provides the location data to applications on the mobile device and request operating system to perform functions according to the location data through the network communication module 245 [corresponds to the recited communication link]. Although a trigger module of Zimroni triggers certain actions such as starting an application program on the mobile device, not the mobile cleaning robot, based on the location data, Zimroni teaches the location data obtained by the mobile device can be utilized to execute instructions. Because Lin teaches the mobile cleaning robot communicates with the mobile device, the teaching of Zimroni can be combined with Lin to teach that the mobile cleaning robot can execute instructions based on the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone received from the mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni to transmit the indication to the mobile cleaning robot so that the robot performs application according to the location indication.
Regarding claim 20, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the operation of generating a mission control signal to navigate the mobile cleaning robot includes triggering the mobile cleaning robot to initiate the mission in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (Lin, ¶ 0055, the home automation system operates the mobile robotic device according to an operation rule such that vacuuming occurs when the property is unoccupied).
Regarding claim 21, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the operation of generating a mission control signal to navigate the mobile cleaning robot includes, in response to the indication of the user entering the pre-defined geographical zone, triggering the mobile cleaning robot to continue, abort, or suspend a presently unfinished mission, or to postpone the presently unfinished mission to a subsequently scheduled time (Lin, ¶ 0059, as discussed in claim 7 above, the mobile vacuuming robotic device, during the course of the vacuuming operation, may detect that a user has come home, and may derive updated action instructions indicating that the vacuuming operation should be terminated.).
Regarding claim 31, Lin discloses a mobile robot system (fig. 1, mobile robotic device communication system 100), comprising:
a mobile cleaning robot (fig. 1, mobile robotic device 125) comprising:
a controller circuit (¶ 0035, application-specific integrated circuits of a home automation system 110 performs applicable functions. Functions of the Lin’s control circuit is referred as functions of the home automation system in the following discussion; ¶ 0023-24 and 0059, the system of Lin utilizes sensors such as a boundary sensor, a GPS sensor, and a Wi-Fi positioning system sensor to detect a person entering/exiting of a geo-fencing. The sensors are integrated with home appliances to operate them according to the information acquired by the sensors. The mobile robotic device 125 may receive input data from sensors, and may obtain and execute action instructions locally without the need for interaction with the home automation system 110. Thus, as shown in a block 530 of fig. 5, the mobile vacuuming robotic device updates and executes action instructions based on the received data including the information of the user entering of exiting the geo-fence);
a communication system (¶ 0024, mobile robotic device 125 may include a wireless transceiver [corresponds to the recited communication system]); and
a drive system configured to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment in a user's residence (¶ 0049, action instructions make a vacuuming robotic device 125 travels through the house or property, therefore, the robotic device has a drive system); and
a mobile device, holdable by a user, communicatively coupled to the mobile cleaning robot (¶ 0030-31, a remote computing device 135 including a mobile phone is configured to interact with sensor units 115 to sense the occupancy data. The data collected by the sensor units 115 are communicated to the home automation system 110, and further communicated to the mobile robotic device to provide action instructions),
wherein the controller circuit of the mobile cleaning robot is configured to generate a mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to conduct a mission in the environment including a first mission routine in response to the indication of the user entering the pre-defined geographical zone, and a second mission routine different from the first mission routine in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (¶ 0023 and 0059, the system provides action instructions based upon received input data and/or set action instructions based upon an operation rule, may be updated based on newly received data at either the home automation system or the mobile robotic device. The mobile vacuuming robotic device, during the course of the vacuuming operation, may detect, for example via a motion sensor positioned on the robotic device, that a user has come home, and may derive updated action instructions indicating that the vacuuming operation should be terminated. The mobile vacuuming robotic device may execute the updated action instructions by terminating the vacuuming operation and may, for example, return to a charging station. On the other hand, in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone, the system may receive data indicating that the property is no longer unoccupied, then the system may process the input data and obtain new or revised action instructions. Therefore, Lin teaches the mobile robot device can perform different mission routines by receiving instructions based on a user’s entering or exiting the geo-fencing),
wherein the pre-defined geographical zone defined by virtual boundaries around and extending beyond a perimeter of a user's residence by a predetermined distance (¶ 0023 and 0059, the home automation system may receive data via one or more sensors including a global positioning system (GPS) sensor for detecting proximity of a person relative to a predetermined distance from a dwelling (e.g., geo-fencing)), but does not disclose explicitly the mobile device is configured to display the first and second mission routines, the first and second mission routines each selectable and programmable by the user on a user interface of the mobile device.
Huang teaches, in an analogous cleaning field of endeavor, the mobile device is configured to display the first and second mission routines, the first and second mission routines each selectable and programmable by the user on a user interface of the mobile device (¶ 0054-06, Huang teaches two different cleaning schedules for autonomous cleaning robot to conduct and a user can use a handheld computing device to select a first cleaning schedule or a second cleaning schedule and to input cleaning schedule parameters to cause the autonomous cleaning robot to initiate cleaning mission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin to provide the mobile device for selecting and programming the mission routines as taught by Huang so that the user can initiate cleaning remotely.
Lin as modified by Huang does not disclose explicitly the first and second mission routines on the mobile device display correspond to the user entering and exiting the pre-defined geographical zone.
Angle teaches, in an analogous cleaning field of endeavor, the first and second mission routines on the mobile device display correspond to the user entering and exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (¶ 0042, a cleaning system can determine a user’s away state by detecting location of a user’s mobile handset, and it can enter into an away-state mode of operation based on indication of a non-occupancy condition; ¶ 0053, the cleaning system comprises a scheduling database including data representing intended missions compatible with the occupancy database; ¶ 0157-63, a user receives graphical representation of the occupancy data on a mobile device and the user can schedule activity of the robot in different ways. Therefore, Angle teaches a user can utilize a mobile device to access different missions corresponding to the user’s occupancy (in or away state)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin as modified by Huang to provide mission control corresponding to the user’s entering and exiting as taught by Angle so that household cleaning is effectively executed regardless of the user’s occupancy.
Lin as modified by Huang and Angle does not disclose the mobile device configured to track geographical locations of the mobile device over time, and to generate an indication of the user entering or exiting a pre-defined geographical zone by comparing the tracked geographical locations of the mobile device to the pre-defined geographical zone.
Zimroni teaches, in a locating tracking system field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the mobile device configured to track geographical locations of the mobile device over time, and to generate an indication of a user entering or exiting a pre-defined geographical zone by comparing the tracked geographical locations of the mobile device to the pre-defined geographical zone and a controller circuit configured to receive from the mobile device the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (col. 6:4-8:57 and figs. 2-3, Zimroni states, for example, an operating system 216 enables running apps of a mobile device 102 and tracking the location and movement status of the mobile device by detecting whether the mobile device is inside or outside of geo-fences, a triggering module 224 triggers starting or stopping application program when the mobile device detects entering/exiting the geo-fence, and a network communication module 214 manages communication between the mobile device 102 and other computing devices via a network interface. The system of Zimroni compares the location of the mobile device to the geo-fence, allows the mobile device to provide the location data to applications on the mobile device, and requests operating system [corresponds to the recited controller circuit] to perform functions according to the location data. Therefore, the system of Zimroni utilizes the mobile device to generate indication of a user entering or exiting the geo-fence, and the operating system receives the location data from the mobile device. Although a trigger module of Zimroni triggers certain actions such as starting an application program on the mobile device based on the location data. Thus, Zimroni teaches the location information is utilized in operation of a program. However, Zimroni also teaches the mobile device interacts with another computing device through the network interface. Lin also teaches the mobile cleaning robot communicates with the mobile device. Therefore, the mobile device of Zimroni is capable of communicating with the mobile robotic device of Lin to enable the mobile robotic device to execute instructions based on the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone received from the mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lin as modified by Huang and Angle to provide the mobile device for geographical location tracking as taught by Zimroni for efficient tracking of the mobile device locations with low power consumption (Zimroni, abstract).
Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the communication system of the mobile cleaning robot is configured to receive, from the mobile device and via a wireless communication link, the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone (Zimroni, col. 6:4-8:57 and figs. 2-3, as discussed above, an operating system 216 enables running apps of a mobile device 102 and tracking the location and movement status of the mobile device by detecting whether the mobile device is inside or outside of geo-fences, a triggering module 224 triggers starting or stopping application program when the mobile device detects entering/exiting the geo-fence, and a network communication module 214 manages communication between the mobile device 102 and other computing devices via a network interface; Lin ¶ 0024, the mobile robot device 125 has a wireless transceiver [corresponds to the recited wireless communication system] for receiving data from the remote computing device 135 through a Wi-Fi or other communication capabilities [corresponds to the recited wireless communication link]. Therefore, the robot of Lin can receive the indication of the user entering or exiting the pre-defined geographical zone from the mobile device of Zimroni).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni to receive the indication as taught by Zimroni so that it can communicate with other device through a network communication module (Zimroni col. 7:22-27). It would allow other device to receive and take action based on the detected location data.
Regarding claim 82, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the pre-defined geographical zone has a user-defined shape or a user-defined size (Lin, ¶ 0023, the geo-fencing is defined by a predetermined distance from a dwelling. Therefore, it has a user-defined size).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Huang, Angle, and Zimroni, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Wettergren (WO 0251193A1).
Regarding claim 4, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni teaches the system as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the pre-defined geographical zone includes a circular zone with a radius centered on the location of the user's residence.
Wettergren teaches, in an analogous network field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the pre-defined geographical zone includes a circular zone with a radius centered on the location of the user's residence (p. 3:8-14 and p. 4:26 – p. 5:7, in a cellular communication network, a zone of interest can be defined. The zone of interest is used for monitoring and generating action when a mobile station, e.g., client’s mobile device, approaches a boundary of the zone of interest. The definition of boundary comprises entering an address with a specific alarm zone radius).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile robotic device of Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni to define a circular pre-defined geographical zone as taught by Wettergren. This will allow a system to acknowledge that a member of a house is approaching or leaving the property from any direction, and prepares for an appropriate action (Wettergren, p. 3:18-21).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Huang, Angle, and Zimroni, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Watanabe (US 2018/0354140).
Regarding claim 11, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni discloses the system as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose explicitly the mobile cleaning robot is operatively in communication with a voice-controlled home assistant device configured to receive a voice command of the user, wherein the controller circuit is configured to generate the mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to conduct the mission in accordance with the voice command of the user.
Watanabe teaches, in an analogous robot system field of endeavor, a robot, operatively in communication with a voice-controlled device configured to receive a voice command of the user, wherein the controller circuit is configured to generate the mission control signal to trigger the robot to conduct the mission in accordance with the voice command of the user (¶ 0026, a controller can be configured to stop the operation of the robot, in a case where the voice operation device detects the voice with the sound volume which is equal to or higher than a predetermined sound volume, during the operation of the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile robotic device of Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni to utilize it with a voice-controlled device as taught by Watanabe so that a user can stop the operation of the robot immediately in case of urgent situation compared to finding a remote device and touching a command icon to stop the robot.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Huang, Angle, and Zimroni, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Baek et al. (US 2020/0341477, hereinafter Baek).
Regarding claim 12, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni discloses the system as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the controller circuit is configured to receive programmable input by a user via a mobile device (Lin, ¶ 0067, data may be inputted by a home owner at a remote computing device), but does not disclose the input is a no-run time (NRT) and the controller circuit generates a mission control signal to prevent the mobile cleaning robot from conducting a mission or performing a specific action during the NRT.
Baek teaches, in an analogous moving robot field of endeavor, a method of controlling a moving robot, wherein a controller is configured to receive a no-run time (NRT) and the controller circuit generates a mission control signal to prevent the mobile cleaning robot from conducting a mission or performing a specific action during the NRT (¶ 0015, a disturbance prohibiting mode sets a specific time, and when the current time belongs to the set time, the specific function of a robot is restricted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile robotic device of Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni to provide the no-run time as taught by Baek so that a user can reduce the disturbance at a time when the user does not want to be disturbed. This control method may maximize user’s operation efficiency if the user has to focus on a task without disturbance.
Claims 17 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Huang, Angle, and Zimroni, as applied to claims 16 and 31 above respectively, and in further view of Kern, Jr. et al. (US 2014/0349672, hereinafter Kern).
Regarding claim 17, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni discloses the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the instructions cause the machine to perform operations (Lin, ¶ 0024, the home automation system 110 may provide action instructions to the mobile robotic device 125) but does not disclose the instructions further comprising receiving via the user interface of the mobile device a user input of the pre-defined geographical zone with respect to the location of the user's residence.
Kern teaches, in a communication field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (¶ 0031, a system includes a non-transitionary computer readable medium), wherein the instructions further comprising receiving via the user interface of the mobile device a user input of the pre-defined geographical zone with respect to the location of the user's residence (¶ 0003, a geo-fence can be pre-configured by a user around a defined location such as the user’s home; ¶ 0012, the user input can be received via a user interface such as mobile application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the computer-readable storage medium of Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni to receive a user input of the pre-defined geographical zone via the user interface of the mobile device as taught by Kern so that the user is able to make the robot to clean only a certain area of the house. For example, the user may refrain the mobile robot from cleaning a baby room so that an infant may continue sleep without waking up.
Regarding claim 32, Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni discloses the mobile robot system as in the rejection of claim 31, wherein:
the mobile device is configured to receive a user input (Lin, ¶ 0067, a user can input data to a remote computing device including a mobile phone); and
the controller circuit (Lin, ¶ 0035, application-specific integrated circuits of a home automation system 110 performs applicable functions) is configured to:
in response to the indication of the user exiting the pre-defined geographical zone, generate a mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to initiate the mission (Lin, ¶ 0024, as explained in claim 6 above, the home automation system 110 may provide action instructions to the mobile robotic device 125 and may provide updated action instructions according to the sensed data; ¶ 0055, the home automation system operates the mobile robotic device according to an operation rule such that vacuuming occurs when the property is unoccupied), and
in response to the indication of the user entering the pre-defined geographical zone, generate a mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to continue, abort, or suspend a presently unfinished mission, or to postpone the presently unfinished mission to a subsequently scheduled time (Lin, ¶ 0059, as explained in claim 7 above, after the mobile vacuuming robotic device has initiated a vacuuming operation, the home automation system may receive data indicating that the home or property is no longer unoccupied, then the home automation system may revise action instructions to terminate the vacuuming operation), but does not disclose the user input is the pre-defined geographical zone with respect to a location of the user's residence.
Kern teaches, in the communication field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a user can input of the pre-defined geographical zone with respect to the location of the user's residence (¶ 0003, a geo-fence can be pre-configured by a user around a defined location such as the user’s home).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile robot system of Lin as modified by Huang, Angle, and Zimroni to provide a user input of the pre-defined geographical zone as taught by Kern so that the user is able to make the robot to clean only a certain area of the house in order to complete the cleaning job within a given time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Lin does not teach or suggest a controller circuit of the mobile cleaning robot configured to generate the mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to conduct a mission. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant asserts, in Lin, the home automation system 110, not mobile robot device 125, is configured to generate the mission control signal and the mobile robotic device is not positioned or integrated with geofencing-related sensors. As Applicant asserts Lin teaches the home automation system collects data from sensors and provides action instructions to the mobile robotic device. However, Lin clearly states that alternatively, the mobile robotic device may receive input data from the sensors positioned on or integrated with the mobile robotic device, and may execute the action instructions without need for interaction with the home automation system (¶ 0024). Therefore, Lin teaches, in one embodiment, the mobile cleaning robot is associated with the sensors to receive input from the sensors and the mobile cleaning robot can generate a mission control signal. The sensor includes a geo-fencing sensor (¶ 0023).
Applicant further argues the geo-fencing of Lin is not the pre-defined geographical zone defined by virtual boundaries extending beyond the residence. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lin teaches the sensor unit includes a GPS sensor, and it can detect proximity of a person relative to a predetermined distance from a dwelling. Although Lin does not disclose how long is the predetermined distance, it cannot be assumed indicating just entering or exiting a home. The geofence claim limitations are further taught by Zimroni.
Applicant argues Zimroni does not teach or suggest a controller circuit, of the mobile cleaning robot, configured to receive from the mobile device an indication of a user entering or exiting a pre-defined geographical zone. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant asserts the Zimroni’s detection of location with respect to the geo-fence is utilized for the application program only within the mobile device. The operating system 216 of Zimroni includes a plurality of modules. For example, a status tracking module 222 is used for tracking and processing the movement status of a mobile device 102, a trigger module 224 used for triggering/generating certain actions based on the location data received from the mobile device 102, and a network communication module 245 is used for managing communication between the mobile device 102 and other mobile devices via a network interface 210. Therefore, the location information of the mobile device 102 of Zimroni can be communicated with another mobile device, such as the mobile robotic device 125 of Lin. The mobile robotic device of Lin includes a wireless transceiver for receiving data. Thus, the mobile robotic device of Lin can receive the location data transmitted by the network communication module of Zimroni, and the Lin’s robot can generate mission control signal to trigger the mobile cleaning robot to conduct a mission based on the location data. It is unreasonable to assert Zimroni’s network communication module does not transmit the location data because it does not explicitly disclose it. Zimroni does not disclose the network communication module does not transmit any data to other mobile devices, either.
For the reasons above, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723