DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Instant application has the following priority dates:
Instant application was filed on 11/17/2020.
Instant application is a continuation in part of 15/927,245, filed 03/21/2018.
15/927,245 is a continuation of 15/072,063, filed 03/16/2016.
15/072,063 is a continuation in part of 14/304,765, filed 06/13/2014.
14/304,765 claims priority from Provisional Application 61/835,383, filed 06/14/2013.
The effective filing date of claims 9–14, 17, 18, and 20–23 is 06/13/2014, because U.S. Application No. 15/072,063 provides support for all of the claimed features. Specifically, U.S. Application No. 15/072,063 describes an air diffuser 409 with the structure of the claimed “first housing element” because the diffuser 409 is a perforated sheet that can be made of metal, and which maintains a filter material 303 in a generally flat configuration. U.S. Application No. 15/072,063 Fig. 3, [0034], [0049].
Note that Provisional Application 61/835,383 and U.S. Application No. 14/304,765 each fail to provide written description support for a “first housing element [comprising] a metal sheet having a plurality of perforations therethrough.” Both Provisional Application 61/835,383 and U.S. Application No. 14/304,765 describe a perforated insert 32, but do not specify that the insert is made of metal. Also, Provisional Application 61/835,383 and U.S. Application No. 14/304,765 describe an external support frame 101 that can be made of metal, but does not say that the external support frame 101 has a plurality of perforations therethrough. Provisional Application 61/835,383, Fig. 20, [0076]; U.S. Application No. 14/304,765, Fig. 20, [0091]. Furthermore, U.S. Application No. 14/304,765 describes a wire frame 401 that can be made of metal, but the wire frame 401 is not described as comprising a plurality of perforations. U.S. Application No. 14/304,765, Fig. 31, [0095].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9–12, 17, 18, and 21–23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More, US 6,293,983 B1 in view of Swierczyna et al., US 2002/0179084 A1 and in further view of Klein, US 4,627,863.
Regarding claim 9, More teaches a filter assembly 18 for use in a kitchen, which reads on the claimed “grease filter.” See More Figs. 1, 7, col. 3, ll. 14–19. The filter assembly 18 comprises:
A metal filter 15 (the claimed “external frame”) configured to be removably installed in an aperture 14 of an exhaust hood 10, as claimed. See More Figs. 1, 7, col. 3, ll. 1–3.
The metal filter 15 defines a “pathway for airflow therethrough,” as claimed, which is the pathway through the metal filter 15 into the exhaust hood 10.
The metal frame 15 at least partially defines an “upstream portion” of the filter assembly 18 (where pre-filter 17 is attached) and a “downstream portion” of the filter assembly 18 (opposite of where the pre-filter 17 is attached), as claimed. See More Figs. 1, 7, col. 3, ll. 14–19.
A flame baffle 24 (the claimed “baffle filter”) disposed within the downstream portion of the filter assembly 18. See More Fig. 7, col. 6, ll. 13–20. The flame baffle 24 is secured within the metal filter 15, as claimed, because the metal filter 15 incorporates the flame baffle 24. Id.
A pre-filter 17 (the claimed “removable filter pad”) having a length and width (the claimed “outer dimensions”). See More Figs. 1, 7, col. 6, ll. 13–20.
More differs from claim 9 because it is silent as to the filter assembly 18 comprising a first housing element having outer dimensions and positioned within the upstream portion of the filter assembly 18, with the first housing element being configured to provide support to the pre-filter 17 to maintain it in a generally flat configuration, with the first housing element comprising a perforated metal sheet and being positioned upstream of the pre-filter 17, with the outer dimensions of the pre-filter 17 being approximately the same as the outer dimensions of the first housing element.
But More teaches that the pre-filter 17 is manufactured from a flexible filter blanket material that requires “some form of support.” See More col. 3, ll. 41–60, col. 4, ll. 35–49. The support can be provided “in a number of ways” including a rigid support element provided co-extensively with the filter element material. Id. at col. 4, ll. 41–49. As such, Fig. 7 provides a non-limiting example where the pre-filter 17 is supported by a support element 26 (co-extensive with the pre-filter 17) provided on the downstream side of the pre-filter 17. Id. at Fig. 7, col. 6, ll. 13–20.
With this in mind, Swierczyna teaches kitchen ventilation system 10 comprising an effluent removal assembly 30 (a filter assembly) for removing grease from air that is ventilated through the system 10. The effluent removal system 30 comprises a porous web material 16 that is supported between an upstream open support structure 15 and a downstream perforated plate 17. See Swierczyna Figs. 1, 2, [0019], [0022]. The upstream open support structure 15 is disposed on the upstream face of the porous web material 16 and has outer dimensions that are approximately the same as the porous web material 16. Id. at [0019]. The upstream open support structure 15 can be a perforated plate, and is interpreted as having a similar structure as the perforated plate 17 illustrated in Fig. 2 of Swierczyna. Id.
Because More teaches that the pre-filter 17 can be supported “in a number of ways” including by a rigid support element that is co-extensive with the pre-filter 17, with Swierczyna illustrating a similar kitchen ventilation filter comprising an upstream and downstream rigid support structures 15, 17 co-extensive with a porous web 16 for support—it would have been obvious to provide the open support structure 15 of Swierczyna upstream of the pre-filter 17 of More (in addition to the downstream pre-filter support element 26 of More) to provide additional structural support to the pre-filter 17.
With this modification, the open support structure 15 reads on the “first housing element.” The open support structure 15 is capable of providing support the pre-filter 17 to maintain the pre-filter 17 in a generally flat configuration, as claimed, because the support structure 15 is a support material that is disposed on the upstream face of the pre-filter 17. The open support structure 15 is a sheet having a plurality of perforations therethrough, as claimed. The open support structure 15 is positioned upstream of the pre-filter 17, as claimed. The outer dimensions of the pre-filter 17 are approximately the same as the outer dimensions of the open support structure 15, as claimed.
More in view of Swierczyna differs from claim 1 because Swierczyna is silent as to the material used to manufacture the open support structure 15. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach the open support structure 15 is a “metal sheet,” as claimed.
But Swierczyna suggests that metal is a suitable material to manufacture the perforated plate because it teaches that the ventilation hood can be made from sheet metal, which is suitable for withstanding high temperatures. See Swierczyna [0017]. Further, Klein teaches a filter comprising a movable filter web 22 with a perforated metal separator 16 made from a metal sheet, with the perforated metal separator 16 having a similar structure as either perforated plate 15, 17 of Swierczyna. See Klein Fig. 3, col. 2, l. 67–col. 3, l. 9. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the open support structure 15 of Swierczyna to be manufactured from a metal sheet because Swierczyna suggests that metal is a suitable high temperature material for use with its device, and Klein teaches a perforated metal separator 16 with a similar structure as the perforated plate of Swierczyna.
Regarding claim 10, More as modified teaches that the pre-filter 17 (the “removable filter pad”), when installed, is disposed within the “upstream portion” of the filter assembly 18 (the “grease filter”) adjacent to the open support structure 15 (the “first housing element”), as claimed, because the pre-filter 17 is upstream of the flame baffle 24 (see More col. 6, ll. 13–20) and adjacent to open support structure 15 of Swierczyna (seen in Fig. 2 of Swierczyna).
Regarding claim 11, More as modified teaches a support element 26 (the “second housing element”) disposed within the metal filter 15 (the “external frame”) between the flame baffle 24 and the open support structure 15 of Swierczyna (which is upstream of the pre-filter 17). See More Fig. 7, col. 6, ll. 13–20.
Regarding claim 12, More as modified teaches that the support element 26 is mounted to an L-shaped extrusion 25 on the upstream face of the metal filter 15 (the L-shaped extrusion 25 reads on the “one or more divider tabs of the external frame”). See More Fig. 7, col. 6, ll. 13–20. Note that the support element 26 will be secured to the L-shaped extrusion 25 when cable ties 27 attach the support 26 to flame baffles 24, because the L-shaped extrusion 25 is located between the flame baffles 25 and the support element 26. See More Fig. 7, col. 6, ll. 13–34.
Regarding claim 17, More as modified is interpreted such that the upstream, open support element 15 of Swierczyna (the “first element”) is removable from the pre-filter 17 of More because Fig. 2 of Swierczyna illustrates the opening support element 15 being removed from the web material 16. Also, More teaches that the pre-filter 17 is disposable, and therefore periodically requires replacement. See More col. 2, l. 6. Therefore, when the open support structure 15 of Swierczyna is used with More, it would have been obvious for the open support structure 15 to be removable so that the pre-filter 17 can be replaced. As such, the open support element 15 is configured to move from a “first position” (open support element 15 removed from the filter assembly 18 of More) to a “second position” (open support element 15 attached to the filter assembly 18). The “first position” permits installation of the pre-filter 17 within the filter assembly 18 (as open support element 15 is removed), and the “second position” not permitting installation of the pre-filter 17 within the filter assembly 18, as claimed (as the open support element 15 covers the pre-filter 17 when it is attached to the filter assembly 18).
Regarding claim 18, More as modified teaches that pre-filter 17 can be from a fibrous material (see More col. 2, ll. 7–11) with the pre-filter 17 comprising several layers of material (id. at col. 3, ll. 49–54). One layer of blanket material reads on “first fibrous mat” and another layer of blanket material reads on the “second fibrous mat.” The layers of blanket material are “coupled together” as claimed because they form the pre-filter 17 which is illustrated in Fig. 7 as an integrated structure.
Regarding claim 21, More as modified teaches that the open support structure 15 of Swierczyna (the “first housing element”) is removably secured to the metal filter 15 of More (the “external frame”), as claimed, because Fig. 2 of Swierczyna illustrates the open support structure 15 being removed from the web 16. Also, More teaches that the pre-filter 17 is disposable, and therefore periodically requires replacement. See More col. 2, l. 6. Therefore, when the open support structure 15 of Swierczyna is used with More, it would have been obvious for the open support structure 15 to be removable so that the pre-filter 17 can be replaced.
Regarding claim 22, More as modified teaches that the support element 26 (the “second housing element”) is positioned downstream of the pre-filter 17 (the “removable filter pad”), as claimed.
More as modified differs from claim 22 because it is silent as to the support element 26 comprising a metal sheet having a plurality of perforations therethrough.
But, as noted, Swierczyna teaches that its effluent removal assembly 30 comprises a perforated plate 17 positioned on the downstream side of the porous web material 16. See Swierczyna Fig. 2, [0019]. The perforated plate 17 is beneficial because it precludes cooking effluents from blocking or restricting exhaust gas flow through the plate 17. Id. at [0020].
It would have been obvious to use the perforated plate 17 of Swierczyna as the support element 26 of More to provide a material that precludes cooking effluents from blocking or restricting exhaust gas flow.
It is noted that Swierczyna is silent as to the material used to make the perforated plate 17. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach the perforated plate 17 being made of metal.
But Swierczyna suggests that metal is a suitable material to manufacture the perforated plate because it teaches that the ventilation hood can be made from sheet metal, which is suitable for withstanding high temperatures. See Swierczyna [0017]. Further, Klein teaches a filter comprising a movable filter web 22 with a perforated metal separator 16 made from a metal sheet, with the perforated metal separator 16 having a similar structure as either perforated plate 15, 17 of Swierczyna. See Klein Fig. 3, col. 2, l. 67–col. 3, l. 9. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the perforated plate 17 of Swierczyna to be manufactured from a metal sheet because Swierczyna suggests that metal is a suitable high temperature material for use with its device, and Klein teaches a perforated metal separator 16 with a similar structure as the perforated plate of Swierczyna.
Regarding claim 23, More as modified teaches that the metal sheet of the open support structure 15 comprises a non-perforated perimeter, as claimed. This is because the open support structure 15 is a perforated plate (i.e., has the same structure as the perforated plate 17), with the perforated plate 17 having a non-perforated perimeter. See Swierczyna Fig. 2, [0019].
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More, US 6,293,983 B1 in view of Swierczyna et al., US 2002/0179084 A1 in view of Klein, US 4,627,863 and in further view of Feisthammel et al., US 6,833,022 B2.
Regarding claim 13, More as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as explained above.
More as modified differs from claim 13 because it is silent as to the flame baffle 24 (the “baffle filter”) comprising first and second rows of baffles being secured in staggered relation to each other.
But Feisthammel teaches a vortex baffle filter 1 used in a kitchen exhaust hood. See Feisthammel Fig. 1, col. 1, ll. 15–20, col. 3, ll. 57–61. The vortex filter 1 comprises first and second rows of baffles secured in a staggered relation to one another. Id. The vortex baffle filter 1 separates water and grease from air flowing through it. It would have been obvious to use the vortex baffle filter 1 of Feisthammel as the flame baffle 24 of More because this would merely represent substituting one known element for another to produce predictable results. See MPEP 2143, subsection I, B.
Regarding claim 14, Feisthammel teaches that the first and second rows of baffles include a plurality of baffles spaced apart from each other to provide openings therebetween for the flow of air therethrough, as seen in Fig. 1.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More, US 6,293,983 B1 in view of Swierczyna et al., US 2002/0179084 A1 in view of Klein, US 4,627,863 and in further view of Aviles, US 2009/0194093 A1.
Regarding claim 20, More as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as explained above.
More as modified differs from claim 20 because it is silent as to one or more handles pivotably connected to the filter assembly 18 (the “grease filter”). But the filter assembly 18 is intended to be inserted and removed from the opening 14 of vent hood 10. See More Fig. 1, col. 3, ll. 4–19
With this in mind, Aviles teaches a grease filter 16 for a kitchen ventilator comprising a pair of handles 62 pivotally connected to a peripheral frame 24 of the filter 16 to enable ready handling of the filter 16 during installation and removal relative to the canopy 16 of the ventilator. See Aviles Fig. 5, [0027].
It would have been obvious to provide the handles 62 of Aviles with the filter assembly 18 of More to enable ready handling of the collector 16 during installation and removal from the opening 14 of the hood 10 of More.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 24 and 25 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 9–14, 17, 18, and 20–23, drawn to a grease filter, classified in B01D46/10.
II. Claims 24 and 25, drawn to a grease filter, classified in B01D46/0005.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are directed to related grease filters. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j).
Here, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design. This is because Invention I requires that the outer dimensions of the removable filter pad are approximately the same as the outer dimensions of the first housing element. Invention II does not require this feature. Therefore Invention II could be designed such that the outer dimensions of the removable filter pad are larger than the outer dimensions of the first housing element. Also, Invention II requires that the external frame comprises a top lip and a bottom lip positioned at the upstream portion where the removable filter pad is retained within the external frame by the top lip and the bottom lip. Invention I does not require this feature. Therefore Invention I could be designed such that the removable filter pad is retained by something other than top and bottom lips (e.g., Velcro). Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The Inventions are classified separately. Also, there would be a serious search burden if restriction were not required because it would be necessary to search for each Invention in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions, with a different field of search required. This is because searching for Invention I would require looking for a specific grease filter arrangement where the outer dimensions of the removable filter pad are approximately the same as the outer dimensions of the first housing element, while using search terms to this effect. Also, searching for Invention II would require looking for a specific arrangement of top and bottom lips configured to retain a removable filter pad and a metal sheet, requiring search terms to this effect. The field of search for Inventions I and II therefore is different because searching for each Invention requires significantly different search terms (Invention I requires terms for the outer dimensions of the removable filter pad; Invention II requires terms for the top and bottom lip arrangement).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 24 and 25 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Priority
The Examiner maintains the position that the claims receive the priority dates listed above.
The Applicant argues that the statements do not consistently identify the application and disclosure supporting the assigned dated. See Applicant Rem. dated September 30, 2026 (“Applicant Rem.”) 6.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection clearly indicates that parent applications, Provisional Application 61/835,383 and U.S. Application No. 14/304,765 each fail to provide written description support for the feature of independent claim 9 of—“first housing element [comprising] a metal sheet having a plurality of perforations therethrough.” This feature (and the features of the dependent claims) is supported by parent application, U.S. Application No. 15/072,063. Therefore, the claims receive priority to the effective filing date of U.S. Application No. 15/072,063 of June 13, 2014.
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections
Independent Claim 9
The Applicant argues that there is no articulated rationale for why it would have been obvious to include the upstream open support structure 15 of Swierczyna (reading on the claimed “first housing element”) upstream of the pre-filter 17 of More (the “removable filter pad”). See Applicant Rem. 8. Instead, it is argued that the rejection identifies no additional support function of providing the support structure 15 upstream of the pre-filter 17. Id. It is argued that there is no benefit in including the support structure 15 of Swierczyna upstream of the pre-filter 17 in More, asserting that More discloses alternative arrangements for retaining the pre-filter 17, and expressly provides a downstream support element 26 in the embodiment relied on for the rejection. Id. The Applicant also argues that the rejection fails to explain how placing the additional support structure 15 of Swierczyna at the upstream face of the pre-filter 17 of More would provide additional support to the pre-filter 17. Id. It is further argued that the support function of the support structure 15 in the assembly of Swierczyna does not, without explanation, establish the additional support attributed to the proposed modification of More. Id. It is argued that while the support structure 15 can be positioned upstream of the pre-filter 17, there is no articulated rationale for why it would have been obvious to do so. Id. at 9. As such, it is argued that the rejection fails to sufficiently establish an additional support function achieved by including the support structure 15 of Swierczyna upstream of the pre-filter 17 of More.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. More teaches a kitchen ventilation system comprising a filter assembly 18 having a pre-filter 17. The pre-filter 17 is made from a flexible filter blanket material that requires some form of support. Id. at col. 4, ll. 35–41. The support “may be provided in a number of ways” including a rigid support element used co-extensively with the filter material. Id. at col. 4, ll. 41–49. The Fig. 7 embodiment illustrates a non-limiting example where the pre-filter 17 is supported on the downstream side by pre-filter support element 26. Id. at Fig. 7, col. 6, ll. 13–20.
Likewise, Swierczyna teaches a kitchen ventilation system 10 comprising an effluent removal assembly 30 (a filter assembly) comprising a porous web material 16 that is supported on both the upstream and downstream side by open support structure 15 and perforated plate 17. See Swierczyna Figs. 1, 2, [0017]–[0019]. The open support structure 15 and perforated plate 17 each run co-extensively with the porous web material 16. Id. Also, the open support structure 15 provides structural support to the web material 16 because it is located upstream of the web 16 and is described as a “support structure.”
It would have been obvious to provide the open support structure 15 of Swierczyna upstream of the pre-filter 17 of More (in addition to the downstream pre-filter support element 26). This is because More recognizes that pre-filter 17 requires some form of support, which can be provided “in a number of ways” (including a support element that is co-extensive with the pre-filter 17)—and Swierczyna illustrates that a suitable way to support a porous web 16 in a kitchen ventilation filter assembly is by using both an upstream 15 and downstream 17 support element, with each support element 15, 17 being co-extensive with the porous web 16. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that including the upstream support element 15 of Swierczyna in addition to the downstream pre-filter support 26 would improve the structural support of the pre-filter 17 by providing a supporting mechanism on both sides of the pre-filter 17.
Claim 12
The Applicant argues that More fails to teach the support element 26 (the “second housing element”) being secured to L-shaped extrusion 25 (the “one or more divider tabs”), as claimed. See Applicant Rem. 11. Instead, it is argued that the support element 26 is mounted to flame baffle 24 using anchoring means such as cable ties 27. Id.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The support element 26 will be secured against the L-shaped extrusion 25 when the cable ties 27 attach the support element 26 to the support element 26 to flame baffles 24. This is because L-shaped extrusion 25 is located in front of the flame baffles 24 to which the cable ties 27 are attached. See More Fig. 7, col. 6, ll. 13–34.
Claims 17 and 21
The Applicant argues that Fig. 2 of Swierczyna fails to illustrate that the open support structure 15 is removable to allow for removal and installation of the porous web 16. See Applicant Rem. 11–12.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and maintains that Fig. 2 illustrates the open support structure 15 being removable from the effluent removal assembly 30. Also, More teaches that the pre-filter 17 is disposable, and therefore periodically requires replacement. See More col. 2, l. 6. Therefore, when the open support structure 15 of Swierczyna is used with More, it would have been obvious for the open support structure 15 to be removable so that the pre-filter 17 can be replaced.
Claim 22
The Applicant argues that the rationale for using the downstream support plate 17 of Swierczyna for the downstream support element 26 of More is deficient. See Applicant Rem. 13. It is argued that the rejection fails to connect the aperture characteristics of the support plate 17 of Swierczyna to the proposed replacement of the support element 26 or explain why the anti-blockage benefit would be expected in the modified arrangement. Id. It is also argued that the rejection fails to articulate why a person of ordinary skill in the art would also add the upstream support element 15 of Swierczyna upstream of the pre-filter 17 of More. Id.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The perforated plate 17 of Swierczyna is similar to the downstream support element 26 of More because the perforated plate 17 is a rigid material that is located downstream of the porous web material 16 in a location where it provides structural support for the web. The perforated plate 17 is advantageous because it is structured so that it precludes cooking effluents from blocking or restricting exhaust flow through the plate. See Swierczyna [0020]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the perforated plate 17 of Swierczyna as the support element 26 of More to provide a material that precludes cooking effluents from blocking or restricting exhaust gas flow.
As noted above, it also would have been obvious to provide the upstream support structure 15 of Swierczyna in a location upstream of the pre-filter 17 of More because More teaches that the pre-filter 17 can be supported “in a number of ways” including with a rigid support element that is co-extensive with the pre-filter 17, with Swierczyna illustrating that providing upstream and downstream support elements 15, 17 co-extensive with a porous web 16 is a suitable way of providing structural support to filter material in a kitchen filter assembly.
Claim 23
The issue for claim 23 is whether it would have been obvious for the upstream support structure 15 of Swierczyna to be made from the same structure as the perforated plate 17 such that the upstream support structure 15 has a non-perforated perimeter as with the perforated plate 17. The Applicant argues that the option of making the upstream support structure 15 of Swierczyna a perforated plate does not establish that the perimeter necessarily has the construction depicted for the downstream plate 17. See Applicant Rem. 13.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Swierczyna says that the open support structure 15 can be a perforated plate. See Swierczyna [0019]. Fig. 2 of Swierczyna illustrates perforated plate 17 having a non-perforated perimeter. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the perforated plate used to make the open support structure 15 would also have a non-perforated perimeter. If not, it would have been obvious for the perforated plate of the open support structure 15 to have the same structure as the perforated plate 17 because this would merely represent the selection of a known material based on the suitability of its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776