Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
The following Non-Final office action is in response to application 16/950,432 filed on 5/7/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 11-15, and 18-21 are currently pending and have been rejected as follows.
Response to Amendments
New rejections under 35 USC 103 are issued below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s prior art arguments and amendments have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the newly cited reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-15, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of
Burhanuddin et al., US 20180330248 A1, hereinafter Burhanuddin, in further view of
Batista Reyes et al., US 20090150372 A1, hereinafter Batista, in view of
De Datta et al, US Patent No. 8949254 B1, hereinafter Datta, in further view of
Manion et al., US 20120030559 A1, hereinafter Manion. As per,
Claims 1, 8
Burhanuddin teaches
A method comprising: /
A system comprising: one or more computer-readable medias configured to store instructions; one or more processors coupled to the one or more computer-readable medias and configured to execute the instructions to cause or direct the system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
receiving, at a computing system, one or more types of marketing data that includes one or more of: paid media spend data, paid media performance data, customer platform data, customer relationship management platform data, and account based marketing system data; (Burhanuddin [0043] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes marketing and advertisement spend … showing advertisements on websites, as search results, social advertisements, and other form of advertising … The analytics data 192 includes information on how the marketing content performed. The customer data 186 further indicates … who all among those customers ended up in performing a transaction”)
[…],
wherein the adjustment is selected from a set of adjustments including: adjusting mobile image and video media, adjusting product offers, adjusting calls to action, adjusting personalized content, adjusting marketing offers, and adjusting user experiences; (Burhanuddin [0037] “Examples of the assets 182 include, but are not limited to, image, text, document, video, audio, font, and metadata … the content publishing and management engine 182 enables multisite, i.e. multiple websites and mobile content, management workflows, and commerce, i.e. personalized shopping experiences that incorporate video, social, and other dynamic media;” [0041] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes a content personalization engine 196. The content personalization engine 196 enables the user to provide different digital experiences to the customers when different customers visit same webpage or same application of the user” note the personalization of content and user experience. Further note in [0041] the personalization based on A/B testing and analytics data; [0042] “The campaigning and messaging engine 198 customizes the messages” corresponding to the marketing offers; [0073]-[0076] “the recommendation system 410 can be trained to make recommendations based on the current context of a user” note the intent modeling to identify target nodes and make recommendations based on a user’s current context corresponding to the adjustment of calls to action)
generating, at the computing system, a first set of instructions, configured to implement the adjustment to content for each of the plurality of webpages; (Burhanuddin [0054] “The computer-readable media includes computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors. The instructions may optionally implement one or more components of analytics system 208 and/or recommendation system 210”)
[…];
after determining the adjustment to content configured to be applied to each of the plurality of webpages, […]; (Burhanuddin [0037] “The marketing apparatus 110 includes a content publishing and management engine 182 that enables the user to create websites and other content. The content publishing and management engine 182 provides an end to end workflow to the user … editing and republishing, of content.” Note the republishing of content corresponding to the adjustment to content applied to webpages)
[…].
Burhanuddin does not explicitly teach, Batista however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
processing, via the computing system, the marketing data to determine an adjustment to content for each of a plurality of ecommerce webpages of an ecommerce website, the plurality of webpages being configured to present product information in a persistent manner independent of a user query and, the adjustment configured to adjust content presented by each of the plurality of webpages when each of the plurality of webpages are rendered by adjusting executable computer instruction code of each of the plurality of webpages, the executable computer instruction code for each of the plurality of webpages configured to render individual ones of the plurality of webpages in response to navigation to individual ones of the plurality of webpages and the adjustment configured for each of the plurality of webpages, and selected based on the marketing data for application to each of the plurality of webpages; (Batista [0020] “The present invention provides a tool, that using log files for hyperlink analysis in a SEO tool of the SEO suite, extracts a larger number of incoming links for the user website, because it extracts that information from the website's log file. The tool does this for every single page on the website automatically. The tool uses the extracted hyperlink information, to identify link rich and link poor pages. Pages in the site, that doesn't get many links and pages on the site that get a lot of links. The idea is that the user can optimize the site by linking the link rich pages to the link poor ones. ” Note the processing of the SEO data to determine an adjustment to pages of a website corresponding to the processing of the marketing data to determine an adjustment to content for webpages of an ecommerce website; [0054] “the pages are optimized by the user, following the metrics that the present invention has calculated based on the selected competitors feature. The final result is the user's optimized pages” noting the optimized pages corresponding to the adjustments to content for each of the webpages and the optimizations/adjustments made based on the calculated metrics/marketing data)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization to include adjusting content for webpages independent of a user query in view of Batista in an effort to increase web page rankings (Batista [0053] & MPEP 2143G).
Burhanuddin / Batista do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
[…] adjusting […]; (Datta 3:45-47 “Modifications may be identified at 104 for the main body of content of a page as well as for content comprising other parts of a page such as metadata, titles, section headings, captions, tags”)
organizing, at the computing system, the first set of instructions into executable computer instruction code, the executable computer instruction code configured to be executed by a web browser to cause the adjustment to content for each of the plurality of webpages; and (Datta col. 3, ln. 67-col. 4, ln. 1-5 “ modifications are integrated in a manner or format that allows the resulting content to be crawled. For example, added content may be loaded directly into the HTML (HyperText Markup Language) of a page. In various embodiments, added content may be presented in any appropriate manner, including inline with previously existing content and/or separately via one more dedicated widgets”)
[…] selecting one or more of the plurality of webpages as target webpages in which the adjustment to content is to be implemented, the selection of the target webpages based on web analytics of the plurality of webpages and the target webpages selected as being the only webpages of the plurality of webpages for implementation of the adjustment; (Datta in figs. 2-3 noting the identification of pages to include content based on matching technique; col. 3, ln. 60-66 “At 304, the set of pages is optionally categorized based on one or more metrics. In various embodiments, pages may be categorized based on metrics such as crawl frequency, frequency of page views, user browsing behavior, number of inlinks to a page, number of external links from a page, etc., and prescribed thresholds associated with such metrics;” col. 3, ln. 29-42 “Such content that should appear may be compared to existing content to identify potential modifications at 104. In various embodiments, the potential modifications identified at 104 may include altering existing content (e.g., reorganizing, replacing, or otherwise adjusting existing content and/or the presentation of content), adding new content (e.g., synonyms or other interchangeable expressions for important terms, links to other pages or resources, etc.), smearing content from any appropriate source (e.g., adding content to a page that is extracted from a related and/or relevant source), surfacing content that was previously not static and hence not searchable or crawlable, moving content (e.g., from one portion of a page to another portion of the page or from one page of a website to another page of the website);” col. 4, ln. 46-56 “the expanded content is optionally matched against a set of content using a relaxed matching technique to obtain a mapping of the page to a subset of relevant content. The set of content may include any queries, terms, keywords, phrases, expressions, or other identifiers used to index and/or locate a resource such as a web page. In various embodiments, a set of queries employed at 206 may be populated, for example, using any applicable reverse search engine and/or from any other appropriate sources such as search engine logs, search logs from websites, search terms extracted from traffic logs”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization and Batista’s web page optimizations to include directly injecting code into a web browser to request the code when executing the webpage in view of Datta in an effort to improve discoverability of a website (Datta col. 2, ln. 16-17 & MPEP 2143G).
Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta do not explicitly teach, Manion however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
injecting an instruction directly into the target webpages without injecting the instruction into the remaining webpages of the plurality of webpages not selected as target webpages, (Manion [0021] “Certain embodiments of this disclosure allow for a content/tag management system/method/program executable instructions that is/are referenced with a single line of computer code that is inserted as a single tag and references a JavaScript.TM. file;” [0034] “The HTML web page returned to user terminal 301 may include a tag statement that references the location of the tag/content manager 204 within cloud 305;” [0036] “The tag line shown in (A) may be placed into the header, body, or footer of the HTML source file for a particular web page accessed by user terminal 301” note the single line of computer code as the injected instruction and it is inserted as a tag directly in the HTML source of a particular webpage, which is the target webpage; [0048] “The code generator program may use the "rules file" to generate the tag manager program 204 and page specific code files used by the tag manager program 204. In addition, the code generator may generate data that correlates client URLs with the name of the program file that should be run when a user terminal 301 tries to access the URL” note each URL associated with a program file that should run for that URL; [0055] “To ensure that this newly inserted code does not "break" the site (i.e., cause the website to crash), the modified tag manager 204 may be sent only to a specific URL (i.e., a URL used specifically for testing the new code). All other URLs may receive the unmodified version of the tag manager 204” noting the specific URL distinguished from all other URLs and sending the newly modified code only to the selected URL)
the instruction directing a web browser to request, from a source server, a set of page-specific instructions associated with a respective target webpage, the set of page-specific instructions comprising at least a part of the executable computer instruction code, when executing code of the respective target webpage, to cause the adjustment to content to be applied only to the target webpages of the plurality of webpages. (Manion [0036] “Generally, when a request for a web page is made by a user terminal 301, the entire HTML page may be downloaded to the terminal 301. Then a parser within the browser of user terminal 301 may parse each element (head, body, footer) of the HTML file into a document object by using the hierarchical HTML structure described in the document object model (DOM);” [0037] “ When the code in (A) executes, the method then moves to step 311 where the user terminal 301 may request the tag manager program 204 from cloud 305. If the tag manager program 204 is written in JavaScript.TM. (i.e., a client-side script), program 204 may be downloaded into a memory 115 of user terminal 301 … This tag/content delivery method may optionally move to step 313 where the tag manager program 204 may request program executable instructions specific to the particular web page being viewed by user terminal 301. If web page specific instructions exist on cloud 305, these instructions may also be downloaded into a memory 115 of user terminal 301 for execution;” [0042] “Then the method may move to step 403 where the tag manager program 204 requests a "server component" 413 for page specific instructions for the uniform resource locator (URL) requested by the user terminal 301. The server component may be a server (e.g., workstation 201, computing device 101, etc.) residing within or separate from computing cloud 305” note the browser parses and executes the inserted tag, which first requests the tag manager from the cloud, then causes the tag manager to request page-specific instructions from server component 413; [0020] “This entity (e.g., a web consulting company) may use aspects of the disclosure to route customized content/instructions to a web browser and/or other computer applications. In general, aspects of the disclosure may be used to manipulate existing objects and add new objects to web pages” noting the content adjustments)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization, Batista’s web page optimizations, and Datta’s modifications to include directly injecting code into a target webpage in view of Manion in an effort to customize the content for each individual and webpage (Manion [0020] & MPEP 2143G).
Claim 2
wherein the computing system comprises at least one of marketing data sources, optimization engines, publishers, compilers, or injection modules. (Burhanuddin [0043] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes marketing and advertisement spend optimization engine 199”)
Claims 6, 12
Burhanuddin / Batista / Manion do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
further comprising directing, by the computing system, the web browser, in response to the web browser executing the instruction, the web browser to the at least a part of the executable computer instruction code. (Datta col. 8, ln. 38-39 “added content may be loaded directly into the HTML of a page”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista / Manion with Datta persists.
Claims 7, 13
Burhanuddin / Batista / Manion do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
further comprising injecting a second instruction directly into the target webpages, the second instruction directing a web browser to render the Page 3 of 8Application No. 16/950,432Attorney Docket Number B1074.10036US02Responsive to Office Action dated December 17, 2021target webpages, the rendered webpages including the adjustment. (Datta col. 8, ln. 15-21 “content (including links) may be published on a page in any appropriate manner, including inline with previously existing content and/or separately via one or more dedicated widgets;” ln. 36-40 “added content is integrated in a manner or format that allows the content to be crawled. For example, added content may be loaded directly into the HTML of a page”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista / Manion with Datta persists.
Claim 14
Burhanuddin teaches
A method comprising:
receiving one or more types of marketing data, the marketing data including one or more: paid media spend data, paid media performance data, customer platform data, customer relationship management platform data, and account based marketing system data; (Burhanuddin [0043] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes marketing and advertisement spend … showing advertisements on websites, as search results, social advertisements, and other form of advertising … The analytics data 192 includes information on how the marketing content performed. The customer data 186 further indicates … who all among those customers ended up in performing a transaction”)
[…], wherein the adjustment is selected from a set of adjustments including: adjusting mobile image and video media, adjusting product offers, adjusting calls to action, adjusting personalized content, adjusting marketing offers, and adjusting user experiences; (Burhanuddin [0037] “Examples of the assets 182 include, but are not limited to, image, text, document, video, audio, font, and metadata … the content publishing and management engine 182 enables multisite, i.e. multiple websites and mobile content, management workflows, and commerce, i.e. personalized shopping experiences that incorporate video, social, and other dynamic media;” [0041] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes a content personalization engine 196. The content personalization engine 196 enables the user to provide different digital experiences to the customers when different customers visit same webpage or same application of the user” note the personalization of content and user experience. Further note in [0041] the personalization based on A/B testing and analytics data; [0042] “The campaigning and messaging engine 198 customizes the messages” corresponding to the marketing offers; [0073]-[0076] “the recommendation system 410 can be trained to make recommendations based on the current context of a user” note the intent modeling to identify target nodes and make recommendations based on a user’s current context corresponding to the adjustment of calls to action);
generating a first set of instructions configured to implement the adjustment to content for each of the plurality of webpages; (Burhanuddin [0054] “The computer-readable media includes computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors. The instructions may optionally implement one or more components of analytics system 208 and/or recommendation system 210”)
[…];
after determining the adjustment to content configured to be applied to each of the plurality of webpages, […]; (Burhanuddin [0037] “The marketing apparatus 110 includes a content publishing and management engine 182 that enables the user to create websites and other content. The content publishing and management engine 182 provides an end to end workflow to the user … editing and republishing, of content.” Note the republishing of content corresponding to the adjustment to content applied to webpages)
[…].
Burhanuddin does not explicitly teach, Batista however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
processing the marketing data to determine an adjustment to content for each of a plurality of ecommerce webpages of an ecommerce website, the plurality of webpages being configured to present product information in a persistent manner independent of a user query and the adjustment configured to adjust content presented by each of the plurality of webpages when each of the plurality of webpages are rendered by adjusting executable computer instruction code of each of the plurality of webpages, the executable computer instruction code for each of the plurality of webpages configured to render individual ones of the plurality of webpages in response to navigation to individual ones of the plurality of webpages and the adjustment configured for each of the plurality of webpages and selected based on the marketing data for application to each of the plurality of webpages, […]; (Batista [0020] “The present invention provides a tool, that using log files for hyperlink analysis in a SEO tool of the SEO suite, extracts a larger number of incoming links for the user website, because it extracts that information from the website's log file. The tool does this for every single page on the website automatically. The tool uses the extracted hyperlink information, to identify link rich and link poor pages. Pages in the site, that doesn't get many links and pages on the site that get a lot of links. The idea is that the user can optimize the site by linking the link rich pages to the link poor ones. ” Note the processing of the SEO data to determine an adjustment to pages of a website corresponding to the processing of the marketing data to determine an adjustment to content for webpages of an ecommerce website; [0054] “the pages are optimized by the user, following the metrics that the present invention has calculated based on the selected competitors feature. The final result is the user's optimized pages” noting the optimized pages corresponding to the adjustments to content for each of the webpages and the optimizations/adjustments made based on the calculated metrics/marketing data)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization to include adjusting content for webpages independent of a user query in view of Batista in an effort to increase web page rankings (Batista [0053] & MPEP 2143G).
Burhanuddin / Batista do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
generating executable computer instruction code configured to be executed by a web browser using the first set of instructions; (Datta col. 3, ln. 67-col. 4, ln. 1-5 “modifications are integrated in a manner or format that allows the resulting content to be crawled. For example, added content may be loaded directly into the HTML (HyperText Markup Language) of a page. In various embodiments, added content may be presented in any appropriate manner, including inline with previously existing content and/or separately via one more dedicated widgets”)
[…] selecting one or more of the plurality of webpages as target webpages in which the adjustment to content is to be implemented, the selection of the target webpages based on web analytics of the plurality of webpages and the target webpages selected as being the only webpages of the plurality of webpages for implementation of the adjustment; (Datta figs. 2-3 noting the identification of pages to include content based on matching technique; col. 3, ln. 60-66 “At 304, the set of pages is optionally categorized based on one or more metrics. In various embodiments, pages may be categorized based on metrics such as crawl frequency, frequency of page views, user browsing behavior, number of inlinks to a page, number of external links from a page, etc., and prescribed thresholds associated with such metrics;” col. 3, ln. 29-42 “Such content that should appear may be compared to existing content to identify potential modifications at 104. In various embodiments, the potential modifications identified at 104 may include altering existing content (e.g., reorganizing, replacing, or otherwise adjusting existing content and/or the presentation of content), adding new content (e.g., synonyms or other interchangeable expressions for important terms, links to other pages or resources, etc.), smearing content from any appropriate source (e.g., adding content to a page that is extracted from a related and/or relevant source), surfacing content that was previously not static and hence not searchable or crawlable, moving content (e.g., from one portion of a page to another portion of the page or from one page of a website to another page of the website);” col. 4, ln. 46-56 “the expanded content is optionally matched against a set of content using a relaxed matching technique to obtain a mapping of the page to a subset of relevant content. The set of content may include any queries, terms, keywords, phrases, expressions, or other identifiers used to index and/or locate a resource such as a web page. In various embodiments, a set of queries employed at 206 may be populated, for example, using any applicable reverse search engine and/or from any other appropriate sources such as search engine logs, search logs from websites, search terms extracted from traffic logs”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization and Batista’s web page optimizations to include determining adjustments for a subset of webpages in view of Datta in an effort to improve discoverability of a website (Datta col. 2, ln. 16-17 & MPEP 2143G).
Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta do not explicitly teach, Manion however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
injecting an instruction directly into the target webpages without injecting the instruction into the remaining webpages of the plurality of webpages not selected as target webpages, (Manion [0021] “Certain embodiments of this disclosure allow for a content/tag management system/method/program executable instructions that is/are referenced with a single line of computer code that is inserted as a single tag and references a JavaScript.TM. file;” [0034] “The HTML web page returned to user terminal 301 may include a tag statement that references the location of the tag/content manager 204 within cloud 305;” [0036] “The tag line shown in (A) may be placed into the header, body, or footer of the HTML source file for a particular web page accessed by user terminal 301” note the single line of computer code as the injected instruction and it is inserted as a tag directly in the HTML source of a particular webpage, which is the target webpage; [0048] “The code generator program may use the "rules file" to generate the tag manager program 204 and page specific code files used by the tag manager program 204. In addition, the code generator may generate data that correlates client URLs with the name of the program file that should be run when a user terminal 301 tries to access the URL” note each URL associated with a program file that should run for that URL; [0055] “To ensure that this newly inserted code does not "break" the site (i.e., cause the website to crash), the modified tag manager 204 may be sent only to a specific URL (i.e., a URL used specifically for testing the new code). All other URLs may receive the unmodified version of the tag manager 204” noting the specific URL distinguished from all other URLs and sending the newly modified code only to the selected URL)
the instruction directing a web browser to request, from a source server, a set of page-specific instructions associated with a respective target webpage, the set of page-specific instructions comprising at least a part of the executable computer instruction code, when executing code of the respective target webpage, to cause the adjustment to content to be applied only to the target webpages of the plurality of webpages. (Manion [0036] “Generally, when a request for a web page is made by a user terminal 301, the entire HTML page may be downloaded to the terminal 301. Then a parser within the browser of user terminal 301 may parse each element (head, body, footer) of the HTML file into a document object by using the hierarchical HTML structure described in the document object model (DOM);” [0037] “ When the code in (A) executes, the method then moves to step 311 where the user terminal 301 may request the tag manager program 204 from cloud 305. If the tag manager program 204 is written in JavaScript.TM. (i.e., a client-side script), program 204 may be downloaded into a memory 115 of user terminal 301 … This tag/content delivery method may optionally move to step 313 where the tag manager program 204 may request program executable instructions specific to the particular web page being viewed by user terminal 301. If web page specific instructions exist on cloud 305, these instructions may also be downloaded into a memory 115 of user terminal 301 for execution;” [0042] “Then the method may move to step 403 where the tag manager program 204 requests a "server component" 413 for page specific instructions for the uniform resource locator (URL) requested by the user terminal 301. The server component may be a server (e.g., workstation 201, computing device 101, etc.) residing within or separate from computing cloud 305” note the browser parses and executes the inserted tag, which first requests the tag manager from the cloud, then causes the tag manager to request page-specific instructions from server component 413; [0020] “This entity (e.g., a web consulting company) may use aspects of the disclosure to route customized content/instructions to a web browser and/or other computer applications. In general, aspects of the disclosure may be used to manipulate existing objects and add new objects to web pages” noting the content adjustments)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization, Batista’s web page optimizations, and Datta’s modifications to include directly injecting code into a target webpage in view of Manion in an effort to customize the content for each individual and webpage (Manion [0020] & MPEP 2143G).
Claim 15
wherein the method is performed by a computing system that includes one or more of: optimization engines, publishers, compilers, and injection modules. (Burhanuddin [0043] “The marketing apparatus 110 also includes marketing and advertisement spend optimization engine 199”)
Claim 19
Burhanuddin / Batista / Manion do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
wherein the web analytics includes conversion events associated with the plurality of webpage. (Datta fig. 2 noting the identification of pages to include content based on matching technique; col. 3, ln. 29-42 “Such content that should appear may be compared to existing content to identify potential modifications at 104. In various embodiments, the potential modifications identified at 104 may include altering existing content (e.g., reorganizing, replacing, or otherwise adjusting existing content and/or the presentation of content), adding new content (e.g., synonyms or other interchangeable expressions for important terms, links to other pages or resources, etc.), smearing content from any appropriate source (e.g., adding content to a page that is extracted from a related and/or relevant source), surfacing content that was previously not static and hence not searchable or crawlable, moving content (e.g., from one portion of a page to another portion of the page or from one page of a website to another page of the website);” col. 4, ln. 46-56 “the expanded content is optionally matched against a set of content using a relaxed matching technique to obtain a mapping of the page to a subset of relevant content. The set of content may include any queries, terms, keywords, phrases, expressions, or other identifiers used to index and/or locate a resource such as a web page. In various embodiments, a set of queries employed at 206 may be populated, for example, using any applicable reverse search engine and/or from any other appropriate sources such as search engine logs, search logs from websites, search terms extracted from traffic logs”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista / Manion with Datta persists.
Claim 20
Burhanuddin / Batista / Manion do not explicitly teach, Datta however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
further comprising injecting a second instruction directly into the target webpages, the second instruction directing a web browser to render the target webpages, the rendered webpage including the adjustment. (Datta col. 8, ln. 15-21 “content (including links) may be published on a page in any appropriate manner, including inline with previously existing content and/or separately via one or more dedicated widgets;” ln. 36-40 “added content is integrated in a manner or format that allows the content to be crawled. For example, added content may be loaded directly into the HTML of a page”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista / Manion with Datta persists.
Claim 21
Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta do not explicitly teach, Manion however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
wherein a software development kit (SDK) identifies one or more injection points for code and/or calls to be inserted into webpage HTML of a respective target webpage, wherein the one or more injection points are in a head-open section or a body-open section of the webpage HTML, wherein the SDK inserts the instruction into the webpage HTML at one or more of the injection points, (Manion [0020] “As part of the content/instruction delivery vehicle, a front-end user interface may facilitate a non-technical user to describe and implement object creation and manipulation;” [0047] “Based on these needs, the entity may then in step 603 formalize these needs in a "rules file" that details answers to questions such as what type of data (mouse overs, page loads, etc.) the client would like to collect on his website, whether or not there are any page specific rules, whether or not the rules are to be executed on the completion of significant events (DOM parsing, the execution of other rules, etc.), among others;” [0048] “Finally, a code generator program residing in the memory 115 of a computing device 100 associated with the entity may codify the formalized rules into program executable instructions (i.e., into scripts such as JavaScript.TM., PHP, etc.) in step 605. The code generator program may use the "rules file" to generate the tag manager program 204 and page specific code files used by the tag manager program 204;” [0036] “The tag line shown in (A) may be placed into the header, body, or footer of the HTML source file for a particular web page accessed by user terminal 301” note the front-end UI, rules file, backend, and code generator as the SDK that defines page-specific rules, execution events, and HTML regions and generates the tag-manager code. The chosen header/body region is the injection point)
wherein, when the web browser fetches and reads the respective target webpage, the web browser reads and executes the instruction to retrieve additional information or instructions from another web server or from another URL within the ecommerce website, wherein the additional information or instructions are encapsulated into a capsule for the respective target webpage, and wherein the capsule is used to apply personalization of the respective target webpage through one or more subsequent non-blocking calls. (Manion [0034] “The method may start at step 307 where the user terminal 301 requests a web page from the client server 303. Upon receiving such a request, client server 303 may return the web page (e.g., an HTML page) to the user terminal 301 in step 309. The HTML web page returned to user terminal 301 may include a tag statement that references the location of the tag/content manager 204 within cloud 305;” [0036] “Generally, when a request for a web page is made by a user terminal 301, the entire HTML page may be downloaded to the terminal 301. Then a parser within the browser of user terminal 301 may parse each element (head, body, footer) of the HTML file into a document object by using the hierarchical HTML structure described in the document object model (DOM);” [0037]; [0042] “Then the method may move to step 403 where the tag manager program 204 requests a "server component" 413 for page specific instructions for the uniform resource locator (URL) requested by the user terminal 301. The server component may be a server (e.g., workstation 201, computing device 101, etc.) residing within or separate from computing cloud 305” note the browser downloads and parses the HTML target page, executes the inserted instruction, requests the tag manager from cloud 305, and then executes the manager to request further executable instructions specific to the view URL from server component 413; [0038] “the request of page-specific code in step 313 may involve a two-step process. In the first step, the tag manager program 204 may request a PHP, Perl, Python, C, etc. file from the cloud 305. The requested file may subsequently be used to dynamically generate a JavaScript.TM. program to the user terminal 301. This two step process may help to ensure that the page-specific JavaScript.TM. instructions are properly sent to and executed on the appropriate user terminal 301.” Note the page-specific file corresponding to the capsule; [0020] noting the personalization)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta with Manion persists.
Claims 5, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of
Burhanuddin in view of Batista in view of Datta in further view of Manion in further view of
Drai et al, US Publication No. 2012/0284252 A1, hereinafter Drai. As per
Claims 5, 11
Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta / Manion do not explicitly teach, Drai however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
wherein the target webpages are selected in response to the target webpages having higher web traffic. (Drai [0016] “the system and method optionally transfers the relevant web crawler logs to the site for analysis. Information provided by the logs includes but not limited to the average time for fetching a page by the crawler, the average number of the site's pages read by the crawler, the number of sessions per day, the overall time that the crawler spends on the site per day, the trends of these statistics along time, and the like. According to this embodiment, the system and method can optionally provide statistical information regarding other sites and compare the site's statistical information to the other sites. Such statistical information preferably enables the site owner to improve the web site with regard to interactions with the web crawler of the search engine, hence providing improved SEO characteristics. The system can optionally provide statistical information about the number of accesses to the sites in order to monitor the optimization process;” [0045] “The CDN server 130 preferably saves statistical information regarding the search engine 110. Such information can be, for example, information regarding the number of visits of the search engine 110 in these sites, the page fetching time and the like. This information is available for the site manager in order to optimize the search engine results.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burhanuddin’s web page optimization, Batista’s web page optimizations, Datta’s modifications, and Manion’s code injection to include selecting higher traffic web pages as target webpages in view of Drai in an effort to optimize a website’s coverage (Drai [0011] & MPEP 2143G).
Claim 18
Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta / Manion do not explicitly teach, Drai however in the analogous art of web page optimization teaches
wherein the target webpages are selected in response to the target webpages having higher web traffic. (Drai [0016] “the system and method optionally transfers the relevant web crawler logs to the site for analysis. Information provided by the logs includes but not limited to the average time for fetching a page by the crawler, the average number of the site's pages read by the crawler, the number of sessions per day, the overall time that the crawler spends on the site per day, the trends of these statistics along time, and the like. According to this embodiment, the system and method can optionally provide statistical information regarding other sites and compare the site's statistical information to the other sites. Such statistical information preferably enables the site owner to improve the web site with regard to interactions with the web crawler of the search engine, hence providing improved SEO characteristics. The system can optionally provide statistical information about the number of accesses to the sites in order to monitor the optimization process;” [0045] “The CDN server 130 preferably saves statistical information regarding the search engine 110. Such information can be, for example, information regarding the number of visits of the search engine 110 in these sites, the page fetching time and the like. This information is available for the site manager in order to optimize the search engine results.”)
The motivations/rationales to combine Burhanuddin / Batista / Datta / Manion with Drai persists.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2015/0039622 A1: Exemplary methods, apparatuses, and systems parse a form from a webpage to identify a plurality of input areas and corresponding input types. A multi-sequence form including a plurality of stages is generated. Each stage of the multi-sequence form is to be displayed and submitted independently of other stages of the multi-sequence form. Each stage of the multi-sequence form corresponds to a subset of the parsed form including one or more of the identified input areas. One of the plurality of identified input areas is identified to be of an input type categorized as having a higher likelihood of being completed and submitted by a user. The multi-sequence form is ordered such that the identified input area is ordered first. An updated version of the webpage is generated including the generated multi-sequence form in the determined order in place of the parsed form.
EP 2897061 A1: A method of delivering webpages to a browser includes delivering a first webpage using a streaming protocol that optimizes delivery of content of the first webpage where the first webpage includes information that may persist in a browser cache; delivering a second webpage without using the streaming protocol where the second webpage and the first webpage both reference a first resource; and forcing revalidation of the first resource stored on the browser cache.
Bakaev et al., Component-based Engineering of Web User Interface Designs for Evolutionary Optimization, 2018: Component-based approach has proved its effectiveness in modern web engineering, where programmers increasingly rely on web development frameworks. In front-end web development parts of available solutions cannot be reused directly, due to technical and legal obstacles, so we propose a specific process to generate web user interfaces (WUI) designs from configurable components. The similarity between the generated designs and the exemplary high-quality solutions retrieved from case base is then optimized within the evolutionary algorithm. In our current paper we designate the structure of the components and justify the employment of Drupal as the organizational framework. We also describe the implementation details, including the two supplemental software tools that we developed: 1) web intelligence miner that collects website-related data from linked open data sources and 2) web UI screenshot analyzer that converts it into semantic-spatial representation in JSON format. Finally, we specify the new solutions generation algorithm, per the three WUI dimensions: functionality, layout and visual appearance.
/MOHAMED N EL-BATHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624