DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/26/2026 has been entered. Claim 1-15, 22-28 are pending in the application. Claims 2, 5-15 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 22, 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (US 2013/0158338) in view of Hobbs (US 5,584,821) and further in view of Oborn (US 2017/0165453).
Regarding claim 1, Kelly discloses a dual lumen coaxial cannula assembly (Para 0029) comprising: a first infusion tube (12, Fig 3) having a first elongate body defining a first lumen (29, Fig 3) therethrough, the first elongate body having a proximal end (30, Fig 3), a distal end (32, Fig 3), and a sidewall (36, Fig 3) extending circumferentially therebetween (See Fig 3); a second drainage tube (14, Fig 1) co-axially aligned with the first infusion tube and having a second elongate body with a second lumen defined by a space between the first infusion tube and the second drainage tube (the second lumen is required for the first infusion tube 12 to be inserted inside as shown in Fig 1; Para 0029), the second elongate body having a proximal end (42, Fig 5), a distal end (44, Fig 5), and a sidewall (48, Fig 5) extending circumferentially therebetween (See Fig 5); a connector (22, Fig 1) attached to the proximal end of the first infusion tube and the proximal end on the second drainage tube (Para 0033); and a distal tip (38, Fig 3) defining a distal lumen therethrough (See Fig 4), the distal tip having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween, the distal tip connected to the distal end of the first elongate body (See Fig 4),
Kelly is silent regarding the distal tip extends distally beyond the distal end of the first elongate body, and wherein the distal lumen defined by the inner surface of the distal tip is in fluid communication with the first lumen defined by the inner surface of the first elongate body, wherein the distal tip is comprised of a material having a Shore durometer hardness of at least 5 A less than a Shore durometer hardness of the first elongate body; wherein the distal end of the first elongate body includes a distally facing tapered distal face and the proximal end of the distal tip includes a proximally facing tapered proximal face, wherein the tapered distal face of the first elongate body is bonded directly to the tapered proximal face of the distal tip in an abutting interface; and wherein the tapered distal face tapers distally toward the first lumen of the first elongate body around an entire circumference of the first elongate body; wherein the tapered proximal face mates with the tapered distal face at the abutting interface to axially align the first lumen and the distal lumen during bonding of the distal tip to the first elongate body.
Hobbs teaches a cannula assembly (10, Fig 1) comprising: a first infusion tube having a first elongate body (14, Fig 1) defining a first lumen therethrough (See lumen in Fig 2), the first elongate body having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween; a connector (12, Fig 1) attached to the proximal end of the first elongate body (See Fig 1); and a distal tip (16, Fig 1) defining a distal lumen therethrough, the distal tip having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween, the distal tip connected to the distal end of the first elongate body (Col 4, lines 30-38), wherein the distal tip is comprised of a material having a lower hardness than a hardness of the first elongate body (Abstract); wherein the distal tip extends distally beyond the distal end of the first elongate body (See Fig 2A wherein tip material 30 extends distal to the shaft materials 26 and 28), and wherein the distal lumen defined by the inner surface of the distal tip is in fluid communication with the first lumen defined by the inner surface of the first elongate body (See Fig 2A); wherein the distal end of the first elongate body includes a distally facing tapered distal face (distal end of 28, Fig 2A) and the proximal end of the distal tip includes a proximally facing tapered proximal face (proximal end of 30, Fig 2A), wherein the tapered distal face of the first elongate body is bonded directly to the tapered proximal face of the distal tip in an abutting interface; and wherein the tapered distal face tapers distally toward the first lumen of the first elongate body around an entire circumference of the first elongate body; wherein the tapered proximal face mates with the tapered distal face at the abutting interface to axially align the first lumen and the distal lumen during bonding of the distal tip to the first elongate body (Col 4, lines 30-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kelly to have the distal tip be comprised of a material having a lower hardness than a hardness of the first elongate body, and wherein the proximal face of the distal tip and distal face of the elongated body are tapered and abut as taught by Hobbs in order to have a tip that can avoid injury to the walls of the blood vessels and provide substantial surface fusion between the tip and elongate body to resist failure and separation during use (Col 1, lines 13-15; Col 4, lines 39-44).
The modified invention of Kelly and Hobbs disclose all of the elements of the invention as discussed, however, is silent regarding the distal tip is comprised of a material having a Shore durometer hardness of at least 5 A less than a Shore durometer hardness of the first elongate body.
Oborn teaches a cannula assembly (1310, Fig 21) comprising a first infusion tube having a first elongate body (1311, Fig 21) defining a first lumen therethrough, the first elongate body having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween (See Fig 21); and a distal tip (1350, Fig 21) defining a distal lumen (1364, Fig 22A) therethrough, the distal tip having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween, the distal tip connected to the distal end of the first elongate body (See Fig 22A), wherein the distal tip is comprised of a material having a Shore durometer hardness of at least 5 A less than a Shore durometer hardness the first elongate body (Para 0102-0103; the first elongate body has a Shore hardness of 60D [roughly equivalent to 100A] while the distal tip has a Shore hardness in a range of 75A-85A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal tip and first elongate body to have a Shore hardness of 85A and 100A, respectively, as taught by Oborn in order to have a first elongate body that can prevent kinking, enable power injection therethrough, and improving insertability into the body of a patient while the distal tip is atraumatic to the patient’s vasculature (Para 0102-0103).
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn discloses the distal tip and the distal end of the first elongate body are tapered to increase a surface area of a connection between the distal tip and the distal end of the first elongate body (Col 4, lines 30-44 -Hobbs).
Regarding claim 22, the modified invention of Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn discloses the interface is oblique to a longitudinal axis of the first infusion tube (See Fig 2A; Col 4, lines 30-44 -Hobbs).
Regarding claim 25, Kelly discloses a dual lumen coaxial cannula assembly (Para 0029) comprising: a first infusion tube (12, Fig 3) having a first elongate body defining a first lumen (29, Fig 3) therethrough, the first infusion tube having a proximal end (30, Fig 3), a distal end (32, Fig 3), and a sidewall (36, Fig 3) extending circumferentially therebetween; a second drainage tube (14, Fig 1) co-axially aligned with the first infusion tube and having a second elongate body with a second lumen defined by a space between the first infusion tube and the second drainage tube (the second lumen is required for the first infusion tube 12 to be inserted inside as shown in Fig 1; Para 0029), the second drainage tube having a proximal end (42, Fig 5), a distal end (44, Fig 5), and a sidewall (48, Fig 5) extending circumferentially therebetween (See Fig 5), the distal end of the first infusion tube extending distal of the distal end of the second drainage tube (See Fig 1); a connector (22, Fig 1) attached to the proximal end of the first infusion tube and the proximal end on the second drainage tube (Para 0033); and a distal tip (38, Fig 3) defining a distal lumen therethrough (See Fig 4), the distal tip having a proximal end defining a proximally facing proximal face, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween (See Fig 4),
Kelly is silent regarding the distal end defining a distally facing distal face; wherein the proximal face at the proximal end of the distal tip is bonded directly to the distal face at the distal end of the first infusion tube at an interface in an abutting configuration, wherein the distal tip extends distally beyond the distal end of the first infusion tube, and wherein the distal lumen defined by the inner surface of the distal tip is in fluid communication with the first lumen defined by the inner surface of the first elongate body, wherein the distal tip is comprised of a material having a Shore durometer hardness of at least 5 A less than a Shore durometer hardness of the first elongate body; and wherein a circumferential distalmost edge of the tapered distal face extends around an entire circumference of the first infusion tube in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the first infusion tube.
Hobbs teaches a cannula assembly (10, Fig 1) comprising: a first infusion tube having a first elongate body (14, Fig 1) defining a first lumen therethrough (See lumen in Fig 2), the first elongate body having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween; a connector (12, Fig 1) attached to the proximal end of the first elongate body (See Fig 1); and a distal tip (16, Fig 1) defining a distal lumen therethrough, the distal tip having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween, the distal tip connected to the distal end of the first elongate body (Col 4, lines 30-38), wherein the distal tip is comprised of a material having a lower hardness than a hardness of the first elongate body (Abstract); wherein the distal tip extends distally beyond the distal end of the first elongate body (See Fig 2A wherein tip material 30 extends distal to the shaft materials 26 and 28), and wherein the distal lumen defined by the inner surface of the distal tip is in fluid communication with the first lumen defined by the inner surface of the first elongate body (See Fig 2A); wherein the distal end of the first elongate body includes a distally facing tapered distal face (distal end of 28, Fig 2A) and the proximal end of the distal tip includes a proximally facing tapered proximal face (proximal end of 30, Fig 2A), wherein the tapered distal face of the first elongate body is bonded directly to the tapered proximal face of the distal tip in an abutting interface; and wherein the tapered distal face tapers distally toward the first lumen of the first elongate body around an entire circumference of the first elongate body; wherein the tapered proximal face mates with the tapered distal face at the abutting interface to axially align the first lumen and the distal lumen during bonding of the distal tip to the first elongate body (Col 4, lines 30-44); wherein the tapered proximal face mates with the tapered distal face at the interface to axially align the distal lumen and the first lumen during bonding of the distal tip to the first infusion tube (Col 4, lines 30-44; See Fig 2); and wherein a circumferential distalmost edge of the tapered distal face extends around an entire circumference of the first infusion tube in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the first infusion tube (See Fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kelly to have the distal tip be comprised of a material having a lower hardness than a hardness of the first elongate body, and wherein the proximal face of the distal tip and distal face of the elongated body are tapered and abut as taught by Hobbs in order to have a tip that can avoid injury to the walls of the blood vessels and provide substantial surface fusion between the tip and elongate body to resist failure and separation during use (Col 1, lines 13-15; Col 4, lines 39-44).
The modified invention of Kelly and Hobbs disclose all of the elements of the invention as discussed, however, is silent regarding the distal tip is comprised of a material having a Shore durometer hardness of at least 5 A less than a Shore durometer hardness of the first elongate body.
Oborn teaches a cannula assembly (1310, Fig 21) comprising a first infusion tube having a first elongate body (1311, Fig 21) defining a first lumen therethrough, the first elongate body having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween (See Fig 21); and a distal tip (1350, Fig 21) defining a distal lumen (1364, Fig 22A) therethrough, the distal tip having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending circumferentially therebetween, the distal tip connected to the distal end of the first elongate body (See Fig 22A), wherein the distal tip is comprised of a material having a Shore durometer hardness of at least 5 A less than a Shore durometer hardness the first elongate body (Para 0102-0103; the first elongate body has a Shore hardness of 60D [roughly equivalent to 100A] while the distal tip has a Shore hardness in a range of 75A-85A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal tip and first elongate body to have a Shore hardness of 85A and 100A, respectively, as taught by Oborn in order to have a first elongate body that can prevent kinking, enable power injection therethrough, and improving insertability into the body of a patient while the distal tip is atraumatic to the patient’s vasculature (Para 0102-0103).
Regarding claim 26, the modified invention of Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn discloses the interface is oblique to the longitudinal axis of the first infusion tube (See Fig 2A; Col 4, lines 30-44 -Hobbs).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (US 2013/0158338) in view of Hobbs (US 5,584,821) and further in view of Oborn (US 2017/0165453) and further in view of Helgerson (US 6149996).
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the distal tip and the distal end of the first elongate body are roughened to increase a surface area of a connection between the distal tip and the distal end of the first elongate body.
Helgerson teaches a catheter assembly comprising an elongate body (12, FI g1) and a distal tip (30, Fig 1) wherein the distal tip and the distal end of the first elongate body are roughened to increase a surface area of a connection between the distal tip and the distal end of the first elongate body (Col 2, lines 60-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal tip and first elongate body disclosed by Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn to have roughened surfaces as taught by Helgerson in order to provide an enhanced mechanical boding between the distal tip and the distal end of the first elongate body (Col 2, lines 60-63).
Claims 23-24 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (US 2013/0158338) in view of Hobbs (US 5,584,821) and further in view of Oborn (US 2017/0165453) and further in view of Ishikawa (US 2017/0239442).
Regarding claim 23, the modified invention of Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the first elongate body includes a plurality of infusion apertures extending through a sidewall of the first elongate body.
Ishikawa teaches a cannula assembly (Device of Fig 2) comprising a first elongate body (19, Fig 2) and a distal tip (60, Fig 2), wherein the first elongate body includes a plurality of infusion apertures (15, Fig 3) extending through a sidewall of the first elongate body (See Figs 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first elongate body disclosed by Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn to include a plurality of infusion apertured as taught by Ishikawa in order to inject a fluid at any desired position along the entire circumference of the catheter (Para 0030).
Regarding claim 24, the modified invention of Kelly, Hobbs, Oborn, and Ishikawa discloses the plurality of infusion apertures are located proximal of the interface (See Fig 2 of Ishikawa).
Regarding claim 27, the modified invention of Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the first elongate body includes a plurality of infusion apertures extending through a sidewall of the first elongate body.
Ishikawa teaches a cannula assembly (Device of Fig 2) comprising a first elongate body (19, Fig 2) and a distal tip (60, Fig 2), wherein the first elongate body includes a plurality of infusion apertures (15, Fig 3) extending through a sidewall of the first elongate body (See Figs 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first elongate body disclosed by Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn to include a plurality of infusion apertured as taught by Ishikawa in order to inject a fluid at any desired position along the entire circumference of the catheter (Para 0030).
Regarding claim 28, the modified invention of Kelly, Hobbs, Oborn, and Ishikawa discloses the plurality of infusion apertures are located proximal of the interface (See Fig 2 of Ishikawa).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/26/2026, on pages 7-9, regarding Hobbs failing to teach the claimed mating tapered-face alignment relationship have been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant appears to be arguing that the bonding process of Hobbs differs to the bonding process of the disclosed invention, however, the instant claims are apparatus claims. At best, Applicant is referring to a product by process which do not limit the claim to the specific steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113(I)). As detailed in the rejections of claims 1 and 25 above, Kelly, Hobbs, and Oborn teach all of the claimed structure (the tapered proximal face mates with the tapered distal face). Hobbs also teaches during the bonding of the distal tip to the infusion tube and formation of the tapers (Col 4, lines 30-44), the lumens are aligned (See Fig 2 wherein the lumens are aligned). Thus, Hobbs reads on the claim limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTARIUS S DANIEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783