Non-Final Detailed Action
Introduction
1. For reissue applications filed before September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the law and rules in effect on September 15, 2012. Where specifically designated, these are “pre-AIA ” provisions.
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
2. This Office Action addresses U.S. Application No. 16/952,365 (hereinafter also referred to as ‘365 or the instant application), filed November 19, 2020, which is a reissue application of U.S. Patent No. 10,131,444 (hereinafter also referred to as ‘444 or the original patent), issued November 20, 2018 on U.S. Non-Provisional Patent Application No. 15/689,171 (hereinafter also referred to as ‘171 or the parent application), entitled “SYSTEM AND METHOD OF PROVIDING CLIPBOARD CUT AND PASTE OPERATIONS IN AVIONICS TOUCHSCREEN SYSTEM”, filed August 29, 2017.1
3. With regard to litigation involving ‘444, see Litigation Search Report of record. Also based upon the Examiner’s independent review of ‘444 itself and the prosecution history, the Examiner cannot locate any other previous reexaminations, supplemental examinations, or certificates of correction.
A Consent was filed on September 8, 2023.
5. As of the date of this Office Action, the status of the claims is:
Claims 1-41 are pending.
Claims 1-41 are examined.
Claims 1-41 are objected to and/or rejected as set forth infra.
6. Because the effective filing date of claims of the instant application is after March 16, 2013, see prior paragraph 2, the AIA First Inventor to File (“AIA -FITF”) provisions apply thereto. See again paragraph 1, supra.
Amendment
7. The amendment filed October 23, 20023 does not comply with 37 CFR 1.173(b)(1), i.e. Making amendments in a reissue application, (b)(2), i.e. Claims, and (d) , i.e. Changes shown by marking.
The parentheticals of claims 18, 25, 32 and 39 are incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required. See also MPEP § 1453(II).
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111. It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See MPEP §2111.01(11). Therefore, unless Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term, see MPEP §211l.0l(IV), or 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked, Examiners will interpret the limitations of the pending and examined claims using the broadest reasonable interpretation.
When the claimed feature is written as a means-plus-function or a step-plus-function. See 35 U.S.C. §112(6th ¶) and MPEP §2181-2183. As noted in MPEP §2181, a three prong test is used to determine the scope of a means-plus-function or step-plus-function limitation in a claim:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Definitions
In col. 2, lines 40-49 it is set forth “the term ‘module’ refers to any hardware, software, firmware, electronic control component, processing logic, and/or processor device, individually or in any combination, including without limitation: application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable gate-array (FPGA), an electronic circuit, a processor (shared, dedicated, or group) and memory that executes one or more software or firmware programs, a combinational logic circuit, and/or other suitable components that provide the described functionality.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “cause clip data, when stored in the clipboard memory, to be displayed in the textbox widget; responsive to selection of the [a] copy button widget, [configured to] cause data, that is in focus to be copied to the clipboard memory and displayed in the textbox widget; and responsive to selection of the [a] paste button widget [configured to] cause [the] clip data stored in the clipboard memory [and displayed in the text box widget] to be pasted to a second widget that is in focus.” (Bold emphasis added.) With regard to the textbox widget, is the “clip data” with regard to the textbox widget and paste button widget (lines 21-22 and 26-28) and the “data… copied” (lines 23-25) one and the same? This also applies to similar language in claims 3-5, 9-12, 15-20, 22-27, 29-34 and 36-41.
With regard to claim 4, the language of 2-3 (i.e. “receive changes to the clip data displayed in the textbox widget response to touch gestures with the virtual keyboard”) is inconsistent with language of lines 3-4 (“update the clip data stored in the clipboard memory and displayed in the text box widget with the changes to the clip data”) and claim 1 (“cause clip data, when stored in the clipboard memory, to be displayed in the textbox widget;”), i.e. stored clip data not shown when receiving changes before update. This also applies with respect to similar language in claims 9 and 11 and 14 and 18, 21 and 25, 28 and 32 and 35 and 39.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "clip data memory" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pappas et al (US 9,703,476, hereinafter also referred to as ‘476), incorporating Chen et al (US Patent No. 7,418, 319, hereinafter also referred to as ‘8319)), Hammack et al (US Patent No. 9,032,319, hereinafter also referred to as ‘2319), the Dictionary of Computing, definitions of “clipboard” and “scratchpad”, Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology (herein after also referred to as Academic Press Dictionary) definition of “widget” and Turner et al (US Patent No. 9,530,318, herein after also referred to as ‘0318).
The changes to the 3/10/23 claims are shown in italics below.
See the entireties of ‘476, ‘8319 and ‘2319.
Claim 14
An avionics touchscreen system configured for use in an aircraft cockpit, the avionics touchscreen system comprising
a touchscreen surface layered over a visual display and
one or more processors configured by programming instructions encoded in non-transient computer readable media,
the avionics touchscreen system configured to:
receive aircraft flight management system (FMS) data via an aircraft data transfer system;
display FMS data from an executing avionics application on the visual display,
See ‘476 at, e.g., Figs. 1-6A (elements 10, 14, 12, 18, 18a, 18b), 9-11, col. 1, lines 16-21, col., 4, lines 13-16 and 28-60, col. 7, lines 44-67, col. 8, lines 6-16, col. 8, line 28-col. 9, line 26, col. 9, 53-col. 10, line 8, col. 10, line 43-col. 11, line 4 (esp. the incorporation of ‘8319, and thereby also, e.g., ‘8319 at Figs. 3-6, and col. 3, lines 57-62, col. 4, line 9- col. 6, line 25 and col. 7, lines 1-27 ), col. 11, line 39-42, col 12, lines 3-33, col. 12, lines 50-61, col. 13, lines 1-25, col. 17, line 43-col. 19, line 14 (esp. col. 18, lines 10-22 and col. 19, lines 10-14), col. 19, lines 51-54 and 62-67, col. 20, lines 1-7, Figure 16, col. 21, lines 34-39, col. 21, line 63-col. 23, line 45, col. 25, line 3-col. 27, line 58, and col. 33, line 17 -col. 35, line 36. See also discussion of claim 1 below.
receive [the] a selection of a widget for focus via the touchscreen surface, and
generate a virtual keyboard…; [and] display [a] the virtual keyboard … on the visual display responsive to the selection of the widget; and[, wherein the virtual keyboard includes a clipboard widget on the visual display that is configured to display clip data stored in clip data memory]
See again the prior discussion of ‘476, and, e.g., col. 18, lines 10-22, esp. the last sentence, Fig. 9, elements 208 and 212, col. 17, lines 61-64, col. 10, lines 53-57 (the incorporation of ‘8319, and thereby also, e.g., ‘8319 at Figs. 3-6, element 535 and col. 4, line 9- col. 6, line 25 and col. 7, lines 1-27, esp. col. 5, lines 21-36 ), col. 4, lines 48-50, col. 8, lines 28-39, col. 12, lines 4-8 and 19-22 and col. 25, line 3-col. 26, line 8 which describe receiving the selection of “any text-entry field”/“operator update field”, via the touchscreen surface, and displaying a virtual keyboard, e.g., 208, on the visual display responsive to such widget selection. Accordingly, the prior art discloses generating, e.g. via software, a virtual keyboard on a visual display in response to/triggered by selection of a widget (e.g. text entry field).
generate a virtual keyboard…that displays a textbox widget,…; [and] display [a] the virtual keyboard including the textbox widget… on the visual display…; and[, wherein the virtual keyboard includes a clipboard widget on the visual display that is configured to display clip data stored in clip data memory]
cause clip data, when stored in the clipboard memory, to be displayed in the textbox widget.
See again the prior discussion of this claim, i.e.‘476 at, e.g., col. 18, lines 10-22, esp. the last sentence, Fig. 9, elements 208 and 212, col. 17, lines 61-63, col. 10, lines 53-57 (the incorporation of ‘8319, and thereby also, e.g., ‘8319 at Figs. 3-6, element 535 and col. 4, line 9- col. 6, line 25 and col. 7, lines 1-27, esp. col. 5, lines 21-36 ), col. 4, lines 48-50, col. 8, lines 28-39, col. 12, lines 4-8 and 19-22 and col. 25, line 3-col. 26, line 8 which describe receiving the selection of “any text-entry field”/“operator update field”, via the touchscreen surface, and generating and displaying a virtual keyboard, e.g., 208, on the visual display responsive to such widget selection, wherein the virtual keyboard includes a “scratchpad”, i.e. a textbox widget, on the visual display that is configured to display data, e.g. displays data of a selected field which data was previously loaded/stored in a database, program or routine. The ‘476 (‘8319) description does not use the terminology “clipboard memory” or “clip data” (see also language of limitations below) with regard to the virtual keyboard scratchpad and scratchpad displayed data. However, see also ‘2319 at, e.g., Figs. 1-5, element 162, col. 3, lines 3-13, col. 3, line 49-col. 4, line 62, col. 5, line 51-col. 6, line 32, col. 6, lines 45-47, col. 7, line 55-col. 11, line 67, esp. col.10, lines 4-30 and col. 11, last two paragraphs, and col. 14, line 6-col. 16, line 14. See also, e.g., col. 1, lines 43-48, and 59-63 and col. 5, lines 4-10 and 20-24 of ‘2319 and the Dictionary of Computing definitions of “clipboard” and “scratchpad”.
Therefore, as best understood, see paragraph 8 above, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the disclosures of ‘2319 and the definitions of “clipboard” and “scratchpad’ in the Dictionary of Computing that the visual “scratchpad”/text entry widget , i.e. textbox widget of ‘476 also constitutes a visual widget for displaying data, i.e. “clip” data, that gets temporarily stored, i.e. “clipboard memory”.
Claim 14 now also claims:2
generate a virtual keyboard…that displays…a copy button widget,…; [and] display [a] the virtual keyboard including…the copy button widget, … on the visual display …; and[, wherein the virtual keyboard includes a clipboard widget on the visual display that is configured to display clip data stored in clip data memory]
See the discussion of claim 14 above and also the discussion of the claims depending therefrom below, e.g., ‘476 at, e.g., col. 10, lines 53-57 and col. 11, lines 1-4, Figures 9-11, col. 17, line 43-col. 19, line 14 (esp. col. 18, lines 20-22), and col. 19, lines 51-54 and 62-67, ‘8319 at, e.g., col. 2, lines 57-62, 21-48, col. 5, lines 6-25, col. 7, lines 1-19 and ‘2319 at, e.g., col. 6, lines 8-32 (esp. lines 16-24), 37-39, 41-45 and 47 and col. 11, lines 53-64. Therefore, the prior art describes data displayed in the desired visual text entry/operator update field, i.e. text widget in focus, being copied to both the visual text field/widget of the clipboard/scratchboard, textbox widget, and temporary stored by the clipboard/scratchpad, i.e. clipboard memory, upon/responsive to providing a signal, e.g. by keystroke/engaging a key, touchscreen input/engagement, i.e. data field copy operation. The prior art description does not use the terminology “widget” with regard to the keystroke/touch gesture/input of the copy operation signal on the visual display/virtual keyboard. However, see the Academic Press Dictionary definition of “widget”, i.e. a displayed, interactive, simulated push-button.
Therefore, as best understood, see paragraph 8 above, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the disclosures of the prior art and the definition of “widget” in the Academic Press Dictionary that the portion of the visual display/keyboard used to enter /input the copy operation signal, e.g. the key for the keystroke, also constitutes a widget for copying, i.e. a “copy button widget”.
In the alternative (i.e. even if “a copy button widget” is not already provided by the prior art as discussed above), also see ‘0318 at, e.g., Figures 1, 3-9 and 11 and col. 5, lines 38-60, col. 6, lines 20-60, col. 7, lines 18-27, col. 8, lines 32-47, col. 13, lines 42-44 and col. 14, lines 1-11 which teaches using virtual keys/buttons, i.e. button widgets, to trigger data handling operations which widgets include labels representative of such operation.
Therefore, to employ/display a virtual widget, i.e. a touchscreen key/button, on the visual display as part of the virtual keyboard of the touchscreen of the prior art (‘476, ‘8319, ‘2319) would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in view of teachings of ‘0318 for the predictable results of providing operator touch activatable key/button emulations for inputting signals for data handling operations, e.g. data copy operations, as well as economy/ease of maintenance, alteration and/or upgrade. In so doing, the prior art teaches providing a copy button widget on the visual display as part of the virtual keyboard and data displayed in the desired visual text entry/operator update field, i.e. text widget in focus, being copied to both the visual textbox field/widget of the clipboard/scratchboard and temporarily stored by the clipboard/scratchpad, i.e. clipboard memory, upon/responsive to engagement thereof.
Claim 14 further claims:3
generate a virtual keyboard….that displays… a paste button widget;[and] display [a] the virtual keyboard including…the paste copy button widget on the visual display …; and[, wherein the virtual keyboard includes a clipboard widget on the visual display that is configured to display clip data stored in clip data memory]
See discussion of claim 14 above and also the discussion of the claims depending therefrom below, e.g., ‘476 at, e.g., col. 10, lines 53-57 and col. 11, lines 1-4, Figures 9-11, col. 17, line 43-col. 19, line 14 (esp. col. 18, lines 20-22) and col. 19, lines 51-54 and 62-67, ‘8319 at, e.g., col. 2, lines 57-62, 21-48, col. 5, lines 6-25, col. 7, lines 1-19, col. 5, lines 41-48 and col. 5, line 65- col. 6, line 25, and ‘2319 at, e.g., col. 7, lines 5-45, col. 6, lines 8-32 (esp. lines 16-24), 37-39, 41-45 and 47 and col. 11, lines 53-64. Therefore, the prior art describes receiving the selection of a second visual text entry/operator update field, i.e. text widget for focus, via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and pasting data from/displayed in the visual text widget/field, i.e. text box widget, of the clipboard/scratchboard and temporary stored by the clipboard/scratchpad, i.e. the clipboard memory, to the second visual text entry/operator update field upon providing a signal, e.g. by keystroke, touchscreen input, click, i.e. data field paste operation. The prior art does not explicitly describe a widget to provide the paste operation signal, i.e. a paste button widget. See again the discussion of ‘0318 above.
Therefore, to employ/display a virtual widget, i.e. a touchscreen key/button, on the visual display as part of the virtual keyboard of the touchscreen of the prior art (‘476, ‘8319, ‘2319) would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in view of teachings of ‘0318 for the predictable results of providing operator touch activatable key/button emulations for inputting signals for data handling operations, e.g. data paste operations, as well as economy/ease of maintenance, alteration and/or upgrade. In so doing, the prior art teaches providing a paste button widget on the visual display as part of the virtual keyboard.
Finally, claim 14 recites:
generate a virtual keyboard that simultaneously displays a textbox widget, a copy button widget and a paste button widget;[and] display [a] the virtual keyboard including the textbox widget, the copy button widget and the paste copy button widget on the visual display responsive to the selection of the widget; and[, wherein the virtual keyboard includes a clipboard widget on the visual display that is configured to display clip data stored in clip data memory]
As discussed above, the prior art describes or obviously suggests generating a virtual keyboard that displays a textbox widget, displays a copy button widget and displays a paste button widget and displaying such responsive to the selection of the widget. See ‘476 at, e.g., Figs. 9 and 16, 10:52-57, 17:61-64, 18:10-22, 23:42-47, ‘8319 at, e.g., Figs. 3-5, 3:57-62, 7:1-27, ‘2319 at, e.g., Figs. 1-5, element 162, col. 5, line 51-col. 6, line 32, col. 6, lines 41-47, col. 7, line 55-65, 8:15-24, col. 11, line 53-67, col.10, lines 4-30, col. 1, lines 59-63 and col. 5, lines 4-10 and 20-24, and ‘0318 at, e.g., Figures 1, 3-9 and 11 and col. 5, lines 38-60. In particular, the portions of these references cited above clearly show or obviously suggest the simultaneous generation and presentation of operator activable input devices (e.g. button widgets) for implementing flight management tasks and such tasks including display, copying, pasting and editing of text. The portions of the references cited above also clearly teach that there would be a reasonable expectation of success in such simultaneous virtual button implementation, see, e.g. ‘8319 at col. 7, lines 1-27, ‘476, 17:60-66, and 18:10-22 As such, the proferred modification, if not already, is merely combining prior art elements (keyboard implemented flight management tasks/ operator activable input devices (e.g. button widgets) for implementing flight management tasks) according to know methods (a keyboard virtually generated and displayed) to yield predictable results( providing operator touch activatable key/button emulations for inputting signals for data handling operations, e.g. data paste, copy, clip operations, via keyboard), as well as economy/ease of maintenance, alteration and/or upgrade.
Claim 15
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 14, further configured to:
[display a copy widget on the visual display as part of the virtual keyboard, and]
copy data from the widget that is in focus to both the clipboard memory and the [clipboard] textbox widget when the copy button widget is engaged4 via a touch gesture .
See the discussion above of the copy button widget now claimed in claim 14. Therefore, the prior art describes data displayed in the desired visual text entry/operator update field, i.e. text widget in focus, being copied to both the visual text field/widget of the clipboard/scratchboard, i.e. the textbox widget, and temporary stored by the clipboard memory, upon/responsive to providing a signal, e.g. by keystroke, touchscreen input, i.e. data field copy operation, i.e. copy button widget engaged by touch.
Claim 16
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 15, further configured to:
receive a [the] selection of a second widget5 for focus via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and
paste data from the [clipboard] textbox widget6 to the second widget when7 [a] the paste button widget is engaged via a touch gesture.
See the discussion above of the paste widget now claimed in claim 14. Therefore, the prior art describes receive the selection of a second visual text entry/operator update field, i.e. text widget for focus, via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and pasting data from/displayed in the visual text widget/field of the clipboard/scratchboard and temporary stored by the clipboard memory, to the second visual text entry/operator update field upon providing touch engagement of a paste button widget on the visual display as part of the virtual keyboard.
Claim 18
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 14, further configured to:
receive, via the virtual keyboard, changes to [the] clip data displayed in the [clipboard] textbox widget; and
enter the changed clip data to the clip data memory.
As best understood in light of the discussion in paragraph 9, see the discussion of claim 14 above, esp. the definitions of “clipboard” and “scratchpad”, ‘476 at, e.g., col. 10, lines 53-57 and col. 11, lines 1-4, and ‘8319 at, e.g., col. 4, lines 21-39 and col. 5, lines 21-25, i.e. data displayed in the visual text field/widget of the clipboard/scratchboard and temporary stored by the clipboard/scratchpad, i.e. clipboard memory, is edited/updated.
Claim 17
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 14, further configured to:
[display a paste widget on the visual display as part of the virtual keyboard, and]
paste data from the [clipboard] textbox widget8 to the widget that is in focus9 when the paste button widget is engaged10 via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 14-16 and 18 above.
Claim 19
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 18, further configured to:
paste data from the [clipboard] textbox widget11 to the widget that is in focus when [a] the paste button widget is engaged via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claim 16, last two lines, and claim 17, last two lines, above.
Claim 20
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 18, further configured to:
receive [the] a selection of a second widget for focus via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and
paste data from the [clipboard] textbox widget12 to the second widget when [a] the paste widget is engaged via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claim 16 above.
Claim 21
A method in an avionics touchscreen system comprising a touchscreen surface layered over a visual display, the method comprising:
displaying a graphical user interface (GUI) on the visual display;
receiving the selection of a widget on the GUI for focus via the touchscreen surface; and
generating a virtual keyboard that simultaneously displays a textbox widget, a copy button widget and a paste button widget; displaying [a] the virtual keyboard including the textbox widget, the copy button widget and the paste copy button widget on the visual display responsive to the selection of the widget; and[wherein the virtual keyboard includes a clipboard widget in the form of a text box entry widget, a copy widget in the form of a button widget, and a paste widget in the form of a button widget, wherein the clipboard widget is for]
displaying clip data, when stored in clipboard [clip data] memory, in the textbox widget.
See discussion of claim 14 above, esp. Figures 9-11 and col. 18, lines 20-22 of ‘476.
Claim 22
The method of claim 21, further comprising:
copying data from the widget that is in focus to both the [clip data] clipboard memory and the [clipboard] textbox widget when the copy button widget is engaged13 via a touch gesture .
See discussion of claims 21 and 15 above.
Claim 23
The method of claim 22, further comprising:
receiving [the] a selection of a second widget for focus via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and
pasting data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the second widget responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 21 and 16 above.
Claim 24
The method of claim 21, further comprising:
pasting data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the widget that is in focus responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 21 and 17 above .
Claim 25
The method of claim 21, further comprising:
receiving, via the virtual keyboard, changes to clip data displayed in the [clipboard] textbox widget; and
entering the changed clip data to the clipboard [data] memory.
See discussion of claims 21 and 18 above.
Claim 26
The method of claim 25, further comprising:
pasting data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the widget that is in focus responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 21, 25 and 19 above.
Claim 27
The method of claim 25, further comprising:
receiving a selection of a second widget for focus via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and
pasting data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the second widget responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 21 and 20 above.
Claim 28
An avionics touchscreen system comprising a touchscreen surface layered over a visual display, the method comprising:
display a graphical user interface (GUI) on the visual display;
receive a selection of a widget on the GUI for focus via the touchscreen surface;
generate a virtual keyboard that simultaneously displays a textbox widget, a copy button widget and a paste button widget; [and] displaying [a] the virtual keyboard including the textbox widget, the copy button widget and the paste copy button widget on the visual display responsive to the selection of the widget; andwherein the virtual keyboard includes a clipboard widget in the form of a text box entry widget, a copy widget in the form of a button widget, and a paste widget in the form of a button widget, wherein the clipboard widget is for]
display[ing] clip data, when stored in clipboard [clip data] memory, in the textbox widget.
See discussion of claim 1 below and claim 21 above.
Claim 29
The touchscreen system of claim 28, wherein the controller is further configured to:
copy data from the widget that is in focus to both the clipboard [data] memory and the [clipboard] textbox widget responsive to engagement of [when] the copy button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 28 and 15 above.
Claim 30
The touchscreen system of claim 29, wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive a selection of a second widget for focus via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and
data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the second widget responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 28 and 16 above.
Claim 31
The touchscreen system of claim 28, wherein the controller is further configured to:
paste data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the widget that is in focus responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture
See discussion of claims 28 and 17 above.
Claim 32
The touchscreen system of claim 28, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive, via the virtual keyboard, changes to clip data displayed in the
[clipboard] textbox widget; and
enter the changed clip data to the clipboard [data] memory.
See discussion of claims 28, 18 and 25 above.
Claim 33
The touchscreen system of claim 32, wherein the controller is further configured to:
paste data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the widget that is in focus responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 28 and 19 above.
Claim 34
The touchscreen system of claim 32, wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive a selection of a second widget for focus via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and
paste data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the second widget responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 28 and 20 above.
Claim 35
Non-transitory computer readable media configurable to cause a processor in an avionics touchscreen system to perform a method [sic]wherein the touchscreen system comprises a touchscreen surface layered over a visual display, the method comprising:
displaying a graphical user interface (GUI) on the visual display;
receiving a selection of a widget on the GUI for focus via the touchscreen surface;
generating a virtual keyboard that simultaneously displays a textbox widget, a copy button widget and a paste button widget;[and] displaying [a] the virtual keyboard including the textbox widget, the copy button widget and the paste copy button widget on the visual display responsive to the selection of the widget; and[wherein the virtual keyboard includes a clipboard widget in the form of a text box entry widget, a copy widget in the form of a button widget, and a paste widget in the form of a button widget, wherein the clipboard widget is for
displaying clip data, when stored in clipboard [clip data] memory, in the textbox widget.
See discussion of claim 1 below and claims 21 and 28 above.
Claim 36
The non-transitory computer readable media of claim 35, wherein the method further comprises:
copying data from the widget that is in focus to both the clipboard [data] memory and the [clipboard] textbox widget responsive to engagement of [when] the copy button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 35 and 15 above.
Claim 37
The non-transitory computer readable media of claim 36, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving a selection of a second widget for focus via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and
pasting data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the second widget responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 35 and 16 above.
Claim 38
The non-transitory computer readable media of claim 35, wherein the method further comprises:
pasting data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the widget that is in focus responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture
See discussion of claims 35 and 17 above.
Claim 39
The non-transitory computer readable media of claim 35, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, via the virtual keyboard, changes to clip data displayed in the [clipboard] textbox widget; and
entering the changed clip data to the clipboard [data] memory.
See discussion of claims 35, 18, 25 and 32 above.
Claim 40
The non-transitory computer readable media of claim 39, wherein the method further comprises:
pasting data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the widget that is in focus responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 35 and 19 above.
Claim 41
The non-transitory computer readable media of claim 39, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving [the] a selection of a second widget for focus via a touch gesture sensed by the touchscreen surface; and
pasting data from the [clipboard] textbox widget to the second widget responsive to engagement of [when] the paste button widget [is engaged] via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims 35 and 20 above.
Claim 1
An avionics touchscreen system configured for use in an aircraft cockpit and configured to communicate with aircraft flight deck equipment, the touchscreen system comprising:
an aircraft data transfer system interface for connecting the avionics touchscreen system with flight deck equipment via an aircraft data transfer system:
a touchscreen device comprising a touchscreen surface layered over a visual display, the touchscreen surface configured to receive input through single-touch or multi-touch gestures,
a touch screen controller comprising one or more processors configured by programming instructions encoded on non-transient computer readable media to execute one or more application programs to display data received over the aircraft data transfer system [connection] interface from the fight deck equipment on the visual display,
An avionics touchscreen system configured for use in an aircraft cockpit and configured to communicate with aircraft flight deck equipment is shown in Figures 1 and 16. The system comprises an aircraft data transfer system interface for connecting the avionics touchscreen system with flight deck equipment via an aircraft data transfer system, see ‘476 at, e.g. col. 8, line 51-col. 9, line 26, Figure 1, e.g. between 12 and 14-26, and Figure 16, e.g., between 1602 and 1620, a touchscreen device comprising a touchscreen surface layered over a visual display, the touchscreen surface configured to receive input through single-touch or multi-touch gestures, elements 16/18 and 1614/1625, a touch screen controller comprising one or more processors configured by programming instructions encoded on non-transient computer readable media to execute one or more application programs to display data received over the aircraft data transfer system connection from the fight deck equipment on the visual display, see ‘476 at, e.g., col. 4, lines 28-60, col. 7, lines 59-63, col. 8, lines 28-39, col. 11, lines 43-52, col. 12, lines 19-22, col. 25, line 41-col. 27, line 51, elements 12 and 1620.
the touchscreen controller further comprising memory media configured to provide clipboard memory for use with the one or more application programs; and
See discussion of claim 14 above, e.g., ‘476 at col. 4, lines 43-60, col. 8, lines 32-35, col. 11, lines 43-52, col. 12, lines 19-22, paragraph bridging cols. 25-26,, e.g. 12 stores functional configuration information/current configuration states 208/18b, Fig. 9.
a keyboard module configured by the touchscreen controller to:
generate a virtual keyboard that simultaneously displays a textbox widget, a copy button widget and a paste button widget;
display the virtual keyboard including the textbox widget, the copy button widget and the paste copy button widget [, via] on the visual display [and] responsive to a selection of a widget generated by [the] an application program for focus via the touchscreen surface, [a virtual keyboard wherein the virtual keyboard includes a text box widget configured to display] cause clip data, when stored in the clipboard memory, to be displayed in the textbox widget;[,] responsive to selection of the [a] copy button widget, [configured to] cause data, that is in focus to be copied to the clipboard memory and displayed in the textbox widget; and responsive to selection of the [a] paste button widget [configured to] cause [the] clip data stored in the clipboard memory [and displayed in the text box widget] to be pasted to a second widget that is in focus.
See again the prior discussion, e.g. 208/18b, Fig. 9, and the discussion of claims 14-41 above, esp. the discussion of the last five lines of claim 14 above, and claims 14-16.
Claim 2
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 1, wherein the aircraft data transfer system comprises a standard14 aircraft data transfer system.
See ‘476 at, e.g., col. 13, lines 1-25, the paragraph bridging cols. 26-27, and col. 34, lines 18-21. Note also ‘0318 at ,e.g., col. 14, line 59.
Claim 3
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 1, wherein the keyboard module is configured to copy the data [from] in the first widget to both the clipboard memory and the text box widget when the copy button widget is engaged via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claim 15.
Claim 4
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 1, wherein the keyboard module is configured to
receive changes to the clip data displayed in the text box widget responsive to touch gestures with the virtual keyboard and
update the clip data stored in the clipboard memory and displayed in the text box widget with the changes to the clip data.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claim 18.
Claim 5
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 1, wherein the keyboard module is configured to paste the clip data stored in the clipboard memory and displayed in the text box widget to the second widget when the paste button widget is engaged via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claims 16-17.
Claim 6
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 5, wherein the first widget and the second widget are the same widget.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claims 16-20.
Claim 7
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 5, wherein the first widget and the second widget are different widgets and no more than one of the first widget and the second widget may be in focus at a time.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claim 16-20, e.g. ‘2319 at col. 6, lines 37-39 and col. 7, lines 8 and 31-35. Note also ‘2319 at col. 13, lines 32-34 and 37-40.
Claim 8
The avionics touchscreen system of claim 1, wherein the virtual keyboard includes other widgets in addition to the text box widget, the paste button widget, and the copy button widget, and wherein the text box widget, the paste button widget, and the copy button widget are positioned in a row above [all] other widgets in the virtual keyboard15.
See discussion of claims above, i.e. the prior art describes the widgets. See also, e.g., ‘476, FIG. 9, in which the scratchpad/clipboard and other data handling buttons/widgets, e.g. “CLR”, “DEL”, are positioned in a row and above other keys in the virtual keyboard. Therefore to position buttons/widgets, i.e. scratchpad, copy, paste etc., for data handling alongside each other, i.e. in a row, would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the recognition that such grouping would predictably result in visual and tactile focus on a single area of the touchscreen efficiently and/or ergonomically, e.g. the distance between the buttons to be visualized/touched/input for the purpose of data handling is minimized.
Claim 9
A keyboard module configured for use in an avionics touchscreen system coupled to a flight deck equipment in an aircraft cockpit via an aircraft data transfer system connection, the keyboard module comprising one or more processors configured by programming instructions encoded in non-transient computer readable media, the keyboard module configured to:
generate a virtual keyboard that simultaneously displays a textbox widget, a copy button widget and a paste button widget;
display the virtual keyboard including the textbox widget, the copy button widget and the paste copy button widget [, via] on the visual display [and] responsive to a selection of a an application program generated widget for focus via the touchscreen surface on the avionics touchscreen system; [, a virtual keyboard wherein the virtual keyboard includes a text box widget configured to display] cause clip data, when stored in the clipboard memory, to be displayed in the textbox widget;[,] responsive to selection of the [a] copy button widget, [configured to] cause data, that is in focus to be copied to the clipboard memory and displayed in the textbox widget; and responsive to selection of the [a] paste button widget [configured to] cause [the] clip data stored in the clipboard memory [and displayed in the text box widget] to be pasted to a second widget that is in focus.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claims 1 and 14, e.g. 18b/280, Fig. 9.
Claim 10
The keyboard module of claim 9, wherein the keyboard module is configured to copy the data [from] in the first widget to both the clipboard memory and the text box widget when the copy button widget is engaged via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claims 15 and 3.
Claim 11
The keyboard module of claim 9, wherein the keyboard module is configured to
receive changes to the clip data displayed in the text box widget responsive to touch gestures with the virtual keyboard
and update the clip data stored in the clipboard memory and displayed in the text box widget with the changes to the clip data.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claims 18 and 4.
Claim 12
The keyboard module of claim 11, wherein the keyboard module is configured to paste the clip data stored in the clipboard memory and displayed in the text box widget to the second widget when the paste button widget is engaged via a touch gesture.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claims 16-17 and 5.
Claim 13
The keyboard module of claim 12, wherein the first widget and the second widget are different widgets and no more than one of the first widget and the second widget may be in focus at a time.
See discussion of claims above, e.g. claims 16-20 and 7.
Response to Arguments
The remarks on pages 15-20 of the October 20, 2023 response have been considered in their entirety. Specifically:
1) The Summary of the Amendments, the remarks with regard to the Consent and the remarks regarding the disclosure have been noted.
2) Pages 17-20 of the response regarding the prior art rejections have been considered.
Patent Owner, based on broad allegations regarding the Office action (see last paragraph of page 17), Patent Owner concludes that “the combined references do not disclose or suggest (i) "generate a virtual keyboard that simultaneously displays a textbox widget, a copy button widget, and a paste button widget"; or (ii) "display the virtual keyboard including the textbox widget, the copy button widget, and the paste button widget on the visual display responsive to the selection of the widget" as recited in independent claims 1, 9, 14, 21, 28, and 35” and “Because none of the applied references, singularly or in combination, discloses or suggests at least one element of independent claims …, the applied references do not and cannot render obvious independent claims …”).See pages 18-19.
However, other than a specific reference to a “scratch pad”, “virtual keyboard” and Fig. 9 of the Pappas ‘476 patent or “scratchpad” of the Hammack ‘2319 patent and general statement with regard to “other references” the remarks do not address the specific teachings of the references of the applied combination and the rejection based thereto other than in a conclusory manner. See also Paragraph 10 above. Accordingly, these conclusion are not persuasive.
Similarly, Patent Owner, based on broad allegations regarding the Office action (see last two paragraph of page 19), Patent Owner concludes that “the combined references do not disclose or suggest (iii) "cause clip data,when stored in the clipboard memory, to be displayed in the textbox widget" as recited in independent claims 1, 9, 14, 21, 28, and 35.” and “Because none of the applied references, singularly or in combination, discloses or suggests at least one element of independent claims …, the applied references do not and cannot render obvious independent claims …”).See pages 19-20.
However, other than a specific reference to a “ keyboard” of the Pappas ‘476 patent or “scratchpad” of the Hammack ‘2319 patent the remarks do not address the specific teachings of the references of the applied combination and the rejection based thereto other than in a conclusory manner. See also Paragraph 10 above. Accordingly, these conclusion are also not persuasive.
Conclusion
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See Fig. 6 and translated description thereof in CN-107193476, Fig. 3, blok
Amendments
Applicant is notified that any subsequent amendment to the specification and/or claims must comply with 37 CFR 1.173(b). In addition, for reissue applications filed before September 16, 2012, when any substantive amendment is filed in the reissue application, which amendment otherwise places the reissue application in condition for allowance, a supplemental oath/declaration will be required. See MPEP § 1414.01.
Prior or Concurrent Proceedings
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which Patent No. 10,131,444 is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely appraise the Office of any information which is mate-rial to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Inquiries:
/Karin Reichle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/Cameron Saadat/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/ALEXANDER J KOSOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992
1 The term of the patent was extended or adjusted by 0 days.
2 See also claim 15.
3 See also claims 16 and 17.
4 It is noted that engaging/engagement of the widget is not claimed.
5 See ‘444 at col. 5, lines 4-48.
6 Cf. “data from the textbox widget” in this claim with “copy data from the widget that is in focus” in claim 15 and “displaying clip data when stored in clipboard memory” in claim 14.
7 See footnote 7.
8 Cf. “data from the [clipboard] textbox widget” in this claim with “clip data….to be displayed in the textbox” in claim 14.
9 See footnote 8.
10 See footnote 8.
11 Cf. “data from the clipboard widget” in this claim with “changes to clip data displayed in the [clipboard] textbox widget” and “the changed clip data to the clip data memory” in claim 18 and ““clip data….to be displayed in the textbox”” in claim 14.
12 See footnote 11.
13 It is noted that engaging/engagement of the widget is not claimed.
14 The terminology “standard” has not been explicitly defined by the specification.
15 The specification does not indicate the reason for such positioning. Note MPEP 2144.04, I and VI.