DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new rejection has been made in view of Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) and TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1). A full rejection can be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the thermoplastic elastomer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 14-15, 18-19, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) and TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) teaches a plasma welding apparatus (Figure 2), comprising:
an operation chamber (chamber 35);
a plasma generator having at least one plasma head disposed within the operation chamber and in proximity to an end contact surface of a first profile within the operation chamber and an end contact surface of a second profile within the operation chamber (Figure 2 Column 3 Line 66 – Column 4 Line 4, beam 15 is directed toward tubing 29 and 31 for an operation which involves a fill operation of cutting the bags for filling and then resealing the tubes together; Figures 1-2 Column 4 Lines 18-22, chamber 35 is equipped with a beam tube with a window 13 for generating a plasma cloud in the volume surrounding the surfaces to be sterilized at target zone 34; Figure 1, electron beam tube 11 and gas nozzle are located in proximity to the target zone), wherein each of the first profile and the second profile comprises a tube having a lumen (Figure 1, tubing 29 and 31 each have an internal lumen for carrying fluids),
wherein the operation chamber forms a substantially sealed environment (Column 2 Lines 23-27, sterilization chamber; Column 4 Lines 27-29, ionization radiation is kept inside of the sterilization chamber which indicates that the operation chamber is sealed), and wherein the operation chamber confines the plasma treatment within the substantially sealed environment (Column 4 Lines 27-29, ionization radiation is kept inside of the sterilization chamber which indicates that the operation chamber is sealed)1, wherein the mechanical motion module is configured to manipulate the one or more lumens of the first profile and the second profile prior to plasma welding, so that the first profile and the second profile can remain open or closed during the plasma treatment and/or joining the first profile and the second profile (Figure 2 Column 3 Line 66 – Column 4 Line 4, manipulating the lumen of the first and second profile prior to connecting and resealing by cutting the tubing from each bag such that the tubing can be connected for the filling operation and then resealed later).
Wakalopulos fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the plasma head is configured to apply a plasma treatment to the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile to directly join a thermoset elastomer of the first or second profile to the other profile, wherein at least one of the first profile and the second profile are formed from the thermoset elastomer comprising a silicone elastomer, a diene elastomer, a butyl rubber, a natural rubber, an ethylene propylene diene monomer rubber, an isoprene rubber, a nitrile rubber, a styrene butadiene rubber, a blend, or combination thereof; and
a mechanical motion module configured to axially align and bring into contact the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile by rotary motion of at least one of the end contact surface first profile or the end contact surface of second profile, wherein the tube and lumen of each of the first profile and second profile define a terminal end in an axial direction, wherein the end contact surfaces of the first and second profiles are located at the terminal ends of the first and second profiles,
BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) teaches a method for manipulating pre-sterilized components in an active sterile field, wherein:
wherein each of the first profile and the second profile comprises a tube having a lumen (Paragraph 38, ends of components 10 and 12 are cut off such as to reveal open ends while still within the field)
wherein the plasma head is configured to apply a plasma treatment to the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile (Figure 3D Paragraph 39, plasma atmosphere is created to achieve a sterile field; Paragraph 40, connection of the open ends together is accomplished while the contacting ends are exposed within the field; Paragraph 45, permeant seal between the contacting ends is accomplished while the contacting ends are exposed within the field),
a mechanical motion module configured to axially align and bring into contact the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile by rotary motion of at least one of the end contact surface first profile or the end contact surface of second profile (Paragraph 40, mechanism uses a pair of automated clamps which engage a portion of components 10 and 12 just behind the ends such as to actuate in the direction of the arrows and are capable of rotational movement to maintain the alignment ends of the components with one another; Figures 8A-8D, tubes are sealed together by being in contact with each other), wherein the tube and lumen of each of the first profile and second profile define a terminal end in an axial direction, wherein the end contact surfaces of the first and second profiles are located at the terminal ends of the first and second profiles (Paragraph 30, components have sealed ends which by connecting together which allow for a fluid pathway to be created at the time of joining between the two components; Figures 3A-3D Paragraph 38, the lumen of the first and second components extend in an axial direction and the location where the components are connected are each at a terminal end of the components), wherein the mechanical motion module is configured to manipulate the one or more lumens of the first profile and the second profile prior to plasma welding, so that the first profile and the second profile can remain open or closed during the plasma treatment and/or joining the first profile and the second profile (Paragraph 38, exposing the lumens of the first and second components by cutting them off by means of a mechanical blade such as to keep them open during connection).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with BILSTAD and included a mechanical motion module for aligning ends of the first and second profile together. This would have been done to help maintain the alignment of ends of the tubes with one another during the processing (BILSTAD Paragraph 40).
Wakalopulos modified with BILSTAD fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the plasma head is configured to apply a plasma treatment to directly join a thermoset elastomer of the first or second profile to the other profile, wherein at least one of the first profile and the second profile are formed from the thermoset elastomer comprising a silicone elastomer, a diene elastomer, a butyl rubber, a natural rubber, an ethylene propylene diene monomer rubber, an isoprene rubber, a nitrile rubber, a styrene butadiene rubber, a blend, or combination thereof; and
TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1) teaches a method of joining resin tubes, comprising:
wherein the plasma head is configured to apply a plasma treatment to directly join a thermoset elastomer of the first or second profile to the other profile (Figure 4 Paragraph 64, joining regions 11 and 21 of the first tube 10 and the second tube 20 are each in contact with the atmospheric pressure plasma AP from the atmospheric-pressure plasma device; Paragraph 67, the first tube 10 is thus joined to the second tube 20) Figure 6 Paragraphs 73-74, each of the joining regions of the tubes are activated by the ultraviolet irradiation step)
wherein at least one of the first profile and the second profile are formed from the thermoset elastomer comprising a silicone elastomer (Paragraph 45, first and second tube are made of silicone resin), a diene elastomer, a butyl rubber, a natural rubber, an ethylene propylene diene monomer rubber, an isoprene rubber, a nitrile rubber, a styrene butadiene rubber, a blend, or combination thereof; and
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with TAKEMOTO and used a plasma head such as to apply a plasma treatment to the silicone elastomer material of the two tubes such as to join them together. This would have been done to facilitate joining one silicone pipe to another (TAKEMOTO Paragraph 7). The Office notes that it is well known in the art that joining together the silicone elastomer ends of tubes (Paragraph 45) in a medical environment (Paragraph 41) is well known and desirable in the art as evidenced by SUZUKI (JP H07329182 A).
Regarding claim 2, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1.
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the first profile and the second profile further comprise a thermoset elastomer (Paragraph 45, first and second tube are made of silicone resin), or combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1 above.
The Office further notes that SUZUKI (JP H07329182 A) teaches that joining the end portions of silicone pipes to one another in a medical environment is known in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 2.
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
both of the first profile and the second profile are formed from the thermoset elastomer, wherein the thermoset elastomer comprises a silicone elastomer (Paragraph 45, first and second tube are made of silicone resin), a diene elastomer, a butyl rubber, a natural rubber, an ethylene propylene diene monomer rubber, an isoprene rubber, a nitrile rubber, a styrene butadiene rubber, a blend, or combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1 above.
The Office further notes that SUZUKI (JP H07329182 A) teaches that joining the end portions of silicone pipes to one another in a medical environment is known in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the plasma generator comprises a gas supply (Column 5 Lines 53-59, argon gas is used)
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the plasma generator comprises a gas supply (Paragraph 58, gas feeding port feeds a process gas into the chamber 50) and a power supply (Paragraph 60, high frequency electric field is applied between electrode 53 and the housing 50 using high frequency power source 50).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 8.
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the power supply ionizes a flow of gas from the gas supply to generate the plasma treatment (Paragraph 60, process gas is ionized by a high frequency electric field applied from the high frequency power source).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1.
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the plasma treatment activates material at the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile (Paragraph 64, the plasma activates each of the joining regions 11,21 of the first tube 10 and the second tube 20).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1.
BILSTAD further teaches:
the mechanical motion module linearly displaces or rotates at least one of the first profile and the second profile to axially align the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile (rotates; Paragraph 40, mechanism uses a pair of automated clamps which engage a portion of components 10 and 12 just behind the ends such as to actuate in the direction of the arrows and are capable of rotational movement to maintain the alignment ends of the components with one another; Figures 8A-8D, tubes are sealed together by being in contact with each other).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the tube has a lumen through the entirety of the tube (Figure 1, tubing 29 and 31 each have an internal lumen for carrying fluids).
Regarding claim 21, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1.
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the thermoset elastomer comprises a silicone elastomer (Paragraph 45, first and second tube are made of silicone resin).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
The Office further notes that SUZUKI (JP H07329182 A) teaches that joining the end portions of silicone pipes to one another in a medical environment is known in the art.
Regarding claim 22, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1.
Bilstad further teaches:
a cutting device configured to form the first profile or second profile (Paragraph 38, mechanism for opening ends of the components 10 and 12 are opened using a mechanical blade).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
The Office further notes that the use of rotating disks such as to align the contact ends of the tubes through rotation wherein a cutting edge is used to separate the first and second portions is known in the art as evidenced by Paragraph 54 of Schwalm (US 20130153048 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 22.
Bilstad further teaches:
the cutting device comprises at least one blade (Paragraph 38, mechanism for opening ends of the components 10 and 12 are opened using a mechanical blade).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) and TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of TAKEMOTO (US 20190300662 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 2.
Wakalopulos as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the thermoplastic elastomer comprises a polystyrene, a polyester, a silicone copolymer, a silicone thermoplastic vulcanizate, a copolyester, a polyamide, a fluoropolymer, a polyolefin, a polyether-ester copolymer, a thermoplastic urethane, a polyether amide block copolymer, a polyamide copolymer, a styrene block copolymer, a polycarbonate, a thermoplastic vulcanizate, an ionomer, a polyoxymethylene (POM), an acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), an acetal, an acrylic, a polyvinyl chloride (PVC), a blend, or combination thereof.
TAKEMOTO (US 20190300662 A1), from now on referred to as TAKEMOTO_2, teaches a method of bonding substrates through plasma surface activation, wherein:
the thermoplastic elastomer comprises a polystyrene, a polyester, a silicone copolymer, a silicone thermoplastic vulcanizate, a copolyester, a polyamide, a fluoropolymer, a polyolefin, a polyether-ester copolymer, a thermoplastic urethane, a polyether amide block copolymer, a polyamide copolymer, a styrene block copolymer, a polycarbonate, a thermoplastic vulcanizate, an ionomer, a polyoxymethylene (POM), an acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), an acetal, an acrylic (Paragraph 57, substrates 11 and 15 are made of acrylic resin), a polyvinyl chloride (PVC), a blend, or combination thereof.
It would have further been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with TAKEMOTO_2 and have the first and second tubes be made at least partially of acrylic resin. This would have been done as TAKEMOTO teaches that the degree of freedom of selecting a tube material is large (TAKEMOTO Paragraph 12) wherein there is no particular limitation for the materials of the first tube and the second tube as long as they are synthetic resins (TAKEMOTO Paragraph 45) and TAKEMOTO_2 teaches that synthetic resins used in plasma surface activation process includes silicone resin and acrylic resin wherein acrylic resin is particularly beneficial when light transmittance is desired (TAKEMOTO_2 Paragraph 57).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) and TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Therond (US 20030102293 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1.
Wakalopulos as modified fails to teach:
the operation chamber is prevented from opening or removal during application of the plasma treatment.
Therond (US 20030102293 A1) teaches a container for laser processing, wherein:
the operation chamber is prevented from opening or removal during application of the plasma treatment (Paragraph 40, users are prevented from opening the chamber during processing to promote maximum security).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with Therond and have the openings to the container be sealed and prevented from opening during application of the plasma treatment. This would have been done to facilitate maximum security and protect the user from any unsuitable maneuvers that they may make (Therond Paragraph 40).
The prevention of opening the sealed container during plasma processing so that inert or other atmosphere may be employed and sustained is known as desirable in the art of plasma welding as evidenced by Gerber (US 3597569 A).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) and TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of ITO (JP 2013132822 A).
Regarding claim 9, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 8, wherein:
the gas supply provides a flow of gas comprising an inert gas (Column 5 Lines 53-59, argon gas is used)
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the gas supply provides a flow of gas comprising an inert gas (Paragraph 61, process gas includes nitrogen and argon gas), an oxygen containing gas (Paragraph 61, process gas includes oxygen), a nitrogen containing gas (Paragraph 61, process gas includes nitrogen and argon gas), a fluorine containing gas, or a combination thereof. It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Wakalopulos modified with TAKEMOTO fails to teach:
the gas supply comprises an atmospheric air supply, a compressor, a compressed gas cylinder, an in-house gas line, an in-house compressed gas line, a fan, a turbo, or a combination thereof
ITO (JP 2013132822 A) teaches a joining method of two substrates using plasma, wherein:
the gas supply comprises an atmospheric air supply, a compressor, a compressed gas cylinder (Paragraph 30, gas cylinder 193 stores a processing gas), an in-house gas line, an in- house compressed gas line (pipe 194), a fan, a turbo, or a combination thereof, and wherein the gas supply provides a flow of gas comprising an inert gas (Paragraph 30, helium and argon gas), an oxygen containing gas (Paragraph 30, oxygen gas), a nitrogen containing gas, a fluorine containing gas, or a combination thereof.
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with ITO and used a compressed gas cylinder. This would have been done to facilitate the storing and the providing of the processing gas (ITO Paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 10, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 9, wherein:
the inert gas comprises argon (Column 5 Lines 53-59, argon gas is used), neon, helium, or any combination thereof.
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the inert gas comprises argon (Paragraph 61, process gas includes nitrogen and argon gas), neon, helium, or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 9.
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the oxygen containing gas comprises atmospheric air (Paragraph 61, a mix of nitrogen gas and dry clean air is used), pure oxygen, alcohol, water vapor, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
The Office further notes that using dry air is well known in the art to generate plasma as evidenced by Paragraphs 19-21 of IKEDO (US 20210076480 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 9.
TAKEMOTO further teaches:
the nitrogen containing gas comprises atmospheric air (Paragraph 61, a mix of nitrogen gas and dry clean air is used), pure nitrogen, ammonia, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
The Office further notes that using dry air is well known in the art to generate plasma as evidenced by Paragraphs 19-21 of IKEDO (US 20210076480 A1).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1), TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1), and ITO (JP 2013132822 A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of LEE (KR 20150054280 A).
Regarding claim 13, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 9.
Wakalopulos as modified fails to teach:
the fluorine containing gas comprises sulfur hexafluoride (SF6), trifluoromethane (CHF3),
tetrafluoromethane (CF4), octafluorocyclobutane (C4F8), or a combination thereof.
LEE (KR 20150054280 A) teaches a plasma torch, wherein:
the fluorine (Paragraph 4, gas includes fluorine) containing gas comprises sulfur hexafluoride (SF6), trifluoromethane (CHF3), tetrafluoromethane (CF4) (Paragraph 4, CF4), octafluorocyclobutane (C4F8), or a combination thereof.
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with LEE and use CF4 as the gas. This gas is known in the art in plasma processing and one of ordinary skill in the art would use such air as an alternative to dry air or clean dry air, or when dry air or clean dry air is not available.
The Office further notes that the use of sulfur hexafluoride and trifluoromethane are known in the art to be used as the gas to be ionized to generate plasma for plasma processing as evidenced by Mahoney (US 5521351 A).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) and TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YAMAUCHI (US 20170221856 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1.
Wakalopulos as modified fails to explicitly teach:
a plurality of plasma heads disposed within the operation chamber
YAMAUCHI (US 20170221856 A1) teaches a method for bonding substrates together, comprising:
a plurality of plasma heads disposed within the operation chamber (Figure 1, multiple activation treatment units 610 are disposed within chamber 200).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with YAMAUCHI and have the tubes be placed in a chamber during processing. This would have been done to control the surrounding atmosphere of the processing which can help with preventing air from being trapped between the substrates to be bonded (YAMAUCHI Paragraph 79).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) and TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Dougherty (US 20060081567 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 16.
Wakalopulos as modified fails to teach:
at least one of the plurality of plasma heads is configured to sterilize the environment within the operation chamber.
Dougherty (US 20060081567 A1) teaches a method for plasma processing multiple workpieces, wherein:
at least one of the plurality of plasma heads is configured to sterilize the environment within the operation chamber (Paragraphs 105-106, combination of operations includes the plasma-assisted processes of welding and sterilizing).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with Dougherty and have at least one of the plasma heads sterilize the environment. This would have been done to perform detoxification and cleaning the area which is a beneficial use of plasma torches known in the art as evidenced by PATRIGI (US 20140263202 A1).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakalopulos (US 6140657 A) in view of BILSTAD (US 20060110282 A1) and TAKEMOTO (US 20180161554 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WANG (CN 108127239 A).
Regarding claim 20, Wakalopulos as modified teaches the plasma welding apparatus of claim 1.
Wakalopulos as modified fails to teach:
a control system configured to automatically stop the plasma treatment when an out of conformance condition exists.
WANG (CN 108127239 A) teaches an intelligent plasma welding system, comprising:
a control system configured to automatically stop the plasma treatment when an out of conformance condition exists (Paragraph 54, a DSC controller will interrupt and stop working of the plasma power supply when an out of conformance condition is detected).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wakalopulos with WANG and have a controller stop the plasma treatment when an out of conformance condition exists. This would have been done to improve the safety and reliability of the equipment.
Conclusion
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 The Office further notes that ensuring that plasma treatment, by means of plasma heads, of two surfaces such as to bond them together takes place in a sealed chamber is well known in the art as evidenced by Figure 1 and Paragraphs 61-63 of YAMAUCHI (US 20170221856 A1).