DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants submit that Sosnin does not teach or suggest any "quantity of paths indicated via the per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration." For example, at the portions cited by the Office Action, Sosnin describes “configuration information that a user equipment (UE) is to use to perform a multi-path channel component measurement.” However, the configuration information of Sosnin does not describe any “quantity of paths”.
Examiner submits that Sosnin teaches that the maximum number of paths to report can be configured by gNB/network through RRC/LPP/LPPa or NRPP/NRPPa signaling (Paragraph 0077). Sosnin further teaches of selecting a subset of the plurality of paths (first detected arrival path and N strongest paths which power is above predefined threshold, Paragraph 0080) that comprises the quantity of paths indicated via the per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration (N+1 paths, Paragraphs 0077 – 0080). Therefore, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 10, 16 – 18 and 33 – 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sosnin et al (US 2022/0113365) in view of Cha et al (US 2020/0367193) in view of Kim et al (US 9,948,377) in view of Nilsson et al (US 2021/0175953) and further in view of Kim et al (US 2018/0269934) (Kim(2)).
Re claim 1, Sosnin teaches of a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising: a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network device (NodeB, Paragraph 0177), control signaling indicating a per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration (configuration, Paragraphs 0177 – 0179 and 0181 – 0186, #105 – #115, Fig.1 and #305 – #315, Fig.3), the per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration indicating that indicates a quantity of paths for the UE (“The maximum number of paths to report can be also configured by gNB/network through RRC/LPP/LPPa or NRPP/NRPPa signaling”, Paragraph 0077, N+1 paths, Paragraphs 0078 – 0088 and Paragraph 0183) to report corresponding to one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (PRS, Paragraphs 0037 – 0039, 0075, 0077, 0083 and 0088) by the network device (#120, Fig.1 and #320, Fig.3) using a single transmit beam (…all detected path for each beam, Paragraph 0077 and Reference beam, Reference beam pair, Paragraphs 0083, 0087 and 0186); monitoring for the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions over a plurality of paths; generating channel quality metrics (arrival path power, Paragraphs 0077 – 0080) based at least in part on the monitoring and associated with the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (Paragraphs 0075 and 0085 – 0095), the one or more channel quality metrics comprising an arrival path power (arrival path power, Paragraphs 0078 – 0080, received reference signal powers, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178) associated with each of the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions; selecting a subset of the plurality of paths based at least in part on the respective arrival path power, wherein the subset of the plurality of paths comprises the quantity of paths indicated via the per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration (first detected arrival path and N strongest paths which power is above predefined threshold, Paragraph 0080); generating, based at least in part on the channel quality metrics, a per-path angle of arrival for each path of the quantity of paths (the per-path angle of arrival for the defined number of paths (N) is based detected arrival path power, Paragraphs 0077 – 0081 and 0178 – 0180) corresponding to the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (Paragraphs 0075 and 0087 – 0095); and transmitting, based at least in part on the monitoring, a feedback report indicating multi-path channel cluster information (multi-path channel component measurement message, #120, Fig.1) comprising the per-path angle of arrival (AoA, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178), a power delay profile (Paragraphs 0078 – 0080 and 0178), or a time of arrival (ToA, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178) for each path of the (#120, Fig.1 and #320, Fig.3) subset of the plurality of paths (a selected subset of the plurality of paths based on the threshold, Paragraph 0080). Sosnin further teaches of measuring a per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths (Paragraph 0081). Sosnin teaches of receiving a beam management configuration based at least in part on transmitting the feedback report (beam management, Paragraph 0086). However, Sosnin does not specifically teach of generating a channel information matrix based at least in part on the monitoring, wherein the channel information matrix comprises the one or more channel quality metrics associated with the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions. Sosnin does not specifically teach of the channel quality metrics comprising a respective signal to interference plus noise ratio and the multi-path channel cluster information including all of the AoA, ToA and power delay profile. Sosnin does not specifically teach of receiving a beam management configuration indicative of a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams, wherein the wide beam is from the set of one or more wide beams based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival for each path of the quantity of paths; and performing a beam training procedure to identify at least one narrower beam within the wide beam based at least in part on the beam management configuration.
Cha teaches of using either the reference signal received powers (RSRPs) or signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratios (SINRs) (Paragraph 0009) and reporting at least one of ToA/RSTD/TDOA/AoA or ToA/RSTD/TDOA/AoA+RSSI/RSRP measurement (Paragraphs 0336 – 0337 and 0370).
Kim teaches of generating a channel information matrix (H, Col 6, Lines 20 – 25 and equation 1), wherein the channel information matrix comprises one or more channel quality metrics (βl denotes the gain of the lth path, and φ1 and θ1 are respectively azimuth AoD and AoA of the lth directional path) associated with the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (pilot transmissions, Col 5, Lines 39 – 48), wherein the per-path angle of arrival for each path is generated based at least in part on the channel information matrix (Col 5, Lines 40 – 67 and Col 6, Lines 50 – 67 to Col 7, Lines 1 – 15).
Nilsson teaches of receiving a beam management configuration indicative of a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams (Figures 2 and 4), wherein the wide beam is from the set of one or more wide beams based at least in part on the received power for each path of the quantity of paths (Paragraphs 0048 – 0051 and Fig.4); and performing a beam training procedure to identify at least one narrower beam within the wide beam based at least in part on the beam management configuration (Paragraphs 0052 – 0053).
Kim(2) teaches of having a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams to be based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival for each path of the quantity of paths (AoA, Fig.2, Paragraphs 0087 – 0088 and Fig.3, Paragraphs 0091 – 0101).
lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel quality metric be a SINR for being a much more accurate metric for assessing wireless connection quality and have the multi-path channel cluster information include all of the AoA, ToA and power delay profile to allow for a more robust and accurate estimation of a signal's characteristics. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generated per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths based at least in part on a channel information matrix for increased location accuracy. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a beam management configuration and a beam training procedure as described by Nilsson for optimization of highly directional transmission and reception beams. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel estimation be a per-path angle of arrival to accurate identify the best beam.
Re claim 33, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) teach of an apparatus for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) comprising: one or more processors (claim 1 in Page 13 of Sosnin and Fig.6, Paragraphs 0146 – 0147 and 0169 of Sosnin); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (claim 1 in Page 13 of Sosnin and Fig.6, Paragraphs 0146 – 0147 and 0169 of Sosnin); and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors (Paragraphs 0023, 0146 – 0147 and 0169 of Sosnin) to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network device, control signaling indicating a per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration, the per-path angle of arrival reporting configurating indicating a quantitychannel cluster information comprising the per-path angle of arrival, a power delay profile, and a time of arrival for each path of the subset of the plurality of paths; receive a beam management configuration indicative of a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams, wherein the wide beam is from the set of one or more wide beams based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival for each path of the subset of the plurality of paths; and perform a beam training procedure to identify at least one narrower beam within the wide beam based at least in part on the beam management configuration (see claim 1).
Re claims 2 and 34, Sosnin teaches of transmitting the feedback report comprises: transmitting the feedback report that indicates the per-path angle of arrival for the subset of the plurality of paths that each correspond to a path for a respective reference signal transmission of the one or more reference signal transmissions (Paragraph 0087) that satisfies a channel metric (predefined threshold, Paragraph 0080).
Re claim 3, Sosnin teaches of wherein the multi-path channel cluster information is based at least in part on the channel information matrix (Paragraphs 0078 – 0080).
Re claim 10, Sosnin teaches of monitoring for the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions comprises: performing a beam sweep over a plurality of receive beams to generate a plurality of measurements of the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (beam sweeping, Paragraph 0077).
Re claim 16, Sosnin teaches of a method for wireless communications by a network device (NodeB, Paragraph 0177), comprising: transmitting control signaling indicating a per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration (configuration, Paragraphs 0177 – 0179 and 0181 – 0186, #105 – #115, Fig.1 and #305 – #315, Fig.3), the per path angle of arrival reporting configuration indicating a quantity of paths for a user equipment (UE) (Paragraphs 0077 – 0088 and 0183) to report corresponding to one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (PRS, Paragraphs 0075, 0077, 0083 and 0088) by the network device (#120, Fig.1 and #320, Fig.3) using a single transmit beam (…all detected path for each beam, Paragraph 0077 and Reference beam, Reference beam pair, Paragraphs 0083, 0087 and 0186); transmitting, via the single transmit beam, the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions over a plurality of paths based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration (Paragraphs 0077 – 0088 and 0177 – 0183); and receiving, based at least in part on transmitting the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions via the single transmit beam, a feedback report indicating multi-path channel cluster information (multi-path channel component measurement message, #120, Fig.1) comprising a per-path angle of arrival (AoA, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178), a power delay profile (Paragraphs 0078 – 0080 and 0178), or a time of arrival (ToA, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178) for each path of a subset of the plurality of paths, wherein the subset of the plurality of paths (the paths which power is above a threshold, Paragraph 0080), comprises the quantity of paths (#120, Fig.1 and #320, Fig.3) indicated via the per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration, wherein the per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths is based at least in part on the one or more channel quality metrics (the per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths (N) is calculated (Paragraph 0081) based detected arrival path power, Paragraphs 0077 – 0081 and 0178 – 0180) associated with the one or more reference signal transmissions (PRS, Paragraphs 0075, 0077, 0083 and 0088),the one or more channel quality metrics comprising an arrival path power (arrival path power, Paragraphs 0078 – 0080, received reference signal powers, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178) associated with each of the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions; Sosnin further teaches of measuring a per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths (Paragraph 0081). Sosnin teaches of transmitting a beam management configuration based at least in part on transmitting the feedback report (beam management, Paragraph 0086). However, Sosnin does not specifically teach of generating a channel information matrix, wherein the channel information matrix comprises one or more channel quality metrics associated with the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions. Sosnin does not specifically teach of the channel quality metrics comprising a respective signal to interference plus noise ratio and the multi-path channel cluster information including all of the AoA, ToA and power delay profile. Sosnin does not specifically teach of transmitting a beam management configuration indicative of a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams, wherein the wide beam is identified from the set of one or more wide beams based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival for each path of the quantity of paths; and performing a beam training procedure to identify at least one narrower beam within the wide beam based at least in part on the beam management configuration.
Cha teaches of using either the reference signal received powers (RSRPs) or signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratios (SINRs) (Paragraph 0009) and reporting at least one of ToA/RSTD/TDOA/AoA or ToA/RSTD/TDOA/AoA+RSSI/RSRP measurement (Paragraphs 0336 – 0337 and 0370).
Kim teaches of generating a channel information matrix (H, Col 6, Lines 20 – 25 and equation 1), wherein the channel information matrix comprises one or more channel quality metrics (βl denotes the gain of the lth path, and φ1 and θ1 are respectively azimuth AoD and AoA of the lth directional path) associated with the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (pilot transmissions, Col 5, Lines 39 – 48), wherein the per-path angle of arrival for each path is generated based at least in part on the channel information matrix (Col 5, Lines 40 – 67 and Col 6, Lines 50 – 67 to Col 7, Lines 1 – 15).
Nilsson teaches of transmitting a beam management configuration indicative of a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams (Figures 2 and 4), wherein the wide beam is from the set of one or more wide beams based at least in part on the received power for each path of the quantity of paths (Paragraphs 0048 – 0051 and Fig.4); and performing a beam training procedure to identify at least one narrower beam within the wide beam based at least in part on the beam management configuration (Paragraphs 0052 – 0053).
Kim(2) teaches of to have a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams be based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival for each path of the quantity of paths (AoA, Fig.2, Paragraphs 0087 – 0088 and Fig.3, Paragraphs 0091 – 0101).
lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel quality metric be a SINR a much more accurate metric for assessing wireless connection quality and have the multi-path channel cluster information include all of the AoA, ToA and power delay profile to allow for a more robust and accurate estimation of a signal's characteristics. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generated per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths based at least in part on a channel information matrix for increased location accuracy. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a beam management configuration and a beam training procedure as described by Nilsson for optimization of highly directional transmission and reception beams. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel estimation be a per-path angle of arrival to accurate identify the best beam.
Re claim 35, Sosnin teaches of an apparatus for wireless communications by a network device (NodeB, Paragraph 0177) for transmitting control signaling indicating a per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration (configuration, Paragraphs 0177 – 0179 and 0181 – 0186, #105 – #115, Fig.1 and #305 – #315, Fig.3), the per path angle of arrival reporting configuration indicating a quantity of paths for a user equipment (UE) (Paragraphs 0077 – 0088 and 0183) to report corresponding to one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (PRS, Paragraphs 0075, 0077, 0083 and 0088) by the network device (#120, Fig.1 and #320, Fig.3) using a single transmit beam (…all detected path for each beam, Paragraph 0077 and Reference beam, Reference beam pair, Paragraphs 0083, 0087 and 0186); transmitting, via the single transmit beam, the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration (Paragraphs 0077 – 0088 and 0177 – 0183); and receiving, based at least in part on transmitting the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions via the single transmit beam, a feedback report indicating multi-path channel cluster information (multi-path channel component measurement message, #120, Fig.1) comprising the per-path angle of arrival (AoA, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178), a power delay profile (Paragraphs 0078 – 0080 and 0178), or a time of arrival (ToA, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178) for each path of a subset of the plurality of paths, wherein the subset of the plurality of paths (a selected subset of the plurality of paths based on the threshold, Paragraph 0080) comprises the quantity of paths (#120, Fig.1 and #320, Fig.3) indicated via the per-path angle of arrival reporting configuration, wherein the per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths is calculated (Paragraph 0081) based at least in part on one or more channel quality metrics (the per-path angle of arrival for the defined number of paths (N) is based detected arrival path power, Paragraphs 0077 – 0081 and 0178 – 0180) associated with the one or more reference signal transmissions (PRS, Paragraphs 0075, 0077, 0083 and 0088). Sosnin further teaches of measuring a per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths (Paragraph 0081), the one or more channel quality metrics comprising an arrival path power (arrival path power, Paragraphs 0078 – 0080, received reference signal powers, Paragraphs 0037 and 0178) associated with each of the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions. However, Sosnin does not specifically teach of the channel quality metrics comprising a respective signal to interference plus noise ratio and the multi-path channel cluster information including all of the AoA, ToA and power delay profile. Sosnin does not specifically teach of an apparatus for wireless communications by a network device comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to perform the method. Sosnin does not specifically teach of generating a channel information matrix, wherein the channel information matrix comprises one or more channel quality metrics associated with the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions. Sosnin does not specifically teach of wherein the per-path angle of arrival for each path is generated based at least in part on the channel information matrix. Sosnin does not specifically teach of transmitting a beam management configuration indicative of a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams, wherein the wide beam is identified from the set of one or more wide beams based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival for each path of the subset of the plurality of paths; and performing a beam training procedure to identify at least one narrower beam within the wide beam based at least in part on the beam management configuration.
Cha teaches of using either the reference signal received powers (RSRPs) or signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratios (SINRs) (Paragraph 0009) and reporting at least one of ToA/RSTD/TDOA/AoA or ToA/RSTD/TDOA/AoA+RSSI/RSRP measurement (Paragraphs 0336 – 0337 and 0370).
Kim teaches of generating a channel information matrix (H, Col 6, Lines 20 – 25 and equation 1), wherein the channel information matrix comprises one or more channel quality metrics (βl denotes the gain of the lth path, and φ1 and θ1 are respectively azimuth AoD and AoA of the lth directional path) associated with the one or more downlink reference signal transmissions (pilot transmissions, Col 5, Lines 39 – 48), wherein the per-path angle of arrival for each path is generated based at least in part on the channel information matrix (Col 5, Lines 40 – 67 and Col 6, Lines 50 – 67 to Col 7, Lines 1 – 15).
Nilsson teaches of an apparatus for wireless communications by a network device comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors (Fig.8 and Paragraph 0125) to cause the apparatus to transmit a beam management configuration indicative of a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams (Figures 2 and 4), wherein the wide beam is from the set of one or more wide beams based at least in part on the received power for each path of the quantity of paths (Paragraphs 0048 – 0051 and Fig.4); and performing a beam training procedure to identify at least one narrower beam within the wide beam based at least in part on the beam management configuration (Paragraphs 0052 – 0053).
Kim(2) teaches of to have a wide beam from a set of one or more wide beams be based at least in part on the per-path angle of arrival for each path of the quantity of paths (AoA, Fig.2, Paragraphs 0087 – 0088 and Fig.3, Paragraphs 0091 – 0101).
lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel quality metric be a SINR a much more accurate metric for assessing wireless connection quality and have the multi-path channel cluster information include all of the AoA, ToA and power delay profile to allow for a more robust and accurate estimation of a signal's characteristics. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network device comprise one or more processors and one or more memories configured to store program instructions to be executed by the processor(s) for reducing memory latency and increasing bandwidth. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generated per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths based at least in part on a channel information matrix for increased location accuracy. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a beam management configuration and a beam training procedure as described by Nilsson for optimization of highly directional transmission and reception beams. lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel estimation be a per-path angle of arrival to accurate identify the best beam.
Re claims 17 and 36, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) teach all the limitations of claims 16 and 35 as well as Sosnin teaches of receiving the feedback report comprises: transmitting the feedback report that indicates the per-path angle of arrival for the quantity of paths (Paragraph 0077 – 0080) that each correspond to a path for a respective reference signal transmission of the one or more reference signal transmissions (Paragraph 0087) that satisfies a channel metric (predefined threshold, Paragraph 0077).
Re claim 18, Sosnin teaches of wherein the multi-path channel cluster information is based at least in part the channel information matrix (see claim 3).
Claims 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) in view of Pan et al (US 2020/0059290) and further in view of Liao et al (US 2018/0167959).
Re claim 6, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) teach all the limitations of claim 1 except of receiving a group configuration indicating a group identifier of a group of UEs including the UE based at least in part on transmitting the feedback report; and monitoring, based at least in part on the group configuration, for a control transmission that indicates the group identifier and includes a grant scheduling a group transmission.
Pan teaches of receiving a group configuration indicating a group identifier of a group of UEs including the UE (Fig.12, Paragraph 0186) based at least in part on transmitting the feedback report (Paragraphs 0105, 0120 and 0139).
Liao teaches of monitoring, based at least in part on the group configuration, for a control transmission that indicates the group identifier and includes a grant scheduling a group transmission (UE-group DCI, Fig.1 and Paragraphs 0004, 0023 and 0028).
lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have received a group configuration that indicate a group identifier of a group of UEs for improved beam management. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have monitored, based at least in part on the group configuration, for a control transmission that indicates the group identifier and includes a grant scheduling a group transmission for configuring communication on multiple UEs in the group.
Re claim 7, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson, Kim(2), Pan and Liao teach all the limitations of claim 6 as well as Liao teaches of further comprising: receiving the control transmission that indicates the group identifier and includes the grant (receiving DCI, Fig.1); and receiving a data transmission based at least in part on the grant (receiving data transmission, Figures 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have received the control transmission and data transmission based at least in part on the grant for enhanced transmission efficiency.
Claims 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) in view of Smyth et al (US 2021/0028558).
Re claim 12, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) teach all the limitations of claim 1 except of inputting, into a machine learning model, the channel information matrix associated with the one or more reference signal transmissions to identify a plurality of per-path angle of arrivals.
Smyth teaches of inputting, into a machine learning model (#630, Fig.6), the channel information associated with the one or more reference signal transmissions to identify a plurality of angle of arrival values. (#650, Fig.6 and Paragraphs 0032 – 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a machine learning model to identify the plurality of per-path angle of arrivals for developing an advanced 5G modem at significantly reduced time and cost.
Re claim 13, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson, Kim(2) and Smyth teach all the limitations of claim 12 as well as Smyth teaches of wherein the machine learning model is neural network model (trained neural network, Paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed based at least in part on the monitoring machine learning processing for developing an advanced 5G modem at significantly reduced time and cost.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) in view of Kangas et al (US 2020/0412419).
Re claim 15, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) teach all the limitations of claim 1 as well as Sosnin teaches of wherein monitoring for the one or more reference signal transmissions comprises: generating the one or more channel quality metrics associated with the one or more reference signal transmissions (arrival path power, power and timing information, Paragraph 0077 – 0080, phase difference, Paragraph 0081). However, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) do not specifically teach digitizing the one or more channel quality metrics to generate the channel information matrix.
Kangas teaches of digitizing the one or more channel quality metrics to generate the channel information matrix (Paragraph 0078 and Fig.28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have digitized the one or more channel quality metrics to generate the channel information matrix for improved signal processing with less noise and cost.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) in view of Pan and further in view of Schier et al (US 2016/0135146).
Re claim 21, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) teach all the limitations of claim 16 except of transmitting a group configuration indicating a group identifier of a group of UEs including the UE based at least in part on receiving the feedback report; transmitting, based at least in part on the group configuration, a control transmission that indicates the group identifier and includes a grant scheduling a group transmission; and transmitting a data transmission based at least in part on the grant.
Pan teaches of transmitting a group configuration indicating a group identifier of a group of UEs including the UE (Fig.12, Paragraph 0186) based at least in part on transmitting the feedback report (Paragraphs 0105, 0120 and 0139).
Schier teaches of further comprising: transmitting the control transmission that indicates the group identifier and includes the grant (Paragraph 0028, Figures 1 – 4); and receiving a data transmission based at least in part on the grant (uplink transmission, Abstract and Paragraph 0029).
lt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have transmitted a group configuration that indicate a group identifier of a group of UEs for improved beam management. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed control transmission and data transmission based at least in part on the grant for enhanced transmission efficiency.
Claims 14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) in view of Li et al (US 2021/0297123).
Re claims 14 and 24, Sosnin, Cha, Kim, Nilsson and Kim(2) teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 16 except of wherein transmitting the feedback report comprises: transmitting (receiving) the feedback report in a medium access control (MAC) control element, an uplink control channel transmission, an uplink radio resource control message, or a combination thereof.
Li teaches of transmitting (receiving) a feedback report comprises: transmitting the feedback report in a medium access control (MAC) control element, an uplink control channel transmission, an uplink radio resource control message, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 0002).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have transmitted (received) the feedback report in an uplink control channel transmission for providing the feedback report to the base station.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633