DETAILED ACTION
The amendment after non-final office action filed July 13, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2-5, 7-8, 13, 15, 17-18, 20-26, 28, 31-32 were cancelled, claim 39 was newly added and claims 1, 6, 9-12, 14, 16, 19, 27, 29-30, 33-39 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement was deemed proper and made FINAL previously. Claims 9-10, 27 and 29-30 remain withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention/species. Claims 1, 6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19 and 33-39 are examined on the merits of this office action.
Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed July 13, 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1, 6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 33-38 based upon Bauer (JAMDA, 16, 2015, pages 740-747) in view of Soda (Experimental Gerontology 44 (2009) 727–732) and Fan (Oncotarget, 2017, Vol. 8, (No. 11), pp: 17475-17490) as evidenced by Ramos (previously cited and attached) as set forth in the last Office action because:
Applicant argues that Bauer, Soda, and Fan individually or collectively would not have led a skill artisan to combine spermidine with a high protein composition for treating sarcopenia.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive. Bauer teaches nutritional treatment of elderly subjects with sarcopenia using a protein rich composition containing whey protein. Soda teaches dietary administration of spermidine/polyamine containing food compositions to aged subjects and reports beneficial effects on age associated pathology and survival. Fan further teaches biological effects of spermidine relevant to aging skeletal muscle. The references therefore provide a reason for a skilled artisan to incorporate spermidine into Bauer’s nutritional intervention to obtain the known aging and skeletal muscle related benefits of spermidine in addition to the nutritional benefits taught by Bauer. As stated below, In view of these teachings, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to include spermidine in Bauer’s nutritional formulation to further reduce oxidative damage in muscle, increase antioxidative defenses, reduce apoptosis, and improve age-related outcomes including lifespan. Additionally, this represents a KSR (See MPEP2143) rationale of combining known elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results and using a known agent for its established beneficial effects in a closely related condition. A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because the cited references demonstrate consistent in vivo skeletal-muscle and aging-related benefits from orally administered spermidine.
Applicant argues protein suppresses autophagy so the combination was counterintuitive (see page 2 of declaration, section 6). Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. First, claim 1 does not require that spermidine induce autophagy and does not require that the treatment be effective via inducing autophagy. The question is whether the prior art would have suggested administering the recited spermidine/protein composition to an individual with sarcopenia, not whether the skilled artisan would have predicted Applicants asserted mechanisms of action. Nevertheless, the existence of biological interactions between protein synthesis and autophagy does not amount to a teaching away from combining two components (taught to be beneficial for the same pathology/indication)in aging and skeletal muscle.
Applicant argues Soda does not teach treatment of sarcopenia and only age related pathologies and not evidence that spermidine treats sarcopenia. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Bauer is relied upon for treatment of sarcopenia. Soda is relied upon for dietary administration of polyamine/spermidine compositions and their effects in aged subjects. A reference relied upon in an obviousness rejection in combination with other references need not independently disclose every limitation of the claim. The rejection is based upon the combined teachings of Bauer, Soda and Fan (see MPEP2145, IV regarding arguing references individually).
Applicant argues that Soda (in Table 3) shows increased muscle fibrosis in high polyamine animals and relies upon evidence that fibrosis contributes to sarcopenia. Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive. A reference teaches away when it criticizes, discredits or otherwise discourages the course taken by the claimed invention. Soda does not appear to discourage dietary polyamine administration but rather Sode reports beneficial age associated effects from increasing dietary polyamine. Applicant’s characterization of Table 3 showing increased muscle fibrosis is inconsistent with he reproduced data. Table 3 reports muscle fibrosis in 2/6 animals in the low polyamine group and 1/6 animals in the high polyamine group. Thus, the cited data do not demonstrate increased muscle fibrosis in the high polyamine group.
Applicant argues Figure 5 shows that DS (D gal plus spermidine) did not produce a statistically significant improvement in LC3-II/I. Significance was only obtained in the exercise group. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. The examiner would like to point out that claim 1 does not require induction of autophagy by spermidine. Nevertheless, Fan remains relevant for its broader teaching concerning the biological effects of spermidine in aging skeletal muscle. Moreover, Fan reports observations of apparently increased autophagosomes in skeletal muscle of both DS and DES groups. Thus, Fan does not teach that spermidine is ineffective in skeletal muscle or discourage its administration in an aging context.
Applicant argues that Bauer contains approximately 55.2 energy % protein which is not approximately 60 energy % and that there is no reason to increase it. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
As previously explained, Bauer discloses approximately 55.2 energy% protein, which is close to the claimed “about 60 energy%”. To the extent Applicant’s specification defines or otherwise supports a range of variation encompassed by “about”, Bauer’s value falls within or sufficiently approaches the claimed limitation. Alternatively, even if 55.2% does not meet 60 energy %, adjusting the relative protein content of Bauer’s expressly protein enriched nutritional formulation would have been considered routine optimization of a known result effective variable. Applicant has not demonstrated that increasing Bauer’s protein energy contribution from approximately 55% to approximately 60% would have required more than ordinary skill or is critical.
Applicant argues that the 60% plus spermidine combination results in unexpected synergy (see Figures 1-2). Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Figure 2 demonstrates statistically significant differences between certain individual groups, but Applicant has not identified a statistical interaction analysis demonstrating a significant interaction between protein level and spermidine treatment. Statistical significance between selected pairs of groups is not equivalent to demonstrating synergy between the two variables. Moreover, Figure appears to indicate that the absolute increase in LC3-II/GAPDH resulting from spermidine in the standard protein group is approximately comparable to the increased observed in the high protein group. Thus, the data do not clearly support the Applicant’s assertion that spermidine produces a greater increase specifically at 60 energy% protein.
Applicant argues that the data establish that 60% is critical and produces synergy with spermidine. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. The evidence does not establish criticality of approximately 60 energy % protein. Spermidine produced a statistically significant increase in LC3-II in the standard diet containing 20 energy%. Thus, Applicant’s own data demonstrate the asserted spermidine associated effect substantially below the claimed approximately 60 energy % protein level. The absence of a significant spermidine response at 5% protein may demonstrate a difference between an extremely protein deficient diet and diets having greater protein content, but it does not establish 60% as critical.
Applicant argues that Figures 1-2 establish unexpected autophagic benefit relevant to treating sarcopenia. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Applicants assertions of unexpected results are not commensurate in scope of the claims. The experiment was conducted in 10-15 week old mice treated for four weeks and Applicants have not show that these animals have sarcopenia. The measured endpoint was LC3-I/II in quadriceps rather than treatment of sarcopenia, improvement in muscle strength or muscle mass. Claim 1 does not require increased LC3-I/II or induction of autophagy. Furthermore, the experiment uses casein exclusively as protein and 3 mM spermidine in drinking water. The relied upon experiment does not test the protein composition required by claim 1. Paragraph 0007 identifies casein as the protein source in the diets, whereas claim 1 requires at least 50 wt% of the protein to be whey. Applicant has not demonstrated that the asserted unexpected result occurs for the claimed whey containing composition. Accordingly, Applicant has not established that the asserted mechanistic result corresponds to an unexpected improvement in the claimed method of treating sarcopenia across the claimed scope.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 33-39 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-4, 6-9, 11, 23-30 of Copending Application No. 17/596784 (reference application) in view Andreux (WO2017036993 A, cited previously), Bauer (JAMDA, 2015, pages 740-747, cited previously) and Fan (cited previously) due to amendment of copending Application 17/596784.
Maintained Revised Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 33-39 are/remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (JAMDA, 16, 2015, pages 740-747) in view of Soda (Experimental Gerontology 44 (2009) 727–732) and Fan (Oncotarget, 2017, Vol. 8, (No. 11), pp: 17475-17490) as evidenced by Ramos (previously cited and attached). *All references cited previously.
Bauer teaches a method of nutritional treatment of elderly individuals with sarcopenia or at risk of sarcopenia using protein rich nutritional compositions. Bauer teaches a randomized clinical trial in elderly subjects with sarcopenia and administering a nutritional composition with Whey Protein (see “Design and Participants” and “Intervention” page 742 and Table 1). Bauer teaches oral administration of formula comprising Whey protein, leucine and vitamin and minerals (see “intervention” and also Supplement Table 1). Bauer teaches that the supplement is provided as a powder that is reconstituted and administered twice daily in addition to meals (see page 742, top right of left column). More specifically, Bauer teaches 20.7 grams of Whey protein (20.7x4=82.8 kcal); 9.4 gram of Carbs (9.4x4=37.6 kcal) and 3.0 grams of fat (3.0x9=27 kcal) with total kcal approximately 150 (which is reported in Supplement table 1). Thus, this composition has 55.2% whey protein, 25.1% carbohydrate and 18.0% fat thus meeting the limitations of about 60 energy % of the composition for protein and at least 50 wt% of the source of protein is whey protein. The term “about” is interpreted as +/- 10% (see paragraph 0044) and thus, 55.2% fails within this limitation. Nevertheless, even if it is not considered to meet about 60 energy % and the amount of at least 60 energy % (instant new claim 39), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the protein energy percentage upward through routine optimization, since Bauer expressly teaches protein enriched formulations for sarcopenic elderly patients and protein energy content is considered a result effective variable (see MPEP2144).
Bauer is silent to including spermidine.
However, Soda teaches dietary administration of polyamine containing food compositions (see Abstract, Methods 2.2 “Chows”). Specifically, Soda teaches dietary administration of polyamine containing food compositions including spermidine (see Table 1; composition analysis) along with protein. The spermidine content ranges from 224 up to 1540 nmol/g of the chow (see Table 1). Soda teaches that oral consumption aged animal models (see Methods and Results) and improvement in age associated pathology and survival through dietary polyamine intake along with protein (see abstract). In particular, Soda teaches that high polyamine supplementation increased life span and attenuated changes in the kidney (glomerulosclerosis) which are associated with age (see conclusion and Figure 2).
Fan teaches that spermidine administration induces autophagy in skeletal muscle and mitigates aging related muscle atrophy (see abstract). Specifically, Fan teaches spermidine treatment in addition to exercise ameliorates skeletal muscle atrophy in aging mice (see abstract and also Table 1). Fan teaches that Spermidine attenuated senescence of skeletal muscle (see Figure 2). Fan additionally teaches that spermidine increases antioxidant activity, reduces oxidative damage in an ageing model (see Figure 4), reduces skeletal muscle apoptosis (see Figure 6) and induces autophagy in skeletal muscle (see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protein-rich sarcopenia nutritional composition of Bauer to further include spermidine as taught by Soda and Fan. Bauer teaches whey-protein nutritional formulations for elderly individuals with sarcopenia to improve muscle function. Soda teaches that dietary spermidine/polyamine-rich food compositions improve age-associated pathology and extend lifespan in aged animal models. Fan teaches that spermidine administration in aging models increases autophagy, enhances antioxidative capacity, reduces oxidative damage, and decreases skeletal muscle apoptosis, thereby mitigating muscle atrophy. In view of these teachings, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to include spermidine in Bauer’s nutritional formulation to further reduce oxidative damage in muscle, increase antioxidative defenses, reduce apoptosis, and improve age-related outcomes including lifespan. Additionally, this represents a KSR (See MPEP2143) rationale of combining known elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results and using a known agent for its established beneficial effects in a closely related condition. A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because the cited references demonstrate consistent in vivo skeletal-muscle and aging-related benefits from orally administered spermidine.
Regarding claim 6, Bauer in view of Soda and Fan teach the same method of the instant claims including administering the same composition to the same patient population (sarcopenic patients) and thus, the effects of inducing autophagy would be inherently achieved. Nevertheless, Fan teaches spermidine induces autophagy (see abstract and figure 5).
Regarding claims 11-12, Bauer teaches whey protein as the source. Soda teaches chow compositions comprising casein (milk protein) and other protein sources (See Table 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the protein composition of Bauer to include an additional protein source selected from another animal protein, a plant protein, or mixture thereof, as recited in instant claims 11-12, because mixed protein sources were well known in nutritional formulations for elderly and sarcopenic subjects. Soda teaches use of alternative protein sources such as casein in dietary compositions, showing that inclusion or substitution of additional protein types was routine. The modification would have been predictable variation using known protein sources for their established nutritional functions (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding clams 14, 16, Bauer teaches wherein at least a portion of the protein is branched amino acids in free form (see supplementary table 1 of Bauer).
Regarding claim 19, as evidenced by Ramos (page 1 "whey and whey powders: production and uses", "Whey protein fraction is mainly constituted by ß-lactoglobulin (ß-Lg), α-lactalbumin (α-La), immunoglobulins (IGs), bovine serum albumin (BSA), lactoferrin (LF), and lactoperoxidase (LP), representing at least 50%, 20%, 10%, 10%, 3%, and 0.3%, respectively. In table 2, B-lactoglobulin is 18.3 kda thus meeting the limitations of instant claim 19 (iii). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio that the whey protein composition of Bauer meets the molecular weight distribution recited in claim 19, because whey protein is known to be predominantly composed of B-lactoglobulin present at about 50% or more of total whey protein and having a molecular weight of about 18 kDA, which falls within the claimed 10-20Kda (see Ramos). Thus, the claimed molecular weight limitation reflects a known inherent characteristic of the whey protein source used in Bauer.
Regarding claim 33, Bauer in view of Soda and Fan teaches a composition comprising protein, spermidine, carbohydrates and fat (see table 1 of Bauer, also see table 1 of Soda). The closed transitional language of claim 33 excludes additional unrecited components but does not impart patentable weight when the prior art composition taught by Bauer in view of Soda and Fan already contains the same recited components.
Bauer teaches a nutritional supplement composition for elderly sarcopenic subjects comprising protein (whey protein), carbohydrate, and fat as macronutrient components (see Bauer, supplement composition table and intervention description). Soda teaches incorporation of spermidine into orally administered food compositions containing protein and other macronutrients. Thus, the combined teachings of Bauer and Soda disclose a nutritional composition including exactly the recited categories of components: protein, carbohydrate, fat, and spermidine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the combined composition using these recited components alone because protein, carbohydrate, fat macronutrient formulations represent the standard and foundational structure of nutritional compositions, and adding spermidine as a dietary bioactive to such formulations is expressly taught by Soda. Limiting the formulation to these known macronutrient categories plus spermidine represents a predictable formulation choice using known components for their established nutritional functions, consistent with KSR (combining familiar elements according to known methods to yield predictable results). Omission of optional micronutrients such as vitamins and minerals form an otherwise conventional macronutrient nutritional formulation would have been an obvious formulation variation that does not change the fundamental nutritional properties of the composition.
Regarding claim 34, Bauer teaches 20.7 grams of Whey protein (20.7x4=82.8 kcal); 9.4 gram of Carbs (9.4x4=37.6 kcal) and 3.0 grams of fat (3.0x9=27 kcal) with total kcal approximately 150 (which is reported in Supplement table 1). Thus, this composition has 55.2% whey protein, 25.1% carbohydrate and 18.0% fat thus meeting the limitations of not greater than 30 energy % for carbohydrates. Regarding claim 36, the nutritional supplement of Bauer in view of Soda and Fan meets the limitation of a dietary supplement as its being administered as part of a diet to the subjects.
Regarding claim 36, Soda teaches spermidine concentrations in food compositions of approximately 0.002-.022 wt% (see Table 1) corresponding to 160-1540 nmol/g spermidine. Fan teaches dosing of spermidine at 5 mg/kg a day. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select spermidine in the claimed weight percent range, as recited in instant claim 36, because Soda teaches defined spermidine concentration sin food compositions and Fan teaches effective in vivo spermidine dosing at 5 mg/kg/day producing muscle benefits. Selecting a spermidine concentration in a nutritional formulation sufficient to deliver known effective doses represents routine optimization of a result effective variable (see MPEP 2144).
Regarding claims 37-38, Bauer teaches that the supplement is provided as a powder that is reconstituted and administered twice daily in addition to meals (see page 742, top right of left column). Regarding claim 38, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the composition with a meal because supplement timing relative to meals is a routine optimization variable and Bauer teaches administration at meal times (MPEP2144).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues “The alleged obviousness is rebutted by the enclosed Declaration. For example, page 12 of the Office Action acknowledges that the primary reference Bauer "is silent to including spermidine." In an attempt to remedy this deficiency of Bauer, page 12 of the Office Action alleges "it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protein-rich sarcopenia nutritional composition of [Bauer] to further include spermidine as taught by [Soda] and [Fan]." However, paragraphs 15-18 of the Declaration discuss that Soda does not describe the use of spermidine to treat sarcopenia; Fan does not show that spermidine increases autophagy in skeletal muscle; Bauer and Ramos do not describe a composition with at least 60% protein as presently claimed; thus there would have been no motivation to combine spermidine with the high-protein composition of Bauer.
Moreover, the cited references alone or in combination do not provide a reasonable expectation of success for such an attempt. Indeed, Soda actually teaches away from the use of spermidine in treatment of sarcopenia. Therefore, independent Claim 1 and its dependent claims are novel, nonobvious and distinguished from the cited references alone or in combination. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the Patent Office to reconsider and withdraw the obviousness rejections.
Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. As stated above in the response to the declaration, Bauer teaches nutritional treatment of elderly subjects with sarcopenia using a protein rich composition containing whey protein. Soda teaches dietary administration of spermidine/polyamine containing food compositions to aged subjects and reports beneficial effects on age associated pathology and survival. Fan further teaches biological effects of spermidine relevant to aging skeletal muscle. The references therefore provide a reason for a skilled artisan to incorporate spermidine into Bauer’s nutritional intervention to obtain the known aging and skeletal muscle related benefits of spermidine in addition to the nutritional benefits taught by Bauer. As stated below, In view of these teachings, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to include spermidine in Bauer’s nutritional formulation to further reduce oxidative damage in muscle, increase antioxidative defenses, reduce apoptosis, and improve age-related outcomes including lifespan. Additionally, this represents a KSR (See MPEP2143) rationale of combining known elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results and using a known agent for its established beneficial effects in a closely related condition. A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because the cited references demonstrate consistent in vivo skeletal-muscle and aging-related benefits from orally administered spermidine.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Soda does not teach treatment of sarcopenia and only age related pathologies and not evidence that spermidine treats sarcopenia. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Bauer is relied upon for treatment of sarcopenia. Soda is relied upon for dietary administration of polyamine/spermidine compositions and their effects in aged subjects. A reference relied upon in an obviousness rejection in combination with other references need not independently disclose every limitation of the claim. The rejection is based upon the combined teachings of Bauer, Soda and Fan (see MPEP2145, IV regarding arguing references individually).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Soda teaches away, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. A reference teaches away when it criticizes, discredits or otherwise discourages the course taken by the claimed invention. Soda does not appear to discourage dietary polyamine administration but rather Sode reports beneficial age associated effects from increasing dietary polyamine. Applicant’s characterization of Table 3 showing increased muscle fibrosis is inconsistent with the reproduced data. Table 3 reports muscle fibrosis in 2/6 animals in the low polyamine group and 1/6 animals in the high polyamine group. Thus, the cited data do not demonstrate increased muscle fibrosis in the high polyamine group.
Applicant argues Figure 5 shows that DS (D gal plus spermidine) did not produce a statistically significant improvement in LC3-II/I. Significance was only obtained in the exercise group. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. The examiner would like to point out that claim 1 does not require induction of autophagy by spermidine. Nevertheless, Fan remains relevant for its broader teaching concerning the biological effects of spermidine in aging skeletal muscle. Moreover, Fan reports observations of apparently increased autophagosomes in skeletal muscle of both DS and DES groups. Thus, Fan does not teach that spermidine is ineffective in skeletal muscle or discourage its administration in an aging context.
Applicant argues that Bauer contains approximately 55.2 energy % protein which is not approximately 60 energy % and that there is no reason to increase it. Applicants arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
As previously explained, Bauer discloses approximately 55.2 energy% protein, which is close to the claimed “about 60 energy%”. To the extent Applicant’s specification defines or otherwise supports a range of variation encompassed by “about”, Bauer’s value falls within or sufficiently approaches the claimed limitation. Alternatively, even if 55.2% does not meet 60 energy %, adjusting the relative protein content of Bauer’s expressly protein enriched nutritional formulation would have been considered routine optimization of a known result effective variable. Applicant has not demonstrated that increasing Bauer’s protein energy contribution from approximately 55% to approximately 60% would have required more than ordinary skill or is critical. Please see full response to Applicant’s in the declaration response above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 33-39 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 12, 14, 16-18, 20 of co-pending Application No. 16/954696 (reference application) in view of Fan (Oncotarget. 2017 Mar 14; 8(11): 17475–17490, cited previously) and Bauer (see below rejection, cited previously).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a method of treating an individual with sarcopenia the method comprising administering high protein (whey protein) and an spermidine (see claim 1). The instant application further claims the protein is at least about 60 energy % and at least 50 wt% of protein is whey (see claim 1); protein from an animal source or milk protein (see claims 11-12); 50% weight of protein is whey (claim 1); free form amino acids or non-hydrolyzed protein (see claim 16); molecular weight of protein from 1-20 kDA (claim 19); including carbohydrate and fat (claim 33) and not greater than 30 energy % for carbohydrate; spermidine in amount of 0.05-4 wt% (claim 36); administered at least two days a week (claim 37) and administered with a meal (claim 38); and at least 60% energy from protein (claim 39).
Co-pending application 16/954696 claims “A method of sarcopenia in an individual in need thereof, the method comprising administering an effective amount of a composition comprising a high amount of casein, at least 60 energy % and 24 energy % carbohydrate.” (see claim 1). Co-pending application 16/954696 further claims wherein free form amino acids are included (claims 12 and 14); wherein the protein has a formulation selected from the group consisting of (i) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 1-5 kDa, (ii) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 5-10 kDa and (iii) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 10-20 kDa (claim 17). Co-pending application 16/954696 is silent to including an autophagy inducer such as spermidine. However, Fan teaches that “Spermidine has been identified as a potent and specific inducer of autophagy for expending lifespan due to the hypoacetylation of histone, which can provide protection for aging process of several tissues including heart, brain and skeletal muscle, thereby accomplishing the longevity”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use spermidine in the composition of Co-pending application 16/954696 for inducing autophagy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given spermidine is known to induce autophagy which can provide protection for aging process of several tissues including heart, brain and skeletal muscle, thereby accomplishing the longevity. Furthermore, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). But see In re Geiger, 815 F.2d 686, 2 USPQ2d 1276 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“Based upon the prior art and the fact that each of the three components of the composition used in the claimed method is conventionally employed in the art for treating cooling water systems, the board held that it would have been prima facie obvious, within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103, to employ these components in combination for their known functions and to optimize the amount of each additive....Appellant argues... hindsight reconstruction or at best,... obvious to try’.... We agree with appellant.”). One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the two (high protein and spermidine) each known to be useful for the same purpose, with a reasonable expectation that at least here will be an additive effect. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the amount of casein/protein and carbohydrate content to achieve optimal therapeutic effectiveness.
Regarding instant claim 36, Fan teaches dosing of spermidine at 5 mg/kg a day. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select spermidine in the claimed weight percent range, as recited in instant claim 36, because Fan teaches effective in vivo spermidine dosing at 5 mg/kg/day producing muscle benefits. Selecting a spermidine concentration in a nutritional formulation sufficient to deliver known effective doses represents routine optimization of a result effective variable (see MPEP 2144).
Regarding instant claims 37-38, Bauer teaches a high protein (about 60%) supplement is provided as a powder that is reconstituted and administered twice daily in addition to meals (see page 742, top right of left column). Regarding instant claim 38, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the composition with a meal because supplement timing relative to meals is a routine optimization variable and Bauer teaches administration at meal times (MPEP2144).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicants argue that this stage in examination it would be premature for terminal disclaimers because the instant claims are not otherwise allowable and thus, the final version of the claims is not yet known. Applicants will reconsider when the claims are otherwise allowable. Given that the instant claims are not otherwise allowable, the rejection is maintained.
Claims 1, 6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 33-39 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-15, 17 of co-pending Application No. 18/199523 (reference application) in view of Fan (Oncotarget. 2017 Mar 14; 8(11): 17475–17490, cited previously) and Bauer (see below rejection, cited previously).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a method of treating an individual with sarcopenia the method comprising administering high protein (whey protein) and an spermidine (see claim 1). The instant application further claims the protein is at least about 60 energy % and at least 50 wt% of protein is whey (see claim 1); protein from an animal source or milk protein (see claims 11-12); 50% weight of protein is whey (claim 1); free form amino acids or non-hydrolyzed protein (see claim 16); molecular weight of protein from 1-20 kDA (claim 19); including carbohydrate and fat (claim 33) and not greater than 30 energy % for carbohydrate; spermidine in amount of 0.05-4 wt% (claim 36); administered at least two days a week (claim 37) and administered with a meal (claim 38); at least 60 energy % (claim 39).
Co-pending application 18/199523 claims “A method of inducing autophagy in an individual in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the individual a composition comprising an effective amount of an autophagy inducer comprising a ketone, wherein the autophagy inducer is administered in combination with a diet rich in protein, wherein the diet rich in protein is (a) at least 60 energy %o of the composition” (claim 1). Co-pending application 18/199523 further claims wherein the individual has sarcopenia (see claim 7); wherein at least a portion of the protein is selected from the group consisting of (i) protein from an animal source, (ii) protein from a plant source and (iii) a mixture thereof (claim 1); wherein at least a portion of the protein is selected from the group consisting of (i) milk protein, (ii) whey protein, (iii) caseinate, (iv) micellar casein, (v) pea protein, (vi) soy protein and (vii) mixtures thereof; wherein the protein has a formulation selected from the group consisting of (i) at least 50 wt.% of the protein is casein, (ii) at least 50 wt.% of the protein is whey protein, (iii) at least 50 wt.% of the protein is pea protein and (iv) at least 50 wt.% of the protein is soy protein (claim 12); wherein at least a portion of the protein is selected from the group consisting of (i) free form amino acids, (ii) unhydrolyzed protein, (iii) partially hydrolyzed protein, (iv) extensively hydrolyzed protein, and (v) mixtures thereof (Claim 13); wherein the protein comprises branched chain amino acids in at least one form selected from the group consisting of (i) free form, (ii) bound to at least one additional amino acid, and (iii) mixtures thereof (claim 14); wherein the protein has a formulation selected from the group consisting of (i) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 1-5 kDa, (ii) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 5-10 kDa and (iii) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 10-20 kDa (Claim 15). Co-pending application 18/199523 is silent to wherein the autophagy inducer is spermidine; the amount of spermidine and carbohydrate; administering twice a week and with a meal.
However, Fan teaches that “Spermidine has been identified as a potent and specific inducer of autophagy for expending lifespan due to the hypoacetylation of histone, which can provide protection for aging process of several tissues including heart, brain and skeletal muscle, thereby accomplishing the longevity”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use spermidine in the composition of Co-pending application 18/199523 for inducing autophagy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given spermidine is known to induce autophagy which can provide protection for aging process of several tissues including heart, brain and skeletal muscle, thereby accomplishing the longevity. Furthermore, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). But see In re Geiger, 815 F.2d 686, 2 USPQ2d 1276 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“Based upon the prior art and the fact that each of the three components of the composition used in the claimed method is conventionally employed in the art for treating cooling water systems, the board held that it would have been prima facie obvious, within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103, to employ these components in combination for their known functions and to optimize the amount of each additive....Appellant argues... hindsight reconstruction or at best,... obvious to try’.... We agree with appellant.”). One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the two (high protein and spermidine) each known to be useful for the same purpose, with a reasonable expectation that at least here will be an additive effect. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the amount of casein/protein and carbohydrate content to achieve optimal therapeutic effectiveness.
Regarding instant claim 36, Fan teaches dosing of spermidine at 5 mg/kg a day. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select spermidine in the claimed weight percent range, as recited in instant claim 36, because Fan teaches effective in vivo spermidine dosing at 5 mg/kg/day producing muscle benefits. Selecting a spermidine concentration in a nutritional formulation sufficient to deliver known effective doses represents routine optimization of a result effective variable (see MPEP 2144).
Regarding instant claims 37-38, Bauer teaches of a high protein supplement (about 60%) for treating sarcopenia is provided as a powder that is reconstituted and administered twice daily in addition to meals (see page 742, top right of left column). Regarding instant claim 38, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the composition with a meal because supplement timing relative to meals is a routine optimization variable and Bauer teaches administration at meal times (MPEP2144).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicants argue that this stage in examination it would be premature for terminal disclaimers because the instant claims are not otherwise allowable and thus, the final version of the claims is not yet known. Applicants will reconsider when the claims are otherwise allowable. Given that the instant claims are not otherwise allowable, the rejection is maintained.
Claims 1, 6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19, 33-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of US Patent No. 12317914 in view of Fan (Oncotarget. 2017 Mar 14; 8(11): 17475–17490, cited previously) and Bauer (see below rejection, cited previously).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a method of treating an individual with sarcopenia the method comprising administering high protein (whey protein) and an spermidine (see claim 1). The instant application further claims the protein is at least about 60 energy % and at least 50 wt% of protein is whey (see claim 1); protein from an animal source or milk protein (see claims 11-12); 50% weight of protein is whey (claim 1); free form amino acids or non-hydrolyzed protein (see claim 16); molecular weight of protein from 1-20 kDA (claim 19); including carbohydrate and fat (claim 33) and not greater than 30 energy % for carbohydrate; spermidine in amount of 0.05-4 wt% (claim 36); administered at least two days a week (claim 37) and administered with a meal (claim 38) and at least 60% energy (claim 39).
US Patent No. ‘914 claims A method of treating patients (via inducing autophagy) with sarcopenia (see claims 1 and 5) comprising administering an autophagy inducer (see claims 1, autophagy inducing amino acids) and protein (see claim 1).
US Patent No. ‘914 further claims wherein at least a portion of the protein is selected from the group consisting of (i) protein from an animal source, (ii) protein from a plant source and (iii) a mixture thereof (claim 9); wherein at least a portion of the protein is selected from the group consisting of (i) milk protein, (ii) whey protein, (iii) caseinate, (iv) micellar casein, (v) pea protein, (vi) soy protein and (vii) mixtures thereof (Claim 10); wherein at least a portion of the protein is selected from the group consisting of (i) free form amino acids, (ii) unhydrolyzed protein, (iii) partially hydrolyzed protein, (iv) extensively hydrolyzed protein, and (v) mixtures thereof (Claim 11-12); wherein the protein comprises branched chain amino acids in at least one form selected from the group consisting of (i) free form, (ii) bound to at least one additional amino acid, and (iii) mixtures thereof (claim 17-18); wherein the protein has a formulation selected from the group consisting of (i) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 1-5 kDa, (ii) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 5-10 kDa and (iii) at least 50% of the protein has a molecular weight of 10-20 kDa (Claim 1). US Patent No. ‘914 is silent to wherein the autophagy inducer includes spermidine; the amount of spermidine and carbohydrate; 60% energy % protein; administering twice a week and with a meal.
However, Fan teaches that “Spermidine has been identified as a potent and specific inducer of autophagy for expending lifespan due to the hypoacetylation of histone, which can provide protection for aging process of several tissues including heart, brain and skeletal muscle, thereby accomplishing the longevity”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use spermidine in the composition of US Patent NO. ‘914 for inducing autophagy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given spermidine is known to induce autophagy which can provide protection for aging process of several tissues including heart, brain and skeletal muscle, thereby accomplishing the longevity. Furthermore, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). But see In re Geiger, 815 F.2d 686, 2 USPQ2d 1276 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“Based upon the prior art and the fact that each of the three components of the composition used in the claimed method is conventionally employed in the art for treating cooling water systems, the board held that it would have been prima facie obvious, within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103, to employ these components in combination for their known functions and to optimize the amount of each additive....Appellant argues... hindsight reconstruction or at best,... obvious to try’.... We agree with appellant.”). One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the two (high protein and spermidine) each known to be useful for the same purpose, with a reasonable expectation that at least here will be an additive effect. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the amount of casein/protein and carbohydrate content to achieve optimal therapeutic effectiveness.
Regarding instant claim 36, Fan teaches dosing of spermidine at 5 mg/kg a day. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select spermidine in the claimed weight percent range, as recited in instant claim 36, because Fan teaches effective in vivo spermidine dosing at 5 mg/kg/day producing muscle benefits. Selecting a spermidine concentration in a nutritional formulation sufficient to deliver known effective doses represents routine optimization of a result effective variable (see MPEP 2144).
Regarding instant claims 37-39, Bauer teaches a high protein supplement (about 60%) for treating sarcopenia is provided as a powder that is reconstituted and administered twice daily in addition to meals (see page 742, top right of left column). Regarding instant claim 38, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the composition with a meal because supplement timing relative to meals is a routine optimization variable and Bauer teaches administration at meal times (MPEP2144). Furthermore, regarding at least 60 energy % protein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the protein energy percentage upward through routine optimization, since Bauer expressly teaches protein enriched formulations for sarcopenic elderly patients and protein energy content is considered a result effective variable (see MPEP2144).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicants argue that this stage in examination it would be premature for terminal disclaimers because the instant claims are not otherwise allowable and thus, the final version of the claims is not yet known. Applicants will reconsider when the claims are otherwise allowable. Given that the instant claims are not otherwise allowable, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654