Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination and Amendment filed on 06/06/2024.
Claims 1, 5, 8-11 have been amended.
Claims 30-31 have been added.
Claims 21-22 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-14, 23, 26, 30-31 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 5, 8, 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
For clarity of record, applicant’s election without traverse of the following species in the reply filed on 11/18/2021 is again acknowledged and repeated below.
Species elected by applicant:
Active substance: Bile acid sequestrant
Thermo-responsive polymer: Polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymer
Ion-sensitive polymer: Polysaccharide
Lipophilic compound: Behenic acid or salt thereof
Optional substituent: Bioadhesive polymer
Note, amended claim 5 is drawn to non-elected “optional substituent” species and is withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 1st paragraph
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 12-14, 23, 26, 30-31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the “cellulose derivatives”, “the like” and “the like” does not meet the written description provision of 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, due to lacking chemical structural information for what they are and chemical structures are highly variant and encompass a myriad of possibilities. The specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus of derivatives and “the like” encompassed by the claim, since there is no description of the structural relationship of these derivatives and “the like” provided in the specification and Applicant has not provided a description as to how the base molecule may be changed while remaining a derivative. Dependent claims are also rejected as they fail to rectify the issues present in claim 1.
The Examiner suggests deleting “cellulose derivatives, such”, “and the like” and “and the like”.
Regarding claim 26, The “polyethoxylated derivatives” and “cholesterol derivatives” do not meet the written description provision of 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, due to lacking chemical structural information for what they are and chemical structures are highly variant and encompass a myriad of possibilities. The specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus of derivatives encompassed by the claim, since there is no description of the structural relationship of these derivatives provided in the specification and Applicant has not provided a description as to how the base molecule may be changed while remaining a derivative.
Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "and the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "and the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 12-14, 23, 26, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUFFIELD et al (US 2011/0053866).
Applicant’s independent claim 1 is directed to a composition comprising of: an active substance; about 10-35% of a thermos-responsive and 2-25% of ion-sensitive polymer, such as gellan gum; a lipophilic compound; about 2-20% of poly(ethylene oxide) polymer; about 0.5-5% of polyvinyl alcohol.
Regarding claim 1, DUFFIELD teaches a tablet composition comprised of:
Tetrabenazine (see [0578] at Example 8), which reads on an active substance;
20% of Pluronic F127 (see [0578] at Example 8), which is also known as poloxamer 407 and reads on about 10-35% of a thermos-responsive; and gellan gum (see [0246]), wherein gellan gum is a polysaccharide gum used in the matrix to provide release rate of the drug (see [0248]);
Magnesium stearate (see [0578] at Example 8), which reads on a lipophilic compound (see Applicant’s specification at [0151]);
10% Polyethylene oxide (see [0578] at Example 8), which reads on about 2-20% of poly(ethylene oxide) polymer;
0.44% of polyvinyl alcohol (see [0578] at Example 8), which reads on about 0.5-5% of polyvinyl alcohol.
DUFFIELD further teaches formulating drugs as controlled-release formulations can sometimes reduce the side effects of drugs by smoothing out the Cmax value and can also provide simplified once-a-day administration (see [0009]).
The references do not specifically teach adding the gellan gum in the amounts claimed by Applicant. The amount of a specific ingredient in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results, such as drug release rate for optimal therapeutic effect. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient amount would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Regarding claim 4, DUFFIELD teaches tablet (see [0577]).
Regarding claims 9 and 30, DUFFIELD teaches cholestyramine resin (see 0346]), which reads on bile acid sequestrant.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, DUFFIELD’s tablet composition is capable of the intended use of treatment of the body and oral administration.
Regarding claim 14, DUFFIELD teaches tablet (see [0577]).
Regarding claim 23, as discussed above, DUFFIELD teaches Pluronic F127 (see [0578] at Example 8), which is also known as poloxamer 407.
Regarding claim 26, DUFFIELD teaches behenic acid (see [0211]) can be add for release-resistance or controlled release (see [0211]).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 12-14, 23, 26, 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUFFIELD et al (US 2011/0053866) in view of DAVIDSON et al (Colesevelam Hydrochloride (Cholestagel) A New, Potent Bile Acid Sequestrant Associated With a Low Incidence of Gastrointestinal Side Effects. Arch Intern Med. 1999;159;(16):1893-1900.
As discussed above, DUFFIELD teaches Applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 31, DUFFIELD does not teach using colesevelam as the active ingredient.
DAVIDSON teaches the prior art had known of the drug colesevelam is used for treating hypercholesterolemia with low incidence of gastrointestinal side effects (see title and abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate colesevelam as the active ingredient. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the incorporation would permit treating patients with other ailments, such as hypercholesterolemia, and decreasing the side effects, and reasonably would have expected success because the primary reference teaches formulating drugs as controlled-release formulations can sometimes reduce the side effects of drugs by smoothing out the Cmax value and can also provide simplified once-a-day administration (see [0009]).
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618