DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on April 14, 2025, that includes a response to the Final Office Action mailed October 18, 2024, has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended; claims 4, 12, 13, 18, 23, and 24 have been canceled; and no claims have been newly added. Claims 5-7, 10, 11, 14-17, and 19-22 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 8, 9, and 25-27 are under examination.
Withdrawal of Prior Objection - Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure has been satisfactorily amended. Therefore, the objection to the abstract presented in the Final Office Action mailed October 18, 2024 is hereby withdrawn.
Withdrawal of Prior Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Applicant’s argument with respect to weight percentages in the response filed April 14, 2025 is found persuasive. Therefore, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection presented in the Final Office Action mailed October 18, 2024 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to for improper status identification. Claim 5 has been withdrawn, and thus should properly be identified accordingly as “withdrawn”.
***Applicant is advised that claim 5 was withdrawn in the Final Office Action mailed October 18, 2024, as expressly noted therein. Applicant had amended claim 5 such that claim 5 was directed to non-elected subject matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Further, claim 1 has been satisfactorily amended. Therefore, the objections to claim 1 presented in the Final Office Action mailed October 18, 2024 are thus hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ovalle Orjuela et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2014/0323298), in view of Sixl (U.S. Patent No. 6,479,432).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to an emulsifiable concentrate comprising at least 875 g/L haloxyfop-methyl; 10-18 wt% one or more solvents including ethylene glycol ethers; and 1.3-10 wt% one or more nonionic surfactants including polyoxyalkylene fatty alcohol ethers; wherein the viscosity is less than 3 Pa-s at a temperature of -5 C.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Ovalle Orjuela et al. disclose an herbicidal composition, e.g. an emulsifiable concentrate, comprising an active including haloxyfop-methyl preferably in an amount of up to 90% (i.e. 90 g/100 ml, or 900 g/L), and further comprising a carrier which can include e.g. an organic solvent, e.g. diethylene glycol monomethyl ether, and a nonionic surfactant, e.g. tridecyl alcohol-C16 ethoxylate (abstract; paragraphs 0004, 0018, 0046, 0048, 0050, 0053).
Sixl discloses an herbicidal composition comprising an active including e.g. haloxyfop-methyl, and further comprising a carrier which can include preferably 10-90 wt% solvent, including e.g. ethylene glycol monomethyl ether, and preferably 0.5-20 wt% of a nonionic surfactant, e.g. etherified ethoxylated fatty alcohols; wherein the composition is storage-stable (abstract; Col. 1, lines 5-10; Col. 2, lines 47-65; Col. 6, lines 66-67; Col. 7, lines 29-31; Col. 11, lines 40-50; Col. 12, lines 50-59; Col. 13, lines 4-18; Col. 14, lines 7-10).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Ovalle Orjuela et al. do not explicitly disclose that the solvent is present in the amount of 10-18 wt% and that the nonionic surfactant is present in the amount of 1.3-10 wt%. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Sixl.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Ovalle Orjuela et al. and Sixl, outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s claimed emulsifiable concentrate composition.
Ovalle Orjuela et al. disclose an herbicidal composition, e.g. an emulsifiable concentrate, comprising an active including haloxyfop-methyl preferably in an amount of up to 90% (i.e. 90 g/100 ml, or 900 g/L), and further comprising a carrier which can include e.g. an organic solvent, e.g. diethylene glycol monomethyl ether, and a nonionic surfactant, e.g. tridecyl alcohol-C16 ethoxylate, wherein the composition exhibits enhanced control of undesirable vegetation. Since Sixl discloses that an herbicidal concentrate composition comprising e.g. haloxyfop-methyl, preferably 10-90 wt% solvent, including e.g. ethylene glycol monomethyl ether, and preferably 0.5-20 wt% of a nonionic surfactant, e.g. etherified ethoxylated fatty alcohols, is storage-stable in liquid form; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ the solvent and the nonionic surfactant in the Ovalle Orjuela et al. composition in the amounts of 10-90 wt% and 0.5-20 wt%, respectively, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting composition will be storage-stable in liquid form, and will exhibit upon use enhanced control of undesirable vegetation.
Further, with a concentrated active amount up to 90 wt%, it would be obvious that the amounts of the solvent and the nonionic surfactant employed would need to be set at levels towards the lower end of the ranges 10-90 wt% and 0.5-20 wt%, respectively, e.g. 10-18 wt% and 0.5-10 wt%, respectively.
Since the composition one of ordinary skill in the art, in following the teachings of the cited prior art, would thus arrive at is the same as the claimed composition, with the same requisite elements in the same requisite amounts, the properties of the composition must be the same as well, including the viscosity of less than 6.7 Pa-s at a temperature of -5 C.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
i) Applicant contends that while the Office alleges that “Ovalle Orjuela discloses herbicide compositions containing haloxyfop-methyl at concentrations up to 90 or 98 percent by weight”, it is noted that “the compositions of Ovalle Orjuela comprise at least two herbicide active ingredients, oxyfluorfen and haloxyfop-methyl” and “that the weight ratio…can be from about 1:3 to about 200:1”; therefore, “when the concentration of the active ingredients in the herbicide composition is 98 weight percent, the maximum concentration of haloxyfop-methylo alone…is 73.5 percent”; and thus, from suitable calculations, it can be determined that “Ovalle Orjuela teaches that the maximum possible concentration of haloxyfop-methyl in the compositions taught therein is 860 g/L”, which is “less than the 875 g/L of the present claims, and also less than the 900 g/L of the present claims and the working examples of the present application”.
The Examiner, however, would like to point out the following:
1. Applicant calculated that for the 900 g/L haloxyfop concentration in claim 2, the equivalent weight percent of haloxyfop-methyl is thus 76-77%, as shown in Tables 1A-1F of the original specification. Further, Applicant has determined that the density of the composition is 1.17 kg/L. Based on Applicant’s assertion that Ovalle Orjuela provides for a maximum haloxyfop-methyl weight percent of 73.5%, Applicant calculated using the same density value of 1.17 kg/L that the equivalent maximum haloxyfop concentration in Ovalle Orjuela is about 860 g/L.
2. However, claims 1, 3, 8, 9, and 25-27 (i.e. in other words, all claims under examination, except claim 2) merely require 875 g/L haloxyfop concentration, which would certainly have an equivalent weight percent of haloxyfop-methyl of less than 76-77% (i.e. which is the equivalent weight percent for the 900 g/L haloxyfop concentration in claim 2). Employing the same density value of 1.17 kg/L, it can be determined that for the 875 g/L haloxyfop concentration, the equivalent weight percent of haloxyfop-methyl is thus about 74-75%. Even if Applicant’s alleged assertion that Ovalle Orjuela provides for a maximum haloxyfop-methyl weight percent of 73.5% (i.e. about 74%), this is not patentably distinct from the claimed 875 g/L haloxyfop concentration, which has an equivalent weight percent of haloxyfop-methyl of about 74-75%.
3. Further, Applicant’s assertion that Ovalle Orjuela provides for a maximum haloxyfop-methyl weight percent of 73.5% is, as Applicant expressly states, rooted in paragraphs [0019]-[0022] of Ovalle Orjuela. Applicant contends that these paragraphs establish that Ovalle Orjuela is strictly limited to an oxyfluorfen to haloxyfop-methyl weight ratio from about 1:3 to about 200:1. However, this does not appear to be the case, since those paragraphs disclose merely “certain embodiments” only. In other words, even though Ovalle Orjuela does require both oxyfluorfen and haloxyfop-methyl, and even if the combination of the two can be present at 98 weight percent, as provided in paragraph [0053], it can only be concluded that the haloxyfop-methyl can be present in amounts that approach 98 weight percent. One of ordinary skill in the art would simply not conclude that the absolute maximum weight percent of haloxyfop-methyl is strictly limited to 73.5%. Indeed, even if haloxyfop-methyl is present at a weight percent of e.g. only 80%, this would meet the claim limitation, in view of Applicant’s showing that for the at “least 900 g/L” haloxyfop concentration in claim 2, the equivalent weight percent of haloxyfop-methyl is thus at least 76-77%.
For the foregoing reasons, the 35 USC 103 rejection is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617