DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 8/28/2025. Since the previous filing, claim 1, 7 and 13 have been amended and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1 and 3-20 are pending in the application.
Examiner has become aware of an error in the preceding Final Action of 10/1/2025 wherein limitations of the independent claims were not addressed. Subsequently, a new Final Action is being issued that will supersede the preceding Action.
In regards to the previous Double Patenting Rejections, Applicant has filed a Terminal Disclaimer and these rejections are therefore withdrawn.
In regards to the previous 112 Rejections, Applicant has amended to overcome the previous rejections and they are therefore withdrawn.
Examiner would also note that claims 14-20 have been improperly labeled as (previously presented/new) and should be labeled as (previously presented).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 9, 11-14, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2020/0178606), hereafter referred to as Liu-606, in view of Liu (US 2019/0183176), hereafter referred to as Liu-176, Lord (US 2022/0030942), Germinario (US 2019/0134330) and Ng (US 2006/0243820) as evidenced by Adiga (US 2003/0127535).
In regards to claim 1, Liu-606 discloses an ultrasonic mist inhaler (title, paragraph 34 line 1-3), comprising: a liquid reservoir structure (e-liquid storage assembly 1) comprising a liquid chamber (e-liquid chamber 4); and a sonication chamber (atomization core 2) in fluid communication with the liquid chamber (paragraph 37), wherein the sonication chamber comprises an ultrasonic oscillation component (ultrasonic atomization sheet 3), the liquid being delivered without being heated to the ultrasonic oscillation component (no mention of heating of the liquid at any point, paragraph 43).
Liu-606 does not disclose the ultrasonic oscillation component vibrating at a frequency in a range between 2.8 MHz and 3.2 MHz to generate a mist, a liquid at a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec; an integrated circuit which outputs an alternating current to the ultrasonic oscillation component for vibrating the ultrasonic oscillation component, wherein the integrated circuit comprises a microprocessor and a sensor within the sonication chamber which senses a vibration of the ultrasonic oscillation component, the sensor generating a plurality of vibration readings during the vibration of the ultrasonic oscillation component, the microprocessor processing the vibration readings from the sensor and, in response to each respective vibration readings of the vibration readings, the microprocessor controls the integrated circuit, based on the respective vibration readings, to output the alternating current to the ultrasonic oscillation component to vibrate and that when the liquid having a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec is vibrated by the ultrasonic oscillation component to produce bubbles with a volume of 0.25 to 0.5 microns3 for the mist, the mist including microscopic liquid particles, resulting from energy released from implosion of the liquid during cavitation which causes the liquid to be fragmented into the microscopic particles which are dispersed into the air in the sonication chamber as the mist.
However, Liu-176 teaches an ultrasonic inhaler having an ultrasonic oscillation component receiving a predetermined signal for vibrating the ultrasonic oscillation component in a range comprised between 2.8 MHz and 3.2 MHz to generate a mist (paragraph 51).
Further, Lord teaches an inhaler having liquid at a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec (paragraph 89).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 to have an ultrasonic oscillation component receiving a predetermined signal for vibrating the ultrasonic oscillation component in a range comprised between 2.8 MHz and 3.2 MHz to generate a mist, a liquid at a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec as taught by Liu-176 and Lord as these are known parameters for ultrasonic inhaler operation and known property of liquids commonly used in such inhalers and it has been held that where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
While the combination does not explicitly teach that when the liquid having a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec is vibrated by the ultrasonic oscillation component a bubble with a volume of 0.25 to 0.5 microns3 is produced, as the combinations teaches the claimed operational parameters (Liu-176: paragraph 51) and the claimed physical properties of the liquid (Lord: paragraph 89), the Examiner considers the above a property of the device in conjunction with the composition. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case or either anticipation or obviousness has been established. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the device of the modified Liu-606 in view of Lord to operate such that when the liquid having a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec is vibrated by the ultrasonic oscillation component a bubble with a volume of 0.25 to 0.5 microns3 is produced.
Further, Germinario teaches an inhaler (inhalation device 200) having a sensor within the sonication chamber which senses a vibration of the oscillation component and generates a plurality of vibration readings during the vibration of the ultrasonic oscillation component (mesh monitoring of the vibrating mesh, paragraph 88 line 4-10), an integrated circuit comprising a microprocessor (controller 222 may include a microprocessor, paragraph 79) which, in response to each respective vibration, controls the activation of the device and provide electric power to the ultrasonic oscillator (paragraph 88 line 4-10).
Additionally, Ng teaches that it is known for ultrasonic atomizer to function using alternating current (paragraph 6 and 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to have a sensor within the sonication chamber which senses a vibration of the oscillation component; an integrated circuit comprising a microprocessor which uses sensor data to control activation of the device and provide electric power to the ultrasonic oscillator using alternating current as taught by Germinario and Ng as this is a known means to monitor and control operation of the device and apply power to the ultrasonic oscillator.
While the combination does not explicitly teach the mist including microscopic liquid particles, resulting from energy released from implosion of the liquid during cavitation which causes the liquid to be fragmented into the microscopic particles which are dispersed into the air in the sonication chamber as the mist, it does teach ultrasonic generation of mist which Adiga evidences is known to generate mist resulting from energy released from implosion of the liquid during cavitation which causes the liquid to be fragmented into the microscopic particles which are dispersed into the air in the sonication chamber as the mist (paragraph 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the modified device wherein the mist including microscopic liquid particles, resulting from energy released from implosion of the liquid during cavitation which causes the liquid to be fragmented into the microscopic particles which are dispersed into the air in the sonication chamber as the mist as evidenced by Adiga as this is a known process by which ultrasonic generation of mist is achieved.
In regards to claim 3, Liu-606 in view of Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 1 and Liu-606 further discloses wherein a capillary element (atomization sheet 3) extends between the sonication chamber and the liquid chamber (paragraph 43, Fig 1).
In regards to claim 8, Liu-606 in view of Liu-349 -176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 3 and Liu-606 further discloses wherein the capillary element has a flat shape (bottom of central portion is flat, see Annotated Fig 1).
In regards to claim 9, Liu-606 in view of Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng teaches the device of claim 3 and Liu-606 further discloses wherein the capillary element comprises a central portion and a peripheral portion (see Annotated Fig 1).
In regards to claim 11, Liu-606 in view of Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 9 and Liu-606 further discloses wherein the central portion has a U-shape cross section extending down to the sonication chamber (see Annotated Fig 1).
In regards to claim 12, Liu-606 in view of Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 1.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein said liquid to be received in the liquid chamber comprises 57-70% (w/w) vegetable glycerin and 30-43% (w/w) propylene glycol, nicotine, and flavorings.
However, Lord teaches wherein said liquid to be received in the liquid chamber comprises 57-70% (w/w) vegetable glycerin and 30-43% (w/w) propylene glycol, nicotine, and flavorings (paragraph 7, 14 and 108-109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 wherein said liquid to be received in the liquid chamber comprises 57-70% (w/w) vegetable glycerin and 30-43% (w/w) propylene glycol, nicotine, and flavorings as taught by Lord as these are known combinations and ratios of vaporizable liquids commonly used in such inhalers and it has been held that where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Annotated Fig 1
In regards to claim 13, Liu-606 discloses an ultrasonic mist inhaler (title, paragraph 34 line 1-3), comprising: a liquid reservoir structure (e-liquid storage assembly 1) comprising a liquid chamber (e-liquid chamber 4), the liquid chamber comprising a liquid to be atomized (paragraph 37); and a sonication chamber (atomization core 2) in fluid communication with the liquid chamber (paragraph 37), wherein the sonication chamber comprises an ultrasonic oscillation component (ultrasonic atomization sheet 3), the liquid being delivered without being heated to the ultrasonic oscillation component (no mention of heating of the liquid at any point, paragraph 43).
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the liquid comprises 57-70% (w/w) vegetable glycerin and 30-43% (w/w) propylene glycol, nicotine, and flavorings, a liquid at a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec; and an integrated circuit which outputs an alternating current to the ultrasonic oscillation component for vibrating the ultrasonic oscillation component in a range of 2.8 MHz and 3.2 MHz, wherein the integrated circuit comprises a microprocessor; a sensor within the sonication chamber which senses a vibration of the ultrasonic oscillation component, the sensor generating a plurality of vibration readings during the vibration of the ultrasonic oscillation component, the microprocessor processing the vibration readings from the sensor and, in response to each respective vibration readings of the vibration readings, the microprocessor controls the integrated circuit, based on the respective vibration readings, to output the alternating current to the ultrasonic oscillation component to vibrate and wherein when the liquid having a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec is vibrated by the ultrasonic oscillation component to produce bubbles with a volume of not greater than 0.5 microns3 for the mist, the mist including microscopic liquid particles, resulting from energy released from implosion of the liquid during cavitation which causes the liquid to be fragmented into the microscopic particles which are dispersed into the air in the sonication chamber as the mist.
However, Liu-176 teaches an ultrasonic inhaler having an ultrasonic oscillation component receiving a predetermined signal for vibrating the ultrasonic oscillation component at a frequency in a range of 2.8 MHz and 3.2 MHz (vibration frequency 1-3 MHz, paragraph 51).
Further, Lord teaches wherein the liquid comprises 57-70% (w/w) vegetable glycerin and 30-43% (w/w) propylene glycol, nicotine, and flavorings (paragraph 108), wherein the liquid at a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec (paragraph 89).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 wherein the liquid comprises 57-70% (w/w) vegetable glycerin and 30-43% (w/w) propylene glycol, nicotine, and flavorings, the sonication chamber receiving a predetermined signal for vibrating the ultrasonic oscillation component in a range comprised between 2.8 MHz and 3.2 MHz to generate a mist, a liquid at a dynamic viscosity between 1.05 Pa.sec and 1.412 Pa.sec as taught by Liu-176 and Lord as these are known parameters of operation and liquid properties commonly known in inhalers and it has been held that where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
While the combination does not explicitly teach that when the liquid having a dynamic viscosity of at least 1.05 Pa.sec is vibrated by the ultrasonic oscillation component a bubble with a volume of at least 0.25 microns is produced, as the combinations teaches the claimed operational parameters of the device (Liu-176: paragraph 51) and the claimed physical properties of the liquid (Lord: paragraph 89), the Examiner considers the above a property of the device in conjunction with the composition. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case or either anticipation or obviousness has been established. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the device of the modified Liu in view of Lord to operate such that when the liquid having a dynamic viscosity of at least 1.05 Pa.sec is vibrated by the ultrasonic oscillation component a bubble with a volume of at least 0.25 microns is produced.
Further, Germinario teaches an inhaler (inhalation device 200) having a sensor within the sonication chamber which senses a vibration of the oscillation component and generates a plurality of vibration readings during the vibration of the ultrasonic oscillation component (mesh monitoring of the vibrating mesh, paragraph 88 line 4-10), an integrated circuit comprising a microprocessor (controller 222 may include a microprocessor, paragraph 79) which, in response to each respective vibration, controls the activation of the device and provide electric power to the ultrasonic oscillator (paragraph 88 line 4-10).
Additionally, Ng teaches that it is known for ultrasonic atomizer to function using alternating current (paragraph 6 and 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to have a sensor within the sonication chamber which senses a vibration of the oscillation component; an integrated circuit comprising a microprocessor which uses sensor data to control activation of the device and provide electric power to the ultrasonic oscillator using alternating current as taught by Germinario and Ng as this is a known means to monitor and control operation of the device and apply power to the ultrasonic oscillator.
While the combination does not explicitly teach the mist including microscopic liquid particles, resulting from energy released from implosion of the liquid during cavitation which causes the liquid to be fragmented into the microscopic particles which are dispersed into the air in the sonication chamber as the mist, it does teach ultrasonic generation of mist which Adiga evidences is known to generate mist resulting from energy released from implosion of the liquid during cavitation which causes the liquid to be fragmented into the microscopic particles which are dispersed into the air in the sonication chamber as the mist (paragraph 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the modified device wherein the mist including microscopic liquid particles, resulting from energy released from implosion of the liquid during cavitation which causes the liquid to be fragmented into the microscopic particles which are dispersed into the air in the sonication chamber as the mist as evidenced by Adiga as this is a known process by which ultrasonic generation of mist is achieved.
In regards to claim 14, Liu-606 in view of Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the deice of claim 13 and Liu-606 further discloses wherein a capillary element (atomization sheet 3) extends between the sonication chamber and the liquid chamber (paragraph 43, Fig 1).
In regards to claim 18, Liu-606 in view of Liu- Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 14 and Liu-606 further discloses wherein the capillary element comprises a central portion and a peripheral portion (see Annotated Fig 1).
In regards to claim 20, Liu-606 in view of Liu Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 20 and Liu-606 further discloses wherein the central portion has a U-shape cross section extending down to the sonication chamber (see Annotated Fig 1).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2020/0178606), hereafter referred to as Liu-606, in view of Liu (US 2019/0183176), hereafter referred to as Liu-176, Lord (US 2022/0030942), Germinario (US 2019/0134330) and Ng (US 2006/0243820) as evidenced by Adiga (US 2003/0127535) as applied above and in further view of Wensley (US 2018/0343925).
In regards to claim 4, Liu-606 in view of Liu Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 3.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the capillary element is a material at least partly made of bamboo fibers.
However, Wensley teaches wherein the capillary element is a material at least partly made of bamboo fibers (paragraph 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 wherein the capillary element is a material at least partly made of bamboo fibers as taught by Wensley as this is a known material for inhaler wicks.
In regards to claim 5, Liu-606 in view of Liu Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 3.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the capillary element material is 100% bamboo fiber.
However, Wensley teaches wherein the capillary element material is 100% bamboo fiber (paragraph 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu wherein the capillary element material is 100% bamboo fiber as taught by Wensley as this is a known material for inhaler wicks.
In regards to claim 10, Liu-606 in view of Liu Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 9.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the peripheral portion has an L-shape cross section extending down to the liquid chamber.
While Liu-606 teaches that the peripheral portion of the capillary element is in communication with the liquid reservoir (Liu-606: paragraph 43 line 10-12) it does not teach wherein the peripheral portion has an L-shape cross section. However, while Wensley does not explicitly teach wherein the peripheral portion has an L-shape cross section extending down to the liquid chamber, it does teach that it is known that the capillary element (Wensley: wick 32) may either abut or extend into the liquid reservoir (Wensley: paragraph 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 wherein the peripheral portion has an L-shape cross section extending down to the liquid chamber as taught by Wensley as this would constitute a simple change of shape without functionally altering the device and therefore not patentably distinct over the prior art (MPEM 2144.04 IV B).
In regards to claim 15, Liu-606 in view of Liu Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 14.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the capillary element is a material at least partly made of bamboo fibers.
However, Wensley teaches wherein the capillary element is a material at least partly made of bamboo fibers (paragraph 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 wherein the capillary element is a material at least partly made of bamboo fibers as taught by Wensley as this is a known material for inhaler wicks.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0178606), hereafter referred to as Liu-606, in view of Liu (US 2019/0183176), hereafter referred to as Liu-176, Lord (US 2022/0030942), Germinario (US 2019/0134330) and Ng (US 2006/0243820) as evidenced by Adiga (US 2003/0127535) as applied above and in further view of Wensley (US 2018/0343925) and Yildztekin (WO 2016/175720).
In regards to claim 6, Liu-606 in view of Liu-606, Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 3.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the capillary element material is at least 75% bamboo fiber and, preferably, 25% cotton.
However, Wensley teaches wherein it is known to use cotton or bamboo as the material for the capillary element (paragraph 36). Further, Yildiztekin teaches wherein it is known within electric vaporizers to use a combination of cotton and bamboo in various relative amounts for the capillary element (page 8 line 4-5 and 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu wherein the capillary element material is at least 75% bamboo fiber and, preferably, 25% cotton as taught by Wensley and Yildiztekin as this would provide a measured draw of liquid from the reservoir (Yildztekin: page 8 line 4-5) and the range of percentage amounts of each material is deemed as a results effective variable for liquid absorption that one skilled in the art would be reasonably capable of determining through routine experimentation (MPEP: 2144.05 II A).
In regards to claim 16, Liu-606 in view of Liu-606, Liu-176, Lord, Germinario, Ng as evidenced by Adiga and in view of Wensley teaches the device of claim 15.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the capillary element material is at least 75% bamboo fiber and, preferably, 25% cotton.
However, Wensley teaches wherein it is known to use cotton or bamboo as the material for the capillary element (paragraph 36). Further, Yildiztekin teaches wherein it is known within electric vaporizers to use a combination of cotton and bamboo in various relative amounts for the capillary element (page 8 line 4-5 and 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu wherein the capillary element material is at least 75% bamboo fiber and, preferably, 25% cotton as taught by Wensley and Yildiztekin as this would provide a measured draw of liquid from the reservoir (Yildztekin: page 8 line 4-5) and the range of percentage amounts of each material is deemed as a results effective variable for liquid absorption that one skilled in the art would be reasonably capable of determining through routine experimentation (MPEP: 2144.05 II A).
Claim(s) 7, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0178606), hereafter referred to as Liu-606, in view of Liu (US 2019/0183176), hereafter referred to as Liu-176, Lord (US 2022/0030942), Germinario (US 2019/0134330) and Ng (US 2006/0243820) as evidenced by Adiga (US 2003/0127535) as applied above and in further view of Fraser (US 2019/0133186).
In regards to claim 7, Liu-606 in view of Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 3.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the capillary element has a thickness between 0.27mm and 0.32mm.
However, Fraser teaches a vaporizer wherein the capillary element has a thickness between 0.27mm and 0.32mm (thickness of the wick may be between 50 to 200 times smaller than the length of the wick, paragraph 51 line 24-26, length may be between 5 mm and 15 mm, paragraph 51 line 30, yielding a range of thicknesses between 0.025 mm and 0.3 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 wherein the capillary element has a thickness between 0.27mm and 0.32mm as taught by Fraser as it is known to alter the thickness of the wick or capillary element to provide an appropriate vaporization rate for the device as needed (Fraser: paragraph 42 line 11-15) and it has been held that where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
In regards to claim 17, Liu-606 in view of Liu Liu-176, Lord, Germinario and Ng as evidenced by Adiga teaches the device of claim 14.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the capillary element has a thickness between 0.27mm and 0.32mm.
However, Fraser teaches a vaporizer wherein the capillary element has a thickness between 0.27mm and 0.32mm (thickness of the wick may be between 50 to 200 times smaller than the length of the wick, paragraph 51 line 24-26, length may be between 5 mm and 15 mm, paragraph 51 line 30, yielding a range of thicknesses between 0.025 mm and 0.3 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 wherein the capillary element has a thickness between 0.27mm and 0.32mm as taught by Fraser as it is known to alter the thickness of the wick or capillary element to provide an appropriate vaporization rate for the device as needed (Fraser: paragraph 42 line 11-15) and it has been held that where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
In regards to claim 19, Liu-606 in view of Liu Liu-176, Lord, Germinario, Ng as evidenced by Adiga and in view of Fraser teaches the device of claim 17.
Liu-606 does not disclose wherein the peripheral portion has an L-shape cross section extending down to the liquid chamber.
While Liu-606 teaches that the peripheral portion of the capillary element is in communication with the liquid reservoir (Liu-606: paragraph 43 line 10-12) it does not teach wherein the peripheral portion has an L-shape cross section. However, while Wensley does not explicitly teach wherein the peripheral portion has an L-shape cross section extending down to the liquid chamber, it does teach that it is known that the capillary element (Wensley: wick 32) may either abut or extend into the liquid reservoir (Wensley: paragraph 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu-606 wherein the peripheral portion has an L-shape cross section extending down to the liquid chamber as taught by Wensley as this would constitute a simple change of shape without functionally altering the device and therefore not patentably distinct over the prior art (MPEM 2144.04 IV B).
Response to Arguments
In regards to the arguments concerning the independent claims, these arguments are in regards to the amendments to the claims and are addressed above.
In regards to the arguments concerning the dependent claims, these arguments are in regards to their dependency on above argued independent claims and are addressed therein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785