DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/21/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15, 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gonzalez (Pub No 20180027359) further in view of Starsinic (Pub No 20170295103) and Cho (Pub No 20140347478).
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues the combination of Gonzalez, Kiciak, and Cho fails to disclose or suggest a streetlight-mountable small cell networking device that includes, among other things, at least two networking modules positioned within the same housing and receiving power from a common power supply (i.e., sharing certain small cell/base station components), where one of the networking modules is arranged as a gateway to a first cellular-based network controlled by a first MNO and another one of the networking modules is arranged as a gateway to a second cellular-based network controlled by a second MNO, as recited in claims 1 and 14.
The examiner relies on newly cited Starsinic which teaches a small cell network having a first MNO and a second MNO
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5, 7, 8, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (Pub No 20180027359) further in view of Starsinic (Pub No 20170295103) and Cho (Pub No 20140347478).
Regarding claim 1 and 14,
Gonzalez teaches a small cell networking device mountable to a streetlight fixture, the small cell networking device comprising:
an outer housing; (see para [0036])
a first networking module positioned within the outer housing and arranged as a first gateway to a first cellular-based network; (interpreted as to this end, the small cell electronics may include any number and combination of radio types…Additionally or alternatively, one or more cellular radios (e.g., 3G, 4G) may be provided for establishing local cellular networks and/or serving as backhauls, see para [0047])
a second networking module positioned within the outer housing and arranged as a second gateway to a second cellular-based network, (one or more cellular radios, para [0047]), a first wireless communication session over the first cellular-based network (see Additionally or alternatively, one or more cellular radios (e.g., 3G, 4G) may be provided for establishing local cellular networks and/or serving as backhauls. Any one or combination of the radios 320 utilized, in various embodiments, may operate on licensed and/or unlicensed spectrums and on single or multiple frequency bands. The network may optionally use self-organizing network technologies to avoid interference between radios 320, see para [0047]) wherein the first networking module enables a first wireless communication session over the first cellular based network by a first mobile device in proximity of the small cell networking device and the second networking module enables a second wireless communication session over the second cellular-based network by a second mobile device in proximity of the small cell networking device wherein the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication session occur concurrently; (interpreted as small cell module 300 as a transceiver for connecting with nearby user equipment (e.g., cellular phones, smart phones, tablets, computers of nearby persons, nearby autonomous and non-autonomous vehicles like drones) and backhauling that traffic to/from main carrier networks via the small cell network… In particular, these small cell networks may be configured to provide any one or combination of local wireless data and cellular connectivity to user equipment situated nearby, such as cellular phones, smart phones, tablets, computers, nearby autonomous and non-autonomous vehicles like drones, and other devices requiring network connectivity, see para [0046]. Also see access point radio for providing a wireless access point to the communications network through which one or more user devices may connect to the communications network, see para [0014]))
a light sensor; (interpreted as one or more sensors configured for controlling and monitoring various operational aspects of the street light 110, such as light intensity, energy consumption, and device health, see para [0043])
a processor-based light control circuit arranged to provide a light control signal to a light source of the streetlight fixture based on at least one light signal generated by the light sensor; and (interpreted as Light controller 210 may include suitable hardware for monitoring and controlling operation of the luminaire. Generally speaking, light controller 210 may contain hardware and sensors suitable for performing the monitoring and control functionality described in the present disclosure. For example, light controller 210 may contain photosensors/photocontrollers used to perform on/off and dimming functions, energy measuring electronics and software to measure energy consumption and savings….Light controller 210, in some embodiments (not shown), may include its own processor for performing monitoring and/or control functions. In other embodiments (as shown), light controller 210 may share a processor with the small cell module 300, see para [0040])
a connector arranged to electromechanically couple to a mating connector integrated with the streetlight fixture and to receive power from the streetlight fixture, and (interpreted as power conditioner 220 may be configured to receive and condition electrical power from the street light 110 in a manner suitable for use by the components of light module 200 and/or small cell module 300, as shown, see para [0041])
a power supply for use by the first networking module, the second networking module, the light sensor, and the processor- based light control circuit. (interpreted as power conditioner 220 may be configured to receive and condition electrical power from the street light 110 in a manner suitable for use by the components of light module 200 and/or small cell module 300, as shown, see para [0041])
However Gonzalez does not teach first mobile network controlled by a first mobile network operator (MNO) and second cellular-based network controlled by a second MNO that is different than the first MNO;
Starsinic teaches first mobile network controlled by a first mobile network operator (MNO) and second cellular-based network controlled by a second MNO that is different than the first MNO; (interpreted as ISW-PF 100 may facilitate the sharing of an integrated small cell/Wi-Fi network ISW between multiple network operators 106, for instance a first MNO 106a and a second MNO 1066b. By way of example, suppose an airport deploys a large ISW network and multiple MNO's pay a fee to the airport for using the ISW, see para [0112]. Also see ISW-PF 100 may adjust its Tx Power in order to enable more users to take advantage of the cellular spectrum, see para [0111]))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the multiple access point radios to multiple networks taught by Gonzalez with the connecting to a first MNO network and second MNO network as taught by Starsinic with the motivation being to provide services from multiple MNOs in the same area.
However Gonzalez in view of Starsinic do not teach for converting the AC power to direct current (DC) power;
Cho teaches for converting the AC power to direct current (DC) power; (interpreted as The power supply module 61 refers to a constituent element configured to convert alternating current (AC) supplied from the streetlight to direct current (DC) and to supply the converted DC to the streetlight network camera 100. In general, electronic equipment such as communication equipment and video equipment uses DC power, which applies to the streetlight network camera 100 of the present invention, see Cho para [0070])
It would have been obvious to combine the power supply taught by Gonzalez with the AC to DC conversion for power supply as taught by Cho with the motivation being to use DC power for powering electronic devices.
Regarding claim 20,
Gonzalez teaches the system of claim 14, further comprising:
a second streetlight fixture coupled to a second light pole, the second streetlight fixture including a second light source and a third connector, the third connector supplying alternating current (AC) power from the second streetlight fixture; and
a second small cell networking device, the second small cell networking device including:
a second outer housing; a third networking module positioned within the second outer housing and arranged as a second gateway to the first cellular-based network; a fourth networking module positioned within the second outer housing and arranged as a second gateway to the second cellular-based network, wherein the third networking module and the fourth networking module enable concurrent wireless communication sessions over the first cellular-based network and the second cellular- based network from mobile devices in a proximity of the second small cell networking device; a second light sensor; a second processor-based light control circuit arranged to provide a second light control signal to the second light source of the second streetlight fixture based on at least one signal generated by the second light sensor; and a fourth connector arranged to electromechanically couple to the third connector of the second streetlight fixture and receive the AC power from the second streetlight fixture, and a second power supply for converting the AC power to direct current (DC) power for use by the third networking module, the fourth networking module, the second light sensor, and the second processor-based light control circuit. (interpreted as FIGS. 12A and 12B schematically depict representative embodiments of systems 500 deployed on the street lights 110 lining city blocks, see Gonzalez para [0059]. Examiner notes that the limitations are rejected similarly above for claim 1 for a second streetlight from the plurality of street lights taught by Gonzalez).
Regarding claim 5,
Gonzalez teaches the small cell networking device of claim 1, wherein the connector includes: at least three pin structures, the at least three pin structures arranged for removable electromechanical coupling to the mating connector of the streetlight fixture (interpreted as For example, in some embodiments, the system may utilize wiring or other suitable electrical connections (e.g., a NEMA, 7-, 5-, or 3-pin connector) for electrically interfacing with the luminaire, see Gonzalez para [0036])
Regarding claim 7,
Gonzalez teaches the small cell networking device of claim 1, wherein the networking module includes: a modular radio transceiver board, the modular radio transceiver board provisionable for operation in the cellular-based network of first selected MNO. (interpreted as Additionally or alternatively, device 100, in various embodiments, may utilize small cell module 300 as a transceiver for connecting with nearby user equipment (e.g., cellular phones, smart phones, tablets, computers of nearby persons, nearby autonomous and non-autonomous vehicles like drones) and backhauling that traffic to/from main carrier networks via the small cell network. In particular, these small cell networks may be configured to provide any one or combination of local wireless data and cellular connectivity to user equipment situated nearby, such as cellular phones, smart phones, tablets, computers, nearby autonomous and non-autonomous vehicles like drones, and other devices requiring network connectivity, see para [0046])
Regarding claim 8,
Gonzalez teaches the small cell networking device of claim 1, wherein the second networking module includes:
A modular radio transceiver board, the modular radio transceiver board being provisionable for operation in the second cellular-based network. (interpreted as Additionally or alternatively, device 100, in various embodiments, may utilize small cell module 300 as a transceiver for connecting with nearby user equipment (e.g., cellular phones, smart phones, tablets, computers of nearby persons, nearby autonomous and non-autonomous vehicles like drones) and backhauling that traffic to/from main carrier networks via the small cell network. In particular, these small cell networks may be configured to provide any one or combination of local wireless data and cellular connectivity to user equipment situated nearby, such as cellular phones, smart phones, tablets, computers, nearby autonomous and non-autonomous vehicles like drones, and other devices requiring network connectivity, see para [0046])
Claim 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (Pub No 20180027359) further in view of Starsinic (Pub No 20170295103), Cho (Pub No 20140347478), and Herrera (Pub No 20180077523).
Regarding claim 2,
Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho teaches small cell networking device of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the connector is compliant with American National Standards Institute (ANSI) C136.
Herrera teaches wherein the connector is compliant with American National Standards Institute (ANSI) C136. (interpreted as In specific embodiments, the beacon node 300 is physically configured to plug into a standard photo-control 5/7 position receptacle device, as is present on many typical streetlamps. Beacon node 300 can include both male and female connectors that conform to the “American National Standard for Roadway and Area Lighting Equipment-Dimming Control Between an External Locking Type Photocontrol and Ballast or Driver” (ANSI C136.41-2013), hereby incorporated by reference. FIG. 3A illustrates such a female connector 302, while FIG. 3B illustrates a male connector 304. FIG. 3C illustrates beacon 300 with both the female connector 302 and the male connector 304, see Herrera para [0034]).
It would have been obvious to combine the light pole taught by Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho with the standards for light poles as taught by Herrera with the motivation being to standard protocols to promote inoperability.
Regarding claim 3,
Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho teaches small cell networking device of claim 2, however does not teach wherein the connector is compliant with ANSI C136.41-2013.
Herrera teaches wherein the connector is compliant with ANSI C136.41-2013. interpreted as In specific embodiments, the beacon node 300 is physically configured to plug into a standard photo-control 5/7 position receptacle device, as is present on many typical streetlamps. Beacon node 300 can include both male and female connectors that conform to the “American National Standard for Roadway and Area Lighting Equipment-Dimming Control Between an External Locking Type Photocontrol and Ballast or Driver” (ANSI C136.41-2013), hereby incorporated by reference. FIG. 3A illustrates such a female connector 302, while FIG. 3B illustrates a male connector 304. FIG. 3C illustrates beacon 300 with both the female connector 302 and the male connector 304, see Herrera para [0034]).
It would have been obvious to combine the light pole taught by Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho with the standards for light poles as taught by Herrera with the motivation being to standard protocols to promote inoperability.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (Pub No 20180027359) further in view of Starsinic (Pub No 20170295103), Cho (Pub No 20140347478) and Hinman (Pub No 20140235244).
Regarding claim 4,
Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho teaches the small cell networking device of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the small cell networking device is a metrocell, a microcell, a picocell, or a femtocell.
Hinman teaches wherein the small cell networking device is a metrocell network, a microcell network, a picocell network, or a femtocell network (interpreted as A picocell is an extension of a macro cell network and provides increased connectivity for users of a macro cell (e.g., cellular network) in locations where macro cell connectivity may be reduced. For example, picocells may be placed on the external portions of buildings or on street lights of other similar structures. These picocells act as an extension of the macro cell network, providing adequate handoff capabilities for user equipment that operates in a given location, see Hinman para [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the transceiver taught by Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho with the picocell as taught by Hinman with the motivation being to provide coverage in small areas.
Claim 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (Pub No 20180027359) further in view of Starsinic (Pub No 20170295103), Cho (Pub No 20140347478) and Duksta (Pat No 10725139).
Regarding claim 6 and 15,
Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho teaches the small cell networking device of claim 5, however does not teach wherein the streetlight fixture is elevated between 20 feet and 40 feet above a roadway.
Duksta teaches wherein the streetlight fixture is elevated between 20 feet and 40 feet above a roadway (interpreted as The street 640 also includes a plurality of street lamps 644-3A, 644-3B, 644-3C, each of which includes a light fixture 646-3A, 646-3B, 646-3C that extends above and over the street 640, e.g., at heights of fifteen to twenty feet or more above the street 640, and is configured to project artificial light downward onto the street 640, as may be desired or required in view of visibility and/or weather conditions, see col 24 line 53-60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the street light taught by Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho with the 20 feet street light taught by Duska since it would have been a design choice to have streetlights of varying heights.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (Pub No 20180027359) further in view of Starsinic (Pub No 20170295103), Cho (Pub No 20140347478) and Harris (Pub No 20060109625).
Regarding claim 9,
Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho teaches the small cell networking device of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising:
at least two processing circuit boards configured in a vertically stacked arrangement, a first processing circuit board of the least two processing circuit boards including the power supply and an interface to the connector, a second processing circuit board of least two processing circuit boards including an applications processor;
a first coupling structure that passes DC power signals from the first processing circuit board to the second processing circuit board; and
a second coupling structure that passes communication signals between the first processing circuit board and the second processing circuit board.
Harris teaches teach further comprising:
at least two processing circuit boards configured in a vertically stacked arrangement, a first processing circuit board of the least two processing circuit boards including the power supply and an interface to the connector, a second processing circuit board of least two processing circuit boards including an applications processor; (interpreted as he heat-generating components can include plural processors, ASICs, and other devices. The first circuit board can be connected to a second circuit board in a vertical stacked-up configuration to create a space between the first and second circuit boards, see para [0043]. Also see DC power para [0021])
a first coupling structure that passes DC power signals from the first processing circuit board to the second processing circuit board; and (interpreted as Plural power systems can be connected to the first circuit board. One or more connectors can couple the power systems to the first circuit board. One or more of the power systems can also be coupled to electronic components, such as control components associated with the power systems. These electronic components can at least partially extend into the space between the first and second circuit boards, see para [0021])
a second coupling structure that passes communication signals between the first processing circuit board and the second processing circuit board. (interpreted as The first circuit board can be connected to a second circuit board in a vertical stacked-up configuration to create a space between the first and second circuit boards, see para [0043])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho with the circuit boards taught by Harris since it would have been a design choice for rearranging the circuit boards in any arrangement.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (Pub No 20180027359) further in view of Starsinic (Pub No 20170295103), Cho (Pub No 20140347478) and Chen (Pub No 20140046774).
Regarding claim 10,
Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho teaches the small cell networking device of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the cellular-based network conforms to a global system for mobile communications (GSM) standard or a code division multiple access (CDMA) standard.
Chen teaches wherein the cellular-based network conforms to a global system for mobile communications (GSM) standard or a code division multiple access (CDMA) standard. (interpreted as The system 1 includes a plurality of streetlights 10, a server 20, a plurality of clients 30, and a plurality of user terminals 40. The plurality of streetlights 10, the plurality of clients 30, and the plurality of user terminals 40 communicate with the server 20 via a network, such as Power Line Communication (PLC), Optical Power Line Communication (OPLC), Zigbee, WiFi, 3G, 4G, GPRS, CDMA, GSM, or Satellite communication (SATCOM), for example. In the embodiment, the server 20 is a computer, see para [0007])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the cellular network taught by Gonzalez in view of Starsinic and Cho with the CDMA network communication as taught by Chen since it would have been a simple modification providing expected results of using one known network protocol over another for cellular communication.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461