DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 7, and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has argued that reference to Endosafe is directed to gel clotting, and not a change in color as recited in the claims. After reviewing the prior art, the Examiner has found Applicant’s arguments to be persuasive, thus reference to Endosafe is no longer relied upon. As detailed below, the claims now stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the combination of Evans et al., in view of Stumbaugh et al., (US 2018/0038864), and further in view of Fernando et al. Because reference to Stumbaugh et al., is newly cited, the Examiner will not argue the merits of its teachings here, but will instead rely on the rejection detailed below. Therefore, in light of the teachings of the prior art, the Examiner contends that the limitations of the instant claim are taught by the references cited below, thus the claims are not in condition for allowance.
Claim Interpretation
Content of Specification
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i)-(p).
The claimed invention is defined by the positively claimed steps, the process steps listed on separate indented lines listed in the body of the claim after the transitional phrase, “comprising”.
For claims 1 and 13-15, the Examiner notes that the claimed “single-use” does not provide a limitation on the reaction chamber as any chamber, tube, or container can be single-use. Specifically, a user can determine if a reaction chamber is single-use or not as one can choose to discard a reaction chamber, or sterilize a reaction chamber for multiple uses. As such, the Examiner contends that any reaction chamber can reasonably be considered as single-use as recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al., (Appl. Environ. Microbiol. February 1978, 376-382) in view of Stumbaugh et al., (US 2018/0038864), and further in view of Fernando et al., (US 2003/0151745).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 7, Evans et al., teach determining bacteriological water quality comprising placing a water sample in a vial having lyophilized limulus lysate (Endotoxin determination page 377), incubating the sample at 37°C for 1 hour (Endotoxin determination page 378), and determining the presence of endotoxin with a spectrophotometer (Endotoxin determination page 378).The Examiner notes that the reagent taught by Evans et al., is identical to that of the instant claims, thus the properties of the reagent and its reaction with endotoxins would be identical. Evans et al., do not explicitly teach measuring a change in color of the reaction solution.
Stumbaugh et al., teach a method of detecting an endotoxin using limulus amebocyte lysate comprising a chromogenic substrate that changes color (paragraphs 0045, 0046, 0048). The Examiner is reading this combination as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Reference to Stumbaugh et al., teach that chromogenic LAL tests are known in the art, and are recognized as suitable methods for detecting bacterial endotoxins across various industries (paragraph 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Evans et al., with the chromogenic assay taught by Stumbaugh et al., as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. Evans et al., in view of Stumbaugh et al., do not teach a spectrophotometer comprising a heater, temperature probe, and a control unit.
Fernando et al., teach a sample analysis system comprising an apparatus having a temperature probe (paragraphs 0082-0084), spectrophotometer (paragraphs 0010, 0011), and a computer (paragraph 0086). Fernando et al., teach that it is advantageous to provide a temperature probe as a means of monitoring temperature of a test solution (paragraph 0084). Fernando et al., also teach that it is advantageous to provide a computer as a means of coordinating operation of all the operations of the analysis device (paragraph 0086).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Evans et al., in view of Stumbaugh et al., to include a temperature probe and a computer in order to monitor temperature of a test solution, and to coordinate operations of a device as taught by Fernando et al.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al., (Appl. Environ. Microbiol. February 1978, 376-382) in view of Stumbaugh et al., (US 2018/0038864), in view of Fernando et al., (US 2003/0151745) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Khan (US 4,067,776).
Regarding claims 13-15, Evans et al., in view of Stumbaugh et al., in view of Fernando et al., do not explicitly teach pre-packaged test tubes.
Khan teaches a limulus lysate test kit wherein the limulus reagent is pre-packaged in a test tube (column 10 lines 55-60). Additionally, Khan teaches performing a limulus lysate test by adding a sample to the pre-packaged test tube (column 10 line 55 column 11 line12). Khan teaches that it is advantageous to provide the reagent and test tube in a kit as a means of providing materials that are inexpensive and disposable (column 9 lines 22-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Evans et al., in view of Stumbaugh et al., in view of Fernando et al., to provide the reagent in a pre-packaged test tube in order to provide inexpensive and disposable materials as taught by Khan.
Conclusion
/DWAN A GERIDO/Examiner, Art Unit 1797 /LYLE ALEXANDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1797