DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 08/08/2025 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 9-22 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/IB2018/055337 filed on 07/18/2018, which claims domestic priority to provisional application 62/534,751 filed on 07/20/2017.
Claim Interpretation
The term “for use as a” in claims 10-12 are interpreted as an intended use it does not appear to result in a structural difference to the instantly claimed formulation.
The term “formulated as a personal hygiene product” is interpreted as an intended use as it does not appear to result in a structural difference to the instantly claimed formulation. The instant specification recites “the product can be formulated as a personal hygiene product to be applied on the skin, hair, nails and other external tissues to eliminate microbial agents and prevent infections” with no further descriptor of structural differences to the composition or formulation, therefore the formulation as described in claim 1 will constitute a personal hygiene product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9-13, 16, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prevo et al (US Patent Application Publication 20160319160A1).
Prevo teaches the use of sol-gels (Prevo at [0035-0076]), and further teaches that they can include silica, alumina, ceria, molybdenum oxide, titania, zirconia, zinc oxide, iron oxides, including but not limited to magnetite (Fe3O4) and various forms of Fe2O3, niobium oxide, vanadium oxide, tungsten oxide, tin oxide, barium oxide, calcium oxide, magnesium oxide, strontium oxide, phosphorous oxides, mixtures of any of these, or mixed oxides of any two or more of these (Prevo at [0035]). Prevo teaches that the sol-gel may be treated with phosphates (Prevo at [0045]). Prevo teaches the sol-gel may be used in a liquid to form a slurry (Prevo at [0119]).
Prevo differs from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. Prevo teaches the components of the instant recited composition and uses each component of their established function in the art but does not explicitly combine the components together into a single embodiment or a preferred composition. However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Prevo to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I).
Claims 2, 4, 7, 14-15, 17, 19-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prevo et al (US Patent Application Publication 20160319160A1).as applied to claims 1, 5, 10-13, 16, 18, and 21 above, and further in view of Asgari (US Patent Application Publication 20080195170 A1).
The teachings of Prevo are discussed above.
The teachings of Prevo differ from the instant claims insofar as they do not specify the use of copper and palladium as metal ions in a sol-gel.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the iron ions of Prevo with the metal ions iron, copper, and palladium as they are taught to be preferable metals in the use of sol-gels as taught by Asgari. See MPEP 2144.06(I). See MPEP 2143(I).
Asgari teaches the use of sol-gels (Asgari at [0076 -0099]). Asgari teaches the sol/gel forming components in the exemplary embodiment of the process according to the present invention may be selected from alkoxides, oxides, acetates, nitrates of various metals, e.g. silicon, aluminum, boron, magnesium, zirconium, titanium, alkaline metals, alkaline earth metals, or transition metals, preferably from platinum, molybdenum, iridium, tantalum, bismuth, tungsten, vanadium, cobalt, hafnium, niobium, chromium, manganese, rhenium, iron, gold, silver, copper, ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, osmium, lanthanum and lanthanides, as well as combinations thereof. Asgari teaches the sol-gel is a gel that is then cured or dried to form a solid (Asgari at [0076-0078], [0093-0099].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-8, 10, 12-16, and 26 of copending Application No. 16/632,843 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach a nanostructured, biocompatible and biocatalytic irreversible inorganic network gel comprising (i) mixed oxides of silica and titania (TiO2SiO2), (ii) one or more functional groups selected from the group consisting of a sulfate, an amine and a phosphate, and (iii) one or more coordinated metallic atoms selected from the group consisting of copper, silver, gold, iron, ruthenium, rhodium, cobalt, zinc, palladium, manganese, iridium and platinum.
The instant application recites a nanostructured, biocompatible and biocatalytic irreversible inorganic network gel comprising (i) mixed oxides of silica and titania (TiO2-SiO2), (ii) one or more functional groups selected from the group consisting of a polyurethane, a sulfate, an amine and a phosphate, and (iii) one or more coordinated metallic atom selected from the group consisting of copper, silver, gold, iron, ruthenium, rhodium, cobalt, zinc, palladium, manganese, iridium and platinum metals (instant invention at claim 1).
The reference application ‘843 recites a nanostructured, biocompatible and biocatalytic irreversible inorganic network gel comprising (i) mixed oxides of silica and titania (TiO2SiO2), (ii) one or more functional groups selected from the group consisting of a sulfate, an amine and a phosphate, and (iii) one or more coordinated metallic atoms selected from the group consisting of copper, silver, gold, iron, ruthenium, rhodium, cobalt, zinc, palladium, manganese, iridium and platinum (‘843 at claim 6).
The claims are not considered statutory because the reference application teaches a method of treating wounds which is not required by the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting Remarks
Applicant states in the remarks filed 08/08/2025, in view of the submission of the Terminal Disclaimer, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
There is currently no terminal disclaimer filed for reference Application No. 16/632,843 in this case. Since terminal disclaimers have not yet been filed, the non-statutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/MARIANNE C SEIDEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600