Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 1/12/2026. Claims 1-10, 20, 21 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention, in accordance with 37 CFR 1.142(b). Claims 11 and 14 have been amended. Applicant’s arguments have been considered. Claims 11-14, 17-19, 22, 23 are finally rejected for reasons below.
The rejection heading below is corrected to include the reference Chiga (US 2007/0148540), which was applied in the previous rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 17-19, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bomkamp (US 2016/0118690) in view of Chiga (US 2007/0148540) as applied to claim 1, in view of Kim (US 2016/0329601).
Regarding claim 11, a nonaqueous electrolytic solution for a battery, for use in a battery including an aluminum-containing positive electrode current collector [0008; 0078], the nonaqueous electrolytic solution comprising: an electrolyte that includes a compound represented by the following Formula (1); and a nonaqueous solvent including at least one fluorine-containing compound selected from the group consisting of a fluorine-containing carbonate compound and a fluorine-containing ether compound [0013], a concentration of the compound represented by Formula (1) being from 0.1 mol/L to 2.0 mol/L [0032]:
wherein, in Formula (1), each of R1 and R2 independently represents a fluorine atom, a trifluoromethyl group, or a pentafluoroethyl group [0017],
the nonaqueous solvent further includes a fluorine-free cyclic carbonate in an amount of from 10% by mass to lower than 80% by mass with respect to the nonaqueous solvent and a fluorine-free chain carbonate in an amount of from 10% by mass to lower than 80% by mass with respect to the nonaqueous solvent [0047]. For example, Bomkamp discloses a mixture of ethylene carbonate and dimethyl carbonate in a ratio of 1:1, and a fluoro diethyl carbonate in an amount of 25 wt% [0047]. This equals 37.5 wt% a fluorine-free cyclic carbonate and 37.5 wt% a fluorine-free chain carbonate.
Regarding claim 11, the fluorine-free chain carbonate is selected from the group consisting of methyl ethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, methyl propyl carbonate, methyl isopropyl carbonate, ethyl propyl carbonate, dipropyl carbonate, methyl butyl carbonate, ethyl butyl carbonate, dibutyl carbonate, methyl pentyl carbonate, ethyl pentyl carbonate, dipentyl carbonate, methyl heptyl carbonate, ethyl heptyl carbonate, diheptyl carbonate, methyl hexyl carbonate, ethyl hexyl carbonate, dihexyl carbonate, methyl octyl carbonate, ethyl octyl carbonate, dioctyl carbonate, and methyl trifluoroethyl carbonate, Bomkamp discloses the electrolyte solution comprises a non-fluorinated organic carbonate selected from the groups consisting of ethylene carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, propylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, and mixtures thereof, and gives an example of a mixture of ethylene carbonate and dimethyl carbonate in a ratio of 1:1 [0047]. Given a list of five carbonates, the Examiner notes that the small list of carbonate species would allow an ordinary skilled artisan to once envisage ratio of 1:1 of a mixture of ethylene carbonate and dimethyl carbonate, or propylene carbonate and dimethyl carbonate.
Regarding claim 12, in Formula (1), each of R' and R2 independently represents a fluorine atom or a trifluoromethyl group [0021].
Regarding claim 14, the fluorine-containing compound includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by the following Formula (F1) [0053].
Regarding claim 11, Bomkamp discloses an electrolyte that includes a compound represented by the following Formula (1); and a concentration of the compound represented by Formula (1) being from 0.1 mol/L to 2.0 mol/L [0032], but does not disclose the electrolyte includes LiPF6, and a ratio of a number of moles of the compound represented by Formula (1) with respect to a total of the number of moles of the compound represented by Formula (1) and a number of moles of LiPF6 is from more than 0.1 to 0.9, and regarding claim 13, Bomkamp does not disclose the ratio of the number of moles of the compound represented by Formula (1) with respect to a total of the number of moles of the compound represented by Formula (1) and a number of moles of LiPF6 is from more than 0.15 to 0.8. Bomkamp discloses it is an objective of the present invention to provide a means usable for the suppression or prevention of aluminum current collector corrosion resulting from the use of an alkali or an alkaline earth metal sulfonimide or sulfonmethide salt such as LiTMSI as electrolyte salt in a lithium ion battery [0008]. Chiga teaches a lithium secondary battery having an electrolyte mixture of LiPF6 and lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI) [0011]. In the case where an aluminum current collector is used as the positive current collector, the A electrolyte salt if contained acts to form a protective film on the aluminum current collector and prevent dissolution of aluminum. The inclusion of the B electrolyte salt increases an electrical conductivity of the electrolyte [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add LiPF6 to the electrolyte of Bomkamp, as taught by Chiga, for the benefit of preventing corrosion on the aluminum positive electrode current collector.
Regarding claim 11, Bomkamp discloses the fluorine-containing compound includes a compound represented by Formula (F2) [0022], but does not disclose a compound represented by Formula (F3). Kim teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte comprising lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI) and a fluorinated ether compound as electrolyte additives [0009]. The lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide is added in the non-aqueous liquid electrolyte as a lithium salt to form a rigid and thin SEI layer on a negative electrode and to improve output properties at a low temperature. Further, the decomposition of the surface of a positive electrode, which may be possibly generated during performing cycle operation at a high temperature, may be restrained, and the oxidation reaction of the electrolyte may be prevented. In addition, since the SEI coated layer formed on the negative electrode has a thin thickness, the movement of lithium ions at the negative electrode may be performed smoothly, and the output of a secondary battery may be improved [0016].
In a lithium secondary battery, oxygen released from a positive electrode in high temperature environment may promote the exothermic decomposition reaction of an electrolyte solvent and induce the expansion of a battery, so called, swelling phenomenon, to rapidly deteriorate the lifespan and the efficiency of charging and discharging of the battery. In some cases, the battery may be exploded and the stability thereof may be largely deteriorated. Since a fluorine substituent in the fluorinated ether compound added in the electrolyte is a flame retardant component, the generation of a gas due to the decomposition of the electrolyte at a high temperature through the reaction of the electrolyte with the surface of the negative electrode and the positive electrode in the battery may be restrained. In addition, the resistance in a voltage range of the secondary battery may be decreased by using an ether compound that has low viscosity and may increase ionic conductivity. Thus, the lifespan properties of the secondary battery may be improved [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (LiFSI) or a fluorinated ether compound, or both, to the battery of Bomkap modified by Chiga, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of obtaining good low temperature and high temperature properties.
Regarding claim 17, a proportion of the fluorine-containing compound to the nonaqueous solvent is 40% by mass or lower [0031], regarding claim 18, the proportion of the fluorine-containing compound to the nonaqueous solvent is 10% by mass or higher [0031], regarding claim 19, the proportion of the fluorine-containing compound to the nonaqueous solvent is higher than 20% by mass [0031], Bomkap discloses an amount of 25 wt% or 30 wt% of linear carbonate (ethyl (1-fluoroethyl) carbonate [0032]. Kim teaches the amount of the fluorinated ether compound of 5 wt% [0040]. The amount of the fluorine-containing compound of Bomkamp and Kim is 30 wt% or 35 wt%.
Bomkamp modified by Chiga and Kim teaches:
Regarding claim 22, a lithium secondary battery, comprising:
a positive electrode that includes an aluminum-containing positive electrode current collector [0078],
a negative electrode that includes, as a negative electrode active material, at least one selected from the group consisting of metallic lithium, a lithium-containing alloy, a metal or alloy capable of being alloyed with lithium, an oxide capable of doping and dedoping of lithium ions, a transition metal nitride capable of doping and dedoping of lithium ions, and a carbon material capable of doping and dedoping of lithium ions [0081]; and
the nonaqueous electrolytic solution for a battery according to claim 11.
Regarding claim 23, a lithium secondary battery obtained by charging and discharging the lithium secondary battery according to claim 22, it is noted that the battery of Bomkamp is capable of being charged and discharged, and hence meets the limitation of claim 23. It has been held by the courts that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BdPatApp & Inter 1987). See MPEP 2115.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 1/12/2026 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751