DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The status of the 03/03/2025 claims, is as follows: Claims 2, and 5-8 have been amended; Claims 9-20 have been withdrawn; Claims 1, and 21-22 have been canceled; and Claims 2-20 and 23 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 6:
The limitation “a feeding device” in line 8
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“feeding” is the functional language.
The limitation “a softening device” in lines 8-9
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“softening” is the functional language.
The limitation “an attachment device” in lines 11-12
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“attachment” is the functional language.
In claim 7:
The limitation “a sewing device” in line 3
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“sewing” is the functional language.
A review of the specification shows that, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
The limitation “a softening device" in lines 8-9 of claim 6 has been described in the published specification in para. 0041 as the softening device 200; fig. 1 that is configured to heat the heating element. The softening device 200 comprises the body 210 that receives hot air from the heat source 220 and the heating element 121 from the conveying device 120.
The limitation “a sewing device" in line 3 of claim 7 has been described in the published specification para. 0039 as the sewing head 130; fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 6:
The corresponding structure of “a feeding device” in line 8 is not supported in the original disclosure as interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f). Therefore, since the Specification does not clearly identify what the corresponding structure of the “a feeding device” is, there is a presumption that the applicant didn’t possess the invention at the time of filing, i.e. lack of written description.
The corresponding structure of “an attachment device” in lines 11-12 is not supported in the original disclosure as interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f). Therefore, since the Specification does not clearly identify what the corresponding structure of the “an attachment device” is, there is a presumption that the applicant didn’t possess the invention at the time of filing, i.e. lack of written description.
Claims 2-8, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 6:
The claim limitation “a feeding device” in line 8 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as noted above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
In the original specification, “a feeding device” in line 8 is not disclosed structurally. The proper structure must be disclosed in a way that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand what the inventor has identified to perform the recited function.
The claim limitation “an attachment device” in lines 11-12 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as noted above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
In the original specification, “an attachment device” in lines 11-12 is not disclosed structurally. The proper structure must be disclosed in a way that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand what the inventor has identified to perform the recited function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4, 6, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberts (US 20160095369)
Regarding claim 6, Roberts discloses an electrical heating device (heating apparel item 110; figs. 9 and 1) for a vehicle seat cushion (it is noted the limitation “for a vehicle seat cushion” is an intended use statement), the electrical heating device (heating apparel item 110) comprising:
a carrier (support layer 148; fig. 9) (para. 0054); and
an electrical heating element (heating element 125, and protective layer 145) secured on said carrier (“support layer 148 can be applied to the inside surface of the substrate, opposite the heating element application pattern 126, and either before or after application of the liquid protectant material 144 that covers the application pattern”, para. 0054; fig. 9), the electrical heating element comprising a heating wire (heating element 125) and an outer insulating layer (protective layer 145) (para. 0053), the electrical heating element is configured to operate at an operating temperature to generate heat (para. 0002);
wherein the electrical heating element (heating element 125, and protective layer 145) is secured to the carrier of the vehicle seat (support layer 148) (it is noted the limitation “for a vehicle seat cushion” is an intended use statement) (“the support layer 148 can be applied to the outside surface of the substrate after the application and curing of the liquid protectant material 144 to form the insulation layer 145”, para. 0054) in a manner to form one or more bends in the electrical heating element (fig. 1), the one or more bends are not able to be bent into a straight line at a temperature below the operating temperature of the electrical heating element without damaging the heating wire and the outer insulating layer (it is noted the heating element having the zig zag pattern as shown in fig. 1 maintains its shape during normal operation without any external force. Para. 0053 of Roberts discloses the substrate 124 having the heating elements with zig zag patterns is impregnated with liquid protect tant material 144 and goes through the curing process. Therefore, the heating element maintains its shape after the curing process. According to MPEP 2114, “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. In this case, Roberts discloses the heating element having the zig zag shape as shown in fig. 1 and it maintains the shape at its normal operating temperature and without any external force).
Regarding the limitation “wherein before the electrical heating element is secured on the carrier of the vehicle seat cushion, the electrical heating element is conveyed from a feeding device through a softening device where the electrical heating element is subjected to hot air at a temperature greater than the operating temperature of the electrical heating element to warm the electrical heating element, the warmed electrical heating element is then continuously conveyed from the softening device to an attachment device where the warmed electrical heating element is secured to the carrier of the vehicle seat”, the limitation is directed to a product-by-process limitation, i.e. the electrical heating element is produced by conveying from the feeding device through the softening device where the electrical heating element is subjected to hot air, and the warmed electrical heating element is then continuously conveyed from the softening device to an attachment device where the warmed heating element is secured to the carrier. Based on the based on MPEP 2113, the claim is not to be limited by the manipulation of the recited step(s) i.e. conveying from the feeding device through the softening device…the warmed electrical heating element is then continuously conveyed from the softening device to an attachment device where the warmed heating element is secured to the carrier. It is the Examiner’s position that Roberts discloses the resulting structure (i.e. heating element having the one or more bends secured to the carrier as shown in fig. 1) implied by the claimed process.
Regarding claim 4, Roberts discloses the electrical heating element (heating apparel item 110), wherein the outer insulating layer (insulation layer 145; fig. 9) is made of a polymeric material (polymers) (“protective materials including various polymers, plastics, a liquid silicone, or the like”, para. 0052).
Regarding claim 23, Roberts discloses the electrical heating element (heating apparel item 110), wherein the electrical heating element is shape cured at room temperature (para. 0009 and 0053-0054) (para. 0053 of Roberts discloses the substrate 124 having the heating elements with zig zag patterns is impregnated with liquid protect tant material 144 and goes through the curing process. Therefore, the heating element maintains its shape at room temperature after the curing process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts (US 20160095369)
Regarding Claim 2, Roberts discloses the electrical heating element (heating apparel item 110), wherein the bending has a bending radius (“looped heating element application pattern similar to those depicted in Figs. 1-2”, para. 0053).
Roberts does not disclose the bending radius of not greater than 6 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the bending radius of not greater than 6 mm is merely design choice. The specification of the instant application does not explain why having the bending radius of not greater than 6 mm is critical or solve any problem in the art. The hooped heating element of Roberts having the bending radius would work equally well, in order to achieve heating output according to desired heating application. The motivation for modifying the bending radius of not greater than 6 is to improve the heating capabilities of the heating element i.e. it would have created denser or more densified heating pattern for higher or more heat distribution.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts (US 20160095369) in view of LaFontaine (US 8133264)
Regarding Claim 3, Roberts discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the electrical heating element has an outer diameter of less than 1.5 mm.
However, LaFontaine discloses a heating wire 28 having an outer diameter of less than 1.5 mm (diameter from 0.008 to 0.010) (col. 3, lines 12-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating wire of Roberts such that it has the outer diameter of less than 1.5 mm as taught by LaFontaine because the heating wire having the outer diameter of less than 1.5 mm is better or more suited for its intended application over some wire having larger diameter i.e. it could be easier to bend to form the heating pattern.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts (US 20160095369) in view of Augustine (US 20150366367)
Regarding Claim 5, Roberts discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the electrical heating element has an operating temperature of not greater than 150 °C and the one or more bends not able to be bent into a straight line at said operating temperature without damaging the outer insulating layer or the electrical heating wire.
However, Augustine discloses a heating wire (heating element 310) has an operating temperature of not greater than 150 °C (approximately 43 °C) (para. 0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating wire of Roberts to have the operating temperature of not greater than 150 °C as taught by Augustine, in order to provide optimal heat to the user without excessive heat that can be bothersome to the user (para. 0109 of Augustine).
Regarding the limitation “the one or more bends are not able to be bent into a straight line at said operating temperature without damaging said outer insulating layer or said electrical heating wire.”, it is noted that it is a functional limitation. The heating elements of Roberts having the looped pattern as shown in figs. 1-2 maintain such pattern under normal operation of the heating element. They can not be unbent or bent into the straight line at the operating temperature i.e. approximately 43 °C without an outside force. According to MPEP 2114, “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. In this case, Roberts discloses the heating element having the zig zag shape as shown in fig. 1 and it maintains the shape at its normal operating temperature and without any external force).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts (US 20160095369) in view of Bajic (US 20170071031)
Regarding Claim 7, Roberts discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, wherein the one or more bends of the electrical heating element (heating element 125, and protective layer 145) are secured on the carrier (support layer 148; fig. 9) (para. 0054) (it is noted heating element 125 and layer 145 are attached to the support layer 148).
Roberts does not disclose the one or more bends of the electrical heating element are secured on the carrier by sewing with threads via a sewing device.
However, Bajic discloses the one or more bends of the electrical heating element (formed heating wire 112) are secured on the carrier (substrate 114) by sewing with threads (sewing thread 116) via a sewing device (sewing head 130) (para. 0025-0026; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating device of Roberts such that the electrical heating element is secured on the carrier by sewing with threads as taught by Bajic, in order to secure the heating element on the carrier that is made of fabric by means of stitching because stitching is well-known to attach the heating element to the fabric via stitching.
Regarding claim 8, the modification discloses the electrical heating device (fig. 9 of Roberts), wherein said threads (threads of Bajic) for securing the one or more bends of the electrical heating element (heating element 125 of Roberts) have a stitch length.
The modification does not disclose the threads have a stitch length of not greater than 2 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the threads having the stitch length of not greater than 2 mm is merely design choice. The specification of the instant application does not explain why having the stitch length of not greater than 2 mm is critical or solve any problem in the art. The modification of Roberts and Bajic that results in the heating element of Roberts is secured onto the carrier by means of stitching of Bajic would work equally well as the claimed invention, in order to secure the heating elements onto the carrier or substrate.
Response to Amendment
With respect to 112b rejections: since amendment made to claim 6, therefore the 112b rejections are withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are respectfully considered moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/SANG Y PAIK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761