DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 8, 13, 19-20 and 26-37 are pending. Claims 8 and 26-37 are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon applications filed in Korea on 02/02/2018 and 01/29/2019.
The claim for priority cannot be based on application filed in Korea on 02/02/2018 because the limitation of independent claim 1 specifically require C69T and G100V, which are not disclosed in the priority application, but are disclosed in the application filed on 01/29/2019. Thus, the instant application effective filing date is considered as 01/29/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreiber (US 2017/0095531 A1, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 04/25/2025) in view of Giaccia (WO 2016164428, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 12/13/2023), Betts (Bioinformatics for geneticists (2003): 289-316, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 12/13/2023, hereinafter “Betts”), University of Arizona (University of Arizona, The Biology Project, www.biology.arizona.edu/biochemistry/problem_sets/aa/isoleusine.html, 2003, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 12/13/2023), and Li (Cancer Science 109.8 (2018): 2435-2445, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 11/21/2024), and as evidenced by Appendix B (Protein alignment of reference SEQ ID NO:32 of Giaccia and instant SEQ ID NO 61, 2025, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 04/25/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Schreiber teaches CD279 variant (i.e., PD-1 variant) having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 32 (column 121 first row). Appendix B shows SEQ ID NO: 32 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO 61.
Schreiber does not teach the PD-1 variant has C69T, F13I, M46I, and G100V substitutions.
However, Giaccia teaches a modified human PD-1 fragment with one or more mutations selected from a group of residues including C93S, F37L, M70I, N49S, N116S, and G124S enumerated according to amino acid sequence of full-length WT PD-1 (i.e., C69S, F13L, M46I, N25S, N92S, and G100S respectively) ([0008], [0011], Tables 1 and 2). Giaccia teaches these amino acid modifications can be used to alter properties of PD-1, affecting its binding activity and/or specificity to PD-L1 ([0107], FIG. 4). See below for alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 61 and WT PD-1. Wildtype residues and positions F13, N25, M46, C69, N92 and G100 are highlighted.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PD-1 variant taught by Schreiber by mutating one or more of the amino acids at positions 13, 46, 69 and 100 to F13L, M46I, C69S and G100S, and combining different substitutions, as suggested by Giaccia. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to select a variant with increased binding affinity to PD-L1. Since Giaccia teaches a desire to improve binding affinity of PD-1 variant to PD-L1, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Schreiber and Giaccia do not teach C69T, F13I and G100V mutations.
However, Betts teaches serine can be substituted by other polar or small amino acids, in particular, threonine (para. “14.5.16.1 Substitutions”).
University of Arizona teaches isoleucine is interchangeable with leucine (page 1 para.1).
Li teaches PD-1 variant with G124V substitution (Figure 4). Li teaches this mutation played major roles in enhancing the affinity of PD‐1 binding to its ligands (Abstract, page 2439 right column para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the PD-1 sequence taught by Schreiber by substituting threonine (T) as suggested by Betts for the serine (S) at position 69, substituting isoleucine (I) as suggested by University of Arizona for the Leucine (L) at position 13, and substituting valine (V) as suggested by Li for the glycine (G) at position 100. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to increase the affinity of the variant to PD-L1. Since Giaccia and Li teach a desire to form an improved PD-1 variant and Betts and University of Arizona teach safe substitution of serine to threonine and leucine to isoleucine, respectively, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Giaccia teaches the PD-1 variant polypeptides also includes one or more modifications such as modifications of glycosylation by exposing the polypeptide to enzymes which affect glycosylation, such deglycosylating enzymes (i.e., aglycosylated) ([0118]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to form an aglycosylated PD-1 variant in order to improve the physicochemical properties of the protein.
Regarding claims 19-20, Giaccia teaches the PD-1 variant is contained in a pharmaceutical composition ([0155]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to treat cancer as suggested by Giaccia (Abstract). Claim 20’s recitation “for preventing or treating a cancer disease or an infectious disease” is a recitation of intended use and is not considered to contribute to the patentability of the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4 and 15 of copending Application No. 17/923,472. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over the copending claims.
Regarding instant claim 1, reference claim 1 recites programmed cell death protein-1 (PD-1) variant having increased binding ability to programmed death-ligand 1 (PD-L1), the PD-1 variant comprising amino acid substitutions of F13I, M46I, C69T and G100V in amino acids of wild-type PD-1 of SEQ ID NO: 1. Copending claim 2 recites the PD-1 variant having increased binding ability to PD-L1 of claim 1, comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2. Co-pending SEQ ID NO: 1 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 61, co-pending SEQ ID NO: 2 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 61 with substitutions C69T, F13I, M46I, and G100V .
Regarding instant claim 13, reference claim 4 recites wherein the variant is an aglycosylated variant.
Regarding instant claims 19-20, reference claim 15 recites a pharmaceutical composition for treating or preventing cancer, the pharmaceutical composition comprising a programmed cell death protein-1 (PD-1)variant having increased binding ability to programmed death-ligand1 (PD-L1), the PD-1variant comprising amino acid substitutions of F13I, M46I, C69T and G100V in amino acids of wild-type PD-1 of SEQ ID NO: 1
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claimed PD-1 variant consists of the amino sequence of SEQ ID NO: 61 but has the associated mutations and is thus a homoprotein and argues Schreiber does not teach or suggest CD279 alone or in isolation for further modification via amino acid mutations but rather heterologous chimeric protein constructs of which CD279 can be one component.
In response to the argument, Schreiber teaches amino acid sequence of PD-1 consisting of SEQ ID NO: 32, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 61. Schreiber teaches the protein can be fused to other proteins. However, this teaching does not obliterate that Schreiber teaches amino acid sequence of PD-1 consisting of SEQ ID NO: 32. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and have reasonable expectation of success, to mutate the PD-1 variant taught by Schreiber in SEQ ID NO: 32 in order to increase its binding affinity to PD-L1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Schreiber’s PD-1 by mutating one or more of the amino acid residues taught in Giaccia and Li in order to increase the binding affinity of the protein to PD-L1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine different substitutions from the teachings of Giaccia in order to select a variant with increased binding affinity. Since the prior art Schreiber teaches the instant SEQ ID NO 61 and Giaccia teaches the residues in the protein involved in increasing the bind affinity of the protein to PD-L1, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant argues that the provisional double patenting rejection should be withdrawn because the application under examination has the earlier patent term filing date.
The instant claims are obvious in view of the prior art as discussed above. Thus, the NSDP rejection of record has been maintained.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mayer et al. (Journal of Nuclear Medicine 58.4 (2017): 538-546) teach a PD-1 variant with N49D mutation (i.e., N25D of instant SEQ ID NO 61) and teaches mutating this glycosylation site to aspartic acid to form aglycosylated variant (page 539 para. “Synthesis of Immuno-PET Binders”).
Conclusion
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/MARY A CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1657