Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 and 19-31 are pending as of the response and amendments filed on 7/29/25. Claims 22, 24, 26, and 31 are currently withdrawn from examination due to the species election requirement. Claims 1-17, 19-21, 23, 25, and 27-30 are currently under examination.
The 103 rejections of record over Binch in view of Heron and Shackney; over Binch in view of Yu; over Binch in view of Anderson; and over Binch in view of Farrell are withdrawn in consideration of the amended claims.
In view of the amended claims, search and examination have been extended to additional species encompassed by the claims. A new 103 rejection is made over the amended claims, discussed below.
Claims 1-17, 19-21, 23, 25, and 27-30 were examined. Claim(s) 1-4, 10-17, and 19-21 are rejected. Claims 5-9, 23 and 25 are objected to. Claims 27-30 are allowed.
Claim Rejections-35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berdini et. al., US 20100004232 A1, publ. 1/7/2010.
Berdini teaches pharmaceutical compounds having activity for the treatment of diseases or conditions mediated by a variety of kinases (title & abstract). Berdini exemplifies the compound 1-cyclopropyl-3-[3-(5-morpholin-4-ylmethyl-1H-benzoimidazol-2-yl)-1H-pyrazol-4-yl]-urea and its salts (para [0001], [0453], [0722]), and teaches the lactate and citrate salts of this compound as inhibitors of Aurora A and Aurora B kinases (para [0870]):
. This compound is identical to 1-cyclopropyl-3-[(3Z)-3-[5-(morpholin-4-ylmethyl)benzimidazole-2-ylidene]-1,2-dihydropyrazol-4-yl]urea as recited by claim 1. Berdini further teaches the compound to be useful for the treatment of conditions such as idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis and systemic fibrosis (para [0907]). Berdini teaches the compound as described above in a pharmaceutical composition with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, excipients, etc. (para [1042]), and that pharmaceutical compositions comprise from about 1 to 95% of the compound as an active ingredient (para [1072]). Berdini teaches the compositions can be administered via different routes, including orally, topically, parenterally, rectally, and by inhalation, including via powder compositions and in aerosol devices (para [1073-1077]). Berdini teaches the amount of compound to be administered to typically range from 100 picograms to 100 mg/kg of body weight (para [1086]), to a human or animal patient (para [1083]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claims to have treated pulmonary fibrosis or systemic fibrosis, in particular idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis consisting of administering a composition consisting essentially of the AURKB and AURKA inhibitor, 1-cyclopropyl-3-[(3Z)-3-[5-(morpholin-4-ylmethyl)benzimidazole-2-ylidene]-1,2-dihydropyrazol-4-yl]urea, in consideration of the teachings of Berdini. Berdini exemplifies this compound for the treatment of numerous conditions, including idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and doesn’t teach combination therapy is needed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed method based on Berdini, and have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the limitations of claim 2, this is a property of the compound, and would have been present upon administration of the compound for treatment of pulmonary fibrosis. See MPEP 2141.02: In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391, 137 USPQ 43, 51 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable."
Claim Objections
Claims 5-9, 23, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
Claims 1-17, 19-21, 23, 25, and 27-30 were examined. Claim(s) 1-4, 10-17, and 19-21 are rejected. Claims 5-9, 23, and 25 are objected to. Claims 27-30 are allowed.
SARAH . PIHONAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627