DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 14--16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2007/0202243 (ARENZ).
Claims 1, 2 and 18-19
Arenz et al. teach a liquid isomalt composition comprising glycosylated isomalt components in weight ratios as shown in the Table below:
Additionally, 1-O-alpha-D-glucopyranosyl-D-mannitol (1,1-GPM), 6-O-alpha-D-glucopyranosyl-D-sorbitol (1,6-GPS), (and 1-O-alpha-D-glucopyranosyl-D-sorbitol (1,1-GPS)are added (see [0032])
It is also taught that sorbitol and mannitol can be added (see claims 34 and 35 of ARENZ).
The isomalt compositions of Arenz et al. are considered to be liquid isomalt
compositions, as Arenz et al. teach the sweetener compositions are heated in water to
form hard candies [0072].
As to the ratios of 1,1-GPM, 1,6-GPS, 1,1-GPS, sorbitol and mannitol, ARENZ establishes that the sweeteners are known can be used to produce hard candies. In [0015], the hard candies in accordance with the invention are surprisingly distinguished in the matter of organoleptics experienced as attractive by the consumer by a considerably reduced tendency to recrystallization than known hard candies, specifically than hard candies made from isomalt. Their storage stability is considerably improved, particularly compared with isomalt hard candies. The formation of crystalline areas on the surface of the hard candies as well as opaque zones inside the hard candies is largely or entirely prevented under the invention, or it does not occur until considerably later.
It is noted that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the amount of sweetener based on the desired sweetness and attributes of the desired resulting product such as the storage stability.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
Regarding claim 3, Samples MS 222/4 and MS 222/10 of Arenz et al. contain amounts of 6’-glucosyl-1,1-GPM falling within the claimed range as shown in the table above.
Regarding claim 4, Samples MS 222/4 and MS 222/10 of Arenz et al. contain amounts of 6’-glucosyl-1,6-GPS falling within the claimed range as shown in the table above.
Regarding claim 5, Samples MS 222/4 and MS 222/10 of Arenz et al. contain amounts of 1-glucosyl-1,6-GPS falling within the claimed range as shown in the table above.
Regarding claim 6, Samples MS 222/4 and MS 222/10 of Arenz et al. contain amounts of 6-glucosyl-1,6-GPM falling within the claimed range as shown in the table above.
Regarding claim 7, MS 222/10 at Table 18 of Arenz et al. contains a total of 91.2% 1,6-GPS and 1,1-GPM, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, MS 222/10 at Table 18 of Arenz et al. contains 0.04% deoxydisaccharide alcohols, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, MS 222/10 at Table 18 of Arenz et al. contains 0.30 % glucosylglycitols, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Arenz et al. teach their liquid compositions are provided as an aqueous solution or suspension, and evaporated to a water content of less than 5% by weight [0034]. Therefore, the liquid compositions have dry matter content of at 10 to 50 wt. % as claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Arenz et al. teach hard candies, a food, comprising the liquid isomalt composition [0085].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arenz et al. (US 2007/0202243) in view of Barkalow et al. (US 2007/0184149).
Arenz et al. teach a liquid isomalt composition as detailed above with regard to claim 1.
Arenz et al. teach their compositions can be used as coatings [0037], but are silent as to the isomalt composition being included in chewing gum coatings.
Barkalow et al. teach a chewing gum coating comprising isomalt (Tables 1-2). Therefore, where Arenz et al. teach their composition as suitable to provide a coating composition, it would have been obvious to have utilized the liquid isomalt composition of Arenz et al. to coat the chewing gum of Barkalow et al. as Arenz et al. teach their composition as a coating composition. This would have required no more than routine experimentation, and would have been expected to provide the predictable result of a chewing gum with a stable isomalt coating.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/25/2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that none of the examples provided by ARENZ meet all of the requirements of the claims. Applicant provides the following table:
However, this does not take the overall teachings of ARENZ into consideration and the applicant does not establish any criticality for the claimed ingredients and amounts.
The applicant argues that ARENZ teaches a higher 1,1-GPM and a lower 1,6-GPS than claimed. However, ARENZ establishes that the sweeteners are known can be used to produce hard candies. In [0015], the hard candies in accordance with the invention are surprisingly distinguished in the matter of organoleptics experienced as attractive by the consumer by a considerably reduced tendency to recrystallization than known hard candies, specifically than hard candies made from isomalt. For example, hard candies are able to melt in the mouth providing the consumer a pleasant sensory feeling. Having high contents, for example of 1,1 GPM content above 70% by weight, is avoided. Compared with hard candies having high contents of 1,1 GPM, the hard candies of ARENZ are specifically characterized by an improved taste sensation along with at least equivalent storage stability. Thus, ARENZ does teach lower amounts of 1,1 GPM [0015]. Moreover, ARENZ also teaches that 1,1 GPS can be added to hard candies with the 1,1 – GPM [0024] and [0032]. The higher amounts higher amounts of 1,1-GPM and lower amounts of 1,6-GPS are merely preferred embodiments or those set forth in the Examples (e.g. see [0033]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add 1,1 -GPM and 1,1-GPS together and vary the amount of each sweetener based on the desired attributes of the product (i.e., sensory properties and storage stability)
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791