Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 48-58,61-66,69-72 are amended and claims 59-60,67-68 are cancelled. Claims 48-58,61-66,69-72 are pending.
The previous 112 first paragraph rejection is withdrawn due to the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48-58,61-66,69-72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charrak ( 2017/0150730) in view of Westley ( 2018/0110243), Karcher et al ( ES2585890) and Tutelyan et al ( RU2611142)
For claims 48, 62, 69, Charrak discloses flour mix comprising flour from one or more shell fruits and/oil seed of non-legumes, at least 5%, e.g in the range of 5-40% psyllium powder, protein component in amount of at least 4% ( e g 4-40%) and other components such as other dietary fibers, plant protein isolate and baking aid in amounts not exceeding 50% such as in the range of 2-50%. Examples of baking aids are salt, baking agents, flavoring agents, sweeteners, release agents and preservatives. Examples of fibers in apple fibers, oat fiber, pea fiber, potato fiber, almond fiber, et.. as set for in paragraph 0091. Examples of protein include pea protein, chia seed protein and/or hemp protein. Charrak discloses the mix is low in carbohydrate comprising less than 15% utilizable carbohydrate. Charrak discloses the flour mix comprises protein in amount of 4-40%. For claims 48, 54, 57, the mix comprises a maximum of 10% stabilizers such as malic acid, pectins, xanthan , tara gum etc.. as shown in paragraph 0092. For claims 50-51,70, the flour includes coconut flour and oat flour. For claim 55, the fiber includes inulin. The mix comprises baking agent such as gas forming component as shown in paragraph 0090. For claim 61, the fiber includes pea fiber. For claim 63, the mix comprises flax meal. For claim 64, the fiber includes oat fiber. For claim 66, the flour includes coconut flour. Charrak discloses adding sugar alcohol as shown in paragraph 0093. ( see paragraphs 0033-0039,0052-0059,0072,0084-0087,0090-0093)
Charrak does not discloses the specific ranges of gum, pea protein and plant fiber, a fiber content as in claim 48, the addition of cauliflower and cabbage flour in the amounts as in claims 49, 51, the amount of coconut flour as in claim 50, the amount of oat flour as in claim 52, the tapioca flour in the amount as in claim 53, the amounts of inulin, sugar alcohol, starch, baking soda as in claims 55-58, amount of pea protein and pea fiber, total fiber as in claim 62, amounts of flax seed, oat fiber, unripe plantain flour, coconut flour as in claims 63-66, the pea protein, pea fiber, baking powder and salt as in claim 69 and the amounts as in claims 70-72.
Westley discloses gluten flour mixture comprising oat flour and one or more flour including vegetable flour, other flours and gum for binding. The gum is used in amount of from about .01-2%. The mixture also comprises native starch pregelatinized. Examples of gluten free ingredients includes tapioca, chickpea flour etc.. ( see paragraph 0007,0012,0037)
Karcher discloses gluten-free composition for bread product or the like. The composition comprises from about 4-27% legume flour derived from one or more of chickpeas, lentils, dried peas, dried beans etc..( see entire reference)
Tutelyan discloses dietary bread including gluten-free legume bread containing chickpea flour and lentil flour. Tutelyan teaches by varying the number of mixtures, creating different compositions, dietary bread can be made to get diverse assortment of taste preferences and at the same time being gluten-free. ( see entire reference)
With respect to the transitional language “ consisting essentially of”, the transitional phrase "consisting essentially of" limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps "and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)" of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976). For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising." The limitation of “ free of egg” does not define over Charrak. Charrak discloses in paragraph 0080 “ protein components according to the invention are egg products, whey protein and milk protein”. Thus, Charrak discloses embodiment in which the dough is free of egg because the protein selected can be whey or milk protein.
With respect to the psyllium amount, claim 48 recites approximately 4%; approximately is the same as “ about” which means the amount is not exactly 4% but can be a little higher than 4%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Charrak discloses a composition for low gluten, low carbohydrate baked goods. As shown in Karcher and Tutelyan, legume flours such as chickpea flour and lentil flour are known to use to make different, diverse baked products that are gluten-free. Charrak discloses in paragraph 0084 that additional edible plant components including legumes can be added. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add chickpea or lentil or combination of both when the taste and flavor of legumes are wanted. It would have been an obvious matter of taste preference. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to determine the amount depending on the taste and flavor desired. One skilled in the art can follow the guideline of Karcher and determine the amount through routine experimentation to obtain the most optimum product. As shown in Westley, different combination of flour can be used to form gluten-free mixture. It would have been obvious to add vegetable flour as shown in Westley in the Charrak composition when wanting the nutrition, taste and flavor of vegetable. The type of vegetable flour including cauliflower and cabbage selected would have been an obvious matter of choice depending on the taste and flavor desired. It would also have been obvious to use tapioca and starch as an obvious matter of using known ingredients for the purpose of forming known gluten-free flour mix. As to the amounts of the component, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to determine the amounts depending on the taste, flavor, the product to be made, the texture desired. Determining the optimum amounts can readily be done through routine experimentation with different ranges to find the most optimum product. Baking soda and baking powder are well-known leavening agents. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use baking soda and baking powder as using known alternative ingredients to perform the same function. It would have been obvious to vary the fiber content depending on the nutrition profile desired. Such parameter can readily be determined by one skilled in the art. As shown in the examples in Charrak, the water content of the dough can vary. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the appropriate water content depending on the type of dough. Such parameter can readily be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art. The amount of protein and fiber can vary; thus, it’s obvious the combined amount of protein and fiber can vary.
Attention is invited to In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232 and the cases cited therein, which are considered in point in the fact situation of the instant case, and wherein the Court stated on page 234 as follows:
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention, merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In re Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the response, applicant states that Charrak requires animal protein and identifies egg as the preferred animal protein. Applicant argues that removing Charrak’s required animal-protein component and in particular egg would eliminate the very component Charrak teaches to achieve an acceptable product. This argument is not persuasive. There is no position taken to exclude the animal protein disclosed in Charrak. While Charrak discloses that egg is the preferred protein, Charrak also discloses that the protein can be whey and milk protein. These proteins are explicitly disclosed in paragraphs 0080, 0082. Charrak discloses embodiment that is free of egg because the protein selected can be whey or milk. The claims do not exclude whey or milk protein.
Applicant further argues that the declaration establishes that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect a dough that is gluten free and egg free , yet very high in fiber and elevated in plant protein to be weak, crumbly, poor at gas retention and shaping. This argument is not persuasive. The declaration does not have any comparative showing of any particular composition. The Charrak product contain high amount of protein and many of the ingredients disclosed in Charrak contain fiber. Charrak also discloses other components such as other dietary fibers, plant protein isolate and baking aid in amounts not exceeding 50% such as in the range of 2-50% can be added. Thus, the amount of fiber selected to be added can vary and can include high amount. The particular amount selected would have been an obvious matter of choice depending on the fiber content wanted in the product. The dough in Charrak is workable because it’s formed into baked products including bread. While Charrak discloses that egg is preferred, whey and milk protein can be used. The dough of Charrak is not restricted to only egg protein.
The Tetrick reference is no longer used in the rejection. All other secondary references are used to specific teaching and applicant does not argue the position taken.
The affidavits submitted are not persuasive. While applicant submitted two affidavits, they have the same content. The affidavits are addressed at one.
The purpose of the declaration is unclear. The declaration does not contain comparative showing to establish or show unexpected result. Pages 2-4 discuss the support for the written description. The discussion is no longer relevant because the 112 first paragraph rejection is withdrawn due to the amendment. Pages 4-5 states technical context and comparison to Charrak. However, the pages only give discussion. There is no comparative testing to show criticality or unexpected result over Charrak. Paragraph 16 on page 5 states the totals exhibit A-1 are provided for technical context and comparison only. They are not recited in the claims and are claimed as numerical limitations. If the showing is not related to the claims, it’s not commensurate in scope of the claims and is not considered as valid or persuasive.
Paragraphs 16-20 discuss different challenge of forming the claimed formulation. However, the paragraphs do not have any showing to demonstrate criticality or unexpected result. For instance, paragraph 6 states that a higher level of psyllium above 4% results in rubber-like texture of the extruded product whereas lower level of psyllium below 4% resulted in pool stability. However, the paragraph does not show any comparative testing of different amounts of psyllium. A conclusion does not equate to factual evidence. There is no evidence for one of ordinary skill in the art to reach the conclusion that higher than 4% psyllium is detrimental. There is no showing of criticality for the amount of 4% psyllium. Applicant’s claim 62 claims psyllium powder of approximately 5-10% which is higher than 4%.
The exhibit gives some trials run. But, there is no showing what were being tested and the results. It’s not clear what the exhibit aims to demonstrate. The pages of the exhibit are also not legible.
Conclusion
September 26, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793