DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kelly (US Pub. No. 2002/0156141).
Claims 39 and 41: Kelly teaches a hydrophobic foam material (abstract) made of the reaction product of a hydrophobic polyol [0008, PO/EO polyether polyols are hydrophobic as they have a greater percentage of PO which controls the hydrophobicity, see 0027], a hydrophobic surfactant including polysiloxane-polyalkylene oxide [0036-0037], and an isocyanate including toluene diisocyanate (TDI) or MDI [0033]. Given that the hydrophobic surfactant is the same as claimed, it is inherent it is configured to “lower surface teansion…mining operation” as claimed. Kelly teaches that these three materials combined formed open cell foam structure [0032]. There is no coating.
Kelly does not teach the cellular density. However, the cellular density in foam materials is a result effective variable that varies based on the proportions and structure of the reaction materials. Kelly teaches that the foams have some air flow and density [0046]. This means that there is at least some number of pores per square inch. It was within the routine skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine the optimal number of pores per inch. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Kelly does not teach explicitly that the solid-phase body has the intended use of “attracting a mineral particle of interest, including copper, from ore in an aqueous slurry in a mining operation to the collection surfaces”. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case, the materials are the same and, therefore, will function the same the same materials must have the same properties. Further, the Courts have held that it is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114).
Claims 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (US Pub. No. 2002/0156141) as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of CN108192054B.
Claims40: Kelly does not teach the use of phenolic resin in their foam.
‘054B teaches that phenolic resin polyol in polyurethane foam materials improves performance of the material, is light weight, allows for high strength, and can completely or partially replace polyether (polyester) polyol. The substitution or supplementation of phenolic resin polyol in place of the polyester polyol reduces the cost of the material (Description).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to include phenolic resin polyol to adjust the strength and temperature stability of the foam and also reduce the cost of forming the polyurethane foam.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/20260have been fully considered but they are moot over grounds of new rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773