DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Examiner’s Note
Applicant’s arguments filed on October 14th, 2025 have been considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of Yoneda’12 in view of Yoneda’16, as set forth in the pervious Office Action, has been withdrawn. New grounds of rejection over the prior art cited below are set forth.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Status
In response to the communications filed on October 14th, 2025:
Claims 1-13 are pending in the current application. Claim 8 has been withdrawn.
Prior Art
Yoneda EP2290728 (“Yoneda”)
Yamagami EP2911215 (“Yamagami”)
Previously cited Fukugawa EP2355205 (“Fukugawa”)
Previously cited Paolazzi US PG Publication 2011/0236740 (“Paolazzi”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda EP2290728 (machine translation provided) in view of Yamagami EP2911215 (machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoneda discloses a battery pack ([0001], entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising:
many rechargeable batteries 1 (a plurality of secondary battery cells) ([0001], [0021]-[0023]) connected to each other in series and in parallel ([0025]);
a battery holder 2 that holds the plurality of secondary battery cells 1 ([0022]-[0023]);
a circuit board 5 (circuit substrate) connected to the plurality of secondary battery cells 1 ([0022], [0026]); and
a battery case 3 (outer case) that houses the battery holder 2 inside ([0008]-[0009]),
wherein the battery holder 2 is divided into a pair of holder units 2A (plurality of divided holders ([0030]),
each of the plurality of divided holders 2A forms a fitting structure for fitting the plurality of divided holders 2A to each other at a joint interface by a combination of connecting bosses 23X and set screws 19 where the plurality of divided holders 2A are fitted to each other by the fitting structure of the plurality of divided holders 2A ([0015]-[0016], [0036]),
the battery holder 2 forms a circuit board mounting section 27 (substrate holding area) that holds the circuit substrate 5 with the circuit substrate 5 surrounded by side walls formed by alignment ribs 28, wherein the alignment ribs 28 are incorporated into the battery holder 2, in a state where the plurality of divided holders are coupled to each other by the fitting structure ([0038]),
the plurality of divided holders 2A includes a first divided holder and a second divided holder to form a pair adjacent to each other separated only by flow gaps 24 ([0015]-[0016], [0038]),
the first divided holder has a first edge along a top surface including connecting bosses 29 thereof exposed in the substrate holding area 27 ([0038]),
the second divided holder has a second edge along a top surface including connecting bosses 29 thereof exposed in the substrate holding area 27 ([0038]),
the first edge and the second edge extend along an entire length of the substrate holding area 27 ([0038]),
a surface of the circuit substrate 5 is covered with a potting resin 7 in the substrate holding area 27 (wherein the potting resin 7 fills the battery case 3 which comprises the circuit board 5 within the substrate holding area) ([0050]),
wherein the first edge and the second edge are directly adjacent to the circuit substrate 5 (which meets the claim limitation of at least one of the circuit substrate and the potting resin) disposed in the substrate holding area 27 ([0058]).
Annotated Figure 12 of Yoneda
Annotated Figure 13 of Yoneda
Yoneda fails to disclose wherein the first edge and the second edge directly contact each other along the entire length of the substrate holding area.
However, Yamagami discloses a battery pack ([0008], entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising battery holder members 12, 13 in which a plurality of battery cells 3 are disposed ([0054]).
Yamagami teaches coupling the battery holder members 12,13 such that the peripheral edges of battery holder members 12, 13 are contacting each other to stably hold each of the battery cells 3 of the cell assembly and the circuit unit 20 disposed on top of the surface 11 of battery holder members 12, 13 together and in place ([0056]-[0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of Yoneda such that the first edge and the second edge directly contact each other along the entire length of the substrate holding area that corresponds to the peripheral edges of the divided holders in order to stably hold each of the battery cells and the circuit substrate disposed along the surface of the first and second edges of the divided holders exposed in the substrate holding area together and in place, as taught by Yamagami.
Regarding Claim 6, Yoneda in view of Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1, and Yoneda discloses wherein the substrate holding area 27 is formed in a rectangular shape in a plan view, and the joint interface between the plurality of divided holders 2A is located along a longitudinal direction of the rectangular shape (Figs. 12-13, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yoneda in view of Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1, and Yoneda discloses wherein the battery holder 2 is divided into two parts, consisting of divided holders 2A, at substantially a center (Figs. 9-13, [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding Claim 11, Yoneda in view of Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1, and Yoneda discloses wherein the side walls of the battery holder 2 directly connect to sides of the circuit substrate 5 (the circuit board 5 is disposed inside the alignment ribs 28 and the alignment ribs 28 are incorporated with the battery holder 2) ([0038]).
Regarding Claim 12, Yoneda in view of Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1, and Yoneda discloses wherein the joint interface between the first divided holder 2A and the second divided holder 2A is formed in a substantially U-shape in cross section, and the fitting structure is formed in a substantially U-shape along the joint interface (Figs. 12-13, [0027], [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding Claim 13, Yoneda in view of Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1, and Yoneda discloses wherein the fitting structure includes: connecting bosses 23X (a groove portion) that is formed at the joint interface of the first divided holder 2A, and set screws 19 (an insertion portion) that is formed on the joint interface of the second divided holder 2A and press-fitted by screwing into the groove portion 23X ([0015]-[0016], [0036]),
wherein the groove portion 23X is formed between a pair of sandwiching portions (i.e. the combination of the two divided holders 2A) that are separated from each other at a constant interval on the joint interface of the first divided holder (i.e. the space that forms the gap 24) ([0015]-[0016], [0031]).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda EP2290728 in view of Yamagami EP2911215, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Fukugawa EP2355205 (machine translation provided in a previous Office Action).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoneda in view of Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1, and Yoneda discloses that the battery holder 2 is made of plastic ([0027]) but fails to disclose wherein the battery holder is made of polycarbonate.
However, Fukugawa discloses a battery pack ([0030]) comprising a plurality of batteries 1 located within a plastic battery holder 11 ([0031]-[0032]).
Fukugawa teaches wherein the battery holder 11 is made of polycarbonate since polycarbonate has high strength and is not easily dissolved by lithium ion battery electrolyte that could leak from a battery ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of Yoneda in view of Yamagami such that the plastic for the battery holder is polycarbonate, since polycarbonate has high strength and is not easily dissolved by lithium ion battery electrolyte that could leak from a battery, as taught by Fukugawa.
Regarding Claim 3, Yoneda in view of Yamagami and Fukugawa teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 2, and Yoneda discloses wherein the fitting structure is a spigot structure ([0015]-[0016], [0036]). The skilled artisan would recognize that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a spigot would include a small peg (such as the set screws 19 of Yoneda) especially for insertion into a vent or cylindrical cast (such as the connecting bosses 23X of Yoneda).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoneda in view of Yamagami and Fukugawa teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 3, and Yoneda discloses connecting bosses 23X (a groove portion) that is formed at the joint interface of the first divided holder 2A, and set screws 19 (an insertion portion) that is formed on the joint interface of the second divided holder 2A and press-fitted by screwing into the groove portion 23X ([0015]-[0016], [0036]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yoneda in view of Yamagami and Fukugawa teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 4, and Yoneda discloses wherein a pair of sandwiching portions that are separated to form the groove portion 23X are formed to each have a substantially same thickness ([0031] – wherein the connecting bosses 23X are established in a plurality of locations to join the holder units 2A and are each placed to a specific height to establish the size of the flow gaps 24) ([0031]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda EP2290728 in view of Yamagami EP2911215, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Paolazzi US PG Publication 2011/0236740.
Regarding Claim 9, Yoneda in view of Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1.
Yoneda in view of Yamagami fails to explicitly disclose wherein the fitting structure of the first and second divided holders 2A extends along the entire length of the substrate holding area.
However, Paolazzi discloses a battery cell housing ([0001]) comprising a first tongue and a first groove that couple together two half sections to form the housing ([0004]-[0005]).
Paolazzi teaches the use of forming a closed perimeter at the joint interface of the battery housing by connecting a tongue portion of the first half section that runs along the entire length of the first half section exposed in the joint interface with a groove portion of the second half section that runs along the entire length of the second half section (Figs. 2-3, [0022]) in order to secure the two half sections to each other ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of Yoneda in view of Yamagami such that the fitting structure (as defined by the combination between the insertion and groove portions) of the first and second divided holders extends along the entire length of the joint interface in order to secure the two half sections together, as taught by Paolazzi.
Regarding Claim 10, Yoneda in view of Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1, and Yoneda discloses wherein the divided holders 2A can be joined in a locking fit configuration ([0036]).
Yoneda in view of Yamagami fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first divided holder has a groove portion along an entirety of the first edge and the second divided holder has an insertion portion along an entirety of the second edge.
However, Paolazzi discloses a battery cell housing ([0001]) comprising a first tongue and a first groove that couple together two half sections to form the housing ([0004]-[0005]).
Paolazzi teaches the use of forming a closed perimeter at the joint interface of the battery housing by connecting a tongue portion of the first half section that runs along the entire edge of the first half section exposed in the joint interface with a groove portion of the second half section that runs along the entire edge of the second half section (Figs. 2-3, [0022]) in order to secure the two half sections to each other ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of Yoneda in view of Yamagami such that the first divided holder has a groove portion along an entirety of the first edge, the second divided holder has an insertion portion along an entirety of the second edge, and the groove portion and the insertion portion fit together over the entire length of the substrate holding area as defined by the joint interface to form the fitting structure, such that the two sections are secured to each other, as taught by Paolazzi.
Conclusion
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729