DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to papers filed 4/9/2026. Claims 1-21 are pending with claims 1-16 and 19 -21 examined herein.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
All paragraph numbers throughout this office action, unless otherwise noted, are from the US PGPub of this application US20200399613A1, Published 12/24/2020. This application has been transferred to Examiner Titilayo Moloye, Art Unit 1632.
Withdrawn Rejection
The 103 (a) rejection of claims 1-16 and 19 as being of unpatentable over Taniguchi (US2014/0289877-of record) in view of Rago (Biotechnology and Bioengineering) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossen et al. (PgPub US20180042970A1, Published 2/15/2018), Ingber et al. (PgPub US20140093905A1, Published 4/3/2014) and Takebe et al. (US20170067014A1, Published 3/9/2017).
Claim interpretation: In the absence of a definition in the as-filed specification, the phrase ‘obverse and reverse sides’ are interpreted as set forth: According to Merriam-Webster, the obverse is the "heads" side and the reverse is the opposite or "tails" side. See Attached.
Rossen et al. is drawn to spheroid microtissues that can mimic native tissue-like structure and function, spheroid production methods that are high-throughput, suitable for efficient production, maintainable over long-term culture, and/or offer repeatable control over size distribution (Abstract).
Regarding claim 1, claim 15 and claim 16, Rossen teaches a method of fusing cell masses (Pg. 10, para. 107), comprising seeding cell masses (Pg. 11, para. 119) on a collagen membrane coated plane (as in claim 20 and claim 21) (Pg. 10, para. 107), capable of cell adhesion (Pg. 15,para. 148) and culturing the cell masses on a surface of the cell mass-seeded plane, thereby fusing the cell masses, wherein the cell masses are spheroids (as in claim 19). Rossen teaches the spheroids were previously formed in a culture vessel having a non-cell adhesive plane (Pg. 14, para. 141) (as in claim 11, in-part). As shown in Fig. 28C, the area occupied by the cell masses is more than 40% (as in claim 2). Also of note, Rossen teaches the cell masses comprises vascular cells and mesenchymal cells at a ratio of 1: 1 (as in claim 4 and claim 5) (Pg. 4, para. 40). Rossen demonstrate the microtissues can be reliably formed with controlled sizes and spatial architectures, and can self-organize into a macrotissue in which elements of the final architecture (such as branching lengths) of the new vascular network (as in claim 6, claim 12 , in-part and claim 16, in-part) can also be controlled (Pg. 17,para. 157). Rossen teaches the vascular network comprises blood vessels (as in claim 13) (Pg. 6, para. 57).
However, Rossen fails to teach a culture medium is fed from both the obverse and reverse sides of the plane (as further in claims 1, 15 and 16).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ingber et al. an organomimetic device comprising: a body having a central microchannel therein; and an at least partially porous membrane positioned within the central microchannel and along a plane, the membrane configured to separate the central microchannel to form a first central microchannel and a second central microchannel, wherein a first fluid is applied through the first central microchannel and a second fluid is applied through the second central microchannel, the membrane coated with at least one attachment molecule that supports adhesion of a plurality of living cells (Pg. 20, paras. 183-185). In one embodiment, Inger teaches the organomimetic mimics the liver (Pg. 3, para. 40). Note that the Examiner is interpreting a first central microchannel to be the obverse side of the porous membrane and a second central microchannel to be reverse side of the porous membrane (as further in claim 1, claim 15 and claim 16).
However, neither Rossen nor Ingber teach the cell mass is an organ bud (as in claim 7).
Takebe et al. teach a platform technology which recapitulates interactions among organ cells, vascular cells and mesenchymal cells (as in claim 8) that are essential for early processes of organogenesis, to thereby induce 3D organ primordia (starting material for organs) and enable generation of vascularized functional organs (Abstract). In one embodiment, Takebe teaches the organ bud is a liver bud (as in claim 7, as further in claim 11, claim 12 and claim 14) (Pg. 7,para. 94; Pgs. 7-8,para. 105). Takebe teaches an advantageous cell count ratio between the organ cells, mesenchymal cells and vascular cells is 10:1-3:0.1-7 (as in claim 8, claim 9 and claim 10) (Pgs. 5-6,para. 84). Takebe teaches a great number of organs essentially require that reconstitution associated with other organs be realized in order to exhibit their functions; e.g., in liver, reconstitution of junctions with bile duct (as in claim 14) and pancreatic duct and connection to duodenum is essential for exhibiting its function (Pg. 7, para. 95). According to the present invention, Takebe teaches a cell condensate which recapitulates interactions with other organs is prepared.
The combination of prior art cited above in all rejections under 35 U.S.C.103 satisfies the factual inquiries as set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1,148 USPQ 459 (1966). Once this has been accomplished the holdings in KSR can be applied (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 389, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007): "Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention."
In the present situation, rationales A and G are applicable. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Rossen et al., wherein Rossen examined the ability of the spheroids to form a macro-tissue in vitro, namely, creating a larger tissue from smaller tissues units comprising distinct cell types, with the teachings of Ingber et al., wherein Ingber teaches
an organomimetic device having a central microchannel therein, a partially porous membrane positioned separating the central microchannel to form a first central microchannel and a second central microchannel, wherein a first fluid is applied through the first central microchannel and a second fluid is applied through the second central microchannel, with the teachings of Takebe et al., wherein Takebe teaches a platform technology which recapitulates interactions among organ cells, vascular cells and mesenchymal cells, with a reasonable expectation of arriving at the claimed invention.
That is, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious to combine micro-tissues of organ cells, micro-tissues of vascular cells and micro-tissues of mesenchymal cells into a larger macro-tissue, as set for in Takebe, in order to mimic native tissue-like structure, as set forth in Rossen. Further, and as noted in Pg. 4, para. 54 of Ingber, the skilled artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to culture the macro-tissue in the device of Ingber in order to provide each microtissue, having distinct cells. an adequate amount of nutrients based on the type of cells found in the spheroid.
Thus, the teachings of the cited prior art in the obviousness rejection above provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation. The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, was clearly prima facie obvious
Authorization to Initiate Electronic Communications
The examiner may not initiate communications via electronic mail unless and until applicants authorize such communications in writing within the official record of the patent application. See M.P.E.P. § 502.03, part II. If not already provided, Applicants may wish to consider supplying such written authorization in response to this Office action, as negotiations toward allowability are more easily conducted via e-mail than by facsimile transmission (the PTO's default electronic-communication method). A sample authorization is available at § 502.03, part II.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632