DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-5 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halbritter et al. (US 2017/325729 (provided by IDS)) and in view of Huang (US 2013/0141369).
3. Addressing claim 1, Hubert discloses an apparatus comprising:
photodetector area comprising a first photodetector area and a second photodetector area, the first and second photodetector areas having co-planar interlocking shapes that alternate over the photodetector area and position side by side having projections that extend at angles such that the first photodetector area and the second photodetector area are limited in movement in a first direction and in a second direction in a two-dimensional co-planar plane, wherein the first and second photodetector areas each produce respective comparable detected output signals (see Figs. 1, 3 and [0072], elements 310/311 and 320/321, obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art any element could be called first and second photodetector area; arrangement of order and filter first or second detector area only require ordinary skill and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art; first and second photodetector area lock together therefore they are co-planar interlocking shapes; as see in Fig. 3, 310/311 limit movement of 320/321 in the y-direction/vertical direction (up and down movement) and in the x-direction/horizontal direction (left movement); 310, 311 alternate and side by side with 320, 321; Halbritter’s photodetectors is capable of wherein the first and second photodetector areas each produce respective comparable detected output signals; as see in Fig. 3 of Halbritter first and second photodetector areas are the same size and arrange next to each other in same row and column to receive the same incident of angle to produce respective comparable detected output signals),
an optical blocking filter configured to filter light incident on the second photodetector area (see Fig. 3 and [0063]; element 312).
However, Halbritter does not disclose prevent a separation of first photodetector area from the second photodetector area and wherein defining edges of the first photodetector area coincide with defining edge of the second photodetector area over the photodetector area. Rearranging sensor is a designer choice that only require routine skill in the art. In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). Huang explicitly discloses prevent a separation of first electrode detector area from the second electrode detector area and wherein defining edges of the first electrode detector area coincide with defining edge of the second electrode detector area over the photodetector area (see Figs. 3-4; electrodes detector pattern 102, 104 and 106 interlock with each other to prevent separation; defining edges of the patterns also coincide with each others). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Halbritter to prevent a separation of first detector area from the second detector area and wherein defining edges of the first detector area coincide with defining edge of the second detector area over the detector area as taught by Huang because this fractal pattern enhanced sensitivity and detection capabilities.
4. Addressing claims 2-5 and 9-17, Halbritter discloses:
addressing claim 2, wherein the first photodetector area comprises one or more first subareas that extend from an edge of the photodetector area into the photodetector area, and the second photodetector area comprises one or more second subareas that extend from an edge of the photodetector area into the photodetector area, and at least one of the first subareas has a shape that interlocks with a shape of at least one of the second subareas (see Figs. 1, 3 and [0072]).
addressing claim 3, wherein at least one of the first subareas and/or at least one of the second subareas extends from the edge of the photodetector area more than halfway across the photodetector area, towards an opposite edge of the photodetector area (see Fig. 3).
addressing claim 4, wherein at least one of the first subareas and/or at least one of the second subareas extends from one edge of the photodetector area to an opposite edge of the photodetector area (see Fig. 3).
addressing claim 5, wherein the photodetector area comprises one or more inactive subareas (see Fig. 3, interface between first and second light reception surfaces represents inactive areas).
addressing claim 9, wherein size of the first photodetector area and the size of the second photodetector area are substantially equal (see Fig. 3).
addressing claim 10, wherein the apparatus is configured to detect a target wavelength, and said optical blocking filter is configured to block the target wavelength (see [0063]).
addressing claim 11, a light source configured to emit light at the target wavelength (see Fig. 1 and [0059-0060]; element 200).
addressing claim 12, an angle adjustment element configured to adjust the angle of incidence of light incident on the photodetector area (see Fig. 5 and [0080]; element 440 and the shape of the device adjust/control the angle of incidence of light incident on the photodetector area).
addressing claim 13, a signal processing element configured to produce a physiological measurement result using at least one of: an output signal provided by the first photodetector area and an output signal provided by the second photodetector area (see [0070]).
addressing claim 14, a mirror arranged to reflect light back to the first and/or second photodetector areas (see [0075]; wall act like mirror/optical reflector.
addressing claim 15, wherein the apparatus is a physiological measurement sensor (see [0070]).
addressing claim 16, wherein the first direction is orthogonal to the second direction (see Fig. 3).
addressing claim 17, at least one area defined within edges of the first photodetector area and not covered by the first photodetector area (see Fig. 3; there is space between 310,311 and 320,321; this is one area defined within edges of the first photodetector area and not covered by the first photodetector area).
5. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halbritter et al. (US 2017/325729 (provided by IDS)), in view of Huang (US 2013/0141369) and further in view of Frith et al. (US 2009/0078024).
6. Addressing claims 6-7, Halbritter does not disclose fractal curve (Hilbert or Peano curves) defines shapes of the first photodetector area and the second photodetector area. Frith discloses fractal curve (Hilbert or Peano curves) defines shapes of the detector area (see abstract, [0019], [0047], [0054-0055] and [0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Halbritter to have fractal curve (Hilbert or Peano curves) defines shapes of the detector area as taught by Frith because this improve the detector due to being less sensitive to minor defect (see [0054]).
7. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halbritter et al. (US 2017/325729 (provided by IDS)), in view of Huang (US 2013/0141369) and further in view of Bellinger et al. (US 2017/0153340).
8. Addressing claim 8, Halbritter does not disclose wherein the interlocking shapes of the first photodetector area and the second photodetector area have been defined by a genetic algorithm. Bellinger discloses wherein the interlocking shapes of the photodetector areas have been defined by a genetic algorithm (see [0017], [0052] and Fig. 1H). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Halbritter to have wherein the interlocking shapes of the photodetector areas have been defined by a genetic algorithm as taught by Bellinger because this optimizes the measurement parameters, detector position and lead to improvement in efficiency (see [0051-0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the references do not disclose wherein the first and second photodetector areas each produce respective comparable detected output signals. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Halbritter’s photodetectors is capable of wherein the first and second photodetector areas each produce respective comparable detected output signals. As see in Fig. 3 of Halbritter first and second photodetector areas are the same size and arrange next to each other in same row and column to receive the same incident of angle to produce respective comparable detected output signals. Also see the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (US 2010/0267163).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2010/0100160 (see [0084]; fractal or other geometries that enable optimized energies and determinations not achieved through other repetitive sensor pattern) and US 2010/0267163 (see Fig. 6 and [0007]; photodetectors in the same row have the same angle of incident; same angle of incident produce respective comparable detected output signals).
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3793