DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1, 6-46, 48, 50-52, 55-57 are pending.
Claim 53 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0148586 (SIEGEL) in view of JP2015027309 (TAICHI), WO2016/092547 (GOLAN) and ARCARI, et al. Volatile composition of Merlot red wine and its contribution to the aroma: optimization and validation of analytical method, Talanta Volume 174, 1 November 2017, Pages 752-766 (ARCARI).
A translation of TAICHI has been previously provided with line numbers with the Official Action of 7/9/2025 and relied upon below.
The claimed invention is directed to a recipe for an alcoholic beverage. The goal of the claimed invention is to replicate the taste of an already known beverage by adding exogenous ingredients (e.g., VOCs) found in the beverage.
SIEGEL teaches citrus juice sacs with aroma addition comprising a water content of from 69.995-96.995% by weight [0033]. In [0045] the composition is added to beverages that contained alcohol (i.e., ethanol).
SIEGEL teaches citrus juice sacs (i.e., containing citric acid) that naturally contain pectin (i.e., a surfactant) with aroma addition comprising a water content of from 69.995-96.995% by weight [0033]. In [0045] the composition is added to beverages that contained alcohol (i.e., ethanol). In terms of volatile organic components, a variety of VOCs (i.e., over 10) can be added [0051]. This includes cinnamates (i.e., cinnamic acid conjugates).
Sugar is present [0093].
Cinnamaldehyde, cytosine and dimethyl sulfide are also present [0052].
Glycerol can be added as solvent [0056]
SIEGEL is silent as to providing additional VOCs.
TACIHI teaches that alcoholic beverages can contain flavorant such as the agent for imparting beer flavor is a composition including at least one selected from specified natural perfumes (A), esters (B), alcohols (C), aldehydes (C), ketones (E), phenols (F), ethers (G), lactones (H), hydrocarbons (I), nitrogen-containing and/or sulphur-containing compounds (J), acids (K), bittering agent (L), an acidulant (M), a sweetener (N), and a salty seasoning (abstract).
The at least ten compounds taught are:
i) butanol (i.e., an alcohol) at lines 162-164.
ii) Diethyl succinate (i.e., an ester) is taught at 154-155.
iii) Furfural (i.e., and aldehyde is taught at line 178.
iv) Isobutanol is taught at line 313.
v) Methyl-2-pyrrolyl ketone (i.e., synonym 2-acetopyrrole) is taught at line 410.
vi) Ethyl valerate (i.e., synonym ethyl pentanoate) is taught at line 389.
vii) Isobutyl acetate is taught at line 549.
viii) Cis-3 hexenyl, an isomer of cis-3-hexenyl valerate, is taught at line 145. It would have been obvious to use cis-3-hexenyl valerate as both compounds are flavor compounds.
As to claim 6, TAICHI teaches the addition of nonanoic acid at line 148.
TAICHI teaches in lines 495-499 that flavor imparting agents can range from 0.0000001 to 0.05% by mass (i.e., 0.001 mg/L to 500 mg/L). Thus, it would have been obvious to provide the flavor compounds within this range.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Additionally, as the compounds directly impact flavor and aroma, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
The references above are silent as to additional VOCs.
WO 2016/092547 (GOLAN) teaches on pg. 30, lines 12-25 that allyl hexanoate is a flavor that can be added to alcoholic beverages.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add allyl hexanoate to provide flavor and aroma to an alcoholic beverage.
ARCARI teaches in Table 3 that important volatile compounds such as 1-hexanol provide flavor and aroma in alcoholic beverages such a red wine (see Table 3 on pg. 755). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add 1-hexanol to provide flavor and aroma to an alcoholic beverage.
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two (i.e., or more) compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). **
Claims 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bickham, Flavors from Esters and Alcohols, Brewing Techniques, accessed at https://www.morebeer.com/articles/Esters_Flavors_Alcohols_Balance_Fruity, 2017) (BICKAM).
SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI are silent as to adding the components of claims 7-9, 14-15 and 17-18.
As to claims 7-9, BICKHAM teaches the production of alcoholic beverages alcoholic beverage such as beer (see first paragraph, pg. 2). Beer contains water and ethanol. BICKHAM teaches esters are natural flavors found in fermented fruits such as ethyl hexanoate in apples (see Table 2).
As to claims 14-15, BICKHAM teaches the production of alcoholic beverages such as beer (see first paragraph, pg. 2). BICKHAM teaches that alcohols are natural flavors found in fermented fruits such as benzyl alcohol in apples (see Apple Flavors Section).
It would have been obvious to add the flavor of BICKHAM to the composition of SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN, and ARCARI to improve the flavor of the composition.
As to claims 10-16 and 19, BICKHAM teaches the production of alcoholic beverages such as beer (see first paragraph, pg. 2). Beer contains water and ethanol. BICKHAM teaches esters are natural flavors found in fermented fruits such as ethyl hexanoate in apples and 2-phenyl ethyl acetate (see Table 2). Citric acid and other organic acid (e.g., hexanoic) are also present for fruit flavors (see pg. 4, Fruity and Estery Flavors). On page 7, 2-heptanone is used as a flavor. For an apple flavor, 2-phenylethanol can be used.
As the claimed compounds are flavors, it would have been obvious to add ethyl hexanoate and others and vary the amount of each flavor compound based on the desired flavor.
As to claims 17-18, BICKHAM teaches the production of alcoholic beverages such as beer (see first paragraph, pg. 2). BICKHAM teaches that aldehydes such as 2-pentanal are natural flavors found in fermented fruits such as pears and raspberry (see Pear-like and melony and Berrylike Flavor Sections).
It would have been obvious to add the fruit flavor of BICKHAM to the product of the references above to improve the flavor of the composition.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lehtonen Chromatographia Vol. 16 pg. 201-203, 1982 (LEHTONEN).
The references above are silent as to the thresholds of cresols.
LEHTONEN teaches a whiskey with ethanol, water and a phenol such as p-cresol. The amounts are as follows:
The amount p-cresol falls within that claimed in claim 25. The claimed amount of 0.00007 mg/L to 5mg/L is equivalent to 0.7 ug/l to 5000 ug/l. The 7.8 to 14.0 ug/L range falls well within this range.
It would have been obvious to incorporate the thresholds of cresols as taught by LEHTONEN in the references above based on the desired flavor profiles.
Claims 20-22, 26-28, 32-34 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIEGAL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of TAO (Advances in Fruit Aroma Volatile Research, Molecules 2013, 18, 8200-8229; doi:10.3390/molecules18078200).
As to claims 20-22, 44, SIEGEL teaches citrus juice sacs with aroma addition comprising a water content of from 69.995-96.995% by weight [0033]. In [0045] the composition is added to beverages that contained alcohol (i.e., ethanol). In terms of volatile organic components, the VOC 3-phenylpropanal can be added [0051]. In [0060], nonvolatile substances such as sugar can be present.
Neither SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI teach the presence of the specifically recited compounds in claims 20-22 and 44.
TAO teaches that terpenes such as limonene and compounds such as carvone are naturally found in citrus fruits and berries (first paragraph, pg. 8202 and first full paragraph, pg. 8206).
It would have been obvious to add the limonene to SIEGEL, TAICHI GOLAN and ARCARI, as TAO teaches that the compounds is naturally occurring flavor compound.
Moreover, as the compounds directly impacts the flavor, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
As to claims 26-28, SIEGEL teaches citrus juice sacs with aroma addition comprising a water content of from 69.995-96.995% by weight [0033]. In [0045] the composition is added to beverages that contained alcohol (i.e., ethanol). In terms of volatile organic components, the VOC 3-phenylpropanal (i.e., ad recited in claim 6) can be added [0051]. In [0060], nonvolatile substances such as sugar can be present.
SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI do not teach the specifically recited compounds.
TAO teaches that lactones such as gamma decalactone is naturally found in strawberries (third paragraph, pg. 8203
It would have been obvious to add the gamma decalactone to SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI as TAO teaches that the compounds is naturally occurring flavor compound.
Moreover, as the compounds directly impacts the flavor, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
As to claims 32-34, SIEGEL teaches citrus juice sacs with aroma addition comprising a water content of from 69.995-96.995% by weight [0033]. In [0045] the composition is added to beverages that contained alcohol (i.e., ethanol). In terms of volatile organic components, the VOC 3-phenylpropanal (i.e., ad recited in claim 6) can be added [0051]. In [0060], nonvolatile substances such as sugar can be present.
SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI do not teach the specifically recited compounds.
TAO teaches that sulfides such as dimethylsulfide is naturally found in a variety of fruit (first paragraph, pg. 8214).
It would have been obvious to add the dimethyl sulfide to SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI, as TAOS teaches that the compounds is naturally occurring flavor compound.
Moreover, as the compounds directly impacts the flavor, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIEGAL, TAICHI, GOLAN, and ARCARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pichersky et al, Eugenol and isoeugenol, characteristic aromatic constituents of spices are biosynthesized via reduction of a coniferyl alcohol ester, (PNAS, 10128-10133, Vol. 103, no. 26, 2006 (PICHERSKY).
The references above do not teach the specifically recited compounds in claims 23-25.
PICHERSKY teaches that phenols such as eugenol are naturally found in spices (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to add the eugenol to SIEGEL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI, as PICHERSKY teaches that the compounds are naturally occurring flavor compounds.
Moreover, as the compounds directly impacts the flavor, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
Claims 29-31 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIEGAL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Maga, Pyridine in Foods, Volume 29, Number 5 September/October 1981 (MAGA).
The references above do not teach the specifically recited compounds.
MAGA teaches that pyrazines such as 2-acetylpyrazine is naturally flavor of strawberries (last paragraph left column, pg. 896).
It would have been obvious to add the 2-acetylpyrazine to the references above, as MAGA teaches that the compounds is naturally occurring flavor compound.
Moreover, as the compounds directly impacts the flavor, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
Claims 35-40, 43, 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIEGAL, TAICHI, GOLAN and ARCARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vanilla Benefits at Herwisdom.com, accessed at https://www.herbwisdom.com/herb-vanilla.html, 2013(VANILLA).
The references above do not teach the specifically recited compounds.
VANILLA teaches that the main component of vanilla is vanillin. There are other constituents present including sugars, resins, and oils. Vanilla also contains approximately 150 aromas, many of which are present in only trace amounts. Acetals, including acetal itself, are used in vanilla flavors to replicate the character of aged vanilla alcoholic extracts. Vanillyl ethyl ether (i.e., see claims 35-37), acetic acid, p-hydroxybenzaldehyde, and caproic acid are among the chemicals present.
It would have been obvious to add the vanillyl ethyl ether, vanillin, and/or acetal to SIEGAL, TAICHI, GOLAN, and ARCARI, as VANILLA teaches that the compounds is naturally occurring flavor compound.
Moreover, as the compounds directly impacts the flavor, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
As to claim 50, it is also noted that VANILLA teaches that vanillin is an important flavor for adding vanilla flavor.
It would have been obvious to add vanillin and vanillyl ethyl ether to SIEGAL and TAICHI to provide vanillin. Moreover, it would have been obvious to vary those amounts based on desired flavor.
Claims 41-42, 45-46, 48, 51-52, 56-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over SIEGAL, TAICHI, GOLAN, and ARCARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Panuwet, Differentiation of volatile profiles of Thai Oolong tea No. 12 provenances by SPMEGC-MS combined with principal component analysis, International Journal of Food Properties, 20:2450-2462, 2017 (PANUWET.
The references above do not teach the specifically recited compounds.
PANUWET teaches that furans such as 2-pentylfuran is naturally found in tea. Epicatechin gallate are natural components of tea. (see Table 2)
It would have been obvious to add the 2-pentylfuran and epicatechin gallate to SIEGAL, TAICHI, GOLAN, and ARCARI, as PANUWET teaches that the compounds is naturally occurring flavor compound.
Moreover, as the compounds directly impacts the flavor, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
There is no indication of 4-guanidinobutyric acid.
SIEGEL teaches citrus juice sacs with aroma addition comprising a water content of from 69.995-96.995% by weight [0033]. In [0045] the composition is added to beverages that contained alcohol (i.e., ethanol).
SIEGEL teaches citrus juice sacs (i.e., containing citric acid) that naturally contain pectin (i.e., a surfactant) with aroma addition comprising a water content of from 69.995-96.995% by weight [0033]. In [0045] the composition is added to beverages that contained alcohol (i.e., ethanol). In terms of volatile organic components, a variety of VOCs (i.e., over 10) can be added [0051]. This includes cinnamates (i.e., cinnamic acid conjugates).
Sugar is present [0093].
Cinnamaldehyde, cytosine and dimethyl sulfide are also present [0052].
Glycerol can be added as solvent [0056]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that methionyl butyrate is not butanoic acid.
However, additional references have been cited to address the claimed number of VOCs.
As to the claimed amounts, TAICHI teaches in lines 495-499 that flavor imparting agents can range from 0.0000001 to 0.05% by mass (i.e., 0.001 mg/L to 500 mg/L) in alcoholic beverages. Thus, it would have been obvious to provide the flavor compounds within this range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Additionally, as the compounds directly impact flavor and aroma, it would have been obvious to vary the amount added based on desired flavor.
Moreover, it is noted that the claims are directed to a recipe that reproduces an alcoholic beverage. The applicant is also respectfully reminded that while food items are patentable, the culinary creativity of chefs is not the type of creativity which meets the standards for patentability. See General Mills v. Pillsbury Co.,378 F.2d 666 (8th Cir.1967) (first commercially successful one step mix for angel food cakes is not patentable because of nonobviousness standard since alleged invention is only the exact proportion of an already known leavening agent). In this regard, courts have taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In re Levin, 178 F.2d 945, 948 (C.C.P.A.1949) (butter substitute not patentable).
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791