DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (WO 2018/107465, citation by US 2020/0077858).
Zhang et al teach a robot and a method as claimed.
The robot comprises a housing 2,
a moving module 21,
a control module 27,
a wiping unit 22 with removable mops 22111,
a lifting mechanism 24,
a wiping unit rotating mechanism 2212,
sensors 25, 26,
a rechargeable battery 28.
The robot further comprises a base station.
The base station is disclosed as provided with a charging device and a cleaning device 11 and configured to charge the robot and clean wiping members (at least [0124], [0186], [0188], [0194], [0206], [0208]).
The control module is disclosed as controlling the functioning of the robot. This includes controlling the cleaning operation performed by the robot, switching from cleaning surfaces to the maintenance state of charging the battery and/or cleaning wiping/moping members, lifting, state switching, etc.
The robot is disclosed as changing the wiping/mop members (at least [0160]).
The robot is disclosed as performing the intended use and functioning recited by the claim.
See at least Figures 1-12, 14-15, 19-22, 24, 27-31, and the related description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 52 and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (WO 2018/107465, citation by US 2020/0077858) in view of Augenbraun et al (US 2007/0061040).
Zhang et al, as applied above, teaches a robot as claimed except for the specific recitation of surface and carpet sensors, and communication unit(s).
Zhang et al teach the use of sensors, but does not specify the used sensors.
However, the claimed sensors and their use were conventional in the art as evidenced by Augenbraun et al.
Augenbraun et al also evidence that communication stations as claimed were conventional in the art.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the invention was filed to incorporate the conventional features of the cleaning robots, such a carpet sensor, and communication unit(s) for their known functions in the cleaning robot of Zhang et al in order to use known devices for their known functions.
Claim(s) 34-35, 37-38, 40, 44-45 and 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (WO 2018/107465, citation by US 2020/0077858) in view of CN 205054042.
Zhang et al teach a robot as claimed except for a lifting mechanism to lift the wiping unit relative to the housing.
Zhang et al also teach a method as claimed except for a lifting mechanism to lift the wiping unit relative to the housing.
The robot comprises a housing 2,
a moving module 21,
a control module 27,
a wiping unit 22 with removable mops 22111,
a lifting mechanism 24,
a wiping unit rotating mechanism 2212,
sensors 25, 26,
a rechargeable battery 28.
The robot further comprises a base station.
The base station is disclosed as provided with a charging device and a cleaning device 11 and configured to charge the robot and clean wiping members (at least [0124], [0186], [0188], [0194], [0206], [0208]).
The control module is disclosed as controlling the functioning of the robot. This includes controlling the cleaning operation performed by the robot, switching from cleaning surfaces to the maintenance state of charging the battery and/or cleaning wiping/moping members, lifting, state switching, etc.
The robot is disclosed as changing the wiping/mop members (at least [0160]).
The robot is disclosed as performing the intended use and functioning recited by the claim.
See at least Figures 1-12, 14-15, 19-22, 24, 27-31, and the related description.
On the other hand, CN 205054042 teaches that providing lifting of the wiping unit with respect to the housing when not cleaning prevents secondary pollution. CN 205054042 also teaches returning robot when the wiping unit is dirty. CN 205054042 also teaches a lifting mechanism to lift the wiping unit with respect to the housing. See at least Figures 1-3 and the related description and the description at Invention contents.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the lifting mechanism and its functioning proposed by CN 205054042 in the robot/method of Zhang et al in order to avoid secondary pollution.
Claim(s) 46 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (WO 2018/107465, citation by US 2020/0077858) in view of CN 205054042, as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Augenbraun et al (US 2007/0061040).
Modified Zhang et al, as applied above, teaches a robot as claimed except for the specific recitation of surface and carpet sensors, and communication unit(s).
Zhang et al teach the use of sensors, but does not specify the used sensors.
However, the claimed sensors and their use were conventional in the art as evidenced by Augenbraun et al.
Augenbraun et al also evidence that communication stations as claimed were conventional in the art.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the invention was filed to incorporate the conventional features of the cleaning robots, such a carpet sensor, and communication unit(s) for their known functions in the cleaning robot of Zhang et al in order to use known devices for their known functions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants amended the claims and allege that the claims are allowable.
This is not persuasive for the reasons provided above.
With respect to claim 34, 48 and the dependent claims the teaching of CN 205054042 has been used that it was known that providing lifting of the wiping unit with respect to the housing when not cleaning prevents secondary pollution. CN 205054042 also teaches returning robot when the wiping unit is dirty. CN 205054042 also teaches a lifting mechanism to lift the wiping unit with respect to the housing. See at least Figures 1-3 and the related description and the description at Invention contents.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the lifting mechanism and its functioning proposed by CN 205054042 in the robot/method of Zhang et al in order to avoid secondary pollution.
With respect to claim 51 and the dependent claims the applicants allege that Zhang et al do not teach the newly introduced limitations requiring “when the maintenance condition is met, change a contact state between the wiping unit and the working surface located outside a base station to a state of not contacting the working surface, and maintain the state of not contacting the working surface in an entire process during which the cleaning robot moves from the work execution position to the maintenance position”.
This is not persuasive.
Zhang et al teach the argued limitation at least at [0158-160], [0185] and Figures 21-22.
Zhang et al clearly teach that the wiping unit is raised with respect to the working surface (floor) and is out of contact with the floor the entire time the robot moves from the time the wiping unit is raised from the floor to the time the robot is at the base station.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711