DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 09/09/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-7, 18, and 20-34 are now pending. Claims 8-17 and 19 are canceled; claims 18 and 31-34 are amended; claims 1-7, 18, and 20-34 are withdrawn.
Claims 18, 20-21, and 31-34 will be examined on the merits herein.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 34 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends as claim 20 already teaches the limitation of the cells being Methanobrevibacter smithii and claim 18 teaches the limitation of the at least 108 attenuated or killed cells per gram of the composition. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20-21, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018106844 A1 (Cutcliffe, 2018).
In regards to claims 18, 20, and 33-34, Cutcliffe teaches a composition comprising a microbe such as Methanobrevibacter smithii (see paragraph 013-014) that are dead (see paragraph 0239). It is also taught that the composition comprises whole bacteria (i.e. with all of its parts). The composition is taught to be in the form of a tablet or medical food (see paragraphs 017, 58-60, 90). As the teachings of Cutcliffe would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the MAMP signal potential, of the composition would be the same. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. As the prior art teaches an identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Further, it is taught that the microbe is used in an amount of at least 1.0x108 cells/g (see paragraph 07). It is also taught that the microbe is used in an amount of about 8.2 x 109 cells/g (see paragraph 0175). MPEP 2144.05 states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
In regards to claim 21, it is taught that composition comprises a carrier, such as soybean oil (see paragraph 0265).
In regards to claims 31-32, the composition is taught to comprise a prebiotic, which is taught to be fiber (see paragraphs 066 and paragraph 015; claim 32).
Cutcliffe does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Cutcliffe with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the compositions of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the composition of the instant claims with predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s argument that Cutcliffe requires active or viable cells, it is pointed out that Cutcliffe teaches that the microbes used in the composition are dead (see paragraph 0239). While there are other embodiments using live or active cells, it is taught that the composition is made with dead cells as well. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Applicant further argues that the method of making the composition is different and would not yield the same composition as the instant claims, however the claims are not drawn to a method of making, rather a composition. Even if the method was part of the claims, it would be considered a product-by-process limitation. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by- process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the teachings of Cutcliffe are drawn to live cells and not attenuated or dead cells and as such would exhibit different properties, it is pointed out again that Cutcliffe teaches that the microbes used in the composition are dead (see paragraph 0239). It would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to envisage a composition using the dead cells as it is taught in the art as a viable option. Further, it is pointed out that Cutcliffe teaches the use of the claimed cells, specifically microbes such as Methanobrevibacter smithii (see paragraph 013-014). As such, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to envisage a composition using dead cells of Methanobrevibacter smithii using the teachings of Cutcliffe. Thus, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect the same properties for the composition as instantly claimed using the teachings of Cutcliffe. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. As the prior art teaches an identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1611