DETAILED ACTION
Background
The amendment dated July 10, 2026 (amendment) amending claims 1, 9 and 31, adding new claims 32-35 and canceling claim 30 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-11, 19-20, 22, 24-27, 29 and 31-35 as filed with the amendment have been examined. In view of the canceling of claim 30, all outstanding rejections of that claim are withdrawn. Claims 3, 6-8, 12-18, 21, 23, 28 and 30 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-11, 19-20, 22, 24-27, 29 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding instant claims 1, 9 and 32, in claim 1 at line 7, claim 9 at line 5 and claim 32 at lines 1-2 the recited edible coating “formed from one or more syrup layers” is indefinite and confusing. It appears that the claimed edible coating cannot be formed from one syrup layer.
Claims 2, 4-5, 10-11, 19-20, 22, 24-27, 29, 31 and 33-35 are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 20 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over US 5248508 to Reed et al. (Reed) in view of US 9492395 B2 to Schad et al. (Schad), US 2015/0374009 A1 to Robbins (Robbins), WO2018/156715 A1 to Ben-Yoseph et al. (Ben-Yoseph) and US2009/0304856 A1 to Chitikov et al (Chitikov), as evidenced by US2016/0015054 A1 to Stawski et al. (Stawski), all of record.
The Office considers that any particle size distribution may arbitrarily be divided into any number of particle size ranges at any one or more cut off points in the distribution, such as, for example, 1 μm with the amount of particles of any size range, e.g. the size of less than 1 µm having its own independent median mean or average particle size.
The Office interprets the claimed value “b* that is close to zero” to include any b* value of an edible coating of from about +10 to about -10 as disclosed in the instant specification at page 15, lines 29-31.
Claims 1 and 31 recite a ratio of sucrose syrup, corn syrup and scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles without defining the solids level in the syrup. The Office interprets each of the recited corn syrup and sucrose syrup broadly to include any solids level up to 100 wt% solids.
Regarding instant claim 1, Reed discloses at Abstract a hard coated gum having a finished edible coating and a shelf-stable gum containing the coating. At Examples 3 and 4 on col. 9, lines 1-18 Reed discloses a finished edible coating as formed from one or more coating layers of sugar syrup (“syrup layers”) in water and containing a whitener, wherein the finished edible coating is free from a dispersant and a binder. Further, Reed discloses that each of the one or more of layers of the coating in its Examples 3 and 4 is made of a coating that comprises about 65 wt% solids and is sugar as palatinose, the whitener and water. In addition, Reed at col 3, lines 20-30 discloses sugar syrup coatings in any desired thickness or suitable number of layers; and, at col. 3, lines 55-60 discloses its coatings as further containing coloring agents.
The Office considers the claimed finished edible coating that imparts opacity and/or white color properties to include the hard-panned coating of Reed. Further, the Office considers the claimed finished edible coating having a b* value close to zero as including the white finished edible coating of Examples 3 and 4 of Reed and made from a syrup comprising sugar (“composition that includes a sugar syrup”), water, whitener and sweetener. The Office interprets the claimed “b* value close to zero” as being any b* value at or less than a magnitude of 10 as disclosed in the instant specification at page 15, lines 27-31.
Further, the Office considers the claimed finished edible coating formed from syrup layers that include a first section configured to adhere to an edible core, and a second section that includes one or more layers built up from applications of the sugar syrup to include the finished edible coating on the gum of Examples 3 and 4 of Reed. Reed discloses a working first section edible coating that adheres to its edible gum core with a working second section edible coating as a built up section formed from one or more syrup layers.
Reed does not disclose scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as a whitener in a finished edible coating; does not disclose a finished edible coating comprising from about 1 wt-% to about 30 wt-% of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles to impart opacity and/or white color properties to the finished edible coating; and, does not disclose scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles wherein about 20 to about 50 wt-% of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles have a median particle size ranging from about 0.5 µm to about 1 µm as in claim 1. Additionally, Reed does not disclose an L* value for its finished edible coatings or a finished edible coating having an L* value of 65 to 70; and, further Reed does not disclose a finished edible coating or food product containing an edible coating wherein the syrup layers include four sections, wherein a first section is built up from applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein a second section includes one or more layers built up from applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a higher sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio than a sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio associated with the composition applied in the first section, wherein a third section includes one or more layers built up from applications of the composition that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants, and wherein a fourth section is an outer section including a polish and which is free from the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles.
Further still, Reed does not disclose a first section of its finished edible coating composition that is applied to build up the first section including of a sucrose syrup, a corn syrup and scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a weight ratio of 75:5:20 by weight percent (wt%). However, Reed at col. 3, lines 21-30 discloses coatings made from syrups wherein the coatings comprise 50 to 100 wt% of isomaltulose, a sugar, and discloses at col. 6, lines 12-21 discloses coatings comprising softeners. The claimed amount of 75 wt% sucrose syrup and sucrose lies within the range of sugar disclosed in Reed. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", the Office considers that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have found it obvious to use a coating composition and make a first section coating comprising the claimed amount of sugar in its sugar syrup because Reed discloses that such an amount makes a desirable confectionary coating syrup and coating.
In addition, Reed at col. 9, lines 3-27 discloses a finished edible coating built up from two sections. Further, as shown in the instant specification at pages 20-24 and in Example 1, Comparative Example 2 and especially Table 3 on page 24, a finished edible coating as claimed comprising multiple sections of sugar syrup layers has an L* value which is determined by the sugar syrup layers and the nature, amount and placement of the colorant in the coating; and, likewise as shown at [0047] and Table 1 of Stawski a finished edible coating in multiple sections containing sugar syrup which contains a colorant like red or purple, relatively darker colorant in its third section has a lower L* value which is determined by the nature, amount and placement of any colorant in the coating. Still further, as shown at Table 3 of the instant specification, the presence of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the coating of inventive Example 2 increases the L* values of those coatings by 10 points or less and in proportion to the amount of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the coating.
Regarding instant claims 2 and 20, Reed does not disclose a finished edible coating wherein the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles are present in an amount of from about 10 to about 15 wt-%, by weight of the finished edible coating as in claim 2, or in an amount of from about 1 wt-% to about 10 wt-%, by weight of the finished edible coating as in claim 20.
Schad at the Figure on the left hand side and col. 3, line 66 to col. 4, lines 1-3 depicts scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles (at col. 2, lines 3-5) of a precipitated calcium carbonate as high opacity opacifying agents suitable for use in coating compositions (at col. 19, lines 50-54) for pan coating substrates as (at col. 3, line 30) food confectionary items. Schad at col. 7, line 55 to col. 15, line 17 discloses coatings comprising at least about 15 wt% and less than about 30 wt% precipitated calcium carbonate opacifier particles. Further, Schad discloses in Example 26 coating compositions comprising about 26 wt% of opacifying agent as scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. In addition, in the bottom 8 Examples of Table 4 on cols. 28-29, Schad discloses finished edible coatings comprising top coats (“outer sections”). Schad also discloses at col. 16, lines 28-40 that the top coats enhance gloss (“include a polish”) and can comprise less than about 0.5 wt% of any colorant, which includes no colorant, and that is free of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles overlaps. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", the Office considers that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.I. In addition, Schad at Tables 2 and 3 cols. 27-28 discloses that finished edible coatings from layers of sugar syrup and comprising scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles exhibit L* values which are a few points higher than that of the same sugar syrup coating not containing the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles and that the degree to which L* value increases is in proportion to the amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the coatings. Further, Schad at Example 26 discloses in Tables 2 and 3 in Examples 25 and 26 coatings that comprise whiteners that are free of titanium dioxide.
Robbins at Abstract discloses a hard panned coating and confections coated therewith (food products as confectionary products). At [0034], Robbins discloses the coating comprising a plurality of first coating layers formed from sugar (“syrup layers”) and a food-grade calcium carbonate as (at [0052]) a precipitated calcium carbonate having (at [0078]) a median particle size of 1 µm or less, e.g., 0.7 µm or less and, further discloses at [0034] a second coating layer as a plurality of coating layers formed from syrup layers of one or more compositions that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants (“a third section of one or more layers built up from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants”). Robbins discloses at Example 1 at [0098] coatings compositions for use in coloring or coating chocolate lentils, wherein Robbins at [0099] discloses each of the plurality of layers of the first coating formed from a sugar syrup coating composition that includes 10 wt% of the calcium carbonate based on the weight of the coating composition. Robbins at [0079] discloses coating compositions having from at least 1 wt% and up to 15 wt% of calcium carbonate, based on the weight of the coating composition and which has (at [0069]) 60 to 80 wt.% of sugar solids to give a coating having from (1 part in 80+1 parts or) about 1.25 wt% to (15 parts in 60+15 parts or) about 20 wt.% precipitated calcium carbonate particles as solids in a composition for forming one or more syrup layers or from 80:1 to 60:15 parts total sugar syrup to precipitated calcium carbonate particles. The Robbins coating at [0098] comprises 5 layers of the coating composition comprising calcium carbonate particles and 17 layers of a third section of one or more syrup layers formed from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and multiple colorants, and also includes a fourth section coating or polish comprising polishing gum and wax.
The Office considers the claimed finished edible coating formed from syrup layers that include a first section configured to adhere to an edible core, a second section that includes one or more layers built up from applications of the sugar syrup, a third layer formed from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants, and a fourth section that is free of any carbonate particles to include the coated confectionary product disclosed at [0098] of Robbins.
Ben-Yoseph at [0030] discloses a chocolate confection center 102 (FIG. 1) having a sugar shell coating 108 or finished edible coating thereon via a panning process in a plurality of layers. Ben-Yoseph discloses its finished edible coating comprising an opaque sugar layer 114 including the white color additive proximate the center (“first section”), and having thereon a transitional layer (“second section”), and a colored layer 104 (“third section”) coated thereon. Further, at [0031] Ben-Yoseph discloses that its second section transitional layer has a diluted content of colorant, including a white color additive. At [0009], Ben-Yoseph discloses a faster coating process to enable partial drying of each panning layer before or during the coating of the next layer.
Chitikov at Abstract discloses coated chewing gum made from coatings comprising sugar syrup, wherein at [0031] plasticizers or softeners in the gum include corn syrup and comprise from 0.5 to 15 wt%, within which range the claimed 5 wt% of corn syrup lies. Chitikov discloses at [0040] the coating comprising sweetener, including sucrose. Further, Chitikov at [0039] discloses that the gum may comprise a coating in the amount of from 20 to 75 wt% of the gum; and, further, discloses (at [0040]) corn syrup as a panning modifier. The 0.5 to 15 wt% of corn syrup in a gum includes the amount in the coating composition and product, within which the claimed 5 wt% lies. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Chitikov would have found it obvious to use the claimed amount of corn syrup in its gum coating syrup and in the finished coating because Chitikov discloses that the claimed amount of corn syrup is suitable as a panning coating modifier.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Schad for Reed to employ scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as precipitated calcium carbonate particles in the finished edible coating of Reed in the amounts disclosed in Schad and to select a turmeric or other colorant and/or substrate that would give any desired L* value to the substrate or any finished edible coatings that are otherwise made solely from sugar syrup. Both references disclose whitened hard-panned coatings for edible substrates comprising calcium carbonate and optional colorants. The ordinary skilled artisan working in Reed would have desired to increase the degree of opacity and gloss in its coating by using in its coating syrup the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Example 26 of Schad. Further, Reed at col. 9, lines 14-18 discloses subsequent syrup coatings without whitener to give a 33 wt% dry coating with a 10 wt% dry coating comprising the whitener, while Schad at col. 16, lines 38-49 discloses top coats that include a polish and that are free of colorant or scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as an opacifier. Accordingly, it would have been obvious in view of Schad for Reed to form a finished edible coating that comprises one or more layers formed from one or more syrup layers with scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as whiteners and that comprises a fourth section or outer section including a polish and which is free from the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles.
Regarding the claimed amounts scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in claims 1-2, the resulting coatings in Reed in Examples 3 and 4 as modified by Schad at Example 26 comprise one or more layers formed from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and an amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, and one or more layers in the finished edible coating of Schad having one or more top coat layers comprising compositions that are free of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, thus lowering the overall content of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the finished edible coating. Still further, the at least one layer of the Reed as modified by Schad at col. 14, line 64 to col. 15, line 17 finished edible coating layer comprises at least about 15 wt% and less than about 30 wt% precipitated calcium carbonate opacifier particles, which the claimed finished edible coating containing about 10 to about 15 wt% in claim 2 overlaps. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed as modified by Schad would have found it obvious to use the claimed amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles because Schad discloses that such an amount is desirable for making an opacified confectionary coating.
The Office considers the finished edible coatings of Reed as modified by Schad and Robbins, as evidenced by Stawski and having the same amount of the same colorant to be substantially the same as the claimed coating. Accordingly, absent a clear showing as to how the finished edible coatings of Reed as modified by Schad and Robbins as evidenced by Stawski differs from that as claimed, the Office considers the coatings of Examples 3 and 4 of Reed as modified by Schad at col. 2, lines 3-5, col. 7, line 55 to col. 8, line 4, and col. 16, lines 28-40 and Robbins at [0098]-[0099], as evidenced by Stawski at [0047] and Table 1 and comprising a light colorant such as turmeric in its third section in the amounts given in Schad to have an L* value of 65 to 70. See MPEP 2112.01.I.
Further, before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Robbins at [0099] for Reed to include a third section in its finished edible hard-panned coating which comprises a coating formed from one or more sugar syrup compositions that includes colorant. Both references disclose hard-panned coatings for confectionary products comprising an inorganic opacifiers or whiteners. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed as modified by Schad at Example 26 would have desired to slightly modify the color of its opaque confectionary coating as in Robbins to improve the overall whiteness of the coating or slightly change the tint of the coating in any desired fashion. Accordingly, as Reed at col. 3, lines 55-57 discloses a colorant or coloring agent in a hard panned coating, the Office considers the Reed as modified by Robbins at [0098]-[0099] finished edible coating to comprise a coating in four sections wherein a third section coating comprises one or more colorant and the first, second and fourth sections of the coating do not comprise a colorant. Still further, the Office considers the claimed finished edible coating wherein the second section is between the first section and the third section, and wherein the third section is between the second section and the fourth section to include the finished edible coating of Reed as modified by Robbins.
In addition, before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Robbins for Reed as modified by Schad to use scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles having a median particle size of 1 µm or less as in Robbins. All references disclose finished edible coatings for confectionary products made by pan coating and comprising whiteners. The ordinary skilled artisan would have desired to use the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of Schad having the particle size of Robbins to insure a homogeneous distribution of the particles in any coating layer. The Office considers the claimed about 20 to about 50 wt-% of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles having a median particle size ranging from about 0.5 µm to about 1 µm in claim 1 to include a composition of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles having a median particle size of 1 µm, as approximately 50 % (half fraction) of the composition has a particle size of less than 1 µm, the largest particles in that half fraction have a 1 µm particle size, and the median particle size in the half fraction is less than 1 µm.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Ben-Yoseph for Reed to apply a second section or layer over a first section or layer of its finished edible coating whereby the second section composition includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a higher sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio than a sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio associated with the composition applied in the first section or base sugar layer. Both references disclose finished edible coatings on a confectionary center made by panning coating of sugar layers in several sections comprising white or opacifying and then color layers. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to include a first section as a base sugar layer containing more scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles than in the second section of the finished edible coating using the method Ben-Yoseph to create opacity in the coating base and thereby reduce the amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles or opacifier needed in the finished edible coating.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Chitikov for Reed, Schad, Robbins and Ben-Yoseph to use sucrose syrup as in Chitikov and include an amount of 5 wt% corn syrup in the first section of its edible coating as in claim 28 and in the coating composition applied to make the first section coating as in Chitikov as in claim 30. All references disclose candy or gum comprising shell candy coatings, including panned coatings. The ordinary skilled artisan would have desired to use the claimed amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles and corn syrup and to use sucrose syrup as its sugar to make an edible coating for a food product as in Chitikov which discloses that desirable gum and candy coatings comprises the claimed amount of corn syrup as plasticizer and panning modifier and comprise sucrose as a sweetener.
Regarding instant claim 5, both the finished edible coating as the first coating layers and the whole of the hard panned coating of Reed as modified by Schad at Examples 3 and 4 of Reed comprising scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Schad at Example 26 would be expected to have excellent whiteness as disclosed at Table 4 of Schad. Thus, the finished edible coatings of Example 3 or 4 of Reed as modified by Schad and Robbins (at [0099]) appear to have substantially the same L* and C* values as claimed. Accordingly, absent a clear showing as to how the lightness value L* and the chroma value C* of the Reed as modified by Schad coating differs from that of the as claimed, the Office considers the Reed Example 3 or 4 coating as modified by Schad to have the claimed lightness value L* and chroma value C* that are increased by about 1 compared to the values of an edible coating that does not contain an opacifier as in claim 5. See MPEP 2112.01.I.
Regarding instant claim 20, an opacifying coating in Examples 3 and 4 of Reed comprising a first section configured to adhere to an edible core, a built up first or second section and containing an opacifier as modified by Schad at col. 14, line 64 to col. 15, line 17 and comprising in the overall coating 15 to 30 wt% of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. Further, Robbins at [0098] discloses suitable hard pan coatings comprising the color coating compositions and polish coatings in the same amount as or more than the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particle containing opacifying coatings of Reed as modified by Schad. Accordingly, the finished edible coating of Reed as modified by Schad and modified as in Robbins at [0098] comprising a third section formed from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants and fourth section including a polish that is free of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles will comprise 7.5 to 15 wt% of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the finished edible coating whenever the third and fourth sections of the coating comprise the same amount of solids as the first and second sections of the coating, which the claimed 1 to 10 wt% of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles overlaps. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed as modified by Schad and Robbins would have found it obvious to use the claimed amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in its overall coating because Robbins discloses that the claimed amount of calcium carbonate particles makes a desirable coating for confectionary substrates
Regarding instant claim 31, Robbins discloses at [0079] syrup coating layers comprising 7 to 12 wt% of precipitated calcium carbonate particles the total weight of the coating composition, which the claimed coating from a composition of sugar (at [0069]) comprising 60 to 80 wt% sugar, or a ratio of sugar to particles of 60:12 to 80:7, which is normalized at 100 parts to 83.3:16.6 to about 92:8 and which the claimed 90:10 lies within. See MPEP 2144.05.I. In view of Ben-Yoseph at [0030] which discloses using less opacifier in a second coating section than in a base or first section, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed as modified by Schad and Robbins would have found it obvious to use the coating syrup as in Robbins having a 90:10 weight ratio of the sucrose syrup of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Schad to form a second coating section as a transition from a white layer to a color layer or other subsequent layer without calcium carbonate as in Ben-Yoseph.
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5248508 to Reed et al. (Reed) in view of US 2015/0374009 A1 to Robbins (Robbins), US 9492395 B2 to Schad et al. (Schad), WO2018/156715 A1 to Ben-Yoseph et al. (Ben-Yoseph) and US2009/0304856 A1 to Chitikov et al (Chitikov), as evidenced by US2016/0015054 A1 to Stawski et al. (Stawski as applied to claim 1, above, and as evidenced by Specialty Minerals ViCALity Light product data sheet”, Specialty Minerals ViCALity Light product data sheet, 2000, pg. 1-2, Brenntag.com (ViCALity), of record.
Be advised that the Office considers that any particle size distribution may arbitrarily be divided into any number of particle size ranges at any one or more cut off points in the distribution, such as, for example, 1 μm with the amount of particles having a size of less than 1 µm having its own independent median, mean or average particle size.
As applied to claim 1, Reed at Examples 3 and 4 as modified by Schad at Examples 25 and 26 and Table 4, Robbins at [0069], [0079] and [0099], Ben-Yoseph at [0030] and Chitikov at Abstract, [0031] and [0039]-[0040] discloses finished edible coatings prepared as one or more syrup layers from a sugar syrup and including four sections wherein one section adheres to an edible core, one section comprises scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, one section comprises a colorant, and one section is free from scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles and the second section that includes a higher weight ratio of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles than the first section. The Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph and Chitikov finished edible coatings impart opacity or white color and the edible coating comprises scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the amount of from about 1 to about 30 wt% of the finished edible coating, and wherein about 20 to about 50 weight % of the particles have a median particle size of from 0.5 to 1 μm.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Reed, Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph and Chitikov do not disclose from about 20 to about 50 weight % of a total amount of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles have a median particle size of from about 1 to about 3 μm as in claim 4. Further, Reed, Schad, Robbins and Ben-Yoseph do not disclose a remainder of the total amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles having a median particle size of about 5 μm as in claim 19.
The scalenohedral calcium carbonate particle compositions shown in Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins Ben-Yoseph and Chitikov and those in ViCAlity appear to be the same precipitated scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles with varying particle sizes. Schad at col 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 2 and ViCAlity at page 1 both disclose precipitated scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. Further, ViCAlity at page 2, left-hand column in the chart entitled “Typical Physical Properties” discloses a particle size distribution having a mode peak at 2.0 µm. ViCAlity also discloses a regular particle size weight distribution wherein the width of the upper half and the width of the lower half of a distribution are equal to each other.
Accordingly regarding instant claim 4, regardless of the median particle size selected, which is arbitrarily selected anywhere in the distribution, ViCAlity discloses that half of the number of particles in its distribution having any selected median particle size, such as 3 µm, would have a particle size greater than that average particle size; and, because bigger particles weigh more than smaller particle, less than 50 wt% of the particles disclosed in ViCAlity would have a particle size of 3 µm or less, while a small percent of the particles will have a particle size of less than 1 µm. Accordingly, in a distribution of particles having a median particle size of 3 µm in ViCAlity, from about 10 wt% to about 50 wt% will have a median particle size of from about 1 to about 3 µm as in claim 4.
Regarding instant claim 19, ViCAlity at page 2, right-hand, bottom Table discloses a weight average particle size distribution as a regular parabolic bell curve having a sharp lower end cut-off at 1 µm, a sharp cut-off at some point above 5 µm and which extends from scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of 1 μm in size and includes scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of above 5 µm in size. Accordingly, a fraction of the largest particles in the ViCAlity particle distribution has a median particle size of about 5 µm as in claim 19.
The Office considers the precipitated scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of ViCAlity comprising a regular distribution of particles comprising and having median particle sizes selected from 1 μm or more and up to 5 µm to be the same as the claimed scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. Accordingly, absent a clear showing as to how the particle size distribution of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins, Chitikov and ViCAlity differs from that of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as claimed, the Office considers the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph and ViCAlity to have a median particle size such that a total amount of about 20 to about 50 weight % of a total amount of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles have a median particle size of from about 1 μm to about 3 μm as in claim 4 and a remaining portion of the particles having a median particle size of about 5 μm as in claim 19. See MPEP 2112.01.I.
Claims 9-11, 22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5248508 to Reed et al. (Reed) in view of US 9492395 B2 to Schad et al. (Schad), US 2015/0374009 A1 to Robbins (Robbins), WO2018/156715 A1 to Ben-Yoseph et al. (Ben-Yoseph) and US2009/0304856 A1 to Chitikov et al (Chitikov).
The Office considers that any particle size distribution may arbitrarily be divided into any number of particle size ranges at any one or more cut off points in the distribution, such as, for example, 1 μm with the amount of particles of any size range, e.g. the size of less than 1, µm having its own independent median mean or average particle size.
The Office interprets the claimed value “b* that is close to zero” to include any b* value of an edible coating of from about +10 to about -10 as disclosed in the instant specification at page 15, lines 29-31.
Regarding instant claims 9-11 and 22, Reed discloses at Abstract a hard coated gum having a “finished edible coating” and a shelf-stable gum containing the coating (a “food product containing an edible coating” as a “confectionary product” in claim 10 and wherein the hard coated gum is a “hard-panned candy” in claim 11). At Examples 3 and 4 on col. 9, lines 1-18, Reed discloses a finished edible coating as formed from one or more coating layers of sugar syrup (“syrup layers”) in water and containing a whitener as titanium dioxide, wherein the finished edible coating is free from a dispersant and a binder. Further, Reed discloses that each of the one or more of layers of the coating in its Examples 3 and 4 is made of a coating that comprises about 65 wt% solids of a composition of the sugar palatinose, the whitener and water. The coatings in Examples 3 and 4 of Reed have only a whitener and are free from a colorant (claim 22). In addition, Reed at col 3, lines 20-30 discloses sugar syrup coatings in any desired thickness or suitable number of layers; and, at col. 3, lines 55-60 discloses its coatings as containing coloring agents.
Further, the Office considers the claimed finished edible coating in a food product that imparts opacity and/or white color properties to include the hard-panned coating of Reed. Further, the Office considers the claimed finished edible coating having a b* value close to zero (claim 9) and the claimed finished edible coating having an a* value of from about -2.5 to 0 (claim 22) as including the white finished edible coating of Examples 3 and 4 of Reed and made from a syrup comprising sugar (“composition that includes a sugar syrup”), water, whitener and sweetener. The Office interprets the claimed “b* value close to zero” as being any b* value at or less than a magnitude of 10 as in the instant specification at page 15, lines 27-31.
The Office considers the claimed finished edible coating of claim 9 formed from syrup layers that include a first section configured to adhere to an edible core, and a second section that includes one or more layers built up from applications of the sugar syrup to include the finished edible coating on the gum of Examples 3 and 4 of Reed. Reed discloses a working first section edible coating that adheres to its edible gum core with a working second section edible coating as a built up section formed from one or more syrup layers.
Reed does not disclose a food product comprising scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as a whitener in a finished edible coating configured to adhere to chocolate as an edible core; and does not disclose the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles wherein about 20 to about 50 wt-% of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles have a median particle size ranging from about 0.5 µm to about 1 µm. Additionally, Reed does not disclose an edible coating in a food product containing an edible coating wherein the syrup layers include four sections, wherein the first section is built up from applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein a second section includes one or more layers built up from applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a higher sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio than a sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio associated with the composition applied in the first section, and wherein a fourth section is an outer section including a polish and which is free from the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in claim 9.
In addition, and regarding instant claims 24 and 25, Reed does not disclose L* values for its finished edible coatings of at least about 65; and Reed does not disclose a first section of its finished edible coating composition that is applied to build up the first section including of a sucrose syrup, a corn syrup and scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a weight ratio of 75:5:20 by weight percent (wt%) as in claim 9. Further, Reed does not disclose a finished edible coating in a food product wherein each of the one or more syrup layers that includes scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles is prepared from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and has a ratio of total sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of from 88:12 to 90:10 as in claim 9. And Reed does not disclose a food product as a “snack food” in claim 24; or a confectionary product that is a “chocolate product” as in claim 25.
However, Reed at col. 3, lines 21-30 discloses coatings made from syrups wherein the coatings comprise 50 to 100 wt% of isomaltulose, a sugar, and discloses at col. 6, lines 12-21 discloses coatings comprising softeners. The claimed amount of 75 wt% sucrose syrup and sucrose lies within the range disclosed in Reed. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", the Office considers that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have found it obvious to use a coating composition and make a first section coating comprising the claimed amount of a sugar syrup because Reed discloses that such an amount makes a desirable confectionary coating syrup and coating.
Schad at the Figure on the left hand side and col. 3, line 66 to col. 4, lines 1-3 depicts scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles (at col. 2, lines 3-5) of a precipitated calcium carbonate as high opacity opacifying agents suitable for use in coating compositions (at col. 19, lines 50-54) for pan coating substrates as (at col. 3, line 30) food confectionary items. Schad at col. 7, line 55 to col. 15, line 17 discloses coatings comprising at least about 15 wt% and less than about 30 wt% precipitated calcium carbonate opacifier particles. Further, Schad discloses L* values for the edible coatings in Example 26 at Table 4 on col. 28, all of which are above 89; and, in addition, Schad discloses in Example 26 coating compositions comprising about 26 wt% of opacifying agent as scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. In addition, in the bottom 8 Examples of Table 4 on cols. 28-29, Schad discloses finished edible coatings comprising top coats (“outer sections”). Schad also discloses at col. 16, lines 28-40 that the top coats enhance gloss (“include a polish”) and can comprise less than about 0.5 wt% of colorant, which includes no colorant, and that is free of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles overlaps. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", the Office considers that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Schad would have found it obvious to include no colorant in its top or fourth section coating because Schad discloses that it is desirable for confection coating topcoats to include no colorant.
Robbins at Abstract discloses a hard panned coating and confections coated therewith (food products as confectionary products). At [0034], Robbins discloses the coating comprising a plurality of first coating layers formed from sugar (“syrup layers”) and a food-grade calcium carbonate as (at [0052]) a precipitated calcium carbonate having (at [0078]) a median particle size of 1 µm or less, e.g., 0.7 µm or less and, further discloses at [0034] a second coating layer as a plurality of coating layers formed from syrup layers of one or more compositions that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants (“a third section of one or more layers built up from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants”). Robbins discloses at [0079] syrup coating layers comprising 7 to 12 wt% of precipitated calcium carbonate particles the total weight of the coating composition, which the claimed coating from a composition of sugar (at [0069]) comprising 60 to 80 wt% sugar, or a ratio of sugar to particles of 60:12 to 80:7, which is normalized at 100 parts to 83.3:16.6 to about 92:8 and which the 88:12 to 90:10 in claim 9 lies within. See MPEP 2144.05.I. In addition, Robbins discloses at Example 1 at [0098] coatings compositions for use in coloring or coating chocolate lentils ( a chocolate edible core, food products as hard-panned candy in claim 11 and as a chocolate product in claim 25), wherein further (at [0099]) each of the plurality of layers of the first coating formed from a sugar syrup composition includes an opacifier. The Robbins coating at [0098] comprises 5 layers of the coating composition comprising calcium carbonate particles and 17 layers of a third section of one or more syrup layers formed from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and multiple colorants, and also includes a fourth section coating comprising polishing gum and wax.
The Office considers the claimed finished edible coating formed from syrup layers that include a first section configured to adhere to an edible core, a second section that includes one or more layers built up from applications of the sugar syrup, a third layer formed from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants, and a fourth section that is free of any carbonate particles to include the coated confectionary product disclosed at [0098] of Robbins.
Ben-Yoseph at [0030] discloses a chocolate confection center 102 (FIG. 1) or edible core having a sugar shell coating 108 or finished edible coating thereon via a panning process in a plurality of layers. Ben-Yoseph discloses its finished edible coating comprising an opaque sugar layer 114 including the white color additive proximate the center (“first section”), and having thereon a transitional layer (“second section”), and a colored layer 104 (“third section”) coated thereon. Further, at [0031] Ben-Yoseph discloses that its second section transitional layer has a diluted content of colorant, including a white color additive.
Chitikov at Abstract discloses coated chewing gum made from coatings comprising sugar syrup, wherein at [0031] plasticizers or softeners in the gum include corn syrup and comprise from 0.5 to 15 wt%, within which range the claimed 5 wt% of corn syrup lies. Chitikov discloses at [0040] the coating comprising sweetener, including sucrose. Further, Chitikov at [0039] discloses that the gum may comprise a coating in the amount of from 20 to 75 wt% of the gum; and, further, discloses (at [0040]) corn syrup as a panning modifier. The 0.5 to 15 wt% of corn syrup in a gum includes the amount in the coating composition and product, within which the claimed 5 wt% lies. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Chitikov would have found it obvious to use the claimed amount of corn syrup in its gum coating syrup and in the finished coating because Chitikov discloses that the claimed amount of corn syrup is suitable as a panning coating modifier.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Schad for Reed to form an edible coating that comprises one or more layers formed from one or more syrup layers with scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in an edible coating that comprises a fourth section or outer section including a polish and which is free from the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. Reed at col. 9, lines 14-18 discloses subsequent syrup coatings or top coats without whitener to give a 33 wt% dry coating containing whiteners, which the Office considers as including opacifiers; and, Schad at col. 16, lines 28-40 discloses top coats that include a polish and that are free of colorant or scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as an opacifier.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Schad and Robbins for Reed to include in the edible coating for its food product scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as precipitated calcium carbonate particles in a ratio of total sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of from 88:12 to 90:10 in the finished edible coating of Reed. All references disclose whitened hard-panned coatings from sugar syrups for edible substrates comprising calcium carbonate. The ordinary skilled artisan working in Reed would have desired to increase the degree of opacity and gloss in its coating by using in its coating syrup an amount scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Reed at [0069] and [0079] to provide a coating comprising from 8 to 10 wt% of the particles.
Further, before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Robbins at [0099] for Reed to include a first section as a base sugar layer containing more scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles than in the second section of the finished edible coating and to include a third section in its finished edible hard-panned coating which comprises a coating formed from one or more sugar syrup compositions that includes a colorant. Both references disclose hard-panned coatings for confectionary products comprising an inorganic opacifiers or whiteners. Further, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to modify the color of its opaque confectionary coating as in Robbins to improve the overall whiteness of the coating or slightly change the tint of the coating by include a colorant in a third section of the coating having no whitener or opacifier as in Robbins.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Robbins for Reed as modified by Schad to use scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles having a median particle size of 1 µm or less as in Robbins. All references disclose finished edible coatings for confectionary products made by pan coating and comprising whiteners. The ordinary skilled artisan would have desired to use the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of Schad having the particle size of Robbins to insure a homogeneous distribution of the particles in any coating layer. The Office considers the claimed about 20 to about 50 wt-% of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles having a median particle size ranging from about 0.5 µm to about 1 µm, to include a composition of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles having a median particle size of 1 µm, as approximately 50 % (half fraction) of the composition has a particle size of less than 1 µm, wherein the largest particles in that half fraction have a 1 µm particle size, and the median particle size in the half fraction is less than 1 µm.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Ben-Yoseph for Reed to apply a second section or layer over a first section or layer of its finished edible coating whereby the second section composition includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a higher sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio than a sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio associated with the composition applied in the first section or base sugar layer. Both references disclose finished edible coatings on a confectionary center made by panning coating of sugar layers in several sections comprising white or opacifying and then color layers. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to include a first section as a base sugar layer containing more scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles than in the second section of the finished edible coating using the method Ben-Yoseph to create opacity in the coating based and thereby reduce the amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles or opacifier needed in the finished edible coating.
The hard pan coatings of Reed at Examples 3 and 4 and as modified by Schad at Example 26 having a polish from a topcoat fourth section and, further as modified by Robbins at [0098] or [0099] having at least one colorant coat layer (third section) and a wax polish appear to be substantially the same composition as claimed finished edible coating and the claimed food product containing an edible coating. Accordingly, absent a clear showing as to how the L* value of the coating in Examples 3 or 4 of Reed as modified by Schad at Example 26 and Robbins at [0099] differs from that of the claimed finished edible coating, the Office considers the claimed finished edible coating having an L* value of at least about 65 to include the coating of Reed as modified by Schad and Robbins.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Chitikov for Reed, Schad, Robbins and Ben-Yoseph to use sucrose syrup as in Chitikov and include an amount of 5 wt% corn syrup in the first section of its edible coating as in claim 28 and in the coating composition applied to make the first section coating as in Chitikov as in claim 30. All references disclose candy or gum comprising shell candy coatings, including panned coatings. The ordinary skilled artisan would have desired to use the claimed amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles and corn syrup and to use sucrose syrup as its sugar to make an edible coating for a food product as in Chitikov which discloses that desirable gum and candy coatings comprises the claimed amount of corn syrup as plasticizer and panning modifier and comprise sucrose as a sweetener.
Still further, before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Robbins at [0084] for Reed to coat an edible chocolate core as a confectionary food product comprising chocolate (“chocolate product” in claim 25) and/or nuts or fruit (“snack” food in claim 24). Both references disclose hard pan coatings for confectionary products made from sugar and comprising a whitener or opacifier. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to impart improved shelf stability and a crunchy candy texture to a coated substrate by coating a nut, snack food, confection or chocolate product center as in Robbins.
Claims 26-27, 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5248508 to Reed et al. (Reed) in view of US 2015/0374009 A1 to Robbins (Robbins), US 9492395 B2 to Schad et al. (Schad), WO2018/156715 A1 to Ben-Yoseph et al. (Ben-Yoseph) and US2009/0304856 A1 to Chitikov et al (Chitikov), as evidenced by US2016/0015054 A1 to Stawski et al. (Stawski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2007/076170 A2 to Yang (Yang), of record.
As applied to claim 1, Reed at Examples 3 and 4 as modified by Schad at Examples 25 and 26 and Table 4, Robbins at [0069], [0079] and [0099], Ben-Yoseph at [0030] and Chitikov at Abstract, [0031] and [0039]-[0040] discloses finished edible coatings prepared as one or more syrup layers from a sugar syrup and including four sections wherein one section adheres to an edible core, one section comprises scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, one section comprises a colorant, and one section is free from scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles and the second section that includes a higher weight ratio of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles than the first section. The Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph and Chitikov finished edible coatings impart opacity or white color and the edible coating comprises scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the amount of from about 1 to about 30 wt% of the finished edible coating, and wherein about 20 to about 50 weight % of the particles have a median particle size of from 0.5 to 1 μm.
Regarding instant claims 26-27, 33 and 35, Reed, Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph and Chitikov do not disclose a coating comprising chocolate as in claim 26 and does not disclose a chocolate applied directly to an edible core as in claim 27. Reed does not provide an example of a finished edible coating that is free from titanium dioxide and wherein the polish layer comprises carnauba wax as in claim 33. Further Reed does not give an example of an edible coating wherein the composition applied to build up the second section includes sucrose syrup and the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a weight ratio of 90:10, wherein the polish comprises carnauba wax as in claim 35.
Yang at Abstract discloses multilayered confectionary products comprising a core and (at [0039]) multiple shells wherein (at [0045]) the core can comprise gum, candy or chocolate, and each shell can comprise a compound coating or chocolate. At [0017], Yang discloses that coating shells can be used to prevent oil migration. At Example 1 on page 19, Yang discloses a gum having one or more pan coating layers and a chocolate layer as part of the coating. Still further, Yang at [0048] discloses polishing outer coats comprising carnauba wax.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Yang for Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph and Chitikov to include chocolate in its coating and to finish the edible coating with a further section of a polish comprising carnauba wax. All references disclose candy or gum comprising shell candy coatings, including panned coatings. The ordinary skilled artisan working in Reed would have desired to include chocolate in one or more layers of a coating on candy, gum or chocolate to add to the available flavor combinations for a given product, while including at least one hard pan shell coating as in Reed under a chocolate layer or over it, including as a layer applied directly to an edible core to prevent oil migration from chocolate layers into other shell layers or into the core layer as in Yang. Further, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed as modified by Robbins would have desired to use carnauba wax as its polish coating or outer layer. Because chocolate can melt or bleed, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins and Ben-Yoseph would have desired to put a chocolate layer directly on a center both to enable formation of a shell and as a matter of obvious rearrangement of coating layers or sections because Yang discloses at [0045] that any shell or coating can comprise chocolate; and (at [0017]) Yang discloses that coating shells can be used to prevent oil migration which would include melting. Further, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to include the carnauba wax polish layer as its outer layer to enhance its appearance and water resistance.
Further regarding instant claim 31, Robbins discloses at [0079] syrup coating layers comprising 7 to 12 wt% of precipitated calcium carbonate particles the total weight of the coating composition, which the claimed coating from a composition of sugar (at [0069]) comprising 60 to 80 wt% sugar, or a ratio of sugar to particles of 60:12 to 80:7, which is normalized at 100 parts to 83.3:16.6 to about 92:8 and which the claimed 90:10 lies within. See MPEP 2144.05.I. In view of Ben-Yoseph at [0030] which discloses using less opacifier in a second coating section than in a base or first section, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed as modified by Robbins would have found it obvious to use the coating syrup as in Robbins having a 90:10 weight ratio of the sucrose syrup of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Schad to form a second coating section as a transition from a white layer to a color layer or other subsequent layer without calcium carbonate as in Ben-Yoseph.
Further regarding instant claim 33, Reed at col. 2, lines 23-24 discloses generally whiteners without limit including whiteners free of titanium dioxide. In addition, Schad at Example 26 discloses in Tables 2 and 3 in Examples 25 and 26 coatings that comprise whiteners that are free of titanium dioxide. The Reed as modified by Schad edible coating is a titanium free coating.
Claims 29 and 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5248508 to Reed et al. (Reed) in view of US 2015/0374009 A1 to Robbins (Robbins), US 9492395 B2 to Schad et al. (Schad), WO2018/156715 A1 to Ben-Yoseph et al. (Ben-Yoseph) and US2009/0304856 A1 to Chitikov et al (Chitikov), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2016/0015054 A1 to Stawski et al. (Stawski).
As applied to claim 1, Reed at Examples 3 and 4 as modified by Schad at Examples 25 and 26 and Table 4, Robbins at [0069], [0079] and [0099], Ben-Yoseph at [0030] and Chitikov at Abstract, [0031] and [0039]-[0040] discloses finished edible coatings prepared as one or more syrup layers from a sugar syrup and including four sections wherein one section adheres to an edible core, one section comprises scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, one section comprises a colorant, and one section is free from scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, and the second section that includes a higher weight ratio of the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles than the first section. The Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins and Ben-Yoseph finished edible coatings impart opacity or white color and the edible coating comprises a ratio of total sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles of from 88:12 to 90:10, and wherein about 20 to about 50 weight % of the particles have a median particle size of from 0.5 to 1 μm.
Reed as modified by Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph and Chitikov does not disclose an example of a first section of an edible coating wherein the first section includes 30 applications of a composition that includes scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein 15 applications of the at least one syrup layer include the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein the 15 applications of the at least one syrup layer are dried before a second 15 applications are applied and dried, and wherein the second section includes one or more layers built up from 5 applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in claim 29; further, does not disclose the same finished edible coating wherein the first section is built up from 30 applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in claim 34.
Stawski at FIG. 1 discloses an edible coating as a panned syrup coating for a confection comprising several layers. At [0041], Stawski discloses a finished edible coating can be formed of any number of layers and that the first section and second section, as well as any subsequent coating section can be coated in from 1 to 20 layers as desired in any application.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Reed, Schad, Robbins and Ben-Yoseph to form and edible coating wherein the first section includes 15 applications of the at least one syrup layer which includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein the 15 applications of the at least one syrup layer are dried before an additional 15 applications are applied and dried, and wherein the second section includes one or more layers built up from 5 equal applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. Further, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious to use a scalenohedral calcium carbonate containing composition in all layers of the first section. All references disclose candy or gum comprising shell candy coatings, including panned coatings. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to dry any coating layer after coating it and forming subsequent layers in the same manner to prevent them from running together. Further, the ordinary skilled artisan would desire to form any number of layers of an opaque layer or layers, a color layer and a top layer for any desired purpose, including at least 15 layers in a first section and is built up from at least 5 layers in a second section that contain scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles; and, further, would have desired to make its opaque layer as its first layer in 30 applications and as its second layers, wherein each of the 30 layers of the first layer and at least 5 layers of the second layer as in Stawski comprise an opacifier as in Robbins that is a scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Schad. The claimed coating layers are each panned in the same way from the same syrup to make the same opaque confectionary coating, as is routine in the art of Reed, Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph, Chitikov and Stawski.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5248508 to Reed et al. (Reed) in view of US 9492395 B2 to Schad et al. (Schad), US 2015/0374009 A1 to Robbins (Robbins), WO2018/156715 A1 to Ben-Yoseph et al. (Ben-Yoseph), US2009/0304856 A1 to Chitikov et al (Chitikov), WO 2007/076170 A2 to Yang (Yang) and US2016/0015054 A1 to Stawski et al. (Stawski).
Reed discloses at Abstract a hard coated gum “food product” having a “finished edible coating” and a shelf-stable gum containing the coating (a “food product containing an edible coating”). At Examples 3 and 4 on col. 9, lines 1-18, Reed discloses a finished edible coating as formed from one or more coating layers of sugar syrup (“syrup layers”) in one or more syrup layers prepared from compositions that include scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein the finished edible coating is free from a dispersant and a binder. Further, Reed discloses that each of the one or more of layers of the coating in its Examples 3 and 4 on col. 9, lines 1-18 is made of a pan coating that comprises about 65 wt% solids of a composition of the sugar palatinose, the whitener and water. The coatings in Examples 3 and 4 of Reed have only a whitener and are free from a colorant. Further, Reed discloses that each of the one or more of layers of the coating in its Examples 3 and 4 is made of a coating that comprises about 65 wt% solids of a composition of the sugar palatinose, the whitener and water. In addition, Reed at col 3, lines 20-30 discloses sugar syrup coatings in any desired thickness or suitable number of layers; and, at col. 3, lines 55-60 discloses its coatings as containing in addition coloring agents.
The Office finds that the coatings disclosed in Examples 3 and 4 of Reed comprise a working first section edible coating that adheres to its edible gum core with a working second section edible coating as a built up section formed from one or more syrup layers, have only a whitener and are free from a colorant. The Office considers the claimed finished edible coating formed from syrup layers that include sections including a first section that is configured to adhere to an edible core, and a second section that includes one or more layers built up from applications of the sugar syrup to include the finished edible coating on the gum of Reed at col 3, lines 20-30 and in Examples 3 and 4 of Reed.
Reed does not disclose an edible coating formed from its syrup layers prepared from compositions including scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles configured to adhere to chocolate as an edible core. Additionally, Reed does not disclose an edible coating in a food product containing an edible coating wherein the syrup layers include four sections, wherein the first section is built up from applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein a second section is built up from layers built up from applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a higher sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio than a sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio associated with the composition applied in the first section, and wherein a fourth section is an outer section including a carnauba wax polish and wherein the third and fourth sections are free from the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. Further, Reed does not disclose an example of a first section of an edible coating wherein the first section includes 30 applications of a composition that includes scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein 15 applications of the at least one syrup layer include the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein the 15 applications of the at least one syrup layer are dried before a second 15 applications are applied and dried, wherein the second section is built up from 5 applications of a composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles; and herein a third section is built up from between 5 and 30 applications of a composition of the sugar syrup and one or more colorants.
Moreover, Reed does not disclose a first section of its finished edible coating composition that is applied to build up the first section including of a sucrose syrup, a corn syrup and scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a weight ratio of 75:5:20 by weight percent (wt%). And Reed does not disclose a finished edible coating in a food product wherein the composition applied to build up a second section that includes the sucrose syrup and scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a weight ratio of 90:10. And finally, Reed does not disclose its food product as having an edible coating wherein the second section is between the first section and the third section, and wherein the third section is between the second section and the fourth section, and wherein the third section and the fourth section are free from the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles.
However, Reed at col. 3, lines 21-30 discloses coatings made from syrups wherein the coatings comprise 50 to 100 wt% of isomaltulose, a sugar, which the claimed amount of 75 wt% sucrose syrup and sucrose lies within. And Reed discloses at col. 6, lines 12-21 discloses coatings comprising softeners. The In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", the Office considers that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have found it obvious to use a coating composition and make a first section coating comprising the claimed amount of a sugar syrup because Reed discloses that such an amount makes a desirable confectionary coating syrup and coating.
Schad at the Figure on the left hand side and col. 3, line 66 to col. 4, lines 1-3 depicts scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles (at col. 2, lines 3-5) of a precipitated calcium carbonate as high opacity opacifying agents suitable for use in coating compositions (at col. 19, lines 50-54) for pan coating substrates as (at col. 3, line 30) food confectionary items. Schad at col. 7, line 55 to col. 15, line 17 discloses coatings comprising at least about 15 wt% and less than about 30 wt% precipitated calcium carbonate opacifier particles, based on the weight of the coating composition. Further, Schad discloses in Example 26 coating compositions comprising about 26 wt% of opacifying agent as scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. Further, Schad at Example 26 discloses in Tables 2 and 3 in Examples 25 and 26 coatings that comprise whiteners that are free of titanium dioxide. In addition, in the bottom 8 Examples of Table 4 on cols. 28-29, Schad discloses finished edible coatings comprising top coats (“outer sections”). Schad also discloses at col. 16, lines 28-40 that the top coats enhance gloss (“include a polish”) and can comprise less than about 0.5 wt% of any colorant, which includes no colorant, and that is free of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles overlaps. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", the Office considers that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Schad would have found it obvious to include no colorant in its top or fourth section coating because Schad discloses that it is desirable for confection coating topcoats to include no colorant.
Ben-Yoseph at [0030] discloses a chocolate confection center 102 (FIG. 1) having a sugar shell coating 108 or finished edible coating thereon via a panning process in a plurality of layers. Ben-Yoseph discloses its finished edible coating comprising an opaque sugar layer 114 including the white color additive proximate the center (“first section”), and having thereon a transitional layer (“second section”), and a colored layer 104 (“third section”) coated thereon. Further, Ben-Yoseph discloses at [0031] that its second section transitional layer has a diluted content of colorant, including a white color additive. At [0009], Ben-Yoseph discloses a faster coating process to enable partial drying of each panning layer before or during the coating of the next layer. Accordingly, Ben-Yoseph discloses at [0030] an edible coating comprising a plurality of layers in at least two sections and discloses using less opacifier in a second coating section than in a base or first section.
Robbins at Abstract discloses a hard panned coating and confections coated therewith. At [0034], Robbins discloses the coating comprising a plurality of first coating layers formed from sugar syrup layer and a food-grade calcium carbonate as (at [0052]) a precipitated calcium carbonate having (at [0078]) a median particle size of 1 µm or less, e.g., 0.7 µm or less and, further discloses at [0034] a second coating layer as a plurality of coating layers formed from syrup layers of one or more compositions that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants as a third section of one or more layers built up from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants. Robbins discloses at Example 1 at [0098] coatings compositions for use in coloring or coating chocolate lentils as a core, wherein Robbins at [0099] discloses each of the plurality of layers of the first coating formed from a sucrose syrup coating composition that includes 10 wt% of the calcium carbonate based on the weight of the coating composition. Further, Robbins discloses the outer coating section comprising a wax. Robbins at [0079] discloses coating compositions having from at least 1 wt% and up to 15 wt% of calcium carbonate, based on the weight of the coating composition and which has (at [0069]) 60 to 80 wt.% of sucrose solids to give a coating having from (1 part in 80+1 parts or) about 1.25 wt% to (15 parts in 60+15 parts or) about 20 wt.% precipitated calcium carbonate particles as solids in a composition for forming one or more syrup layers or from 80:1 to 60:15 parts total sugar syrup to precipitated calcium carbonate particles. Robbins at [0069], [0079] and [0099] Robbins discloses at [0079] syrup coating layers comprising 7 to 12 wt% of precipitated calcium carbonate particles the total weight of the coating composition, which the claimed 8 to 10 wt% lies within, and discloses coating from a composition of sugar (at [0069]) comprising 60 to 80 wt% sugar, or a ratio of sugar to particles of 60:12 to 80:7, which is normalized at 100 parts to 83.3:16.6 to about 92:8 and which the claimed 88:12 to 90:10 lies within. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
The Office considers the Robbins coating at [0098] comprises 5 layers of the coating composition comprising calcium carbonate particles and 17 layers of a third section of one or more syrup layers formed from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and multiple colorants, and also includes a fourth section coating comprising polishing gum and wax. Further, the Office considers the claimed finished edible coating formed from syrup layers that include a first section configured to adhere to an edible core, a second section that includes one or more layers built up from applications of the sugar syrup, a third layer formed from a composition that includes a sugar syrup and one or more colorants and is free from opacifiers, and a fourth section that is free of any carbonate particles to include the coating on the confectionary product disclosed at [0098] of Robbins.
Chitikov at Abstract discloses coated chewing gum made from coatings comprising sugar syrup, wherein at [0031] plasticizers or softeners in the gum include corn syrup and comprise from 0.5 to 15 wt%, within which range the claimed 5 wt% of corn syrup lies. Chitikov discloses at [0040] the coating comprising sweetener, including sucrose. Further, Chitikov at [0039] discloses that the gum may comprise a coating in the amount of from 20 to 75 wt% of the gum; and, further, discloses (at [0040]) corn syrup as a panning modifier. The 0.5 to 15 wt% of corn syrup in a gum includes the amount in the coating composition and product, within which the claimed 5 wt% lies. See MPEP 2144.05.I. The ordinary skilled artisan in Chitikov would have found it obvious to use the claimed amount of corn syrup in its gum coating syrup and in the finished coating because Chitikov discloses that the claimed amount of corn syrup is suitable as a panning coating modifier.
Stawski at FIG. 1 discloses an edible coating as a panned syrup coating for a confection comprising several layers. At [0041], Stawski discloses a finished edible coating can be formed of any number of layers of any coating or any coating section, and that the first section and second section, as well as any subsequent coating section can be coated in from 1 to 20 layers as desired in any application.
Yang at Abstract discloses multilayered confectionary products comprising a core and (at [0039]) multiple shells wherein (at [0045]) the core can comprise gum, candy or chocolate, and each shell can comprise a compound coating or chocolate. At [0017], Yang discloses that coating shells can be used to prevent oil migration. At Example 1 on page 19, Yang discloses a gum having one or more pan coating layers and a chocolate layer as part of the coating. Still further, Yang at [0048] discloses polishing outer coats comprising carnauba wax.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Schad for Reed to form a food product containing an edible coating that comprises one or more layers formed from one or more syrup layers with scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in an edible coating that comprises a fourth section or outer section including a polish and which is free from the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. Reed at col. 9, lines 14-18 discloses subsequent syrup coatings or top coats without whitener to give a 33 wt% dry coating containing whiteners, which the Office considers as including opacifiers; and, Schad at col. 16, lines 38-49 discloses top coats that include a polish and that are free of colorant or scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as an opacifier.
Further, before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have found it obvious in view of Robbins and Schad to use the coating syrup as in Robbins having a 88:12 to 90:10 weight ratio of a sucrose syrup of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Robbins at [0069] and [0079] using the particles of Schad to form a second coating section as a transition from a white layer to a color layer or other subsequent layer without opacifier as in Ben-Yoseph at [0031] wherein the second section is built up from compositions that contain a higher ratio of sucrose to scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the second section than in the first section. All references disclose whitened hard-panned coatings from sugar syrups for edible substrates comprising calcium carbonate. The ordinary skilled artisan working in Reed would have desired to increase the degree of opacity and gloss in its coating by using in its coating syrup an amount scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Robbins to provide a coating comprising from 8 to 10 wt% of the particles.
Further, before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Robbins at [0099] for Reed to include a first section as a base sugar layer containing more scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles than in the second section of the finished edible coating and to include a third section in its finished edible hard-panned coating which comprises a coating formed from one or more sugar syrup compositions that includes a colorant. Both references disclose hard-panned coatings for confectionary products comprising an inorganic opacifiers or whiteners. Further, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to modify the color of its opaque confectionary coating as in Robbins to improve the overall whiteness of the coating or slightly change the tint of the coating by include a colorant in a third section of the coating having no whitener or opacifier or scalenohedral calcium carbonate as in Robbins.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Ben-Yoseph for Reed to apply a second section or layer over a first section or layer of its finished edible coating whereby the second section composition includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in a higher sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio than a sugar syrup to scalenohedral calcium carbonate weight percentage ratio associated with the composition applied in the first section or base sugar layer. Both references disclose finished edible coatings on a confectionary center made by panning coating of sugar layers in several sections comprising white or opacifying and then color layers. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to include a first section as a base sugar layer containing more scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles than in the second section of the finished edible coating using the method Ben-Yoseph to create opacity in the coating based and thereby reduce the amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles or opacifier needed in the finished edible coating.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Chitikov for Reed to use sucrose syrup as in Chitikov and include an amount of 5 wt% corn syrup in the first section of its edible coating and in the coating composition applied to make the first section coating as in Chitikov. All references disclose candy or gum comprising shell candy coatings, including panned coatings. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to use the claimed amount of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles and corn syrup and to use sucrose syrup as its sugar to make an edible coating for a food product as in Chitikov which discloses that desirable gum and candy coatings comprises the claimed amount of corn syrup as plasticizer and panning modifier and comprise sucrose as a sweetener.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have found it obvious in view of Stawski to form an edible coating wherein the first section includes 15 applications of the at least one syrup layer which includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein the 15 applications of the at least one syrup layer are dried before an additional 15 applications are applied and dried, and wherein the second section includes one or more layers built up from 5 equal applications of the composition that includes the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles and to have a third section is built up from between 5 and 30 applications of the sugar syrup and one or more colorants as in Robbins at [0098]. Further, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious to use a scalenohedral calcium carbonate containing composition in all layers of any opacifying section and to include the scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles in the disclosed amounts in each of the first second and second section as in Ben-Yoseph. Still further, it would have been obvious in view of Robbins and Stawski to make a third section that is built up from between 5 and 30 applications in a third section that is free from scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles and a fourth section as a polish that is free of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles. All references disclose candy or gum comprising shell candy coatings, including panned coatings. The ordinary skilled artisan in Reed would have desired to dry any coating layer or section after coating it and forming subsequent layers in the same manner to prevent them from running together. Further, the ordinary skilled artisan would desire to form any number of layers of an opaque layer or layers, a subsequent color layer and a top polish layer for any desired purpose, including 30 layers in a first section wherein 15 of the 30 applications is dried before the second 15 applications, a second section of 5 layers of a composition containing scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, and a third section that is built up from between 5 and 30 applications in a third section that is free from scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles, wherein each of the 30 layers of the first layer and 5 layers of the second layer as in Stawski and the first and second sections comprise an opacifier as in Robbins that is a scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles as in Schad; and in a fourth section an outer section that is a carnauba wax polish coating as in Yang and Schad. The claimed coating layers are each panned in the same way from the same syrup to make the same opaque confectionary coating, as is routine in the art of Reed, Schad, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph, Chitikov, Yang and Stawski.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment dated July 10, 2026 (amendment), all outstanding rejections have been restated from previous rejections as they previously stood.
Regarding the positions taken in the remarks accompanying the amendment dated July 10, 2026 (Reply), the Office has fully considered the positions taken and does not find the positions persuasive for the following reasons;
Regarding the position taken in the Reply that Chitikov discloses softeners in a gum core, respectfully the rejection relies on Reed at col. 6, lines 12-21 disclosing coatings comprising softeners. The rejection does not rely on Chitikov for disclosure of a softener in a coating. Rather, the Office finds that Chitikov’s disclosure of a corn syrup as a softener in a gum or any chewy confection renders obvious its use as a softener in Reed in the amounts disclosed and claimed.
Regarding the position taken in the Reply at page 12 and claim 32, the Reply asserts generally the patentability of terms not found in one or more reference when none of the references cited anticipated. Reed, Robbins, Ben-Yoseph and Stawski all disclose edible coatings free of dispersants and binders. Further, every cited reference discloses coating the same gum or candy substrate in a pan coating method to make the same layered pan coating that is opaque, has a color or tint layer and a glossy wax finish. The disclosed art recognizes the value of all claimed features, including amounts of materials, numbers and orders of layers and sections and the effect of scalenohedral calcium carbonate particles on coating opacity and appearance, and the use of wax topcoats.
Conclusion
/ANDREW E MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1791