DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations below.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For example, the device already requires the presence of an anode and a cathode, and this additional limitation requires an anode electrode and an apparently optional cathode electrode. It is unclear if these are in addition to the anode and cathode required on lines 1-2 of the claim. Similarly, the claim also requires an emission layer in like 2 of this recitation but then further lists optionally “an emission layer”. It is unclear if this is an additional emission layer.
Further it is unclear which layer is optional as multiple layers appear after the word optionally. For the purpose of the application of prior art it will be assumed that only “a hole generation layer” is optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-7, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 2009-0011488) (Lee) in view of Cha et al (US 2017/0365787) (Cha) and further in view of Hartmann et al (US 2008/0265216) (Hartmann).
In reference to claim 1-2, 6-7 and 15, Lee teaches spiro compounds of formula (1) as shown below for use in an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer, a hole transport and hole injection layer and an electron transport layer among other layers wherein the compound is included in the electron transport layer or electron injection layer
for example, wherein Sp is carbon, Ri is an annular structure such as a fluorenyl group (as in examples), R1 and R3 are each hydrogen and R2 is a phenyl substituted by a substituted heteroaryl group (Lee [0009] [0035] [0016]).
Lee discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein Sp is carbon, Ri is an annular structure such as a fluorenyl group (as in examples), R1 and R3 are each hydrogen and R2 is a phenyl substituted by a substituted heteroaryl group. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of the Lee are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula (1) to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Lee and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Lee teaches that the heterocyclic group can be a variety of groups comprising 5 to 50 atoms and includes some specific examples including electron transport moieties such as pyridine, pyrimidine, quinoline, and iso-quinoline groups but does exemplify a triazine group.
With respect to the difference, Cha teaches, in analogous art, similar spiro compounds for use in an electron transport layer (Cha [0205]) of an organic electronic device and that heterocyclic substituents in these materials are preferably selected from triazine, pyrimidine, pyridine, quinoline, iso-quinoline etc. (Cha [0177]).
That is, the substitution of the a triazine of Cha for the heterocyclic group of Lee, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of providing an electron transporting material. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Furthermore, it is noted that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound presently claimed, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Lee further teaches that these compounds have excellent thermal evaporation properties, high solubility in organic solvents, high yield of wet tablets and wet film formation such as inkjet or spin coating and that the device comprising this has excellent heat resistance, high stability of the thin film constituting the device, long life, high color purity and luminous efficiency and low voltage driving.
While Lee does not exemplify a device with this specific configuration, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have prepared a device with the compound of Lee in view of Cha with a typical device configuration as described therein with the anticipation of preparing a device comparably effective as those in the examples of Lee.
Lee in view of Cha does not expressly teach that the hole injection or transport layers comprise radialene or quinodomethane compounds as instantly claimed. However, these are well known classes of materials commonly used in charge transport layers of such devices (i.e. p-type dopants in hole transporting layers).
With respect to the difference, Hartmann teaches, in analogous art, radialene derivatives such as the compound 5 shown below (Hartmann [0012]) for use as dopants in organic semiconductors in charge injection layers and that the use of these materials in charge injection layers improves charge carrier injection providing improved efficiency and long-time stability (Hartmann e.g. [0007] [0052]).
In light of the motivation of using the compound 5 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the compound 5 as described by Hartmann in order to improve efficiency and stability and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on a device comprising an anode, a cathode, an emission layer, a hole transport layer, injection layer wherein compound is the compound of formula I wherein a is 1, A is phenylene, and L is a phenyl substituted triazine and the hole injection layer includes a radialene.
For Claim 2: Reads on wherein A is phenylene.
For Claim 6: Reads on wherein L is substituted by phenyl.
For Claim 7: Reads on wherein the layer consists of the compound.
For Claim 15: Reads on formula XX wherein R1 to R6 are each nitrile.
In reference to claim 16, the claim further limits the quinodimethane), which are optional embodiments of claim 1 (i.e. text from claim radialene or quinodimethane) and therefore not required. As such, claim 16 is rejected based on similar reasons to claim 1.
In reference to claim 13-14, Lee in view of Cha and Hartmann teaches an organic electroluminescence device as described above for claim 1 and further teaches that the device can be used in a display or lighting device (Lee [0007]).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the device in the taught application as described by Lee despite Lee not exemplifying such a device in the disclosure.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Cha and Hartmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song et al (US 2009/0128012) (Song).
In reference to claim 8, Lee in view of Cha teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Lee does not specifically teach that the electron transport layer further includes a dopant.
With respect to the difference, Song teaches in related art, an electron transport layer that is doped with a metal compound as described therein and further teaches that when such a device is included in the device the device has improved driving voltage, efficiency and lifetime and lower power consumption (Song [0009]-[0010]).
In light of the motivation of using the metal compound in the electron transport layer as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the metal compound as described by Song in order to improve driving voltage, efficiency and lifetime, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786