DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 9/23/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 9 and 17 has/have been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 10-16 and 18 are pending and are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument, filed on 9/23/2026, with respect to 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and is persuasive. The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's argument, filed on 9/23/2026, with respect to 103 rejection have been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Yao discloses the optional use of an additional resin that may be a vinyl based polymer or copolymer, where the copolymer can be prepared by copolymerizing a vinyl monomer with a methacrylic or acrylic acid ester. Applicant submits that Yao does not teach use of an alkyl (meth)acrylic homopolymer as presently claimed in claim 1.
In response, Yao teaches that the additional resin can be “a vinyl based polymer or a copolymer resin obtained by polymerizing or copolymerizing one or more kind of a vinyl monomer selected from the group consisting of an aromatic alkenyl compound, a methacrylic acid ester, an acrylic acid ester…” [0079]. This clearly indicates that the additional resin can be a homopolymer of a methacrylic acid ester or an acrylic acid ester, which meets the claimed alkyl (meth)acrylic homopolymer.
Applicant argued that the presently claimed invention provides an unexpected result of high weld line impact of at least 16 kJ/m2. A review of tables 6- 9 show that the claimed amounts and ratios are critical to provide this high weld line impact. In that regard, examples 16, 18-20, 22 and 28 that have the claimed ranges and amounts according to amended claim 1 all achieved a high weld line impact of at least 16 kJ/m2.
In response, examples 2-6, 8-15, 17, 21, 23-27 and 29-32 all have the claimed ranges and amounts according to amended claim 1, but do not achieve a high weld line impact of at least 16 kJ/m2 [Tables 6- 9]. Therefore, the claimed ranges and amounts according to amended claim 1 are not critical to provide this high weld line impact.
Applicant's argument, filed on 9/23/2026, with respect to double patenting rejection have been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the '620 patent requires a water-absorbing compound and that there is no reason based on the '620 patent taken alone or in view of Kawashima or Imanishi to remove this required compound and arrive at the presently claimed invention according to claim 1.
In response, the current application claims a resin composition comprising the recited components (A), (B), (C), (D) and (E). The transitional phrase “comprising” renders an open composition that can contain any other components such as the recited water-absorbing compound. The double patenting rejection states that although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 10-16 and 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 2016/0090473) in view of Imanishi et al. (JP2014084343A; machine translation). Takagi et al. (US 2004/0063824) is cited as an evidentiary reference.
Regarding Claims 1-2, 6, 13-16 and 18, Yao teaches a composition comprising (A) 100 parts by mass of a cellulose ester resin; (B) 2-10 parts by mass of a polyhydroxyalkanoate resin; and (C) 5-20 parts by mass of an adipic acid ester (p. 5, [0070], [0074]).
Exemplary cellulose ester resins include cellulose acetate propionate (CAP) and cellulose acetate butyrate (CAB) (p. 2-3, [0028] and Table 1). This reads on the claimed cellulose acylate (A).
Exemplary polyhydroxyalkanoate resins include homopolymers (p. 4, [0063]) based on hydroxyalkanoic acids such as lactic acid (p. 4, [0064]). This effectively describes polylactic acid (PLA), which reads on the claimed (B).
The adipic acid ester preferably has a molecular weight of 300-2,000 (p. 3, [0048]). This reads on the claimed fatty acid ester compound (C) with molecular weight of 250-370.
The amounts of (A), (B) and (C) suggest a ratio (B)/(A) of 0.02-0.10, a ratio (C)/(A) of 0.05-0.20, and a ratio of (B)/(C) of 0.1-2, overlapping the claimed (B)/(A) of 0.05-0.10, a ratio (C)/(A) of 0.1-0.15 in claim 1 and “greater than 0.1 up to 0.15” in claim 14, and a ratio of (B)/(C) of 0.5-1.0, respectively. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Yao does not teach the claimed polymer (D) having a core-shell structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Imanishi teaches a cellulose ester composition (Abstract) comprising cellulose ester of the (A) component including CAP and CAB (p. 1, [0007]). The cellulose ester (A) is combined with a plasticizer (B) including various adipate (i.e. adipic acid) esters (p. 1, [0009]) and 1-50 parts of a thermoplastic elastomer having a core-shell structure with respect to 100 parts by mass of the component (A) (p. 2, [0014]). The core-shell polymer includes a (meth)acrylate polymer shell graft polymerized to a rubbery polymer constituting the core (p. 2, [0011]). Imanishi’s examples include a core-shell polymer including a shell made up of methyl methacrylate (p. 4, [0025]). Methyl methacrylate reads on the alkyl (meth)acrylate including an alkyl chain having 1 carbon atom in claim 1 and the alkyl methacrylate in claims 15 and 16.
The combination of plasticizer and core-shell polymer improves various mechanical properties of the cellulose ester including impact strength, tensile strength, and flexural strength (p. 1, [0004]-[0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add 1-50 parts relative to 100 parts of (A) of a thermoplastic elastomer having a core-shell structure including a (meth)acrylate polymer shell graft polymerized to a rubbery polymer core in Yao’s composition, to achieve improved mechanical properties including impact strength, tensile strength, and flexural strength.
Imanishi’s core-shell polymer reads on the claimed component (D). The 1-50 parts relative to 100 parts of (A) suggests a ratio of ((D)/(A)) to be 0.01-0.5, which overlaps the recited range of “greater than 0.05 and 0.1 or less” in claim 1, “greater than 0.07 up to 0.1 or less” in claim 2; and “0.07 to 0.1” in claim 14. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Yao teaches that an additional polymer such as a polymer or copolymer of a (meth)acrylic acid ester (i.e. a (meth)acrylate polymer) may be included and “is preferably contained in an amount of 5% by mass per the total mass of the resin in the resin composition” [0079]. This polymer is not contained in a shell layer. The term “preferably” suggests that one of ordinary skill in the art can add the polyacrylic thermoplastic elastomer in an amount of 5 wt% or more. This suggests a ratio of ((E)/(A)) to be 0.05 or more, overlapping the recited “0.03 or more and 0.15 or less” in claim 1 and “0.05 or more and 0.15 or less” in claim 6.
The cited references do not expressly teach the claimed weld line impact strength and a value obtained by dividing the weld line impact strength by Charpy impact strength. Nevertheless, modification of Yao in view of Imanishi results in a composition identical to the claimed composition. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the modified composition will necessarily possess the claimed properties in claims 1-2, 13 and 18.
Regarding Claim 10, Imanishi suggests the use of EXL-2633, a commercially available core-shell polymer (p. 2, [0013]). Takagi demonstrates that this product includes a shell formed from methyl methacrylate and ethyl acrylate (p. 21, [0289]). This reads on a copolymer of two types of alkyl (meth)acrylate having a different number of carbon atoms in the alkyl chains.
Regarding Claim 11, Yao teaches various resin shaped products formed from the composition described above (p. 6, [0086]).
Regarding claim 12, Yao teaches injection molding to obtain the resin shaped product [0084-0085].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Imanishi as applied to Claims 1 and 6 above, further in view of Kawashima et al. (US 2013/0030084).
Regarding Claim 8, Yao and Imanishi remain as applied above. Yao suggests the use of up to 5 parts by mass of an additional (meth)acrylate polymer as stated above. Yao does not suggest a suitable molecular weight for the additional (meth)acrylate polymer.
In the same field of endeavor, Kawashima teaches a composition including CAP and an adipate-based plasticizer (Abstract). The composition also includes a methacrylate copolymer having a molecular weight of 500-50,000 included in amounts of 1-5 phr (p. 4, [0072]-[0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select a methacrylate copolymer having a molecular weight of 500-50,000 as Yao’s additional polymer. Kawashima demonstrates this to be a suitable range for methacrylate copolymers combined with similar cellulose ester resins and adipate esters in amounts falling within Yao’s range of up to 5 parts by mass. This represents the use of a molecular weight range known to be suitable in a similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141. Modification in this way reads on Claim 8.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims1-3, 5-7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,829,620 (‘620). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The features of instant Claim 1 are taught by the combination of Claims 1, 3, 5, and 11-13 of ‘620.
The features of “the resin composition has a weld line impact strength of 16 kJ/m2 or more” is expected to be inherent in the composition described by Claims 1, 3, 5, and 11-13 of ‘620.
The features of instant Claim 2 are expected to be inherent in the composition described by Claims 1, 3, 5, and 11-13 of ‘620.
The features of Claims 6, and 11 are taught by Claims 2 and 14, respectively, of ‘620.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3, 5, and 11-13 of ‘620 in view of Kawashima.
Claim 2 of ‘620 suggests an additional (meth)acrylate polymer. Kawashima teaches a composition including CAP and an adipate-based plasticizer (Abstract). The composition also includes a methacrylate copolymer having a molecular weight of 500-50,000 included in amounts of 1-5 phr (p. 4, [0072]-[0073]). This range suggests a (E)/(A) ratio of 0.01-0.05. The use of a methacrylate copolymer in this amount results in improved dimensional stability (p. 4, [0074]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select 1-5 phr of Kawashima’s methacrylate copolymer as the additional (meth)acrylate polymer of ‘620 for the benefit of improved dimensional stability.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3, 5, and 11-13 of ‘620 in view of Imanishi.
Claim 1 of ‘620 suggests the use of a core-shell polymer (E) having an alkyl (meth)acrylate shell. Imanishi teaches a cellulose ester composition (Abstract). Suitable cellulose esters include CAP and CAB (p. 1, [0007]). The cellulose ester is combined with a plasticizer. Suitable plasticizers include various adipate (i.e. adipic acid) esters (p. 1, [0009]).
The composition also includes 5-25 parts by mass of a thermoplastic elastomer having a core-shell structure per 100 parts of the cellulose ester (p. 2, [0014]). The core-shell polymer includes a (meth)acrylate polymer shell graft polymerized to a rubbery polymer constituting the core (p. 2, [0011]). One suitable core-shell polymer is EXL-2633 (p. 2, [0013]). Takagi demonstrates that this product includes a shell formed from methyl methacrylate and ethyl acrylate (p. 21, [0289]). This reads on a copolymer of two types of alkyl (meth)acrylate having a different number of carbon atoms in the alkyl chains.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the to select EXL-2633 as the core-shell polymer of ‘620 as Imanishi demonstrates it to be useful in this capacity in a similar composition. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762