DETAILED ACTION
Statement re Text of U.S. Code
Election/Restrictions
Claims 41-43 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election (of Group I, drawn to a “clamping and handling assembly”, and which includes/reads on current claims 21, 23-33, 35, and 39) was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 30, 2023.
Additionally, claims 44-46 are also withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. See, for example, the discussion on page 9 of the Election of Species Restriction Requirement mailed 1/29/2025 regarding the reason(s) as to why none of claims 44-46 are readable on the elected species. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement (re the election of species) in the reply filed on May 29, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“adjusting element” in at least claims 39 and 27;
“aligning elements” (in claim 21);
“locking unit” (“for locking and holding the clamping device”) (in claim 28); and
“locking element” (in claim 29).
It is noted that the limitation “clamping device” (in claims 39 and 27) is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f), given that claims 39 and 27 recite sufficient structure to perform the function of clamping. (See lines 15-20 of claim 39, which set forth “wherein the clamping device comprises: (i) a base body, (ii) at least two clamping jaws, (iii) an adjusting element for actuating movement of at least one of the at least two clamping jaws, (iv) at least one clamping pin for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table, and (v) at least one adapter piece for connection to the coupling device of the gripping and positioning assembly”, and the similar limitation set forth in lines 15-20 of claim 27).
It is noted that the limitation “coupling device” in claims 39 and 27 is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f), noting that the non-structural term “device” is preceded by the structural term “coupling”, noting that a coupling is a tangible structure.
It is noted that the term “gripping and positioning assembly” in claims 39 and 27 is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f), given that claims 39 and 27 recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed functions.
It is noted that the term “locking unit” is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) in claims 29-30, noting that these claims recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function of locking and holding the clamping device.
It is noted that the term “locking element” is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) in claim 30, noting that claim 30 recites sufficient structure to perform the claimed function.
It is noted that the term “aligning elements” (or “aligning element”) is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) in claim 31, noting that claim 31 recites sufficient structure to perform the claimed function(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39, 21, 24, 28-29, 31-33, and 35, as best understood in view of the above rejections based on 35 USC 112, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 4,766,775 to Hodge (hereinafter, “Hodge”).
Regarding claim 39, Hodge teaches a clamping and handling assembly comprising:
a clamping device (46; see Figures 1 and 9-12; see also col. 3, lines 43-52, for example) having: (i) a clamping configuration (in which the pads 216, 216 of the jaws 214, 214 have been moved towards one another from the position depicted in Figure 9) in which the clamping device holds a workpiece such that the workpiece moves with the clamping device (when the pads 216, 216 of the jaws 214, 214 have been moved closer to one another so as to cause the pads 216, 216 to grip a workpiece, i.e., the jaws 214, 214 are capable of being pivoted to an orientation at which they grip a workpiece, and movement of the clamping device 46 via, for example, various movements of the robot depicted in Figure 1 at a time when the clamping device 46 holds/grips a workpiece would thus result in such a workpiece moving “with” the clamping device 46; see Figure 1; see also col. 1, lines 24-32, for example), and (ii) a release configuration (such as the configuration shown in Figure 9 in which the pads 216, 216 have been moved further away from one another; see Figure 9) (see also col. 8, lines 1-41, for example) in which the clamping device (46) releases the workpiece so that the clamping device moves independently from the workpiece; and
a gripping and positioning assembly (such as, for example, the module 44; see Figure 1, for example; see also Figures 2-7 and col. 3, lines 25-29, which teach that other than being smaller than modules 42 and 32, module 44 is identical to modules 42 and 32) detachably connected (via a lockable and unlockable coupler arrangement; see col. 5, lines 3-20, and col. 6, line 28 through col. 7, line 33, as well as Figures 4-7, for example) to the clamping device (46), the gripping and positioning assembly capable of changing the clamping device (46) from the clamping configuration to the release configuration and from the release configuration to the clamping configuration (via motor 88 rotationally driving output shaft 90 and connector 140, which 140 has a toothed upper surface 128 that engages a connector 196 that is identical to connector 148, such that the motor 88 rotationally driving 90/140 also rotationally drives connector 196 and thus threaded shaft 192, which results in the pivoting of the jaws 214, 214 from the release configuration to the clamping configuration and vice versa; see Figures 1-7 and 9-11, as well as col. 4, line 47 through col. 5, line 20, col. 5, lines 50-55, col. 7, line 34 through col. 8, line 41, for example, and especially col. 8, lines 27-41, for example),
wherein the gripping and positioning assembly (44) comprises: (i) a coupling device (including, for example, the pins 144, as well as the ring 152, including the inwardly facing edge 174/176/178 thereof, the toggle pins 154/154a, the spring pivot pins 156, the trip loops 162, the spool clamps 168, the ring 130, and the gear and motor attachment that is disclosed in at least col. 7, lines 16-27, for example; see Figures 4-7, 9-10, Figures 1-3, col. 3, lines 25-35, col. 7, lines 52-57, and col. 5, line 3 through col. 7, line 34, for example) for detachably connecting the gripping and positioning assembly (44) to the clamping device (46) (as disclosed in col. 5, line 3 through col. 7, line 34) and for holding the clamping device (46) so that the clamping device (46) moves with the gripping and positioning assembly (44) (i.e., when 46 is clamped/coupled/locked to 44 as disclosed in col. 5, line 3 to col. 7, line 34, movement of the gripping and positioning assembly 44 via various drives of the robot arm depicted in Figure 1 will thus likewise result in movement of the clamping device 46); and (ii) a drive (including, for example, motor 88; see Figure 3 and col. 4, line 47 through col. 5, line 20, for example; also including “coupling element” 128/140/90) for affecting change of the clamping device (46) between the clamping configuration and the release configuration (via motor 88 rotationally driving output shaft 90 and connector 140, which 140 has a toothed upper surface 128 that engages a connector 196 that is identical to connector 148, such that the motor 88 rotationally driving 90/140 also rotationally drives connector 196 and thus threaded shaft 192, which results in the pivoting of the jaws 214, 214 from the release configuration to the clamping configuration and vice versa; see Figures 1-7 and 9-11, as well as col. 4, line 47 through col. 5, line 20, col. 5, lines 50-55, col. 7, line 34 through col. 8, line 41, for example, and especially col. 8, lines 27-41, for example);
wherein the clamping device (46) (see Figures 9-11 and 1) comprises: (i) a base body (such as 188, for example; see Figures 9-11 and col. 7, line 34 through col. 8, line 26, and particularly, col. 7, lines 46-52, for example), (ii) at least two clamping jaws (214, 214; see Figures 9-10 and 1, as well as col. 8, lines 1-41, for example) positioned on the base body (188), (iii) an adjusting element (such as 196; see Figures 9-11 and col. 7, lines 52-57 and col. 8, lines 27-41, for example) for actuating movement of at least one of the at least two clamping jaws (214, 214) (see Figures 9-10 and 4-5, as well as at least col. 7, line 35 through col. 8, line 41, and particularly, col. 8, lines 27-41, for example), (iv) at least one clamping pin (such as 190; see Figures 9-11; see also Figure 5, noting that 184 is connected to 190 and is like 52 and is configured to be engaged with the flat face of ring 130 re the coupling of 44 to 46, specifically; see also col. 7, lines 34-57) “for” positioning and holding the clamping device (46) on a “processing table” (while it is noted that all that is necessary to meet the functional or intended use limitation “for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table” is for the structure to be merely capable of performing the claimed function or intended use, i.e., a prior art reference does not have to actually teach such a processing table in order for the claim language to be met, as long as the “clamping” pin of the prior art reference is merely capable of performing the claimed function or intended use of “holding the clamping device on a processing table”, it is also noted that Hodge teaches structure that can be considered to constitute such a table as broadly claimed; for example, though it is noted that such is not the only structure of Hodge that can be considered such a table, see “table” 24, shown in Figure 1; see also at least col. 2, lines 52-68 and col. 4, lines 1-10, noting that fixed support 24 has a table configuration, and noting that the clamping device 46 is at least ultimately, via intervening structure, held via the pin 190 on the support 24; additionally, it is noted that the “table” is a “processing table”, as broadly claimed, given that “processing” such as picking up or putting down objects, or such as driving of the various motors that are part of the robotic manipulator of Figure 1, is capable of occurring by way of the robotic manipulator that is part of/mounted on the “table” 24, or alternatively, “processing” such as machining via a hand tool such as a drill or a portable angle grinder or the like is inherently capable of being carried out on the table 24 during maintenance or the like) (see Figures 9-11; see also Figure 5, noting that 184 is connected to 190 and is like 52 and is configured to be engaged with the flat face of ring 130 re the coupling of 44 to 46, specifically; see also col. 7, lines 34-68; see also Figure 1) and (v) at least one adapter piece (such as, for example, 184; see Figures 9-11 and 5 and col. 7, lines 34-68, for example, alternatively, such as 184, as well as 212) for “connection to” the (aforedescribed) coupling device of the gripping and positioning assembly (44) (see Figures 4-12, 1, and col. 5, line 3 through col. 7, line 34); and
wherein the drive (88 + 128/140/90) of the gripping and positioning assembly (44) further comprises a motor (88) and the drive includes a coupling element (128/140/90; see Figures 5, 7, 4) which is rotated by the motor (88) (see Figures 3 and 4-5, as well as at least col. 5, lines 3-20, col. 5, lines 50-55, the coupling element (128/140/90) coupled to the adjusting element (196; Fig. 9) of the clamping device (46) (col. 7, lines 51-57, Figs. 5 and 7, Fig. 9, col. 8, lines 27-41, and col. 5, lines 50-62).
Regarding claim 21, the coupling device (including, for example, the pins 144, as well as the ring 152, including the inwardly facing edge 174/176/178 thereof, the toggle pins 154/154a, the spring pivot pins 156, the trip loops 162, the spool clamps 168, the ring 130, and the gear and motor attachment that is disclosed in at least col. 7, lines 16-27, for example; see Figures 4-7, 9-10, Figures 1-3, col. 3, lines 25-35, col. 7, lines 52-57, and col. 5, line 3 through col. 7, line 34, for example) comprises a plurality of aligning elements (such as, for example, the aligning pins 144; see Figures 4, 5, and at least col. 5, lines 41-62, for example) for coupling with a corresponding plurality of recesses (146) disposed on the at least one adapter piece (184). See Figures 4-5, 7, and 9, as well as at least col. 5, lines 41-62 and also Figures 2-7 and col. 3, lines 25-29, which teach that other than being smaller than modules 42 and 32, module 44 is identical to modules 42 and 32, and see also col. 7, lines 34-57, noting that 196 and 148 are of identical construction, as are 184 and 52).
Regarding claim 31, each aligning element (144) of the plurality of aligning elements is shaped as cylinder and each recess (146) of the plurality of recesses disposed on the at least one adapter piece (184) is shaped as a corresponding cylinder-shaped recess, with each aligning element (144) configured for engaging a respective recess (146). See Figures 5, 7, and 9, as well as at least col. 5, lines 41-62, for example. See also Figures 2-7 and col. 3, lines 25-29, which teach that other than being smaller than modules 42 and 32, module 44 is identical to modules 42 and 32, and see also col. 7, lines 34-57, noting that 196 and 148 are of identical construction, as are 184 and 52).
Regarding claim 24, the gripping and positioning assembly (44) further comprises an enclosure (such as, for example, housing 78; see Figures 3 and 5 and col. 4, lines 46-57; alternatively, such as, for example, 104, as can be seen in Fig. 5) and the coupling element (128/140/90) is rotatably mounted (via bearing 124; see Figure 5 and col. 5, lines 12-20, for example) in the enclosure.
Regarding claim 28, the (aforedescribed) coupling device of the gripping and positioning assembly (44) further comprises a locking unit {which locking unit, regarding claim 29, comprises a locking element (such as 168) which is movable via a plunger (154, noting that movement of 154 causes movement of 168) between a locked position and an unlocked position; see Figures 4-7 and col. 5, line 62 through col. 7, line 34} for locking and holding the clamping device (46) to the gripping and positioning assembly (44). See Figures 4-7, 9-10, Figures 1-3, col. 3, lines 25-35, col. 7, lines 52-57, and col. 5, line 3 through col. 7, line 34, for example.
Regarding claim 32, the gripping and positioning assembly (44) is mounted on an industrial robot (see Figure 1 and at least col. 2, lines 52-64, for example).
Regarding claim 33, the at least one adapter piece comprises: (i) a first adapter piece (184) disposed (at least ultimately) “on” an end face of the base body (188) of the clamping device (46), and (ii) a second adapter piece (such as, for example, 212) disposed (at least ultimately) “on” an opposite end face of the base body (188) of the clamping device (46). See Figures 9-10 and 12. See also at least col. 7, line 35 through col. 8, line 41, for example.
Regarding claim 35, the at least one clamping pin (190) is disposed on a bottom of the base body (188). See Figures 9-11, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23, as best understood in view of the above rejections based on 35 USC 112, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 4,766,775 to Hodge (hereinafter, “Hodge”) as applied to at least claim 39 above, and further in view of Appilcant’s Admitted Prior art (hereinafter, AAPA).
Hodge teaches all of the aspects of the presently-claimed invention as were described in the above rejection based thereon.
However, Hodge does not expressly teach that the drive further includes a gear mechanism that is driven by the motor (88) to rotate the coupling element (128/140/90).
That said, it is noted that in the previous Office Action (i.e., the Office Action mailed March 4, 2026), the Examiner took Official Notice that the use of a gearing/transmission stage that is driven by a rotational drive motor to, in turn, rotationally drive a further element (i.e., with the gearing/transmission stage being located between the drive motor and an output of the drive motor) is well-known and widely used to allow a smaller motor to drive a heavier load (than it would otherwise be capable of driving), to make the motor more efficient and extend motor life, and to provide increased control resolution for positioning to thus increase the precision of the movements achieved by the driving of the motor. Also note that this assertion {that the use of a gearing/transmission stage that is driven by a rotational drive motor to, in turn, rotationally drive a further element (i.e., with the gearing/transmission stage being located between the drive motor and an output of the drive motor) is well-known and widely used to allow a smaller motor to drive a heavier load (than it would otherwise be capable of driving), to make the motor more efficient and extend motor life, and to provide increased control resolution for positioning to thus increase the precision of the movements achieved by the driving of the motor} is taken to be admitted prior art because Applicant did not previously traverse the Examiner’s assertion. See MPEP section 2144.03, section C, for example.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a gearing/transmission stage (which would be a “gear mechanism”), as is known (re AAPA), between the motor 88 and the driven coupling element (128/140/90) of Hodge, for the purpose of allowing a smaller motor to drive a heavier load (than it would otherwise be capable of driving) as is known (re AAPA), for the purpose of making the motor more efficient and extending the life of the motor, as is known (re AAPA), and/or for the purpose of providing increased control resolution for positioning to thus increase the precision of the movements achieved by the driving of the motor, as is known (re AAPA).
Claims 27 and 25-26, as best understood in view of the above rejection(s) based on 35 USC 112, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 4,766,775 to Hodge (hereinafter, “Hodge”) as applied to at least claims 39 and 24 above, and further in view of JP 59-097884 A (hereinafter, JP ‘884).
It is noted that independent claim 27 includes all of the limitations of independent claim 39, and thus, attention is directed to the above discussion of Hodge as applied to claim 39. It is also noted that claim 27 additionally recites that “the drive of the gripping and positioning assembly further comprises an enclosure and a motor disposed on the enclosure”, and additionally recites “wherein a distance sensor is disposed on the enclosure and for determining a distance between the at least two clamping jaws of the clamping device”.
Hodge teaches that the (aforedescribed) drive (88+128/140/90) of the gripping and positioning assembly (44) further comprises an enclosure (such as, for example, housing 78; see Figures 3 and 5 and col. 4, lines 46-57) and a motor (88) disposed on the enclosure (78). See Figure 3, for example, as well as col. 4, lines 46-57, for example.
Additionally, Hodge teaches a sensor (100) that is disposed on the enclosure (78). See Figure 3, as well as at least col. 4, lines 46-57, for example, and particularly lines 54-57. Hodge teaches that the sensor 100 is a rotation sensor “forming a part of a means to control motor 88” (col. 4, lines 54-57). Hodge further teaches that “the controls for the various motors…form no part of the invention per se and are not shown or described in detail” and “[I]t suffices to say that such controls are conventionally available and in widespread use in manipulators of this general type” and “[S]uch controls involve motion sensor means sensing the positional relationship of the various components and motor driving means are employed whereby the components can be moved to any particular position within the ranges of movement afforded by the component construction through a predetermined series of incremental movements or steps”, and “[T]he motors generally receive electrical impulses corresponding to the movement desired” and “[T]hrough receipt of such commands, the motors are energized to carry out the movements resulting in corresponding movements of the manipulator components”, and “[S]uch electrical impulse commands and sensings, as well as the electrical energy for activating the motors, are transmitted through the modules of the manipulator by the multi-pronged electrical connections effected by the connectors 138 and 150 when the modules are interconnected as has been described”.
However, while Hodge thus teaches that the sensor 100 is a rotation sensor forming a part of a means to control motor 88, and teaches that the controls for the motors involve motion sensor means that sense the positional relationship of the various components and motor driving means so as to allow the motors to be controlled so as to cause the various movable components to be moved to any desired particular position, and it is noted that (as discussed above re the discussion of Hodge re claim 39) motor 88 is used to cause the movement of the clamping jaws (214, 214) towards and away from one another (to cause clamping or unclamping of the jaws), Hodge does not expressly teach that the sensor 100 is “for” (capable of) “determining a distance between the at least two clamping jaws” (214, 214) of the clamping device (46) as set forth in claim 27.
Additionally, regarding claim 25, while Hodge does teach that the coupling element (128/140/90) is (e.g., rotatably) “movable within the enclosure” (such as, for example, housing 78; see Figures 3 and 5 and col. 4, lines 46-57; alternatively, such as, for example, 104, as can be seen in Fig. 5) {noting that and the coupling element (128/140/90) is rotatable within and relative to the enclosure; see Figure 5 and col. 5, lines 12-20, for example}, Hodge does not teach that the coupling element (128/140/90) is “biased by a compression spring”.
Furthermore, regarding claim 26, Hodge does not teach a sensor for determining a position of the adjusting element (196) of the clamping device (46).
However, attention is directed to JP ‘884.
It is noted that JP ‘884 was cited in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed September 14, 2020, and that a machine translation of JP ‘884 was made of record provided by Applicant with that IDS. However, an updated machine translation of JP ‘884 is being made of record on the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) accompanying this Office Action. That said, attention is directed to the newly-cited machine translation regarding any references herein to page numbers, line numbers, paragraph numbers, or the like, re JP ‘884.
JP ‘884 teaches an exchangeable gripper hand (11), i.e., a “clamping device” having a base body (labeled in the annotated reproduction of Figure 3 below as “BB”), and having at least two clamping jaws (12, 12) positioned on the base body (BB). See Figures 1-3 and at least page 3 (beginning at the heading “Configuration of the Invention”) through the end of the paragraph spanning pages 4-5, of the machine translation. The clamping device (11) also includes a rotatable adjusting element (26, for example) for actuating movement {when 26 is connected to 41, and when a servo motor 38 attached to the outer wall of the work head (10, i.e., a “gripping and positioning assembly”) is actuated to cause the worm wheel 40 and worm 37 to rotate shaft 41; see page 3 (beginning at the heading “Configuration of the Invention”) through the end of the paragraph spanning pages 4-5} of at least one of the two clamping jaws (12, 12). See Figures 1-3 and page 3 (beginning at the heading “Configuration of the Invention”) through the end of the paragraph spanning pages 4-5.
A “distance sensor” (re claim 27)/“sensor” (re claim 26) (43) is disposed on an enclosure (of the gripping and positioning assembly 10), and the motor (38) that rotates a spring-biased (via spring 42, re claim 25; see Figure 3, as well as at least page 5, lines 6-13) coupling element (41 or the portion of 41 that couples with the adjusting element 26 of the clamping device 11) is disposed on the enclosure. See Figure 3, for example, as well as Figures 2 and 1, for example. The sensor (43) is used to detect the positions of the clamping jaws (12, 12), and can thus be considered to be for/capable of “determining a distance between the at least two clamping jaws” (12) “of the clamping device” (11) as set forth in claim 27. See Figures 1-3 and the section titled “Configuration of the Invention” on pages 3-4, as well as the paragraph on pages 5-7 that begins (on page 5) “[A] position detector 43 is attached…”. Additionally, noting that the sensor (43) detects the amount of rotation of the drive shaft/coupling element (41) {at a time when (41) is coupled with 26; see Fig. 2} to thereby (ultimately) detect the position of the gripping jaws (12, 12) (see the first six lines of the paragraph on page 5 beginning “[A] position detector 43…”), the sensor (43) is considered to be capable of/for determining “a position of the adjusting element” (26) of the clamping device (11) as set forth in claim 26.
[AltContent: textbox (BB)][AltContent: connector]
Therefore, (regarding claims 27 and 26) it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the distance sensor (43) that is “for” determining a distance between two clamping jaws of a clamping device, as taught by JP ‘884, and that is provided on an enclosure (of the gripping and positioning assembly 10 of JP ‘884) to which the motor (38) that rotates the coupling element (41 or the portion of 41) that couples with the adjusting element (26) of the clamping device (11), all as taught by JP ‘884, to the enclosure (78) (on which the motor 88 for rotating the coupling element that couples to the adjusting element of the clamping device, as described above) of Hodge, for the purpose of making it possible to accurately control the position of the gripping jaws after a hand change without providing a position detector on each hand, as taught by JP ‘884 (see page 3, the paragraph under the heading “Object of the Invention”). Additionally, regarding claim 25, Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the spring (42) of JP ‘884 (that biases the coupling element 41 or the portion thereof that couples to 26) to bias the coupling element (128/140/90) taught by Hodge, for the purpose of ensuring (when such are in driving engagement) the firm/accurate connection/engagement of the teeth of 128/140/90 of Hodge with the teeth of 148/196 of Hodge, as understood from Figure 3 of JP ‘884, Figures 4, 7, and 9 of Hodge, and at least page 5, lines 6-13 of JP ‘884.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments (on pages 8-10 of the reply filed June 4, 2026) all boil down to Applicant’s belief/assertion that the previously (and presently) applied Hodge reference (U.S. Pat. No. 4,766,755) does not teach the limitation (found in independent claims 39 and 27) as amended 6/4/2026 re the clamping device comprising at least one clamping pin having the claimed function or intended use now set forth, i.e., “for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table”. However, such is not persuasive. As noted in the above rejection(s) based on Hodge, Hodge teaches:
wherein the clamping device (46) (see Figures 9-11 and 1) comprises: … (iv) at least one clamping pin (such as 190; see Figures 9-11; see also Figure 5, noting that 184 is connected to 190 and is like 52 and is configured to be engaged with the flat face of ring 130 re the coupling of 44 to 46, specifically; see also col. 7, lines 34-57) “for” positioning and holding the clamping device (46) on a “processing table” (while it is noted that all that is necessary to meet the functional or intended use limitation “for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table” is for the structure to be merely capable of performing the claimed function or intended use, i.e., a prior art reference does not have to actually teach such a processing table in order for the claim language to be met, as long as the “clamping” pin of the prior art reference is merely capable of performing the claimed function or intended use of “holding the clamping device on a processing table”, it is also noted that Hodge teaches structure that can be considered to constitute such a table as broadly claimed; for example, though it is noted that such is not the only structure of Hodge that can be considered such a table, see “table” 24, shown in Figure 1; see also at least col. 2, lines 52-68 and col. 4, lines 1-10, noting that fixed support 24 has a table configuration, and noting that the clamping device 46 is at least ultimately, via intervening structure, held via the pin 190 on the support 24; additionally, it is noted that the “table” is a “processing table”, as broadly claimed, given that “processing” such as picking up or putting down objects, or such as driving of the various motors that are part of the robotic manipulator of Figure 1, is capable of occurring by way of the robotic manipulator that is part of/mounted on the “table” 24, or alternatively, “processing” such as machining via a hand tool such as a drill or a portable angle grinder or the like is inherently capable of being carried out on the table 24 during maintenance or the like) (see Figures 9-11; see also Figure 5, noting that 184 is connected to 190 and is like 52 and is configured to be engaged with the flat face of ring 130 re the coupling of 44 to 46, specifically; see also col. 7, lines 34-68; see also Figure 1)
It is noted that Applicant appears to be reading more into the term “pin” that what the claim actually says. See, for example, Applicant’s arguments in the first paragraph on page 9 of the 6/4/2026 response, in which Applicant asserts that element 190 is not a pin, but rather, is a “cylindrical housing that serves as an internal structural connection between ring 184 and frame element 188 of the end effector module 46”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., apparently some particular shape or structure of the clamping pin that somehow differs from the cylindrical housing/pin 190 taught by the Hodge reference) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is also noted that Applicant additionally appears to be reading more into the functional/intended use limitation “for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table” than what the claim actually says, and for that matter, appears to be reading more into the limitation “processing table” than what the claim actually says. See pages 9-10 of the 6/4/2026 in which Applicant makes several comments about the fact that element 190 is used to connect the clamping device (46) to a robot arm, rather than to a “processing table”, and makes comments regarding the processing table being a processing table on which the clamping device (together with a workpiece clamped therein) is to be secured for machining operations, using the term “machining table” as a synonym for the term “processing table”, etc. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., apparently that the processing table must be capable of positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table, or possibly a machining table, of a processing machine/machine tool, or apparently that the processing table must be capable of positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing/machining table so that the workpiece held thereon can be machined by a processing machine/machine tool) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). That said, attention is also directed to the above rejections based on the Hodge reference, and particularly, to the explanation(s) regarding ways/manners in which the structure of the Hodge reference can be considered to meet such a functional or intended use limitation.
It should also be kept in mind that the present (elected) claims are directed to a clamping and handling assembly, and are not directed to any sort of arrangement including a machine tool or the like. It is also noted that in order to meet the functional/intended use language re the “clamping” pin being “for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table”, all that is necessary to meet such functional/intended use language is for the clamping pin to be merely capable of performing the claimed function or intended use. Note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, Hodge teaches a structure meeting the broadly-recited “processing table” language, and teaches a “clamping pin” meeting the recited functional/intended use language “for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table”, as described above in detail in the prior art rejection of claim 39 as being anticipated by Hodge.
It is noted that on page 10 of the 6/4/2025 response, Applicant indicates that the limitation “clamping pin for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table” is “not merely a statement of intended use – it defines the structural function and capability of the clamping pin as an interface element for engagement with a processing table” and that “Hodge’s element 190, being a cylindrical housing with an internal bore for shaft 192 that is structurally integrated into the module coupling mechanism, is not configured to interface with a processing table”. However, such is not persuasive. While it is noted that the term “pin” is structural, it is also noted that element 190 constitutes a pin, as noted in the rejection based on the Hodge reference, and as discussed above. Beyond that, the term “clamping” (to modify the term “pin”) is functional/intended use, and the limitation “for positioning and holding the clamping device on a processing table” is also functional/intended use, all of which Hodge meets, as broadly claimed, and as discussed in detail above.
On pages 10-11, Applicant has indicated that the rejections of claims 23, 27, 25, and 26, likewise are not met by Hodge, for the same reasons as argued (and addressed above) with respect to independent claim 39. However, the above responses to those arguments likewise apply re claims 23, 27, 25, and 26.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0288736 teaches an arrangement for handling workpiece clamping fixtures/pallets.
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICA E CADUGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
eec
September 14, 2026