DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/CN2018/083989 filed 04/21/2018, which claims the benefit of the priority of Chinese Patent Application No. CN201810202734.6 filed 03/13/2018.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 03/10/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/05/2024. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to a kit, in the reply filed on 08/05/2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 10 is canceled. Claims 2, and 4 are amended. Claim 11 is withdrawn.
Claims 2, and 4-9 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections Withdrawn
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn because the claim is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migliorini et al. (US20140106381A1 – hereinafter “Migliorini”) in view of Babos et al. (Bioconjugate Chem. 2013, 24, 5, 817–827) and Venrooji et al. (US6858438B2 – hereinafter “Venrooji”).
Migliorini teaches a plurality of branched citrullinated peptide units or multiple antigen peptides, wherein the peptide units are coupled by lysine residues (See below [0029-0036, 0073]), that the peptides are contained in a kit [0143].
Migliorini teaches that the peptides were generated by modifying arginines into citrulline residues [0004]. Migliorini teaches a MAP or conjugate comprising a plurality of copies of a citrullinated linear synthetic peptide or of an antigenically effective fragment derived therefrom and has the structure below
[0076-0077]. Examiner notes that the teachings of Migliorini teach a plurality of citrullinated peptides forming a first, second, third and fourth branch. Migliorini teaches use of citrullinated synthetic peptides for the diagnosis of rheumatoid arthritis (RA) (Abstract and claim 1).
However, Migliorini does not teach the sequences of instant peptides.
Babos teaches rheumatoid arthritis (RA) specific biotin–peptide conjugates derived from filaggrin epitope peptides and that the biotin was attached to the peptide SHQESTXGXSXGRSGRSGS, wherein X is citrulline (Abstract; Page 817, right col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-4). Babos teaches several peptides consisting of the amino acids SHQESTRGRSRGRSGRSGS, which contains five arginine residues that might be target of citrullination (Page 817, right col., line 3-5). Examiner notes that the peptide of Babos reads on the instant SEQ ID NOS. 1-4. Babos teaches that the biotinylation profoundly influence its recognition by antibodies, and thus the sensitivity of an ELISA (Page 826, left col., line 1-4), that the biotin−avidin interaction, applied in ELISA to anchor the peptides to the plates, is one of the strongest noncovalent interactions known and it is stable toward a variety of harsh conditions (Page 818, left col., line 11-14).
Further, Venrooji teaches citrullinated peptides of the sequences shown below:
S H Q E S T R G R S R G X S G R S G S (SEQ ID NO: 4)
S H Q E S T R G R S R G R S G X S G S (SEQ ID NO: 5)
S H Q E S T X G X S R G R S G R S G S (SEQ ID NO: 6)
S H Q E S T X G R S X G R S C R S G S (SEQ ID NO: 7) (Col. 4., lines 1-40). Venrooji teaches that the peptides are for the detection of rheumatoid arthritis (Abstract; claim 2). Examiner notes that all the peptides taught by Venrooji read on the instant peptides SEQ ID Nos. 1-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kit of Migliorini and use biotinylated peptide of Babos and Venrooji since Babos teaches that the biotinylation profoundly influence its recognition by antibodies, and thus the sensitivity of an ELISA (Page 826, left col., line 1-4) and Venrooji teaches that the peptides are for the detection of rheumatoid arthritis (Abstract; claim 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the peptide complex of Migliorini and use the biotinylated peptides of Babos and Venrooji since Babos teaches that the biotinylation profoundly influence its recognition by antibodies, and thus the sensitivity of an ELISA (Page 826, left col., line 1-4), and Venrooji teaches that the peptides are for the detection of rheumatoid arthritis (Abstract; claim 2). The disclosures render obvious claim 2 since one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the peptides of Babos and Venrooji in the kit of Migliorini since the peptide is similarly a citrullinated synthetic peptides for the diagnosis of rheumatoid arthritis (RA).
Regarding claims 4-5, Babos teaches biotinylated peptides that read on the instant sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1-4 (Page 817, right col., line 3-5). Further, Migliorini teaches a plurality of branched citrullinated peptide units or multiple antigen peptides, wherein the peptide units are coupled by lysine residues (See below [0029-0036, 0073-]), that the peptides are contained in a kit [0143].
Examiner notes that the above structure discloses a plurality of peptides wherein the lysine of the first branched peptide unit and the lysine of the second branched peptide unit are coupled with one lysine.
Migliorini teaches a plurality of peptides shown below [0076]. Examiner notes that the format below reads on 4-6 citrullinated peptides.
Further, Babos teaches rheumatoid arthritis (RA) specific biotin–peptide conjugates derived from filaggrin epitope peptides and that the biotin was attached to the peptide SHQESTXGXSXGRSGRSGS, wherein X is citrulline (Abstract; Page 817, right col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-4). Additionally, Venrooji teaches all the instantly claimed peptides. Examiner notes that the disclosure of Migliorini renders obvious claim 4-5.
Regarding claim 6, Babos teaches rheumatoid arthritis (RA) specific biotin–peptide conjugates derived from filaggrin epitope peptides and that the biotin was attached to the peptide SHQESTXGXSXGRSGRSGS, wherein X is citrulline (Abstract; Page 817, right col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Examiner notes claim 9 is a product-by-process type claim(s). Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP § 2113. Claim 9 is drawn to a kit for measuring an anti-cyclic citrullinated peptide antibody which is prepared by the steps recited in claim 9. The substance and structure of the claimed kit is not affected by this limitation recited in the step, which merely reflects one version of a process that could be used to make the product. The kit could be made in other ways, thus, the limitations recited in the steps does not add patentable weight to the claim. If the product in this claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable. The kit is clearly disclosed in the prior art, thus claim 9 is rejected as unpatentable over Migliorini, Babos and Venrooji.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migliorini et al. (US20140106381A1 – hereinafter “Migliorini”) in view of Babos et al. (Bioconjugate Chem. 2013, 24, 5, 817–827) and Venrooji et al. (US6858438B2 – hereinafter “Venrooji”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of and Arai et al. (US 20140051070A1 – hereinafter “Arai”).
The teachings of Migliorini, Babos and Venrooji are disclosed above and incorporated herein by reference.
Migliorini does not teach wherein the kit comprises a magnetic particle separation reagent as recited in claim 7.
With regards to the magnetic particle separation reagent, Arai teaches streptavidin-coupled magnetic particle with high biotin-binding capacity (Abstract; claims 1-3) that the streptavidin-coupled magnetic particle is coupled to a biotinylated protein (claims 4-6). Arai teaches that the reagent for measuring a component to be measured in a sample, which comprises the streptavidin-coupled magnetic particle and a biotinylated protein (claim 8). Arai teaches the particle size of the magnetic particles is for example 0.1-5 μm [0037]. Arai teaches that the reagent is important to increase the sensitivity of examinations for early detection of diseases, for increasing the accuracy of examinations, for attending to highly sensitive markers in trace amounts [0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the magnetic particle separation reagent as taught by Arai since Arai teaches that the reagent is important to increase the sensitivity of examinations for early detection of diseases, for increasing the accuracy of examinations, for attending to highly sensitive markers in trace amounts [0003]. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Migliorini and use the magnetic particle separation reagent as taught by Arai for improved detection of diseases.
Regarding claims 7-8, Arai teaches streptavidin-coupled magnetic particle with high biotin-binding capacity (Abstract; claims 1-3) that the streptavidin-coupled magnetic particle is coupled to a biotinylated protein (claims 4-6). Arai teaches that the reagent for measuring a component to be measured in a sample, which comprises the streptavidin-coupled magnetic particle and a biotinylated protein (claim 8). Arai teaches the particle size of the magnetic particles is for example 0.1-5 μm [0037]. Arai teaches that the magnetic particle separation reagent comprises alkaline phosphatase [0089-0090, 0149], contains antibodies such as IgG, anti-IgG antibody [0066, 0073], and chemiluminescence substrate [0002, 0087-0090, 0094]. Further, Arai teaches the particle size of the magnetic particles is for example 0.1-5 μm [0037], that the magnetic particles are preferably superparamagnetic microparticles [0035], and the streptavidin-coupled magnetic particle having amino groups on their surface [0012-0013, 0034]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the magnetic particle separation reagent as taught by Arai since Arai teaches that the reagent is important to increase the sensitivity of examinations for early detection of diseases, for increasing the accuracy of examinations, for attending to highly sensitive markers in trace amounts [0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 03/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Venrooji et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654