DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Since the Office Action mailed on 03 April 2026, claim 1 was amended, claim 14 was cancelled, and claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 11 remain pending in the application.
New in this Office Action are 103 rejections necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 2015/0040454 A1) in view of Keates (US 2019/0305377 A1), Do (US 2014/0227583 A1) and Kaun (US 2003/0013007 A1). These prior art references being cited to as Kim, Keates, Do and Kaun, respectively, hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a unit cell (100 Fig. 3; “an electrode assembly 100” [0053]) comprising:
a separator (130 Fig. 3; “a first separator 130” [0053]);
a positive electrode (110 Fig. 3; “cathode 110” [0053]) in which a positive electrode active material is applied to a surface of a positive electrode collector (“Each electrode is coated with an electrode active material layer on one or both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector” [0021]) and the positive electrode active material is stacked to contact one surface of the separator (“electrode active material layer on one or both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector facing the opposite electrode” [0021] and Fig. 3 where the direction that the cathode active material layer faces the anode 120 and subsequently the separator 130); and
a negative electrode (120 Fig. 3; “cathode 120” [0053]) in which a negative electrode active material is applied to a surface of a negative electrode collector (“Each electrode is coated with an electrode active material layer on one or both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector” [0021]), and the negative electrode active material is stacked to contact the other surface of the separator (“electrode active material layer on one or both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector facing the opposite electrode” [0021] and Fig. 3 where the direction that the anode active material layer faces the cathode 110 and subsequently the separator 130),
wherein the negative electrode, the separator, and the positive electrode are stacked (“The positive electrode sheet 110 and the negative electrode sheet 120 are bonded to each other with the first separator 130” [0054]) and then folded in a zigzag shape (“bent in a zigzag form” [0053]) to form a plurality of wrinkles (the corners of electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3, which are formed after the aforementioned stacking and bending of it in the zigzag form),
wherein the wrinkles are spaced from one another in a first direction (the up-down direction of Fig. 3) between a first end surface and a second end surface (the top and bottom surfaces of electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3 and which extend in the horizontal or left-right direction), the first end surface and the second end surface being planar (the top and bottom surfaces of electrode assembly shown in Fig. 3 are planes situated in the horizontal or left-right direction),
wherein a top surface and a bottom surface extend between the first end surface and the second end surface (the left and right surfaces of electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3 that are formed in between the corners formed and extend in the up-down direction),
wherein the top surface and the bottom surface are planar (the left and right surfaces of electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3 are planes situated in the up-down or the vertical direction),
wherein the wrinkles are formed by a negative electrode overlapping portion (segments of anode 110 in between a pair of corners formed on the right side of the electrode assembly 100 where the anode 110 forms the outer surface of the electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3 and extend in the up-down direction) at which folding portions of the negative electrode collector (corresponds to the corners on the right side of the electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3) overlap each other when the negative electrode collector is folded (the corners of electrode assembly 100 on the left and right sides of the electrode assembly align with each other in the up-down direction shown in Fig. 3) and a positive electrode overlapping portion (segments of cathode 120 in between a pair of corners formed on the left side of the electrode assembly 100 where the cathode 120 forms the outer surface of the electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3 and extend in the up-down direction) at which folding portions of the positive electrode collector (corresponds to the corners on the left side of the electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3) overlap each other when the positive electrode collector is folded (the corners of electrode assembly 100 on the left and right sides of the electrode assembly align with each other in the up-down direction shown in Fig. 3),
wherein a negative electrode exposing surface of the negative electrode collector, which connects adjacent negative electrode overlapping portions to each other and is exposed to the outside (segments of anode 110 in between the pair of corners formed on the right side of the electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3 when the current collectors of the electrode assembly are coated with the respective active material layer on one side and faces the opposite electrode), and a positive electrode exposing surface of the positive electrode collector, which connects the adjacent positive electrode overlapping portions to each other and is exposed to the outside (segments of cathode 120 in between the pair of corners formed on the left side of the electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3 when the current collectors of the electrode assembly are coated with the respective active material layer on one side and faces the opposite electrode), form the top surface and the bottom surface of the unit cell (the segments in between the pairs of corners formed in the left and right sides of the electrode assembly 100 shown in Fig. 3 form the outer left and right surfaces of the electrode assembly, which correspond to the claimed top and bottom surfaces of the unit cell).
Kim does not disclose wherein the wrinkles are formed by the negative electrode overlapping portion at which folding portions of the negative electrode collector contact each other when the negative electrode collector is folded and a positive electrode overlapping portion at which folding portions of the positive electrode collector contact each other when the positive electrode collector is folded,
wherein a first end of the positive electrode collector is not coated with the positive electrode active material to form a positive electrode tab, and a first end of the negative electrode collector is not coated with the negative electrode active material to form a negative electrode tab,
wherein the positive electrode tab is bent to extend from the first end surface and be coplanar with the top surface and the negative electrode tab is bent to extend from the second end surface and be coplanar with the bottom surface,
wherein at least two of said unit cells are stacked, and a respective separator spread flat is interposed between adjacent unit cells, and
wherein the negative electrode collector forms the first end surface and the negative electrode active material forms the second end surface.
However, Keates discloses a unit cell (pertains to “Lithium-metal battery cells typically use a layer of lithium metal deposited on metal foil current collector for the anode, a metal oxide deposited on a sheet of different metal for the cathode, and a sheet of separator material between them to form a sandwich assembly configuration.” [0002] where “The anode sheet, separator sheet, and cathode sheet may be pressed together … with the fingers of the anode sheet aligned with the fingers of the cathode sheet.” [0020]) comprising:
a separator (“separator sheet 103” [0019]);
a positive electrode (“cathode sheet 102” [0019]) in which a positive electrode active material is applied to a surface of a positive electrode collector (“metal oxide deposited on a sheet of different metal for the cathode” [0002]); and
a negative electrode (“anode sheet 101” [0019]) in which a negative electrode active material is applied to a surface of a negative electrode collector (“a layer of lithium metal deposited on metal foil current collector for the anode” [0002]),
wherein the negative electrode, the separator, and the positive electrode are stacked and then folded in a zigzag shape (Fig. 4B; “4B show a view of the concertina configuration of FIG. 3, with each fold completed into a 180 degree fold” [0022] where “’concertina configuration' refers to a configuration of parallel, alternating, evenly-spaced individual folds in a sheet, or in multiple sheets pressed against each other” [0017]) to form a plurality of wrinkles (Fig. 4B – there are two wrinkles of the laminate for each 180 degree fold), and
wherein the wrinkles are formed by a negative electrode overlapping portion at which folding portions of the negative electrode collector overlap each other when the negative electrode collector is folded (each ‘A’ 180 degree fold on the bottom side of the laminate as shown in Fig. 4B comprises of two corners that are aligned with each other in the left-right direction) and a positive electrode overlapping portion at which folding portions of the positive electrode collector overlap each other when the positive electrode collector is folded (each ‘C’ 180 degree fold on the top side of the laminate as shown in Fig. 4B comprises of two corners that are aligned with each other in the left-right direction).
Keates teaches wherein the wrinkles are formed by the negative electrode overlapping portion at which folding portions of the negative electrode collector contact each other when the negative electrode collector is folded and a positive electrode overlapping portion at which folding portions of the positive electrode collector contact each other when the positive electrode collector is folded (“the outer fingers may be squeezed toward the middle of the assembly ( in the direction of the arrows indicated in FIG . 4A ) , thus assuring that every anode finger and every cathode finger is fully pressed against the separator” [0024]).
Keates further teaches that this configuration ensures that the positive electrode and the negative electrode both contact the separator ([0024]) and to apply uniform pressure across the electrodes for the unit cell to work effectively and reliably ([0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply pressure to the side ends of the unit cell of Kim in view of Keates, wherein the wrinkles are formed by the negative electrode overlapping portion at which folding portions of the negative electrode collector contact each other when the negative electrode collector is folded and a positive electrode overlapping portion at which folding portions of the positive electrode collector contact each other when the positive electrode collector is folded, in order to achieve a unit cell that works effectively and reliably.
Additionally, Do discloses a unit cell (Fig. 4; “electrode assembly” [0050]) comprising a separator (“separator 250” [0059]), a positive electrode active material applied to a surface of a current collector (220 Fig. 4; “cathode patterns 220” [0059]), a negative electrode active material applied to a surface of a current collector (210 Fig. 4; “anode patterns 210” [0059]), wherein the negative electrode, the separator, and the positive electrode are stacked in a zigzag shape (“into a vertical Sectional ZigZag shape” [0055]) to form a plurality of wrinkles (215 Fig. 4; “bent” [0055]), wherein the wrinkles are spaced from one another in a first direction between a first end surface and a second end surface (the outer left and right surfaces of the electrode assembly shown in Fig. 4), and wherein a top surface and a bottom surface extend between the first end surface and the second end surface (the plurality of bents 215 shown in Fig. 4 are aligned on two horizontal planes located on the outer top and bottom surfaces of the electrode assembly).
Do teaches wherein a first end of the positive electrode collector is not coated with the positive electrode active material to form a positive electrode tab, and a first end of the negative electrode collector is not coated with the negative electrode active material to form a negative electrode tab (“electrode leads (not shown) for electrical connection may be further attached to the predetermined sized portions, on which the active materials are not coated, formed on one side or both side ends of the electrode current collector” [0054]).
Do further teaches that one non-coated portion on the electrode current collectors is sufficient to electrically connect the unit cell by attaching an electrode lead to the electrode tabs ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the positive electrode and the negative electrode of Kim with the configuration of the positive electrode and the negative electrode taught by Do, wherein a first end of the positive electrode collector is not coated with the positive electrode active material to form a positive electrode tab, and a first end of the negative electrode collector is not coated with the negative electrode active material to form a negative electrode tab, in order to attach the electrode tabs with an electrode lead to electrically connect the unit cell sufficiently.
Pertinent to this modification by Do, the examiner recognizes that the limitation “wherein the positive electrode tab is bent to extend from the first end surface and be coplanar with the top surface and the negative electrode tab is bent to extend from the second end surface and be coplanar with the bottom surface” in regards to the position of the electrode tabs, is held to be an obvious matter of design choice by MPEP 2144.04-VI-C, see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
The examiner also recognizes that the limitation “wherein the negative electrode collector forms the first end surface and the negative electrode active material forms the second end surface” is a result of this modification by Do, which, to reiterate, replaces the negative electrode with a negative electrode that comprises of only the first end of the electrode to not be coated with the negative electrode active material. This implies that the second end of the negative electrode comprises of the negative electrode current collector being coated with the negative electrode active material.
Furthermore, Kaun discloses a unit cell (10 Fig. 1; “a cell preassembly 10” [0077]) comprising a separator (“a separator or electrolyte layer 14” [0077]), a positive electrode in which a positive electrode active material is applied to a surface of a positive electrode collector (“positive electrode 12p … The electrodes are generally metal foils coated with particles of the active electrode material” [0077]), a negative electrode in which a negative electrode active material is applied to a surface of a negative electrode collector (“negative electrode 12n … The electrodes are generally metal foils coated with particles of the active electrode material” [0077]), and wherein the negative electrode, the separator, and the positive electrode are stacked in a zigzag shape (“The cell preassembly 10 crosses the cell 30, in a generally radial direction, … assumes a serpentine configuration flattened to extend primarily in the axial direction” [0100]).
Kaun teaches wherein at least two of said unit cells are stacked (“Many individual unitary cells 30 are provided to make up a preferred electrochemical device 46 as illustrated in FIG. 9 … by stacking the cells 30” [0101]), and a respective separator spread flat is interposed between adjacent unit cells (“each cell 30 may have coolant channels 42 in the housing 28. Alternatively coolant channels 42 can be provided by placing a corrugated material 45 sandwiched between the housings 28 of adjacent cells” [0099] where the bottom embodiment of Fig. 9 shows that coolant channels 42 where the corrugated material is placed in are flat configurations).
Kaun further teaches that the common application of this configuration is to have a series connected battery, that is to increase the voltage of the device formed ([0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add at least one more of said unit cells and a respective separator to the unit cell of modified Kim in view of Kaun, wherein the at least two unit cells are stacked, and a respective separator is spread flat and is interposed between adjacent unit cells, in order to achieve a configuration that enables the unit cell to be connected in series with the at least one more unit cells to increase the voltage of a device formed by the configuration.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim discloses the unit cell with all the limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the positive electrode active material is applied to only one surface of the positive electrode collector, which faces the separator (Kim “electrode active material layer on one or both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector facing the opposite electrode” [0021] and Fig. 3 where the direction that the cathode active material layer faces the anode 120 and subsequently the separator 130), and the negative electrode collector is applied to only one surface of the negative electrode collector, which faces the separator (Kim “electrode active material layer on one or both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector facing the opposite electrode” [0021] and Fig. 3 where the direction that the anode active material layer faces the cathode 110 and subsequently the separator 130).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim discloses the unit cell with all the limitations set forth in claim 2 above, and wherein the wrinkles formed by folding the negative electrode, the separator, and the positive electrode are continuously formed (Kim “The positive electrode 110 and the negative electrode 120 are coated with electrode active material layers on both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector facing the opposite electrode, and between the positive electrode sheet 110 and the negative electrode sheet 120. The electrode assembly 100 having a structure in which the first separator 130 is interposed therebetween is bent in a zigzag form and is embedded in the battery case.” [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim discloses the unit cell with all the limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein a vertical distance between the negative electrode exposing surface and the positive electrode exposing surface is constant (Kim Fig. 4 shows the electrode assembly having a constant unitary width, which is the distance between the left-right outer surfaces).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim discloses a secondary battery manufactured by connecting the plurality of unit cells with all the limitations set forth in claim 1 above (Kaun “Many individual unitary cells 30 are provided to make up a preferred electrochemical device 46 … The common application of the device is to have a series connected battery” [0101]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim discloses the unit cell with all the limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the positive electrode collector forms the bottom surface (Kim “electrode active material layer on one or both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector facing the opposite electrode” [0021] and Fig. 3 where the direction that the cathode active material layer faces the anode 120 and subsequently the separator 130, which, in conjunction with Fig. 3, implies that the positive current collector of the positive electrode forms the outer right surface of the electrode assembly) and the negative electrode collector forms the top surface (Kim “electrode active material layer on one or both sides of the sheet-shaped current collector facing the opposite electrode” [0021] and Fig. 3 where the direction that the anode active material layer faces the cathode 110 and subsequently the separator 130 and Fig. 3 where the direction that the cathode active material layer faces the anode 120 and subsequently the separator 130, which, in conjunction with Fig. 3, implies that the negative current collector of the negative electrode forms the outer left surface of the electrode assembly).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721