DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment filed August 4, 2025, is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 1, 11-13 and 28 have been amended.
Claims 1-6, 11-15, 18, 20-21, 25-26, 28 and 35-36 are pending in the application.
Claims 35-36 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-6, 11-15, 18, 20-21, 25-26, 28 are under examination.
Grounds of Rejection Withdrawn
Applicant’s amendment has obviated or rendered moot the grounds of rejection set forth in the previous Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-12 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sentman et al (WO 2017/058752 A1).
With respect to claims 1-6 and 28, Sentman et al disclose a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising an antibody scFv antigen specific binding domain, a spacer domain (hinge), a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular signaling region of CD28, CD132 and CD3 zeta or Fc gamma (see pages 18, and 24-26).
Therefore, the products of Sentman et al are deemed to anticipate the claimed products absent a showing otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 18, 20-21 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al (WO 2015/123642 A1, of record), Rudensky et al (WO 2017/218850 A1, of record) and Lifshitz et al (Autoimmunity, 49(6):388-396, 2016, of record).
Cooper et al disclose a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising an antibody scFv antigen specific binding domain, a spacer domain (hinge), a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular signaling region, the signaling region comprising a primary signaling domain and a second signaling domain, wherein the second signaling domain comprises signaling domains of CD28 and 4-1BB and a signaling domain of CD3 zeta or Fc gamma (see pages 12, 17, 26 and 28-29). Cooper et al disclose that the CAR signaling domain may be from CTLA-4 to provide an inhibitory signal (see page 10-11). Cooper et al disclose such CARs in T cells (see page 1).
Cooper et al does not disclose CD4+CD25+ CD127-, FOXP3+ and Helios+ Treg cells.
Rudensky et al disclose Treg cells that have been modified to express a CAR for treatment of autoimmunity or inflammation (see pages 34-36 and 59). Rudensky et al disclose that CD4, CD25 and Foxp3 are cell markers for Tregs (see pages 46 and 59). Rudensky et al disclose using a CD127 antibody for flow cytometry of the cells (see page 39).
Lifshitz et al disclose CD4+CD25+ CD127Low, FOXP3+ and Helios+ Treg cells to bring up the level of Tregs in patients with an autoimmune disease and that another stable marker of Tregs activity is negative CD127 (see abstract, page 389 and 394-395).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to make CD4+CD25+ CD127-, FOXP3+ and Helios+ Treg cells that express CARs of Cooper et al that comprise an antibody scFv antigen specific binding domain, a spacer domain (hinge), a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular signaling region, the signaling region comprising a primary signaling domain and a second signaling domain, wherein the second signaling domain comprises signaling domains at least two of CD28, 4-1BB and CTLA-4 and a signaling domain of CD3 zeta or Fc gamma because one of skill would recognize that such a combination is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Furthermore, since a stable marker of Tregs activity is negative CD127 and the other markers are known Treg markers there would be an advantage of using stable CD4+CD25+ CD127-, FOXP3+ and Helios+ Treg cells to express CARs that target autoimmune diseases as taught by Rudensky et al to treat autoimmune diseases.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Respectfully,
Brad Duffy
571-272-9935
/Brad Duffy/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643
February 25, 2026