DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 3/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states (see page 7 of the Remarks) “Although Moshfeghi does describe the access point AP1 assessing the signal to determine how far away the mobile device 230 is, there is no sense in which AP1 is only authorized to communicate with mobile device 230 if it is close enough. Rather, AP1 adjusts the power of its communication signal based on the distance of mobile device 230 at whatever distance that is, i.e., not only if it is within a certain distance as required by Claim 1.
For at least these reasons, Independent Claim 1 is not anticipated by Moshfeghi. Independent Claim 11 recites analogous limitations and is allowable for analogous reasons. The remaining claims depend from these allowable Independent Claims and are likewise allowable. Applicant, therefore, respectfully requests favorable action on all claims as presented herein.”
Moshfeghi discloses determining a geographic position of a mobile communication terminal/device (see sections 0045-0046) and comparing (as disclosed in sections 0052-0054) a geographic position of a network node (access point) to a geographic position of a defined mobile communication terminal (mobile device). Moshfeghi further discloses only authorizing the network node (access point) for communication of the reference position information (as disclosed in sections 0053-0054) only if the geographic position of the network node is within three meters (1 meter or less as disclosed in sections 0052-0054) of the position of the mobile communication terminal. The communication disclosed by Moshfeghi is only authorized within 1 meter because the devices use NFC for communication (see sections 0052-0054). As disclosed in sections 0052-0053, where the communication protocol is NFC, communication is only authorized between two NFC enabled devices if the devices are with centimeters of each other (see section 0005). Therefore, based on this disclosure, Moshfeghi discloses requiring a particular location (within centimeters of the access point) of the mobile device before it is authorized to communicate with reference devices (access points) using NFC. Therefore, it is the understanding of the Examiner that based on the above disclosure, Moshfeghi discloses authorizing communication only if the geographic position of the network node is within three meters (1 meter or less as disclosed in sections 0052-0054) of the position of the mobile communication terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moshfeghi (previously cited in Office Action 5/11/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Moshfeghi discloses a method for authorizing a network node to communicate with configured operating and monitoring stations in a communication network, the method comprising:
determining a geographic position (for a mobile device as disclosed in sections 0045-0046) of a certified mobile communication terminal with a positioning system (wherein certified mobile devices authorized for receiving position assistance are monitored by the position server as disclosed in section 0046), the certified mobile communication terminal comprising a previously authorized trusted device in the communication network (see section 0109, wherein the certified mobile communication terminal includes previously authorized trusted devices which are provided prior certificate authority (authorization) to receive position assistance by a network service provider as disclosed in section 0109);
comparing (as disclosed in sections 0052-0054) a geographic position of the network node (access point) stored in a building information model (see position server as disclosed in section 0046, wherein the server is a building model in that it continues to accumulate data and update its stored positioning data based on monitoring of the devices, see also section 0078) to the determined geographic position of the certified mobile communication terminal (to determine whether the access point and the mobile device are within 1 feet of one another, wherein the geographic positions of the network node and mobile device can be determined and compared using GPS coordinates and geographic mapping as disclosed in sections 0060-0061, see also section 0097);
authorizing the network node to exchange data (by transmission and reception of the reference position information and position assistance data as disclosed in sections 0053-0054) with configured operating and monitoring stations (the configured operating and monitoring stations being mobile devices such as those disclosed in section 0016 (operating (laptop) and monitoring (digital video camera) stations); the mobile devices (stations) being configured to communicate with the network node (access point) through transmission of SSIDs as disclosed in section 0082) within the communication network only if the geographic position of the network node is within three meters (1 meter or less as disclosed in sections 0052-0054) of the geographic position of the certified mobile communication terminal;
wherein the data includes an update of firmware and/or operating parameters (such as transmission level of the access point which is included in the position assistance data as disclosed in sections 0016-0017) of the network node (access point).
Regarding claim 3, Moshfeghi discloses the server performs verification of the position (as disclosed in section 0046).
Regarding claim 4, Moshfeghi discloses the network node verifies the position of the network node (see section 0078).
Regarding claim 5, Moshfeghi discloses the mobile communication terminal verifies the position of the mobile communication terminal (see section 0054).
Regarding claim 6, Moshfeghi discloses the mobile communication terminal verifies the position of network nodes and the position of the mobile communication device (see section 0054) using an NFC connection (as disclosed in sections 0052-0054) between the network node and the mobile communication terminal.
Regarding claim 7, Moshfeghi discloses wherein throughout a duration of a communication, the position of the network node and the position of the mobile communication terminal must essentially match (be within a pre-specified distance of 1 meter or less as disclosed in sections 0052-0054).
Regarding claim 8, Moshfeghi discloses the mobile communication terminal receives a certification (certificate as disclosed in section 0109) by way of a certification server (service provider)
Regarding claim 9, Moshfeghi discloses permitting a write access to a memory of the authorized network node (access point as disclosed in section 0082) only following a completed authorization (wherein the memory of the access point is updated with SSIDs to communicate authorized mobile devices as disclosed in section 0082).
Regarding claim 11, Moshfeghi discloses a system for authorizing a network node to communicate with configured operating and monitoring stations in a communication network, the system comprising:
a server (position server as disclosed in sections 0046 and 0078) storing a building model including a geographic position of the network node (access point);
a position determination system (as disclosed in section 0046) for determining a geographic position (for a mobile device as disclosed in sections 0045-0046) of a certified mobile communication terminal with a positioning system (wherein certified mobile devices authorized for receiving position assistance are monitored by the position server as disclosed in section 0046), the certified mobile communication terminal comprising a previously authorized trusted device in the communication network (see section 0109, wherein the certified mobile communication terminal includes previously authorized trusted devices which are provided prior certificate authority (authorization) to receive position assistance by a network service provider as disclosed in section 0109);
wherein the system authorizes the network node to exchange data with configured operating and monitoring stations (the configured operating and monitoring stations being mobile devices such as those disclosed in section 0016 (operating (laptop) and monitoring (digital video camera) stations); the mobile devices (stations) being configured to communicate with the network node (access point) through transmission of SSIDs as disclosed in section 0082) within the communication network (by transmission and reception of the reference position information and position assistance data as disclosed in sections 0053-0054) only if the geographic position of the network node is within three meters (1 meter or less as disclosed in sections 0052-0054) of the geographic position of the certified mobile communication terminal;
wherein the data includes an update of firmware and/or operating parameters (such as transmission level of the access point which is included in the position assistance data as disclosed in sections 0016-0017) of the network node (access point).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the claimed method includes subject matter corresponding to the above rejection of claims 3-6 and 9, which is applicable hereto.
Conclusion
4. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 April 13, 2026