DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, 13, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu [CN 2010089506] in view of Naka et al. [Naka hereinafter, US 7,908,940].
In regard to claims 1, 20 and 21, Liu discloses [in Figs. 1 and 2] a handlebar assembly comprising: a handlebar [11] having a pair of end points [ends of 11], a portion [portion between ends of 11] extending between the pair of end points, an outer circumferential surface, an arrangement area [inside 11, pointed to at 114] disposed radially inward from the outer circumferential surface, and a handlebar opening [opening in 11 that accommodates 12] in the outer circumferential surface; and an electric switch unit including a housing [pointed to at 12], an operating portion [pointed to at 151, 152] that is coupled to the housing, wherein the operating portion at least partially extends beyond the outer circumferential surface in a radial direction of the handlebar [11], and an electric switch [151,152] disposed within and surrounded by the housing, the arrangement area being configured to be accessed from the handlebar opening in the outer circumferential surface and being configured to arrange the electric switch unit at least partially radially inward from the outer circumferential surface, and the handlebar opening being located in the portion extending between the pair of end points, and a support [bottom of 12] at least partially disposed in the arrangement area and supporting the electric switch unit to receive an operating force applied to operate the electric switch unit. Liu does not disclose that the operating portion is pivotally coupled to the housing. Naka teaches [in Figs. 6-9] that the operating portion [81, 82] of the electric switch unit [66] is pivotally coupled to the housing [74]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an operating portion that is pivotally coupled to the housing in order to actuate the switch as desired.
In regard to claim 10, Liu discloses [in Figs. 1 and 2] the handlebar assembly according to claim 21, wherein the support [bottom of 12] is removably coupled to the handlebar [11].
In regard to claim 11, Liu discloses [in Figs. 1 and 2] the handlebar assembly according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement area includes an interior space in which the electric switch unit is arranged.
In regard to claim 13, Liu discloses [in Figs. 1 and 2] the handlebar assembly according to claim 21, wherein the support [bottom of 12] includes a handlebar attachment disposed in the arrangement area. Liu does not disclose that the handlebar attachment is made of an elastomeric material. Naka teaches [in Figs. 6-9] that the handlebar attachment [90a, 90b] of the support [74] is made of an elastomeric material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an elastomeric handlebar attachment in order to attach assembly components to each other as desired.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu [CN 2010089506] in view of Naka et al. [Naka hereinafter, US 7,908,940] further in view of Luman et al. [Luman hereinafter, US 10,988,209].
In regard to claim 9, Liu discloses [in Figs. 1 and 2] the handlebar assembly according to claim 21, wherein the support [pointed to at 12] is attached to the handlebar [11-13,15-18]. Liu and Naka do not disclose an adhesive attachment. Luman teaches [in Figs. 2 and 3] that the support [60] is adhesively attached [col. 8, lines 8-15] to the handlebar [27, 88]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an adhesive for attachment between components since an adhesive is a well-known fastener used for attaching components to one another [Luman, col. 8, lines 8-15].
In regard to claim 12, Liu discloses [in Figs. 1 and 2] the handlebar assembly according to claim 11, further comprising a support [bottom of 12] at least partially disposed in the arrangement area and supporting the electric switch unit to receive an operating force applied to operate the electric switch unit [151, 152], and the support being disposed inside the handlebar opening. Liu and Naka do not disclose a snap-fit attachment. Luman teaches [in Figs. 2 and 3] a snap-fit attachment [col. 8, lines 8-15] between the support [60] and the handlebar [27, 88]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a snap-fit attachment between components since snap-fit attachments are well-known fasteners used for attaching components to one another [Luman, col. 8, lines 8-15].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-25 are allowed. In regard to claim 22, in combination with other limitations, the electric switch unit including a housing, an operating switch coupled to the housing, and an electric switch at least partially disposed in the housing, a support at least partially disposed in the arrangement area, the support having a recess and the recess including a supporting surface supporting the electric switch unit, and a printed circuit board, the printed circuit board being disposed inside the housing, the electric switch unit being at least partially disposed in the recess, the housing of the electric switch unit being disposed between the electric switch and the supporting surface and the housing of the electric switch unit being at least partially disposed in the handlebar is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to claim 1, Applicant argues that “Liu and Naka fail to disclose or suggest a handlebar assembly comprising a handlebar having an outer circumferential surface, an arrangement area disposed radially inward from the outer circumferential surface, and a handlebar opening in the outer circumferential surface; and an electric switch unit including a housing, an operating portion that is pivotally coupled to the housing, and an electric switch disposed within and surrounded by the housing as required by amended Claim 1.” The Examiner disagrees. Liu clearly teaches [in Figs. 1 and 2] the limitations of claim 1, including the electric switch being disposed within and surrounded by the housing, as detailed in the rejection above. Naka is not relied upon for disclosing this specific limitation.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claim 22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 22 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831