Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 10/16/2025 includes changes to the claims, remarks and arguments related to the previous rejection. The above have been entered and considered. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the 112(b) rejection:
Applicant has amended Claims 1, 6 & 11 to partially resolve the clarity of “calculating resolution uncertainties” but the added limitation requires use of the term said processor configured to calculate resolution uncertainties by performing ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds to render an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component. Additionally, Applicant has not clarified what is required to meet the term “the uncertainties”. The 112(b) rejection of the claims is maintained and separated into two rejections to clearly identify a requirement for a distinct limitation identifying the claimed “uncertainties”.
With regard to the 103 rejection:
Applicant has amended Claims 1, 6 & 11 to add a new limitation that requires additional search and consideration as follows:
said processor configured to perform ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds and when measurements for both the 3-dimensional imaging measurement and the ultrasonic measurement an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive regarding the references not citing the performing inspections in situ, during equipment operation (assuming the object being imaged is not physically moving). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant' s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., in situ inspection of a component) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. MPEP 2145 (VI). The 103 rejection of the claims is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments with regard to Claims 1-15 have been considered in light of the previous references of DeMeurechy in view of Itoga and in further view of the new reference Riding. The arguments do not overcome the prior art at the time of the filing of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6 & 11 add a new limitation that is unclear said processor configured to perform ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds and when measurements for both the 3-dimensional imaging measurement and the ultrasonic measurement an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component”. Clarity is required as the limitation is directed to “calculating resolution uncertainties”. Examiner looks to the specification in [PGPUB 0024]. Examiner recommends the limitation is amended for clarity to “said processor configured to calculate resolution uncertainties by performing ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds to render an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component.”
Claims 1, 6 & 11 recite the element of “the irregularities” in the limitation “taking additional ultrasonic measurements to resolve the uncertainties” which is unclear as no description or bounds are provided to distinctly claim “the irregularities”. Examiner looks to the specification and interprets “the irregularities” as “the uncertainties” based on [0024] and modifying limitation step c. “a processor for generating a 3-dimensional boundary image of the exterior surfaces including locations where the surface has uncertainties of said component and mapping locations to probe said component with an ultrasonic probe in order to generate a 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces of said component to include interior areas of the identified uncertainties” and where step f. ends with “and taking additional ultrasonic measurements to resolve the resolution of the boundaries and the uncertainties”.
All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11 & 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMeurechy (US 20060288756: “DeMeurechy”) in view of Itoga (US 5475613: “Itoga”) and in further view of Riding (US 20200034495: “Riding”).
Claim 1. DeMeurechy discloses an apparatus for imaging a 3-dimensional component (Figs. 1: 4 & 6: positioning arm 1, sensors and computer 7) [0020 The invention thus comprises localizing and measuring corrosion on the surface of the defined area by moving the corrosion scanning system in three dimensions, thereby localizing a plurality of corrosion pits on the surface of the pipeline] comprising: a computer (Figs. 4 & 6: computer readable means 7) [0075: first computer readable means 7 is suitable for receiving and processing the surface condition data obtainable by the laser instrument 6] operated articulating arm (Figs. 1, 4 & 6: positioning arm 1) with 3-dimensional positioning coordinates [0074: The laser instrument is in operation connected to the second leg of the positioning arm. Since this positioning arm can be moved in all possible directions, accordingly, in operation, a laser beam can be projected across the surface of a material to define a scan area oriented in all possible directions, i.e. in X, Y as well as a Z direction. As a consequence thereof, each measurement with the laser instrument enables to obtain surface condition data in X, Y and Z-coordinates]; b. a laser scanner (Figs. 2 & 4: laser 6) [0066: In another preferred embodiment, one or more measuring instruments, such as a laser scanner and an ultrasonic measuring instrument and other probes can all be mounted on the same positioning arm] for obtaining a 3-dimensional image of the exterior surfaces of a component (Figs. 5 & 6: 3)[0055: scanning system is applied which can be moved in all possible directions in a three-dimensional plane. As a consequence, thereof, each measurement effectuated with the corrosion scanning system in the above provided method provides surface condition data in X, Y as well as Z coordinates] & [0088]; c. a processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer) [0036 The terms "a first computer readable means" and "a second computer readable means" as used herein refer to either two different computers having one common processor, or to one computer having two different processors. In this later case, data obtained by using the laser instrument can be processed with one processor, while the other processor processes the data obtained by using the ultrasonic measuring instrument. The computers may also include portable computers, or field computers] for generating a 3-dimensional image of the exterior surfaces of said component (13)[0028-0029: a laser instrument emitting laser light to and detecting reflected laser light from an area of a surface to evaluate the condition thereof, the laser instrument being removably mounted to the positioning arm, and [0028] a first computer readable means connected to the laser instrument and to the positioning arm for control thereof, whereby the computer readable means receives and processes the surface condition data obtained by means of the laser instrument] and mapping locations to probe said component with an ultrasonic probe (13) in order to generate an image (Fig. 10) of the interior surfaces of said component [0084] 8Docket No. 42538US02; d. an ultrasonic probe (Fig. 4: sensors by element 6 )[0061 an ultrasonic measuring instrument suitable for transmitting acoustic signals to and for detecting reflected acoustic signals from an area of a surface to evaluate the condition thereof, the ultrasonic measuring instrument being removably mounted to the positioning arm], for contacting said exterior surface [0096 In a preferred embodiment, outer (exterior) surface data as well as inner (interior) surface data are acquired. Preferably, outer surface data are acquired as explained in the previous paragraph. For acquiring inner surface data, wall thickness measurements are made] of said component (Fig. 6: pipeline 13) at said mapped locations to generate and receive ultrasonic signals [0084: The ultrasonic measuring instrument is in operation connected to the second leg of the positioning arm. Since this arm can be moved in all possible directions, accordingly, in operation, acoustic signals can be projected across the surface of a material oriented in all possible directions] & [0087]; and e. a processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer) [0036] for generating a 3-dimensional image (Fig. 7)[0074: define a scan area oriented in all possible directions, i.e. in X, Y as well as a Z direction. As a consequence, thereof, each measurement with the laser instrument enables to obtain surface condition data in X, Y and Z-coordinates] & [0081] of the interior surfaces [0096 In a preferred embodiment, outer (exterior) surface data as well as inner (interior) surface data are acquired. Preferably, outer surface data are acquired as explained in the previous paragraph. For acquiring inner surface data, wall thickness measurements are made] & [0105: if the Interior surface data is dense enough, this dataset can be merged, giving a reliable polygonal dataset of the interior pipe surface. The comparison between inner (merged or not merged) and outer (merged or not merged) scan data represents the actual wall thickness] of said component (13) from said ultrasonic signals [0084], said processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer) [0036] generating an image of the component (Fig. 12) [0103] & [0087: computer readable means is suitable for receiving and processing the surface condition data obtainable by means of the ultrasonic measuring instrument]. DeMeurechy further discloses the articulating arm (1) providing laser and ultrasonic scanning and rendering a three-dimensional image [0034] and 3-dimensional image of the exterior surfaces and said image of the interior surfaces [0096: In a preferred embodiment, outer (exterior) surface data as well as inner (interior) surface data are acquired. Preferably, outer surface data are acquired as explained in the previous paragraph. For acquiring inner surface data, wall thickness measurements are made. Using the positioning arm in combination with a probe on top of the arm, e.g. an ultrasonic probe, UT laser probe, backscattering probe, Magnetic flux probes, wall thickness probes, thickness measurements are added to the exterior surface measurements] & [0138: the present scanning system also provides for multi-layer thickness scanning in three dimensions. Preferably for this purposes probes such as an ultrasonic, laser ultrasonic, or backscattering measuring instruments can be used that are able to measure up to 25 or more layers in one run].
DeMeurechy discloses obtaining interior surface data through thickness measurements using an ultrasonic probe [0096] and renders an exemplary 3-dimensional exterior model and an interior image (Figs. 10 & 12). DeMeurechy does not explicitly disclose:
generate a 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces of said component and generating a 3-dimensional model of the component from said 3-dimensional model of the component including said 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces.
A processor configured to perform ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds and when measurements for both the 3-dimensional imaging measurement and the ultrasonic measurement an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component, taking additional ultrasonic measurements to resolve the uncertainties.
With regard to 1) In a similar endeavor to Demeurechy, the reference of Itoga also renders an external laser 3-d image of a pipe surface [Col. 2 lines 25-32: As shown in FIG. 3, a laser range finder 3 is mounted on a hand 4 of a robot as a probe to measure surface shape of the object 1 under test in the air. The robot hand 4 is driven by a six-axis synchronized drive unit 5 which is controlled by a personal computer 6 to measure the shape of the object 1 under test. The measurement data is processed by a mini-computer 7] and teaches an ultrasonic probe for imaging the internal structure and internal surface [Col. 7 lines 60-67: As shown in FIG. 3, a laser range finder 3 is mounted on a hand 4 of a robot as a probe to measure surface shape of the object 1 under test in the air. The robot hand 4 is driven by a six-axis synchronized drive unit 5 which is controlled by a personal computer 6 to measure the shape of the object 1 under test. The measurement data is processed by a mini-computer 7]. Ferrari further teaches mapping locations to probe said component [0015: In another embodiment, a method of measuring data with a CMM including moving a probe of the CMM to a plurality of surface positions on an object measuring the plurality of surface positions, and measuring a flaw point below each of the plurality of surface positions with the CMM] and where a processor [0010: a processor configured to correlate the location of the flaw detection sensor as measured by the CMM with data detected by the flaw detection sensor] for generating a 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces of said component from said 3-dimensional boundary image of the exterior surfaces and said ultrasonic signals [0078: lity to overlay ultrasonic flaw detection data of the selected portion of interest of the selected object, over a full three dimensional model of the object, providing additional clarity in regards to the location of the flaws]; and generating a 3 dimensional model of the component [Col. 4 lines 32-34: An outer contour, internal and rear surface three-dimensional shapes of a thick part of an object under test are measured] from said 3-dimensional model of the component including said 3-dimensional boundary image of the exterior surfaces [col. 4 lines 20-40: ) The present invention can be suitably applied to the three-dimensional testing by the ultrasonic wave of defects in a thick part which may affect to aging functions such as air bubbles, cracks or tear-off in the part (including unit parts) having a complex three-dimensional free curved surface built in an equipment which is used in nuclear facilities or various machine manufacturing plants. In this case, a probe is mounted at an end of a manually operated or robotic multi-articulation hand, and a plurality of LED's are mounted on the probe and they are measured by a charge coupled device CCD camera or a position sensitive device (PSD camera). An outer contour, internal and rear surface three-dimensional shapes of a thick part of an object under test are measured. The measurement data is displayed as three-dimensional graphic images (more strictly, a projection of a three-dimensional shape onto a two-dimensional screen) by a computer to determine defect testing conditions. The ultrasonic testing is conducted in accordance with the testing conditions and the resulting data is displayed as three-dimensional graphic images and recorded on real time basis. In this manner, the object under test, that is, the complex curved surface of the object under test is three-dimensionally grasped and the defect is recognized. Further, it may be recorded for subsequent use as reference data].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Itoga’s overlaying of ultrasonic mapping of the interior of an object with the laser imaged surface of an object with DeMeurechy’s exterior laser scanning and internal ultrasonic probing of an inspection object because the procedure improves inspection efficiency with a time efficient dual scanning that efficiently overlaps and correlates the combined data reducing imaging time, cost and increasing accuracy [Itoga Col. 4 lines 32-40].
With regard to 2) Riding teaches inspecting devices [Abstract] the data processing system 112) may track the movement of the inspection device 109 over the structure 104. The system 100 may define (e.g., and display on the visual display 200 shown in FIG. 2) a representation of the area to be scanned (e.g., a grid 202) including an indication of the scanned areas 204 that have already been scanned by the inspection device 109 [0071]. Riding further teaches a processor (Fig. 3) [0081] configured to perform ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds (Fig. 2) [0073-0074] and when measurements for both the 3-dimensional imaging measurement and the ultrasonic measurement an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component [0071], taking additional ultrasonic measurements to resolve the uncertainties [0094: The transducer system 120 may move to the next location at act 310 and repeat the steps outlined above until the scan is complete at act 312 (e.g., while the area being scanned is monitored by a process similar to that shown and described with reference to FIG. 2). The transducer system 120 may continuously or periodically send signals to the structure 104 as the ultrasonic inspection device 109 is moved along the surface 134 of the structure 104. The response signals 130 may constitute structure characteristic data…. The location information may be sent to the data processing system 112 during or after the scan at act 318. The location tracking steps outlined above may also be repeated until the scan is complete 312 and the location tracking ends at act 320].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Riding’s quality processing to determine if additional ultrasonic measurements are needed to obtain a level of quality analysis with DeMeurechy’s, as modified, ultrasonic measurements because validating imaging for resolution completion improves the quality and time efficiency of the component monitoring with detailed imaging tracking of monitored areas [Riding 0073-0074].
Claim 6. DeMeurechy discloses a method [Abstract] for imaging a 3-dimensional component (Fig. 1 13) [0020 The invention thus comprises localizing and measuring corrosion on the surface of the defined area by moving the corrosion scanning system in three dimensions, thereby localizing a plurality of corrosion pits on the surface of the pipeline] comprising: a. providing a component (Figs. 6: pipeline 13) to be imaged [0088: may be processed to provide graphical, visual or tabular information or output regarding the surface scanned, and may be further processed to determine the remaining wall thickness and the remaining strength of the scanned material, such as a pipe]; b. providing an automated articulating arm (Figs. 1 & 4: positioning arm 1) for imaging said component [0074: The laser instrument is in operation connected to the second leg of the positioning arm. Since this positioning arm can be moved in all possible directions, accordingly, in operation, a laser beam can be projected across the surface of a material to define a scan area oriented in all possible directions, i.e. in X, Y as well as a Z direction. As a consequence thereof, each measurement with the laser instrument enables to obtain surface condition data in X, Y and Z-coordinates], said articulating arm (Figs. 1 & 4: positioning arm 1) comprising: i. a computer (Figs. 4 & 6: computer 7) operated articulating arm (Figs. 1 & 4: positioning arm 1) with 3-dimensional positioning coordinates [0025-0029: a positioning arm for positioning and moving an instrument removably connectable thereto in three dimensions; a laser instrument emitting and ultrasonic probe where a computer readable means receives and processes the surface condition data obtained by means of the laser instrument]; ii. a laser scanner (Figs. 2 & 4: laser 6) [0066: In another preferred embodiment, one or more measuring instruments, such as a laser scanner and an ultrasonic measuring instrument and other probes can all be mounted on the same positioning arm] for obtaining a 3-dimensional image [0034: the laser instrument and the ultrasonic measuring instrument can be moved in all possible directions in a three dimensional plane,… the corrosion scanning system provides surface condition data in X, Y and Z-coordinates] of the exterior surfaces of a component (13)[0028-0029: a laser instrument emitting laser light to and detecting reflected laser light from an area of a surface to evaluate the condition thereof, the laser instrument being removably mounted to the positioning arm, and [0028] a first computer readable means connected to the laser instrument and to the positioning arm for control thereof, whereby the computer readable means receives and processes the surface condition data obtained by means of the laser instrument]; 8Docket No. 42538US02 iii. a processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer) for generating a 3-dimensional image of the exterior surfaces [0074: define a scan area oriented in all possible directions, i.e. in X, Y as well as a Z direction. As a consequence thereof, each measurement with the laser instrument enables to obtain surface condition data in X, Y and Z-coordinates] & [0081] of said component (Figs. 4 & 6: pipeline 13) from said ultrasonic signals [0084], said processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer)[0036] generating a 3 dimensional model of the component (Figs. 10 & 12) [0103] & [0087: computer readable means is suitable for receiving and processing the surface condition data obtainable by means of the ultrasonic measuring instrument]; iv. an ultrasonic probe (Fig. 4: sensors by element 6 )[0061 an ultrasonic measuring instrument suitable for transmitting acoustic signals to and for detecting reflected acoustic signals from an area of a surface to evaluate the condition thereof, the ultrasonic measuring instrument being removably mounted to the positioning arm], contacting said exterior surface of said component at said mapped locations to generate ultrasonic signals [0084: The ultrasonic measuring instrument is in operation connected to the second leg of the positioning arm. Since this arm can be moved in all possible directions, accordingly, in operation, acoustic signals can be projected across the surface of a material oriented in all possible directions] & [0087]; and v. a processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer) [0036 The terms "a first computer readable means" and "a second computer readable means" as used herein refer to either two different computers having one common processor, or to one computer having two different processors. In this later case, data obtained by using the laser instrument can be processed with one processor, while the other processor processes the data obtained by using the ultrasonic measuring instrument. The computers may also include portable computers, or field computers] for generating an image of the interior surfaces [0096 In a preferred embodiment, outer (exterior) surface data as well as inner (interior) surface data are acquired. Preferably, outer surface data are acquired as explained in the previous paragraph. For acquiring inner surface data, wall thickness measurements are made] of said component from said ultrasonic signals [0087: computer readable means is suitable for receiving and processing the surface condition data obtainable by means of the ultrasonic measuring instrument]; and c. obtaining the physical geometric of said component for both said exterior and interior surfaces of said component [0096] & [0105: the Interior surface data is dense enough, this dataset can be merged, giving a reliable polygonal dataset of the interior pipe surface. The comparison between inner (merged or not merged) and outer (merged or not merged) scan data represents the actual wall thickness] & [0107: details of interior measurement] and 3-dimensional image (Figs. 10 &12) of the exterior surfaces and image of the interior surfaces [0096: In a preferred embodiment, outer (exterior) surface data as well as inner (interior) surface data are acquired. Preferably, outer surface data are acquired as explained in the previous paragraph. For acquiring inner surface data, wall thickness measurements are made. Using the positioning arm in combination with a probe on top of the arm, e.g. an ultrasonic probe, UT laser probe, backscattering probe, Magnetic flux probes, wall thickness probes, thickness measurements are added to the exterior surface measurements] & [0138: the present scanning system also provides for multi-layer thickness scanning in three dimensions. Preferably for this purposes probes such as an ultrasonic, laser ultrasonic, or backscattering measuring instruments can be used that are able to measure up to 25 or more layers in one run].
DeMeurechy discloses obtaining interior surface data through thickness measurements using an ultrasonic probe [0096] and renders an exemplary 3-dimensional exterior model and an interior image (Figs. 10 & 12). DeMeurechy does not explicitly disclose:
generate a 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces of said component and generating a 3-dimensional model of the component from said 3-dimensional model of the component including said 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces.
A processor configured to perform ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds and when measurements for both the 3-dimensional imaging measurement and the ultrasonic measurement an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component, taking additional ultrasonic measurements to resolve the uncertainties.
With regard to 1) In a similar endeavor to DeMeurechy, the reference of Itoga also renders an external laser 3-d image of a pipe surface [Col. 2 lines 25-32: As shown in FIG. 3, a laser range finder 3 is mounted on a hand 4 of a robot as a probe to measure surface shape of the object 1 under test in the air. The robot hand 4 is driven by a six-axis synchronized drive unit 5 which is controlled by a personal computer 6 to measure the shape of the object 1 under test. The measurement data is processed by a mini-computer 7] and teaches an ultrasonic probe for imaging the internal structure and internal surface [Col. 7 lines 60-67: As shown in FIG. 3, a laser range finder 3 is mounted on a hand 4 of a robot as a probe to measure surface shape of the object 1 under test in the air. The robot hand 4 is driven by a six-axis synchronized drive unit 5 which is controlled by a personal computer 6 to measure the shape of the object 1 under test. The measurement data is processed by a mini-computer 7]. Ferrari further teaches mapping locations to probe said component [0015: In another embodiment, a method of measuring data with a CMM including moving a probe of the CMM to a plurality of surface positions on an object measuring the plurality of surface positions, and measuring a flaw point below each of the plurality of surface positions with the CMM] and where a processor [0010: a processor configured to correlate the location of the flaw detection sensor as measured by the CMM with data detected by the flaw detection sensor] for generating a 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces of said component from said 3-dimensional boundary image of the exterior surfaces and said ultrasonic signals [0078: lity to overlay ultrasonic flaw detection data of the selected portion of interest of the selected object, over a full three dimensional model of the object, providing additional clarity in regards to the location of the flaws]; and generating a 3 dimensional model of the component [Col. 4 lines 32-34: An outer contour, internal and rear surface three-dimensional shapes of a thick part of an object under test are measured] from said 3-dimensional model of the component including said 3-dimensional boundary image of the exterior surfaces [col. 4 lines 20-40: ) The present invention can be suitably applied to the three-dimensional testing by the ultrasonic wave of defects in a thick part which may affect to aging functions such as air bubbles, cracks or tear-off in the part (including unit parts) having a complex three-dimensional free curved surface built in an equipment which is used in nuclear facilities or various machine manufacturing plants. In this case, a probe is mounted at an end of a manually operated or robotic multi-articulation hand, and a plurality of LED's are mounted on the probe and they are measured by a charge coupled device CCD camera or a position sensitive device (PSD camera). An outer contour, internal and rear surface three-dimensional shapes of a thick part of an object under test are measured. The measurement data is displayed as three-dimensional graphic images (more strictly, a projection of a three-dimensional shape onto a two-dimensional screen) by a computer to determine defect testing conditions. The ultrasonic testing is conducted in accordance with the testing conditions and the resulting data is displayed as three-dimensional graphic images and recorded on real time basis. In this manner, the object under test, that is, the complex curved surface of the object under test is three-dimensionally grasped and the defect is recognized. Further, it may be recorded for subsequent use as reference data].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Itoga’s overlaying of ultrasonic mapping of the interior of an object with the laser imaged surface of an object with DeMeurechy’s exterior laser scanning and internal ultrasonic probing of an inspection object because the procedure improves inspection efficiency with a time efficient dual scanning that efficiently overlaps and correlates the combined data reducing imaging time, cost and increasing accuracy [Itoga Col. 4 lines 32-40].
With regard to 2) Riding teaches inspecting devices [Abstract] the data processing system 112) may track the movement of the inspection device 109 over the structure 104. The system 100 may define (e.g., and display on the visual display 200 shown in FIG. 2) a representation of the area to be scanned (e.g., a grid 202) including an indication of the scanned areas 204 that have already been scanned by the inspection device 109 [0071]. Riding further teaches a processor (Fig. 3) [0081] configured to perform ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds (Fig. 2) [0073-0074] and when measurements for both the 3-dimensional imaging measurement and the ultrasonic measurement an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component [0071], taking additional ultrasonic measurements to resolve the uncertainties [0094: The transducer system 120 may move to the next location at act 310 and repeat the steps outlined above until the scan is complete at act 312 (e.g., while the area being scanned is monitored by a process similar to that shown and described with reference to FIG. 2). The transducer system 120 may continuously or periodically send signals to the structure 104 as the ultrasonic inspection device 109 is moved along the surface 134 of the structure 104. The response signals 130 may constitute structure characteristic data…. The location information may be sent to the data processing system 112 during or after the scan at act 318. The location tracking steps outlined above may also be repeated until the scan is complete 312 and the location tracking ends at act 320].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Riding’s quality processing to determine if additional ultrasonic measurements are needed to obtain a level of quality analysis with DeMeurechy’s, as modified, ultrasonic measurements because validating imaging for resolution completion improves the quality and time efficiency of the component monitoring with detailed imaging tracking of monitored areas [Riding 0073-0074].
Claim 11. DeMeurechy discloses a method for obtaining [Abstract] a fitness for service assessment (Figs. 1 4 & 6: positioning arm 1, sensors and computer 7) [0020 The invention thus comprises localizing and measuring corrosion on the surface of the defined area by moving the corrosion scanning system in three dimensions, thereby localizing a plurality of corrosion pits on the surface of the pipeline] comprising: a. providing a component (Fig. 6: pipeline 13) or system to be assessed [0090: measuring the corrosion conditions of an object, in particular a pipeline] b. providing an automated articulating arm (Figs. 1 & 4: positioning arm 1) for imaging [0025-0029]; said component [0074: The laser instrument is in operation connected to the second leg of the positioning arm. Since this positioning arm can be moved in all possible directions, accordingly, in operation, a laser beam can be projected across the surface of a material to define a scan area oriented in all possible directions, i.e. in X, Y as well as a Z direction. As a consequence thereof, each measurement with the laser instrument enables to obtain surface condition data in X, Y and Z-coordinates], said articulating arm (Figs. 1 & 4: positioning arm 1) comprising: i. a computer (Figs. 4 & 6: computer 7) operated articulating arm (Figs. 4 & 6: positioning arm 1) with 3-dimensional positioning coordinates [0025-0029: a positioning arm for positioning and moving an instrument removably connectable thereto in three dimensions; a laser instrument emitting and ultrasonic probe where a computer readable means receives and processes the surface condition data obtained by means of the laser instrument]; ii. a laser scanner (Figs. 2 & 4: laser 6) [0066: In another preferred embodiment, one or more measuring instruments, such as a laser scanner and an ultrasonic measuring instrument and other probes can all be mounted on the same positioning arm] for obtaining a 3-dimensional image [0034: the laser instrument and the ultrasonic measuring instrument can be moved in all possible directions in a three dimensional plane, the instrument is able to very accurately determine surface conditions of corrosion pits, including the position and surface characteristics such as width, depth, structure, and form of the corrosion pits. In particular, each measurement by the corrosion scanning system provides surface condition data in X, Y and Z-coordinates] of the exterior surfaces of a component (13)[0028-0029: a laser instrument emitting laser light to and detecting reflected laser light from an area of a surface to evaluate the condition thereof, the laser instrument being removably mounted to the positioning arm, and [0028] a first computer readable means connected to the laser instrument and to the positioning arm for control thereof, whereby the computer readable means receives and processes the surface condition data obtained by means of the laser instrument]8Docket No. 42538US02; iii. a processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer) for generating a 3-dimensional image of the exterior surfaces [0074: define a scan area oriented in all possible directions, i.e. in X, Y as well as a Z direction. As a consequence thereof, each measurement with the laser instrument enables to obtain surface condition data in X, Y and Z-coordinates] & [0081] of said component (Figs. 4 & 6: pipeline 13); iv. an ultrasonic probe (Fig. 4: sensors by element 6 )[0061 an ultrasonic measuring instrument suitable for transmitting acoustic signals to and for detecting reflected acoustic signals from an area of a surface to evaluate the condition thereof, the ultrasonic measuring instrument being removably mounted to the positioning arm] contacting said exterior surface of said component at said mapped locations to generate ultrasonic signals [0084: The ultrasonic measuring instrument is in operation connected to the second leg of the positioning arm. Since this arm can be moved in all possible directions, accordingly, in operation, acoustic signals can be projected across the surface of a material oriented in all possible directions] & [0087]; and 9Docket No. 42538US02 v. a processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer) [0036 The terms "a first computer readable means" and "a second computer readable means" as used herein refer to either two different computers having one common processor, or to one computer having two different processors. In this later case, data obtained by using the laser instrument can be processed with one processor, while the other processor processes the data obtained by using the ultrasonic measuring instrument. The computers may also include portable computers, or field computers] for generating a 3-dimensional image of the interior surfaces of said component (13) [0096 In a preferred embodiment, outer (exterior) surface data as well as inner (interior) surface data are acquired. Preferably, outer surface data are acquired as explained in the previous paragraph. For acquiring inner surface data, wall thickness measurements are made] from said ultrasonic signals [0087: computer readable means is suitable for receiving and processing the surface condition data obtainable by means of the ultrasonic measuring instrument] from said ultrasonic signals [0084], said processor (Fig.1: computer 7 processor within computer)[0036] generating a 3 dimensional model of the component (Fig. 12) [0103] & [0087: computer readable means is suitable for receiving and processing the surface condition data obtainable by means of the ultrasonic measuring instrument]; f. obtaining the physical geometric of said component (13) for both said exterior and interior surfaces [0096: 0096] In a preferred embodiment, outer (exterior) surface data as well as inner (interior) surface data are acquired. Preferably, outer surface data are acquired as explained in the previous paragraph. For acquiring inner surface data, wall thickness measurements are made. Using the positioning arm in combination with a probe on top of the arm, e.g. an ultrasonic probe, UT laser probe, backscattering probe, Magnetic flux probes, wall thickness probes, thickness measurements are added to the exterior surface measurements] of said component (13); g. identifying one or more internal features of said component [0105: In another embodiment, if the Interior surface data is dense enough, this dataset can be merged, giving a reliable polygonal dataset of the interior pipe surface. The comparison between inner (merged or not merged) and outer (merged or not merged) scan data represents the actual wall thickness] & [0107: details of interior measurement]; and h. classifying the fitness of said component for service [0051: In a first embodiment, the present invention provides a method for determining the life span for secure use of a pipeline, which may be applied on either flat, curved, or welded surfaces, such as pipe elbows, pipe circumferences, pipe welds, etc] & [0107: The comparison between references and the exterior (merged) scan data gives a surface error plot. This gives for each point the local material loss value, or actual wall thickness if reference is made from interior scan data. A surface error plot is automatically generated as shown in box 18 and gives a clear collared overview of depth and dimension of the corrosion. Zones with aberrations more than for instance 10% of the wall thickness of the pipe or tube are considered as a corroded zone. The values for determining the corroded zones may vary and depend on norms introduced in the concerned industry] and 3-dimensional image of the exterior surfaces and said 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces [0096: In a preferred embodiment, outer (exterior) surface data as well as inner (interior) surface data are acquired. Preferably, outer surface data are acquired as explained in the previous paragraph. For acquiring inner surface data, wall thickness measurements are made. Using the positioning arm in combination with a probe on top of the arm, e.g. an ultrasonic probe, UT laser probe, backscattering probe, Magnetic flux probes, wall thickness probes, thickness measurements are added to the exterior surface measurements] & [0138: the present scanning system also provides for multi-layer thickness scanning in three dimensions. Preferably for this purposes probes such as an ultrasonic, laser ultrasonic, or backscattering measuring instruments can be used that are able to measure up to 25 or more layers in one run].
DeMeurechy discloses obtaining interior surface data through thickness measurements using an ultrasonic probe [0096] and renders an exemplary 3-dimensional exterior model and an interior image (Figs. 10 & 12). DeMeurechy does not explicitly disclose:
DeMeurechy does not explicitly disclose:
generate a 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces of said component and generating a 3 dimensional model of the component from said 3-dimensional model of the component including said 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces.
A processor configured to perform ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds and when measurements for both the 3-dimensional imaging measurement and the ultrasonic measurement an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component, taking additional ultrasonic measurements to resolve the uncertainties.
With regard to 1) In a similar endeavor to Demeurechy, the reference of Itoga also renders an external laser 3-d image of a pipe surface [Col. 2 lines 25-32: As shown in FIG. 3, a laser range finder 3 is mounted on a hand 4 of a robot as a probe to measure surface shape of the object 1 under test in the air. The robot hand 4 is driven by a six-axis synchronized drive unit 5 which is controlled by a personal computer 6 to measure the shape of the object 1 under test. The measurement data is processed by a mini-computer 7] and teaches an ultrasonic probe for imaging the internal structure and internal surface [Col. 7 lines 60-67: As shown in FIG. 3, a laser range finder 3 is mounted on a hand 4 of a robot as a probe to measure surface shape of the object 1 under test in the air. The robot hand 4 is driven by a six-axis synchronized drive unit 5 which is controlled by a personal computer 6 to measure the shape of the object 1 under test. The measurement data is processed by a mini-computer 7]. Ferrari further teaches mapping locations to probe said component [0015: In another embodiment, a method of measuring data with a CMM including moving a probe of the CMM to a plurality of surface positions on an object measuring the plurality of surface positions, and measuring a flaw point below each of the plurality of surface positions with the CMM] and where a processor [0010: a processor configured to correlate the location of the flaw detection sensor as measured by the CMM with data detected by the flaw detection sensor] for generating a 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces of said component from said 3-dimensional boundary image of the exterior surfaces and said ultrasonic signals [0078: lity to overlay ultrasonic flaw detection data of the selected portion of interest of the selected object, over a full three dimensional model of the object, providing additional clarity in regards to the location of the flaws]; and generating a 3 dimensional model of the component [Col. 4 lines 32-34: An outer contour, internal and rear surface three-dimensional shapes of a thick part of an object under test are measured] from said 3-dimensional model of the component including said 3-dimensional boundary image of the exterior surfaces [col. 4 lines 20-40: ) The present invention can be suitably applied to the three-dimensional testing by the ultrasonic wave of defects in a thick part which may affect to aging functions such as air bubbles, cracks or tear-off in the part (including unit parts) having a complex three-dimensional free curved surface built in an equipment which is used in nuclear facilities or various machine manufacturing plants. In this case, a probe is mounted at an end of a manually operated or robotic multi-articulation hand, and a plurality of LED's are mounted on the probe and they are measured by a charge coupled device CCD camera or a position sensitive device (PSD camera). An outer contour, internal and rear surface three-dimensional shapes of a thick part of an object under test are measured. The measurement data is displayed as three-dimensional graphic images (more strictly, a projection of a three-dimensional shape onto a two-dimensional screen) by a computer to determine defect testing conditions. The ultrasonic testing is conducted in accordance with the testing conditions and the resulting data is displayed as three-dimensional graphic images and recorded on real time basis. In this manner, the object under test, that is, the complex curved surface of the object under test is three-dimensionally grasped and the defect is recognized. Further, it may be recorded for subsequent use as reference data].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Itoga’s overlaying of ultrasonic mapping of the interior of an object with the laser imaged surface of an object with DeMeurechy’s exterior laser scanning and internal ultrasonic probing of an inspection object because the procedure improves inspection efficiency with a time efficient dual scanning that efficiently overlaps and correlates the combined data reducing imaging time, cost and increasing accuracy [Itoga Col. 4 lines 32-40].
With regard to 2) Riding teaches inspecting devices [Abstract] the data processing system 112) may track the movement of the inspection device 109 over the structure 104. The system 100 may define (e.g., and display on the visual display 200 shown in FIG. 2) a representation of the area to be scanned (e.g., a grid 202) including an indication of the scanned areas 204 that have already been scanned by the inspection device 109 [0071]. Riding further teaches a processor (Fig. 3) [0081] configured to perform ultrasonic measurements until measurements are within reference geometric boundary thresholds (Fig. 2) [0073-0074] and when measurements for both the 3-dimensional imaging measurement and the ultrasonic measurement an accurate 3-dimensional service assessment of the component [0071], taking additional ultrasonic measurements to resolve the uncertainties [0094: The transducer system 120 may move to the next location at act 310 and repeat the steps outlined above until the scan is complete at act 312 (e.g., while the area being scanned is monitored by a process similar to that shown and described with reference to FIG. 2). The transducer system 120 may continuously or periodically send signals to the structure 104 as the ultrasonic inspection device 109 is moved along the surface 134 of the structure 104. The response signals 130 may constitute structure characteristic data…. The location information may be sent to the data processing system 112 during or after the scan at act 318. The location tracking steps outlined above may also be repeated until the scan is complete 312 and the location tracking ends at act 320].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Riding’s quality processing to determine if additional ultrasonic measurements are needed to obtain a level of quality analysis with DeMeurechy’s, as modified, ultrasonic measurements because validating imaging for resolution completion improves the quality and time efficiency of the component monitoring with detailed imaging tracking of monitored areas [Riding 0073-0074].
Claims 3, 8 & 13. Dependent on the respective apparatus of claim 1 methods of claim 6 & claim 11. DeMeurechy further discloses said 3-dimensional component (13)[Fig. 12] is welded, bonded, molded, layered, or printed in 3 dimensions [0101: Typical deformations are due to the presence of longitudinal and transversal welding seams, and the straightness and the ovality (unroundness) of the pipe itself. Depending on the straightness and the oval form of the pipe, the presence of welding seams, the dimensions of the corrosion and the corroded area, several reference types can be made. The references are a representation for the physical pipe in non-corroded state, except when using the best fit cylinder technique as explained below. The evaluation comparison between the merged scan data and the reference represents the local deformation, i.e. bend, material loss or wall thickness, etc. . . .].
Claims 4, 9 & 14. Dependent on the apparatus of claim 1, methods of claim 6 and claim 11. DeMeurechy further discloses a 3-dimensional model (Figs. 12-14) [0105: dataset can be merged, giving a reliable polygonal dataset of the interior pipe surface. The comparison between inner (merged or not merged) and outer (merged or not merged) scan data represents the actual wall thickness] includes an internal feature selected from the group consisting of a bond, defect, damage, corrosion, fracture, cladding thickness, bimetallic cladding, inclusion and asymmetry [0122: The apparatus and the method according to the invention can be used in various applications, wherein corrosion should be measured and characterized and/or wherein outer and/or inner surface defects should be measured and characterized. In particular, in another embodiment, the present invention relates to the use of the corrosion scanning and surface defects detecting system for determining and characterizing corrosion on an area of the inner and/or outer surface of an object defined for corrosion scanning analysis].
Claims 5, 10 & 15. Dependent on the apparatus of claim 1. methods of claim 6 and claim 11. DeMeurechy further discloses said apparatus (Fig. 1: 2-6 imaging and 7 processing) is used to generate said 3-dimensional boundary image of the exterior [0085] and said 3-dimensional boundary image of the interior surfaces [0081] [0096-0097][0047: FIG. 9 A-C represent an outcome of a conversion of a multiple 3D images into polygonal surfaces. FIG. 10 illustrates the alignment of a scan coordinate system to a world coordinate system] at two or more times to monitor the condition of the component over time [0125: The corrosion scanning apparatus according to the present invention enables to detect coating thickness and changes in time and evaluate these, compared with the metal loss propagation of the corrosion defects in time. The best fit cylinder method allows to define the pipe radius and pipe diameter before and after the impact of the corrosion defects] & [0126: The corrosion scanning apparatus according to the present invention enables to archive and measure in 3D coordinates inner as well as outer cracks and crack propagation in time] & [0127].
Claims 2, 7 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMeurechy and Riding in further view of Little (US 20090165317; “Little”).
Claims 2, 7 & 12. Dependent on the respective apparatus of claim 1, methods of claim 6 and claim 11. DeMeurechy further discloses said 3-dimensional component (Fig. 1: 13) is selected from the group consisting of an elbow, bend, tee, wye, cross, reducer, stubend, coupling, nipple, union, valve, branch and outlet [0006: the measuring methods are performed primarily in a longitudinal direction along straight pipe sections, obviating desirable evaluation of elbows, bends and curved circumferential portions of pipe surfaces. In addition, existing corrosion measurement instruments have mechanical limitations which further restrict measurement of corrosion to small areas or points] & [0104: With non-standard pipes, bended pipes, prints, etc. . . . A good reference with the best fit cylinder technique is hard or impossible to create. In these cases, it is possible to create a Nurbs surface, based on parametric cubic curves drawn onto the polygonal merged model in non-corroded areas].
DeMeurechy is silent on the details of edge and boundary determination:
a processor receiving ultrasonic signals for generating a 3-dimensional boundary image.
Little teaches combining ultrasonic inspection (UT) capabilities and coordinate measuring machine (CMM) capabilities to form an inspection probe. The inspection probe is installed on the CMM so that the inspection probe measures external boundaries of the machine component with the CMM capabilities and substantially simultaneously measures internal boundaries of the machine component with the UT capabilities [Abstract]. Little further discloses [0017: Accordingly, in the exemplary embodiment, the thickness and/or position as measured by ultrasonic probe 212 is combined with X, Y, Z coordinate information as determined by CMM probe 214. As such, the external boundaries and dimensions of blade 100, the internal boundaries and dimensions of blade 100, and any internal defects within blades 100 are displayed at real-time during the inspection process on display 204. In one embodiment, the boundaries, dimensions, and defects are displayed in real-time 3-dimensional imaging].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Little’s processing of ultrasonic data to include boundary edges of internal and external features with DeMeurechy’s ultrasonic processing because determining the edge boundaries of the monitored features improves the accuracy in deterring the size and the volume of defect identification on a monitored component [Little 0003-0004].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Monica S Young whose telephone number is (303)297-4785. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 08:30-05:30 MST.
Examiner notes a call was made to Applicant to advance prosecution; however contact was not made in reasonable time. Applicant is reminded that interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Peter Macchiarolo can be reached on 571-273-2375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855