DETAILED ACTION
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 02/19/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejections are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/BETHANY P BARHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
Status of Claims
The arguments filed on 02/19/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 15-21 are now pending. Claims 1-14 are canceled.
Claims 15-21 will be examined on the merits herein.
Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20190298646 A1 (Allred, 2019) in view of US PGPUB 20070031472 A1 (Huang et al., 2007; referred to as Huang herein).
In regards to claims 15 and 17, Allred teaches a biodegradable sustained release implant (see e.g., ¶[0048]) comprising a steroid, such as gestrinone (see e.g., ¶[0019]) in a polymeric matrix comprised of polylactide, polyglycolide, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol, cross-linked poly (ethylene oxide), among others (see e.g., ¶[0025]). Further, Allred teaches that the composition may contain a polymer matrix and about 2% to about 85% of one or more anti-inflammatory agents (i.e., a steroid, such as gestrinone) by weight of the total composition (see e.g., ¶[0026]). Assuming the amount of the anti-inflammatory agent is 85% by weight, the 15% leftover comprises the polymeric matrix materials. MPEP §2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). It is also taught that the sustained release composition releases the anti-inflammatory agent from about 1 week to about 6 months (see e.g., ¶[0029], ¶[0032]) (i.e., the effective implant duration time).
Further in regard to claims 15 and 18, Allred teaches that the release period of the anti-inflammatory agent is from about 2 days to about 4 days (see e.g., ¶[0040]). Allred also teaches that the composition releases from 10 to 20 mg/day. A composition that releases 10 to 20 mg/day for 2 days comprises at least 40 mg of the anti-inflammatory agent. MPEP §2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
In regards to claim 19, Allred teaches that the implant has a cylindrical or rod-shaped structure (see e.g., ¶[0034]).
Allred is silent on the gestrinone homogeneously dispersed in the polymeric matrix, the size of the cylindrical or rod-shaped implant, and a coating on the implant.
In regards to claim 15 and 21, Huang teaches an implant comprising a steroid and a biodegradable polymer matrix (see e.g., Abstract). The steroid is taught to be in particle form (see e.g., ¶[0074]) and homogeneously dispersed throughout the implant (see e.g., ¶[0059]). Huang teaches that the implant comprises one or more coating (see e.g., ¶[0099]) comprising poly(dimethylsiloxane) (see e.g., ¶[0105]-[0106]) or polyglycolic acid copolymer (see e.g., ¶[0084]).
In regards to claim 19, Huang teaches that the implant is in the shape of a cylindrical pellet (e.g., a rod) with the length of about 7 mm to about 10 mm and a diameter of about 0.75 mm to about 1.5 mm. MPEP §2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
In regards to claims 15-21, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate an implant comprising gestrinone in particles dispersed homogeneously in a polymeric matrix using the teachings of Allred and Huang as both references teach implants that release steroids over time. Further, Allred and Huang teach the same steroids in the composition (fluocinolone, triamcinolone, beclomethasone (see e.g., Huang, ¶[0074]; Allred, ¶[0020]). As both references have overlap in the active agent, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use another steroid, such as gestrinone (as taught in Allred), which has a similar structure as the steroids mentioned above, in particle form and homogeneously dispersed in polymeric matrix (as taught by Huang). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the gestrinone of Allred with the implant of Huang according to the known method of making an implant (see e.g., Allred, ¶[0034]) to yield the predictable results of reducing inflammation with a reasonable expectation of success. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements according to known method to yield predictable results.
In regards to claim 16, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In the instant case, the prior art renders obvious the instant composition a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the same composition to have the same properties (i.e., release being proportional to the square root of the implant duration time in vivo) as instantly claimed. Further, Allred teaches that the composition releases the anti-inflammatory agent at a rate of about 0.01 to about 10 mg/day (see Allred, paragraph 0060). MPEP §2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Further in regards to claim 20, specifically to the limitation of the “thickness between 0.1 to 0.7mm,” that the properties of the coating, such as thickness, are able to be adjusted for optimal delivery of the steroid in the implant (see e.g., Huang, ¶[0114] and ¶[0228]). As such, the thickness of the coating would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, thickness of the coating in Huang to obtain the desired balance between the optimal delivery of the steroid as taught by Huang (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Response to Arguments
Appellant's arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the modified grounds of rejection.
In regards to appellant’s argument the use of gestrinone is mentioned in a laundry list of hormones in the Allred publication (referred to as Allred hereinafter), it is pointed out that it is part of the literature. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Further, Allred and Huang teach the same steroids in the composition (fluocinolone, triamcinolone, beclomethasone (see e.g., Huang, ¶[0074]; Allred, ¶[0020]). As both references have overlap in the active agent, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use another steroid, such as gestrinone (as taught in Allred), which has a similar structure as the steroids mentioned above, in particle form and homogeneously dispersed in polymeric matrix (as taught by Huang). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In regards to appellant’s argument that Allred does not mention the treatment of endometriosis, it is pointed out that neither do the claims. There is no mention of endometriosis in the claims and as such, there is no bearing of it on the patentability of the claims. It is also noted that the treatment of endometriosis is a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art. Further appellant argues that Allred does not teach a bio-absorbable polymeric matrix with a polymeric coating membrane to provide a calculated implant with a duration time and a calculated gestrinone release rate, an implant with a duration time in vivo between 4.5 months to 6 months for the effective treatment for the symptoms of endometriosis, or a gestrinone release in vivo that is proportional to the square root of time in vivo. It is pointed out that the rejection is made in view of Allred and Huang, not just Huang. It is pointed out that Allred teaches that the sustained release composition releases the anti-inflammatory agent from about 1 week to about 6 months (see e.g., ¶[0029], ¶[0032]) (i.e., the effective implant duration time). The teachings of both references have been described in detail above. The combination of both references would motivate one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the gestrinone of Allred with the implant of Huang according to the known method of making an implant (see e.g., Allred, ¶[0034]) to yield the predictable results of reducing inflammation with a reasonable expectation of success. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements according to known method to yield predictable results.
Further, appellant argues that the preferred embodiment of Allred releases 50% of the active ingredient in weeks 1-3, however it is pointed out that "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Allred also teaches that the active ingredient is released in varying rates for varying durations (see e.g., Allred ¶[0031-0033]).
Appellant’s arguments with respect to reference Xue have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the Xue reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In regards to appellant’s argument that the claimed invention is substantially different than the teachings of Allred in terms of critical functional proportion since a formulation with 1 to 20% polymer is claimed, it is pointed out that Allred teaches that the composition may contain a polymer matrix and about 2% to about 85% of one or more anti-inflammatory agents (i.e., a steroid, such as gestrinone) by weight of the total composition (see e.g., ¶[0026]). Assuming the amount of the anti-inflammatory agent is 85% by weight, the 15% leftover comprises the polymeric matrix materials. MPEP §2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). These amounts of polymer and steroid are within the claimed amounts.
Appellant further argues that Allred does not teach a specific dose for gestrinone, however Allred teaches that the release period of the anti-inflammatory agent is from about 2 days to about 4 days (see e.g., ¶[0040]). Allred also teaches that the composition releases from 10 to 20 mg/day. A composition that releases 10 to 20 mg/day for 2 days comprises at least 40 mg of the anti-inflammatory agent. MPEP §2144.05(I) states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Allred does teach that the anti-inflammatory agent is gestrinone (see e.g., ¶[0019]).
Further appellant argues that the release of the gestrinone is due to the subcutaneous implants being composed of bioabsorbable polymeric matrices that homogeneously contain gestrinone, however Huang teaches an implant comprising a steroid and a biodegradable polymer matrix (see e.g., Abstract). The steroid is taught to be in particle form (see e.g., ¶[0074]) and homogeneously dispersed throughout the implant (see e.g., ¶[0059]). Appellant then mentions that the coating is a notable aspect to regulate the release, however Huang teaches that the implant comprises one or more coating (see e.g., ¶[0099]) comprising poly(dimethylsiloxane) (see e.g., ¶[0105]-[0106]) or polyglycolic acid copolymer (see e.g., ¶[0084]). Again, the structural components of the instant claims are being met, and as such, one with ordinary skill in the art would understand that the release rate would be identical as claimed and without data or evidence to show otherwise, the instant claims are rendered obvious. To say another way, the art renders the structure and components of the claimed invention, and as such it would be understood that the property of how much of the gestrinone is released would be the same as instantly claimed as well. In order to overcome this, appellant is suggested to show data that indicate this is not the case (e.g., through unexpected results).
For the foregoing reasons, Appellant’s remarks are not persuasive. Therefore, the references of record continue to teach the instantly claimed composition. It is recommended that appellant submit additional data or evidence to support the claims of unexpected results in order to overcome the rejection of record.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1611