ETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as applied to Hahmna (EP 2698359) above and further in view of Nicolich (20120024437).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7-13, Hahma discloses a propellant with an ionic liquid such as butylmethyl-imidazolium perchlorate (electrolyte source) (claim 6) with a polymeric binder (claim 8). The composition is free of water. The ionic liquid will melt in the same way as claimed since it is the same compound.
Nicolich discloses the addition of perchlorate oxidizer and metal compound (fuel) to an ionic liquid propellant containing imidazolium salts and indicates that these can be added to “provide desired performance properties to the explosive composition or may aid in processing”. (0034)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to includes additional oxidizers such as perchlorates and metals to the ionic liquid propellant of Hahma since Nicolich suggests that the addition of the compounds can “provide desired performance properties to the explosive composition or may aid in processing”. (0034) One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success based on the addition of these compounds to the similar composition of Hahma which contains the same ionic liquid since Nicolich teaches that the compounds will improve the propellant properties. Further, Nicolich recites in para. 0016: “The ionic liquid reduces the sensitivity of the explosive composition to stimuli, such as electrostatic discharge ("ESD"), accidental detonation, impact, friction, or slow or fast cook-off. The ionic liquid may reduce the sensitivity of the explosive composition without substantially affecting the overall energy or performance characteristics of the explosive composition”. Thus it would be obvious to use the combination since it is well known in the explosive art to provide safety features to avoid accidental detonation as explicitly taught by Nicolich.
Regarding claim 7, Nicolich teaches the addition of a metal compound which would result in a metal containing ionic liquid (0034).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that Hahma contains water. Hahma does not indicate the use of any water in the composition. No evidence has been provided to show that water was used. Applicant indicates that the composition “quite likely” had water. This is merely is providing an opinion and does not change the reference disclosure.
Applicant argues that the combination is not obvious since Applicant alleges that the Nicolich discloses elements that would slow and explosion. This is incorrect as Nicolich recites in para. 0016: “The ionic liquid reduces the sensitivity of the explosive composition to stimuli, such as electrostatic discharge ("ESD"), accidental detonation, impact, friction, or slow or fast cook-off. The ionic liquid may reduce the sensitivity of the explosive composition without substantially affecting the overall energy or performance characteristics of the explosive composition” (emphasis added). Thus, the characteristics of the explosive are maintained while making the explosive safer to use while avoiding accidental detonation.
Applicant argues that the composition of Hahma is not a propellant. First, the composition as claimed is met by the prior art. The term “propellant” is a statement of intended use and indicates how the composition will operate. Since there is no difference between the claimed composition and that disclosed by Hahma, the prior art will perform in the same manner as that which is claimed. Applicant also argues the amount of water in the composition. Note that the prior art does not require any water to be added and does not indicate that the binder has any water in it.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734