DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mating unit must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). There is no reference number present indicating a mating unit. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a mating unit in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-19, 22-33, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim limitations “mating unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The structure of the mating unit is not disclosed or indicated in the drawings. As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, there are many different ways to effect mating. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structures perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-19, 22-27, 29-33, and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel (US 5,509,905), Michel (US 5,383,865), Jorgensen et al. (US 2011/0270214 A1), Chen et al. (US 2014/0276583 A1), and Packman et al. (US 6,585,698).
With regard to claims 15, 16, and 19, Michel teaches the supplemental device for attachment to an injection device, the supplemental device comprising: an electromechanical switch arrangement having an open state and a closed state, the electromechanical switch arrangement comprising: a main body (Fig. 1 outer housing); and a protrusion configured to protrude from the main body such that the protrusion contacts a surface of the injection device (Fig. 1 protrusions 10 and 11 contacts 3 via at least 7), wherein the open state or the closed state of the electromechanical switch arrangement is configured to change when a dose dialled into the attached injection device is decreased from one unit to zero units (Col. 3 lines 3-17, Col. 3 line 58-Col. 4 line 55); and a processor arrangement configured to: detect one or more changes in the open state or the closed state of the electromechanical switch arrangement (Col. 3 lines 45-49); determine from the one or more changes in the open state or the closed state that the dose dialled into the injection device has decreased from one unit to zero units (Col. 3 lines 24-35). Michel does not disclose the supplemental device is configured to be removably attached with a housing comprising a mating unit and configured to at least partially surround an exterior of an injection device. However, Michel ‘865 discloses a delivery device in which the LCD display and associated switches may be removable or permanently attached. (Figs. 2, 11, 17, housing 106 mating unit includes at least 98 and 102, exemplary switch 124 contacts 132, Col. 5 line 44-55). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the LCD portion and switches of Michel be part of a removably attachable housing as Michel ’85 teach such to be an art effective equivalent which would yield the same operation. Michel does not disclose placing the device into a power saving mode. However, Jorgensen et al. teach using a power saving mode when the end of dose is signaled ([0130]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device enter a power saving mode after the dose is delivered in Michel as in Jorgensen et al. as this is beneficial to avoid using power when the device is not in use. Michel does not disclose in response to determining zero units the processor is configured to trigger communication of data stored in the supplemental device to an external apparatus. However, Chen et al. teach that when the sensor detects a zero-dose position this triggers the controller to transmit dose data ([0006], [0019], [0033]). This allows accurate information to be transmitted and recorded for proper monitoring and dose calculations ([0003]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit information after determining the dose has been delivered in Michel as Chen et al. teach this is beneficial for recording accurate information. As such the user input of triggering the dose to be delivered ultimately causes connection to the external apparatus. Michel does not disclose a processor to determine a type of medicament based on visual recognition of a visible code. However, Packman et al. teach a supplemental device which has a photodetector which senses a color code on a cartridge to determine the medicament preparation to ensure the correct substance is administered and prevent error (Col. 1 lines 40-46, Col. 2 lines 30-39, Col. 7 lines 1-45, Fig. 7, photodetector 190, color code 49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a photometer and color recognition in Michel as Packman et al. teach this is beneficial to determine the medicament preparation to ensure the correct substance is administered and prevent error. The colored code is visible to the user prior to insertion into the overall injection device and it is visible to the photodetector/processor.
With regard to claims 17, switch protrusion 12 is alternatively considered and is taken to not contact the surface as it does not enter channel 19 until the end of the injection (Col. 3 lines 24-35).
With regard to claim 18, as combined above there would necessarily be an amount of time between when the end of dose is detected and when the power save mode begins.
With regard to claim 22, see protrusion 12 (Fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 24-35).
With regard to claim 23, see Col. 3 lines 45-65, Col. 4 lines 50-55.
With regard to claim 24, Col. 3 line 50-Col. 4 line 55.
With regard to claim 25, member 7 biases the protrusions 10 and 11 up and down.
With regard to claim 26, member 12 goes into channel 19 which is taken as separate from the surface of the injection device.
With regard to claim 27, turns are counted by means of 17 (Col. 4 lines 4-7).
With regard to claim 35, alternatively member 7 is considered as part of the injection device.
With regard to claim 36, the inward portions of 10 and 11 contact 7 which is alternatively considered as part of the injection device.
With regard to claim 37, 7 is taken as a surface of the injection device and comprises ramped cam surfaces (Fig. 2 exemplary 18, Col. 3 lines 3-14).
With regard to claim 29, Michel teaches a system comprising: an injection device (Fig. 1 member 3); and a supplemental device for attachment to the injection device, the supplemental device comprising: an electromechanical switch arrangement having an open state and a closed state, the electromechanical switch arrangement comprising: a main body (Figs. 1 and 2 housing of switch part 9); a protrusion configured to protrude from the main body such that the protrusion contacts a surface of the injection device (Fig. 1 protrusions 10 and 11 contacts 3 via at least 7), wherein the open state or the closed state of the electromechanical switch arrangement is configured to change when a dose dialled into the attached injection device is decreased from one unit to zero units (Col. 3 lines 3-17, Col. 3 line 58-Col. 4 line 55); and a processor arrangement configured to: detect one or more changes in the open state or the closed state of the electromechanical switch arrangement (Col. 3 lines 45-49); determine from the one or more changes in the open state or the closed state that the dose dialled into the injection device has decreased from one unit to zero units (Col. 3 lines 24-35). Michel does not disclose the supplemental device is configured to be removably attached with a housing comprising a mating unit and configured to at least partially surround an exterior of an injection device. However, Michel ‘865 discloses a delivery device in which the LCD display and associated switches may be removable or permanently attached. (Figs. 2, 11, 17, housing 106 mating unit includes at least 98 and 102, exemplary switch 124 contacts 132, Col. 5 line 44-55). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the LCD portion and switches of Michel be part of a removably attachable housing as Michel ’85 teach such to be an art effective equivalent which would yield the same operation. Michel does not disclose placing the device into a power saving mode. However, Jorgensen et al. teach using a power saving mode when the end of dose is signaled ([0130]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device enter a power saving mode after the dose is delivered in Michel as in Jorgensen et al. as this is beneficial to avoid using power when the device is not in use. Michel does not disclose in response to determining zero units the processor is configured to trigger communication of data stored in the supplemental device to an external apparatus. However, Chen et al. teach that when the sensor detects a zero-dose position this triggers the controller to transmit dose data ([0006], [0019], [0033]). This allows accurate information to be transmitted and recorded for proper monitoring and dose calculations ([0003]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit information after determining the dose has been delivered in Michel as Chen et al. teach this is beneficial for recording accurate information. As such the user input of triggering the dose to be delivered ultimately causes connection to the external apparatus. Michel does not disclose a processor to determine a type of medicament based on visual recognition of a visible code. However, Packman et al. teach a supplemental device which has a photodetector which senses a color code on a cartridge to determine the medicament preparation to ensure the correct substance is administered and prevent error (Col. 1 lines 40-46, Col. 2 lines 30-39, Col. 7 lines 1-45, Fig. 7, photodetector 190, color code 49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a photometer and color recognition in Michel as Packman et al. teach this is beneficial to determine the medicament preparation to ensure the correct substance is administered and prevent error. The colored code is visible to the user prior to insertion into the overall injection device and it is visible to the photodetector/processor.
With regard to claims 30 and 31, the housing is taken as the outer housing, the corrugated sleeve is taken as 7 with corrugations 16 and 17, dose knob 2 (Figs. 1 and 2).
With regard to claim 32, the claim does not recite where the diameter is measured, the diameter of a corrugation is smaller than an outer diameter of member 2 which has a flange at the proximal surface (Figs. 1 and 2).
With regard to claim 33, Michel teaches a supplemental device for attachment to an injection device, the supplemental device comprising: an electromechanical switch arrangement having an open state and a closed state, the electromechanical switch arrangement comprising: a main body (Fig. 1 outer housing); and a first protrusion configured to protrude from the main body such that the first protrusion contacts a surface of the injection device when any number of dose units are dialled into the injection device (Fig. 1 protrusions 10 and 11 contact 3 via at least 7), wherein the open state or the closed state of the electromechanical switch arrangement is configured to change when a dose dialled into the injection device is decreased from one unit to zero units (Col. 3 lines 3-17, Col. 3 line 58-Col. 4 line 55); a switching member having an open state and a closed state, the switching member comprising a second protrusion configured to contact an additional surface of the injection device only when a dose of zero units is dialled into the injection device (protrusion 12 Fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 24-35); and a processor arrangement configured to: detect one or more changes in the open state or the closed state of the switching member (Col. 3 lines 45-49); determine from the one or more changes in the open state or the closed state that the dose dialled into the injection device has decreased from one unit to zero units (Col. 3 lines 24-35). Michel does not disclose the supplemental device is configured to be removably attached with a housing comprising a mating unit and configured to at least partially surround an exterior of an injection device. However, Michel ‘865 discloses a delivery device in which the LCD display and associated switches may be removable or permanently attached. (Figs. 2, 11, 17, housing 106 mating unit includes at least 98 and 102, exemplary switch 124 contacts 132, Col. 5 line 44-55). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the LCD portion and switches of Michel be part of a removably attachable housing as Michel ’85 teach such to be an art effective equivalent which would yield the same operation. Michel does not disclose placing the device into a power saving mode. However, Jorgensen et al. teach using a power saving mode when the end of dose is signaled ([0130]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device enter a power saving mode after the dose is delivered in Michel as in Jorgensen et al. as this is beneficial to avoid using power when the device is not in use. Michel does not disclose in response to determining zero units the processor is configured to trigger communication of data stored in the supplemental device to an external apparatus. However, Chen et al. teach that when the sensor detects a zero-dose position this triggers the controller to transmit dose data ([0006], [0019], [0033]). This allows accurate information to be transmitted and recorded for proper monitoring and dose calculations ([0003]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit information after determining the dose has been delivered in Michel as Chen et al. teach this is beneficial for recording accurate information. Michel does not disclose a photometer or camera, or a processor to determine a type of medicament based on recognition of a color or code of a visible external surface. However, Packman et al. teach a supplemental device which has a photodetector which senses a color code on a cartridge to determine the medicament preparation to ensure the correct substance is administered and prevent error (Col. 1 lines 40-46, Col. 2 lines 30-39, Col. 7 lines 1-45, Fig. 7, photodetector 190, color code 49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a photometer and color recognition in Michel as Packman et al. teach this is beneficial to determine the medicament preparation to ensure the correct substance is administered and prevent error. The colored code is visible to the user prior to insertion into the overall injection device. It is on an external surface of a component of the injection device and it is visible to the photodetector/processor.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel (US 5,509,905), Michel (US 5,383,865), Jorgensen et al. (US 2011/0270214 A1), Chen et al. (US 2014/0276583 A1), and Packman et al. (US 6,585,698) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Cirillo et al. (US 2012/0065588 A1).
With regard to claim 28, Michel teaches a device substantially as claimed. Michel does not disclose an image capture device and an optical recognition system. However, Cirillo et al. teach a supplemental device (Fig. 1 member 100) wherein the dose dialed detector comprises an image capture device and an optical character recognition system ([0009]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use image capture and optical character recognition in Michel for the purpose of determining the dose of medicament that has already been dialed into the device which is beneficial for preventing overdose ([0005]) and keeping accurate injection records ([0031]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783