DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to the amendment and remarks of 07/27/2026.
By the amendment of 07/27/2026, claims 1 and 9 have been amended. No claims were canceled or made new.
Claims 1-16 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the double patenting rejection, the amendment to claims 1 and 9 have overcome the double patenting rejections of claims 1-16 over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,739,954. However, new grounds of rejection have been presented below.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection, the Examiner agrees that PARKER in view of BOVE fail to disclose the amended limitation wherein adapting the website data update further comprises converting the website data update from a first browser format to a second browser format. Accordingly, the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-16 over PARKER in view of BOVE have been withdrawn. However, prior art of CLEASBY (US 7,299,403) was found to combine with PARKER to meet the deficiencies of PARKER.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,739,954 in view of CLEASBY, US 7,299,403 B1.
Regarding claims 1 and 9,
Instant claim 1 (Instant claim 9 recites similar limitations)
Claim 1 of ‘954
A computer based method for observing and engaging with a website visitor to a website, the method comprising:
A computer based method for observing and engaging with a website visitor, the method comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a web-based server, a list of active visitors to a web application over a communications interface, wherein the list comprises information about the active visitors stored in a database;
receiving, by a processor of a web-based server, a list of active visitors to a web application over a communications interface, wherein the list comprises information about the active visitors stored in a database;
identifying, by the processor, the website visitor based on the information;
identifying, by the processor, the website visitor based on the information;
capturing, by the processor, one or more user interface (UI) events entered by the website visitor into a first web application interface, wherein the capturing is transparent to the website visitor by determining changes to a document object model (DOM);
capturing, by the processor, one or more user interface (UI) events entered by the website visitor into a first web application interface, wherein the capturing comprises determining changes to a document object model (DOM) of the web application and is transparent to the website visitor;
transmitting, by the processor, the identity of the website visitor, the information, and the one or more UI events to a second web application interface of an operator by providing the determined changes to the DOM, wherein the operator can observe the one or more UI events;
transmitting, by the processor, the identity of the website visitor, the information, and the one or more UI events to a second web application interface of an operator by providing at least the determined changes to the DOM of the web application, wherein the operator can observe the one or more UI events;
adapting a website data update according to the first web application interface of the website visitor to a second web application interface of the operator configuring the operator to co-browse with the website visitor; and
wherein the capturing comprises determining changes to a document object model (DOM) of the web application and is transparent to the website visitor .. by providing at least the determined changes to the DOM of the web application .. and initiating, by the processor, a co-browsing session between the operator and the website visitor
and initiating, by the processor, a co-browsing session between the operator and the website visitor, wherein co-browsing includes the operator and the website visitor browsing cooperatively, the co-browsing configuring the website visitor interaction with the web application through the first web application interface utilizing the website data update and an operator interaction with the web application through the second web application interface in a collaborative manner utilizing the website data update and the one or more UI events, to cooperatively interact with the website.
and initiating, by the processor, a co-browsing session between the operator and the website visitor, such that the website visitor can interact with the web application through the first web application interface and the operator can interact with the web application through the second web application interface in a collaborative manner.
Claim 1 of ‘954 fails to disclose wherein adapting comprises converting the website data update from a first web browser format of the first web application interface to a second web browser format of the second web application interface. CLEASBY discloses methods for providing synchronized co-browsing collaboration sessions (col 2 lines 19-45), an analogous art. In particular, CLEASY discloses a first browser format and second browser format (col 14 lines 13-33: client browsers may be different versions, i.e. first client browser could be Internet Explorer, second client browser could be Netscape Navigator), such that website data updates are converted to from the first format useable by the first browser into a second format useable by the second browser (col 2 lines 14-18: capture process depends on browser format to capture updates in first format, col 16 lines 37-67, col 17 lines 1-8: captured process data of first format is converted to hidden form content object string which is useable by other browsers). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the converting website data updates from a first web browser format of a first web application interface to a second web browser format of a second web application interface, as taught by CLEASBY, with the adapting website data of claim 1 of ‘954. One would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow users of different versions of web browsers of different manufacturers to collaborate, as suggested by CLEASBY (col 4 lines 44-57, col 13 lines 52-58).
Regarding claims 2 and 10,
Instant claim 2 (instant claim 10 recites similar limitations)
Claim 2 of ‘954 in view of CLEASBY
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a request to co-browse the web application with the website visitor from the operator over the communications interface.
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a request to co-browse the web application with the website visitor from the operator over the communications interface.
Regarding claims 3 and 11,
Instant claim 3 (instant claim 11 recites similar limitations)
Claim 3 of ‘954 in view of CLEASBY
The method of claim 2, wherein the request is received after the operator observes the one or more UI events.
The method of claim 2, wherein the request is received after the operator observes the one or more UI events.
Regarding claims 4 and 12,
Instant claim 4 (instant claim 12 recites similar limitations)
Claim 4 of ‘954 in view of CLEASBY
The method of claim 2, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, the request to co-browse the web application to the website visitor over the communications interface.
The method of claim 2, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, the request to co-browse the web application to the website visitor over the communications interface.
Regarding claims 5 and 13,
Instant claim 5 (instant claim 13 recites similar limitations)
Claim 5 of ‘954 in view of CLEASBY
The method of claim 1, wherein the information comprises one or more of a name, email, company, phone, location, referral source, and engagement of the active visitors.
The method of claim 1, wherein the information comprises one or more of a name, email, company, phone, location, referral source, and engagement of the active visitors.
Regarding claims 6 and 14,
Instant claim 6 (instant claim 14 recites similar limitations)
Claim 6 of ‘954 in view of CLEASBY
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more UI events comprise one or more events recognized by the web application interface.
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more UI events comprise one or more events recognized by the web application interface.
Regarding claims 7 and 15,
Instant claim 7 (instant claim 15 recites similar limitations)
Claim 7 of ‘954 in view of CLEASBY
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more UI events comprise one or more of a mouse click, mouse movement, a page refresh, and receipt of an event from the web application.
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more UI events comprise one or more of a mouse click, mouse movement, a page refresh, and receipt of an event from the web application.
Regarding claims 8 and 16,
Instant claim 8 (instant claim 16 recites similar limitations)
Claim 8 of ‘954 in view of CLEASBY
The method of claim 1, wherein the information is provided by the website visitor.
The method of claim 1, wherein the information is provided by the website visitor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over PARKER (US 6,912,563 B1, previously presented) in view of CLEASBY (US 7,299,403 B1, newly presented).
Regarding claim 1, PARKER discloses a computer based method for observing and engaging with a website visitor to a website (PARKER Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a web-based server (PARKER col 3 lines 18-66, col 4 lines 1-56: operating environment through web-based servers), a list of active visitors to a web application over a communications interface (PARKER col 5 lines 4-6: receiving website visitor list at operator application), wherein the list comprises information about the active visitors stored in a database (PARKER col 5 lines 35-59: list of currently connected visitors includes information about the visitors such as page currently being viewed);
identifying, by the processor, the website visitor based on the information (PARKER col 6 lines 8-34: contacting website visitor if information criteria are met);
capturing, by the processor, one or more user interface (UI) events entered by the website visitor into a first web application interface (PARKER col 5 lines 45-64: capturing user interaction events at the user applet, col 6 lines 25-26: applet captures user response events, col 5 lines 52-67: recording changes in page on the applet enabled web browser by the service);
transmitting, by the processor, the identity of the website visitor, the information, and the one or more UI events to a second web application interface of an operator (PARKER col 6 lines 8-34: transmitting user identity, information and events to the operator service), wherein the operator can observe the one or more UI events (PARKER col 6 lines 25-34: operator monitors the conversation for response); and
initiating, by the processor, a co-browsing session between the operator and the website visitor (PARKER col 6 lines 35-50: live operator can take part in dialog with website visitor interacting with a web page e-commerce), wherein co-browsing includes the operator and the website visitor browsing cooperatively (PARKER col 6 lines 35-50, col 7 lines 8-10, col 7 lines 15-44, col 8 lines 34-64: operator application operated by the operator to interact with the web application service and the web browser enabled applet interacted with by the website visitor to interact with the web application service, whereby the interaction is initiated from the website and a URL can be exchanged cooperatively), the co-browsing configuring the website visitor interaction with the web application through the first web application interface and the operator interaction with the web application through the second web application interface in a collaborative manner (PARKER col 6 lines 35-50, col 7 lines 8-10, col 7 lines 15-44, col 8 lines 34-64: examples of website visitor interacting with the web application through first web application and operator interacting with the web application through operator web application collaboratively).
While PARKER discloses capturing the one or more UI events entered by the website visitor into the first application interface and the operator sending a website webpage for interaction to the visitor as above, PARKER fails to disclose wherein the capturing is transparent to the website visitor by determining changes to a document object model (DOM), transmitting based on capturing is by providing the determined changes to the DOM, or adapting a website data update according to the first interface of the visitor to the second interface of the operator by converting the website data update from a first web browser format of the first web application interface to a second web browser format of the second web application interface, thereby configuring the operator to co-browse with the website visitor and wherein the sent website webpage is cooperatively interacted by both the operator and the visitor.
CLEASBY discloses methods for providing synchronized co-browsing collaboration sessions (CLEASBY col 2 lines 19-45), an analogous art. In particular, CLEASBY discloses capturing UI events, transparently to a website user, by determining changes to the document object model (CLEASBY col 14 lines 46-57: hidden form captures browser process objects) using a first browser format and second browser format (CLEASBY col 14 lines 13-33: client browsers may be different versions, i.e. first client browser could be Internet Explorer, second client browser could be Netscape Navigator), such that website data updates are converted to from the first format useable by the first browser into a second format useable by the second browser (CLEASBY col 2 lines 14-18: capture process depends on browser format to capture updates in first format, col 16 lines 37-67, col 17 lines 1-8: captured process data of first format is converted to hidden form content object string which is useable by other browsers), configuring users of a website webpage to co-browse and each interact with the webpage cooperatively and synchronously (CLEASBY col 2 lines 6-29, Fig. 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the teachings of PARKER and CLEASBY before them at the time of the instant invention to combine the converting website data updates, comprising transparently captured UI events through providing determined changes to a DOM, from a first web browser format of a first web application interface to a second web browser format of a second web application interface using and adapted website data updates for each interface of the operator and visitor to enable co-browsing and website interaction between users, as taught by CLEASBY, with the cooperative co-browsing session between a website web application operator and a website web application visitor having captured UI events of PARKER. One would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow users of different versions of web browsers of different manufacturers to collaborate, as suggested by CLEASBY (CLEASBY col 4 lines 44-57, col 13 lines 52-58).
Regarding claim 2, PARKER and CLEASBY disclose the method of claim 1, and PARKER further discloses:
receiving, by the processor, a request to co-browse the web application with the website visitor from the operator over the communications interface (PARKER col 6 lines 8-12).
Regarding claim 3, PARKER and CLEASBY disclose the method of claim 2, and PARKER further discloses wherein the request is received after the operator observes the one or more UI events (PARKER col 6 lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 4, PARKER and CLEASBY disclose the method of claim 2, and PARKER further discloses:
transmitting, by the processor, the request to co-browse the web application to the website visitor over the communications interface (PARKER col 6 lines 22-31). -35- 4737381-1 SAL4-PT002.1
Regarding claim 5, PARKER and CLEASBY disclose the method of claim 1, and PARKER further discloses wherein the information comprises one or more of a name, email, company, phone, location, referral source, and engagement of the active visitors (PARKER Fig. 8, col 8 lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 6, PARKER and CLEASBY disclose the method of claim 1, and PARKER further discloses wherein the one or more UI events comprise one or more events recognized by the web application interface (PARKER col 5 lines 45-64: capturing user interaction events at the user applet, col 6 lines 25-26: applet captures user response events).
Regarding claim 7, PARKER and CLEASBY disclose the method of claim 1, and PARKER further discloses wherein the one or more UI events comprise one or more of a mouse click, mouse movement, a page refresh, and receipt of an event from the web application (PARKER col 5 lines 54-64).
Regarding claim 8, PARKER and CLEASBY disclose the method of claim 1, and PARKER further discloses wherein the information is provided by the website visitor (PARKER col 5 lines 54-64, col 8 lines 1-11).
Regarding claims 9-16, claims 9-16 recite limitations similar to claims 1-7, respectively, and are similarly rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Amit, Rami et al.
US 20020032730 A1
SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR CORRELATING DATA SESSIONS
Yue; Chuan et al.
US 20100082747 A1
REAL-TIME COLLABORATIVE BROWSING
Sheretov; Andrei et al.
US 20140129920 A1
ENHANCED DOCUMENT AND EVENT MIRRORING FOR ACCESSING INTERNET CONTENT
England; Paul
US 6144991 A
SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR MANAGING INTERACTIONS BETWEEN USERS IN A BROWSER-BASED TELECOMMUNICATIONS NETWORK
Chen S et al.
WO 0219131 A1
COLLABORATION COMPUTER SYSTEM USES WINDOW LOCATORS UNIQUELY TO IDENTIFY THE WEB BROWSER WINDOW IN WHICH AN EVENT OCCURRED, DOCUMENT LOCATORS AND A TRANSFER DATA STRUCTURE FOR ESTABLISHING COLLABORATIVE SESSIONS
Bellucci, Federico, et al. "Automatic reverse engineering of interactive dynamic web applications to support adaptation across platforms." Proceedings of the 2012 ACM international conference on Intelligent User Interfaces. 2012.
Henricksen, Karen, and Jadwiga Indulska. "Adapting the web interface: an adaptive web browser." Proceedings Second Australasian User Interface Conference. AUIC 2001. IEEE, 2001.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW L TANK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141