DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejection is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 21 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maris et al., US-PGPUB 2011/0285550 (hereinafter Maris) (cited by the Applicant) in views of Callot et al., US-PGPUB 2002/0184943 (hereinafter Callot) and Egedal et al., US-PGPUB 2012/0257967 (hereinafter Egedal)
Regarding Claim 1. Maris discloses an airfoil performance monitor (Abstract), comprising:
a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0039], 102s’s sensor mast mounted to an airfoil, including aft positions; Fig. 6) and at least one static pressure sensor used to determine a static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0032], steady state component),
at least one airspeed-dependent sensor that measures the total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor (Fig. 6, 200, Paragraph [0047], at the fore of a sensor mast, which would include static and dynamic pressures) and generates a digital dynamic pressure signal indicative of a dynamic pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow (Paragraphs [0004], steady-state component corresponding to average airflow and oscillatory component corresponding to turbulence level are dynamic pressure, also shown in Figs. 9, 10, digital; [0032])
Maris is silent in regard to a housing, including at least one pitot pressure orifice used to determine the total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor and at least one static pressure orifice used to determine the static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, and at least one airspeed-dependent sensor that measures a total pressure at the airfoil
performance monitor and determines a dynamic pressure as the difference between the total and static pressures and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of a dynamic pressure at the airfoil performance monitor.
Callot discloses simplified multifunction probe for aircraft (Paragraphs [0001]-[0010]), includes determining the static pressure and the total pressure of an airflow, including various orifices on the blade and Pitot tube (Abstract; Fig. 1, orifices 9, 10, 13, 14, Paragraph [0002]-[0003], total pressure in the form of orifice, and Pitot tube, [0004], second static pressure in two orifices, [0006]-[0010], measuring total and static pressures via orifices, [0013]), where the dynamic pressure is the difference between the total pressure and the static pressure.
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Callot in Maris and have a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil, and including at least one pitot pressure orifice used to determine a total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor and at least
one static pressure orifice used to determine a static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor; at least one airspeed-dependent sensor that measures a total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor and determines a dynamic pressure as the difference between the total and static pressures and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of a dynamic pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow, and thereby accurately determine the aerodynamic parameters of an airflow in simplified, multifunctional manner.
Maris further discloses one or more inertial sensors (Paragraph [0009], velocity sensors mounted on sensor mast; Paragraphs [0014], [0049], velocity sensor interchangeable with pressure sensor), and a controller that derives a turbulence intensity ratio by normalizing turbulence values of the dynamic pressure signal using the steady-state airflow signal (Paragraph [0013], turbulence ratio can be normalized; [0051]) and filtering the turbulence value from the dynamic pressure signal with frequency and amplitude data from the one or more inertial sensors to determine the actual turbulent airflow by distinguishing between actual turbulent airflow over the airfoil and apparent turbulence induced by structural vibration of the airfoil to eliminate structural vibration effects on the turbulence intensity calculations (Paragraph [0037], additional processing to enhance signal quality, where spurious signals generated by the propeller can result in less accurate turbulent airflow or apparent turbulent flow; Paragraph [0061], where notch filters used to eliminate frequencies (that has associated amplitudes) related to propeller effect, etc., such as spurious signals, are apparent turbulence induced by structural vibration; Paragraph [0034], filtering; [0039], inertial sensors; [0040], filtering to separate DC component and the AC component with frequency and amplitude; Paragraph [0061], filtering) (Note: using the filter to eliminate the noise associated with turbulence airflow to obtain filtered turbulence airflow or actual turbulence airflow is what is also disclosed in the Applicant’s original disclosure)
The modified Maris does not explicitly disclose one or more inertial sensors that measure and identify frequency and amplitude data due to mechanical motion vibrations on the housing, said controller using the determination of actual turbulent airflow over the airfoil to generate a signal used to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies.
Egedal disclose an accelerometer that measure and identify frequency and amplitude data due to mechanical motion vibrations on the blade (or airfoil) of a wind turbine (Fig. 3, accelerometer, 307, Paragraph [0068], vibration measured by accelerometer; Fig. 4, plot of frequency and amplitude vs acceleration, Paragraph [0073]), said controller using the turbulent airflow over the blade to generate a signal used to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies (Abstract, control blade pitch angle; Paragraph [0001]-[0002], [0065], blade vibration due to high turbulence, Paragraphs [0007]-[0011], varying the blade pitch angle in accordance with a blade vibration; Fig. 5, [0077]; Paragraphs [0001]-[0008])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Egedal in the modified Maris and have inertial sensors that measure and identify frequency and amplitude data due to mechanical motion vibrations on the housing, and filtering the turbulence value from the dynamic pressure signal with frequency and amplitude data from the one or more inertial sensors to distinguish between actual turbulent airflow and apparent turbulence caused by airflow vibration to eliminate unwanted blade vibration effects on the turbulence intensity calculations, said controller using the determination of actual turbulent airflow over the airfoil to generate a signal used to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies with reduced vibration in cost effective manner and simplicity.
Regarding Claim 2. Maris discloses using a plurality of pressure sensors with first pressure sensor and associated pressure in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor (i.e. second pressure sensor) so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0047], pressure sensors combined at communication module 110, Fig. 1)
Maris does not disclose at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor.
Callot discloses at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor (Paragraphs [0003]-[0010], [0013])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Callot in the modified Maris and have the pressure sensor as an airspeed- dependent sensor and said at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor in simple and reliable manners.
Regarding Claim 5. Maris discloses the controller filters the dynamic pressure signal using the vibration frequency data (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding Claim 8. Maris discloses the controller calculates the turbulence intensity ratio by dividing the turbulent signal by the steady-state airflow signal (Paragraph [0034], overlaid AC component divided by steady-state to derive turbulence intensity ratio)
Regarding Claim 9. Maris discloses wherein the controller uses a threshold turbulence intensity ratio to give an indication of a blade stall (Paragraph [0029], slope of the combined turbulence intensity ratio increases reaches a threshold, then stalled condition)
Regarding Claims 11, 18 and 24. The modified Maris does not disclose the controller uses the turbulence intensity ratio as a feedback input to a rotor control system to optimize an aerodynamic efficiency of the airfoil rotor control system (Claim 18. The airfoil performance monitor system as claimed in claim 17, wherein the controller uses the threshold turbulence intensity ratio as a feedback input to a blade pitch control system to optimize an aerodynamic efficiency of the blades, and the efficiency of the overall rotor operation of the rotor control system).
Maris discloses deriving turbulence ratio (Paragraph [0027]),
Egedal disclose a controller using the turbulent airflow over the blade to generate a signal used to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies (Abstract, control blade pitch angle; Paragraph [0001]-[0002], [0065], blade vibration due to high turbulence, Paragraphs [0007]-[0011], varying the blade pitch angle in accordance with a blade vibration; Fig. 5, [0077])
Although Egedal does not explicitly disclose turbulence intensity ratio as a feedback into a rotor (blade) control system, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Maris and Egdel and arrive at the claimed invention, since the turbulence intensity ratio is nonetheless a value that indicates the level of turbulence (vibration), but in different known form that is obviously recognizable by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 14. Maris discloses an airfoil performance monitor system (Abstract), comprising:
a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0039], 102s’s sensor mast mounted to an airfoil; Fig. 6) and at least one static pressure sensor used to determine a static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0032], steady state)
at least one airspeed-dependent sensor (Fig. 6, 200) that senses the total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of a dynamic pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow (Paragraphs [0004]; [0024], analog and [0025], digital; [0032], measuring the total pressure to produce an output signal, comprising a steady state component corresponding to the mean dynamic pressure and an overlaid ripple component, where the analog to digital transformation of the output; Paragraph [0047])
Maris is silent in regard to a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil, the housing defining at least one pitot pressure sensing orifice used to determine the total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor and at least one static pressure orifice disposed used to determine the static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, and at least one airspeed-dependent sensor that measures the total pressure at the pitot pressure orifice, and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of the dynamic pressure measured at the at least one pitot pressure orifice, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow,
Callot discloses determining the static pressure and the total pressure of an airflow, including various orifices on the blade and Pitot tube (Abstract; Fig. 1, Paragraph [0002]-[0010], [0013]), where the dynamic pressure is the difference between the total pressure and the static pressure, and dynamic pressure inherently includes a steady state airflow and turbulent airflow.
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Callot in Maris and have a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil, and including at least one pitot pressure orifice used to determine the total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor and at least one static pressure orifice used to determine the static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, and at least one airspeed-dependent sensor that measures the total pressure at the pitot pressure orifice, and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of the dynamic pressure measured at the at least one pitot pressure orifice, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow, in simple and reliable manners.
Maris further discloses a controller that derives a non-dimensional turbulence intensity ratio of the turbulent value to the steady state airflow components (Paragraph [0013]; [0051]), one or more inertial sensors that measure velocity in up to three orientations from their mounting location (Paragraph [0009], velocity sensors mounted on sensor mast; Paragraphs [0014], [0049], velocity sensor interchangeable with pressure sensor at various locations of differing orientations at least up to three; Paragraph [0037], spurious signals generated by the propeller; Paragraph [0061], frequencies (that has associated amplitudes) related to propeller effect.); and filtering turbulence values from the dynamic pressure signal with measured accelerations from the one or more inertial sensors to determine the actual turbulent airflow by distinguishing between actual turbulent airflow over the airflow and apparent turbulence induced by structural vibration of the airfoil to eliminate unwanted structural vibration effects on the turbulence intensity calculations (Paragraph [0037], spurious signals generated by the propeller; Paragraph [0061], frequencies (that has associated amplitudes) related to propeller effect, etc., are apparent turbulence induced by structural vibration; Paragraph [0034], filtering to separate DC component and the AC component with frequency and amplitude; Paragraphs [0039], inertial sensors; Paragraph [0040[, filtering; Paragraph [0061])
The modified Maris does not disclose inertial sensors that measure acceleration due to mechanical motion at the housing in up to three orientations from their mounting location, said controller using the turbulent intensity calculations to generate a signal used to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies.
Egedal disclose an accelerometer that measure and identify frequency and amplitude data due to mechanical motion vibrations on the blade (or airfoil) of a wind turbine in up to three orientations from their mounting location (Figs. 1-2, up to three orientations; Fig. 3, accelerometer, 307, Paragraph [0068], vibration measured by accelerometer; Fig. 4, plot of frequency and amplitude vs acceleration at different blades, Paragraph [0073]), said controller using the turbulent airflow over the blade to generate a signal used to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies (Abstract, control blade pitch angle; Paragraph [0001]-[0002], [0065], blade vibration due to high turbulence, Paragraphs [0007]-[0011], varying the blade pitch angle in accordance with a blade vibration; Fig. 5, [0077])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Egedal in the modified Maris and have inertial sensors that measure acceleration due to mechanical motion at the housing in up to three orientations from their mounting location, a controller filtering turbulence values from the dynamic pressure signal with measured accelerations from the one or more inertial sensors to determine the actual turbulent airflow by distinguishing between actual turbulent airflow over the airflow and apparent turbulence induced by structural vibration of the airfoil to eliminate unwanted structural vibration effects on the turbulence intensity calculations, and said controller further using the turbulent intensity calculations to generate a signal used to optimally adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies, with reduce noise.
Regarding Claim 15. Maris discloses using a plurality of pressure sensors with first pressure sensor and associated pressure in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor (i.e. second pressure sensor) so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0047], pressure sensors combined at communication module 110, Fig. 1)
The modified Maris does not disclose at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor.
Callot discloses one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor (Abstract; Fig. 1, Paragraph [0003]-[0010], [0013])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Callot in the modified Maris and have the pressure sensor as an airspeed- dependent sensor and said at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor in simple and reliable manners.
Regarding Claim 16. Maris discloses a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0039], 102s’s sensor mast mounted to an airfoil; Fig. 6) and at least one static pressure sensor used to determine a static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0032], steady state)
The modified Maris does not explicitly disclose the one or more inertial sensors include accelerometers that measure frequency and amplitude of acceleration
Egedal discloses the one or more inertial sensors include accelerometers that measure frequency and amplitude of acceleration on the blade or airfoil (Fig. 3, accelerometer, 307, Paragraph [0068], vibration of the blade measured by accelerometer that also include; Fig. 4, plot of frequency and amplitude vs acceleration, Paragraph [0073], [0007])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Egedal in the modified Maris and have the one or more inertial sensors include accelerometers that measure frequency and amplitude of acceleration on a hosing mounted on the low-pressure face of an airfoil, and thereby accurately determine aerodynamic parameters of the airfoil.
Regarding Claim 17. Maris discloses the controller uses a threshold turbulence intensity ratio to give an indication of a stall condition at the airfoil (Paragraph [0029], slope of the combined turbulence intensity ratio increases reaches a threshold, then stalled condition)
Regarding Claim 19. Egedal discloses the controller uses a frequency and amplitude of the acceleration due to mechanical motion at the housing as a feedback input to a rotor control system to minimize vibration of a rotor of the rotor control system (Paragraph [0073], Figs. 4-5, Abstract, damping a rotor blade vibration)
Regarding Claim 20. Maris discloses an airfoil performance monitor system for a wind turbine (Abstract, note: the limitation “wind turbine” is not given any patentable weight, as it is only recited in the preamble), comprising:
a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0039], 102s’s sensor mast mounted to an airfoil, including aft positions; Fig. 6) and at least one static pressure sensor used to determine a static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0032], steady state component),
at least one airspeed-dependent sensor that measures the total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor (Fig. 6, 200, Paragraph [0047], at the fore of a sensor mast, which would include static and dynamic pressures) and generates a digital dynamic pressure signal indicative of a dynamic pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow (Paragraphs [0004], steady-state component corresponding to average airflow and oscillatory component corresponding to turbulence level are dynamic pressure, also shown in Figs. 9, 10, digital; [0032]).
Maris is silent in regard to a housing, including at least one pitot pressure orifice used to determine the total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor and at least one static pressure orifice used to determine the static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, at least one airspeed-dependent sensor in fluid communication with the at least pitot pressure orifice that converts airflow measured via the pitot orifice and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of turbulence of the airflow,
Callot discloses determining the static pressure and the total pressure of an airflow, including various orifices on the blade and at least one airspeed-dependent sensor in fluid communication with the at least pitot pressure orifice that converts airflow measured via the pitot orifice and generates a total pressure signal indicative of turbulence of the airflow (Abstract; Fig. 1, orifices 9, 10, 13, 14, Paragraph [0002]-[0003], total pressure in the form of orifice, and Pitot tube, [0004], second static pressure in two orifices, [0006]-[0010], measuring total and static pressures via orifices, [0013]), where the dynamic pressure is the difference between the total pressure and the static pressure, and where dynamic pressure includes both the steady state and turbulent airflow.
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Callot in Maris and have a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil, and including at least one pitot pressure orifice used to determine a total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor and at least
one static pressure orifice used to determine a static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor; including at least one airspeed-dependent sensor in fluid communication with the at least pitot pressure orifice that converts airflow measured via the pitot orifice and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of turbulence of the airflow, and thereby accurately determine the aerodynamic parameters of an airflow in simplified manner.
Maris furthermore discloses one or more inertial sensors (Paragraph [0009], velocity sensors mounted on sensor mast; Paragraphs [0014], [0049], velocity sensor interchangeable with pressure sensor; Paragraph [0037], spurious signals generated by the propeller; Paragraph [0061], frequencies (that has associated amplitudes) related to propeller effect.), and a controller that derives a turbulence intensity ratio by relating the filtered turbulence signal to the steady state airflow signal and filters turbulence values (Paragraph [0027]; [0059]) a controller that derives a turbulence intensity ratio by filtering turbulence values with the acceleration measured by the inertial sensors to determine the actual turbulent airflow by distinguishing between actual turbulent airflow over the airfoil and apparent turbulence induced by structural vibration of the airfoil to eliminate structural vibration effects on the turbulent intensity ratio and a frequency of the acceleration of the motion of the airfoil measured from the one or more inertial sensors and relating the filtered turbulence values to a steady state airflow signal (Paragraph [0037], spurious signals generated by the propeller; Paragraph [0061], frequencies (that has associated amplitudes) related to propeller effect, etc., are apparent turbulence induced by structural vibration; Paragraphs [0034]; filtering; Paragraph [0039], inertial sensors; Paragraph [0040], filtering; [0061], filtering)
The modified Maris does not disclose one or more inertial sensors that measure a pitch angle of the airfoil, and motion in up to three orientations from their mounting location based on mechanical motion of the airfoil transmitted mechanically to the housing, a rotor control system that controls the pitch angle of the airfoil, acceleration measured by the inertial sensors in response to the pitch angle of the airfoil and said controller generating a signal to said rotor control system, said rotor control system acting in response to said signal from said controller to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies.
Egedal disclose an accelerometer that measure and identify frequency and amplitude data due to mechanical motion vibrations on the blade (or airfoil) of a wind turbine in up to three orientations from their mounting location (Figs. 1-2, up to three orientations; Fig. 3, accelerometer, 307, Paragraph [0068], vibration measured by accelerometer; Fig. 4, plot of frequency and amplitude vs acceleration at different blades, Paragraph [0073]), said controller using the turbulent airflow over the blade to generate a signal used to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies (Abstract, control blade pitch angle; Paragraph [0001]-[0002], [0065], blade vibration due to high turbulence, Paragraphs [0007]-[0011], varying the blade pitch angle in accordance with a blade vibration; Fig. 5, [0077])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Egedal in the modified Maris and have one or more inertial sensors that measure a pitch angle of the airfoil, and motion in up to three orientations from their mounting location based on mechanical motion of the airfoil transmitted mechanically to the housing, a rotor control system that controls the pitch angle of the airfoil, acceleration measured by the inertial sensors in response to the pitch angle of the airfoil and said controller generating a signal to said rotor control system, said rotor control system acting in response to said signal from said controller to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies and reduced vibration.
Regarding Claim 21. Maris discloses using a plurality of pressure sensors with first pressure sensor and associated pressure in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor (i.e. second pressure sensor) so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0047], pressure sensors combined at communication module 110, Fig. 1)
The modified Maris does not disclose at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor.
Callot discloses one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor (Abstract; Fig. 1, Paragraph [0003]-[0010], [0013])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Callot in the modified Maris and have the pressure sensor as an airspeed- dependent sensor and said at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor in simple and reliable manners.
Regarding Claim 25. Maris discloses an airfoil performance monitor system (Abstract), comprising:
a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0039], 102s’s sensor mast mounted to an airfoil, including aft positions; Fig. 6) and at least one static pressure sensor used to determine a static pressure at the airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0032], steady state component),
at least one airspeed-dependent sensor that measures the total pressure at the airfoil performance monitor (Fig. 6, 200, Paragraph [0047], at the fore of a sensor mast, which would include static and dynamic pressures) and generates a digital dynamic pressure signal indicative of a dynamic pressure at the airfoil performance monitor, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow (Paragraphs [0004], steady-state component corresponding to average airflow and oscillatory component corresponding to turbulence level are dynamic pressure, also shown in Figs. 9, 10, digital; [0032])
Maris is silent in regard to a housing, the housing defining at least one pitot pressure orifice and at least one static pressure orifice, at least one airspeed-dependent sensor in fluid communication with the at least one pitot pressure orifice that measures a total pressure of the airflow at the at least one pitot pressure orifices and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of turbulence of the airflow, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow,
Callot discloses determining the static pressure and the total pressure of an airflow, including various orifices on the blade and at least one airspeed-dependent sensor in fluid communication with the at least pitot pressure orifice that measures the total pressure of the airflow at the at least one pitot pressure orifices and generates a total pressure signal indicative of turbulence of the airflow (Abstract; Fig. 1, orifices 9, 10, 13, 14, Paragraph [0002]-[0003], total pressure in the form of orifice, and Pitot tube, [0004], second static pressure in two orifices, [0006]-[0010], measuring total and static pressures via orifices, [0013]), where the dynamic pressure is the difference between the total pressure and the static pressure, and where dynamic pressure includes both the steady state and turbulent airflow.
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Callot in Maris and have a housing mounted on a low-pressure face of an airfoil, the housing defining at least one pitot pressure orifice and at least one static pressure orifice, at least one airspeed-dependent sensor in fluid communication with the at least one pitot pressure orifice that measures a total pressure of the airflow at the at least one pitot pressure orifices and generates a dynamic pressure signal indicative of turbulence of the airflow, said dynamic pressure signal including a steady state airflow signal indicative of steady state airflow and a turbulent signal indicative of a turbulent value of the airflow, and thereby accurately determine the aerodynamic parameters of an airflow in simplified manner.
Maris furthermore discloses one or more inertial sensors (Paragraph [0009], velocity sensors mounted on sensor mast; Paragraphs [0014], [0049], velocity sensor interchangeable with pressure sensor; Paragraph [0037], spurious signals generated by the propeller; Paragraph [0061], frequencies (that has associated amplitudes) related to propeller effect.), and a controller that derives a turbulence intensity ratio by filtered turbulence signal to the steady state airflow signal and filters turbulence values (Paragraph [0027]; [0059]) and a frequency of the acceleration of the motion of the one or more blades measured by the one or more inertial sensors and relating the filtered turbulence values to the steady state airflow signal (Paragraphs [0034], [0039]-[0040]; [0061])
The modified Maris is silent in regard to a wind turbine comprising one or more blades that turn a shaft, a generator operatively connected to the shaft that converts mechanical energy to electrical energy, one or more inertial sensors disposed on a low-pressure face of said at least one or more blades that measure a blade pitch angle, and acceleration, being frequency and amplitude data, in up to three orientations from their mounting location of one of the blades based on vibration of the blade through the housing, and filters turbulence values with the acceleration measured by the inertial sensors in response to pitch angle of the one or more blades and controller generating a signal to said rotor control system, said rotor control system acting in response to said signal from said controller to adjust the pitch angle of the one or more blades to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies.
Egedal disclose one or more blades that turn a shaft, a generator operatively connected to the shaft that converts mechanical energy to electrical energy (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0068]), and an accelerometer that measure and identify frequency and amplitude data due to mechanical motion vibrations on the blade (or airfoil) of a wind turbine in up to three orientations of the blades based on vibration of the blade (Figs. 1-2, up to three orientations; Fig. 3, accelerometer, 307, Paragraph [0068], vibration measured by accelerometer; Fig. 4, plot of frequency and amplitude vs acceleration, Paragraph [0073]), said controller using the turbulent airflow over the blade to generate a signal used to adjust the pitch angle of the airfoil to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies (Abstract, control blade pitch angle; Paragraph [0001]-[0002], [0065], blade vibration due to high turbulence, Paragraphs [0007]-[0011], varying the blade pitch angle in accordance with a blade vibration; Fig. 5, [0077])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Egedal in the modified Maris and have a wind turbine comprising one or more blades that turn a shaft, a generator operatively connected to the shaft that converts mechanical energy to electrical energy, one or more inertial sensors disposed on a low-pressure face of said at least one or more blades that measure a blade pitch angle, and acceleration, being frequency and amplitude data, in up to three orientations from their mounting location of one of the blades based on vibration of the blade through the housing, and filters turbulence values with the acceleration measured by the inertial sensors in response to pitch angle of the one or more blades and controller generating a signal to said rotor control system, said rotor control system acting in response to said signal from said controller to adjust the pitch angle of the one or more blades to optimize aerodynamic efficiencies.
Regarding Claim 26. Maris discloses using a plurality of pressure sensors with first pressure sensor and associated pressure in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor (i.e. second pressure sensor) so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor (Paragraph [0047], pressure sensors combined at communication module 110, Fig. 1)
Maris does not disclose at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor.
Callot discloses determining the static pressure and the total pressure of an airflow, including various orifices on the blade and Pitot tube (Abstract; Fig. 1, Paragraph [0003]-[0010], [0013]).
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Callot in the modified Maris and have the pressure sensor as an airspeed- dependent sensor and said at least one pitot pressure orifice is in fluid communication with an associated pressure sensor so as to measure the total pressure acting on said airfoil performance monitor in simple and reliable manners.
5. Claims 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maris et al., US-PGPUB 2011/0285550 in views of Callot, US-PGPUB 2002/0184923 and Egedal, US-PGPUB 2012/0257967 as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Geraldi et al., US Pat No. 5,191,791 (hereinafter Geraldi)
Regarding Claim 12. The modified Maris does not disclose a controller filtering the turbulence values using Fast Fourier Transform methods.
Geraldi discloses monitoring the aerodynamic performance of an airfoil (Col. 1, lines 21-40), includes filtering the turbulence values using Fast Fourier Transform methods (Col. 15, lines 32 to Col. 16, lines 36; Figs. 10-16)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Geraldi in the modified Maris and have a controller filter the turbulence values using Fast Fourier Transform methods, so as to accurately determine the performance of an airfoil of an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 13. Geraldi discloses the controller may include notch, band-pass, high pass, low-pass or low-pass parabolic filters to filter the turbulence values (Col. 156, lines 15-28, filtering and band-limited). Maris also discloses the controller may include notch, band-pass, high pass, low-pass or low-pass parabolic filters to filter the turbulence values (Paragraph [0061]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6. The prior arts do not teach or suggest a combination, including the controller normalizes the vibration signal into components parallel and perpendicular to the plane of rotation of the rotor in response to an input form the one or more inertial sensors
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) Applicant argues that the combination of prior arts fail to establish the claimed inertial-sensor architecture and argues improper hindsight reasoning.
In Response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper (see MPEP 2145). Since the rejection is based on the combination of teachings from the prior arts, the rejection is proper and does not constitute improper hindsight reasoning. The rationale for combination is also found in the prior arts themselves, as indicated in the rejection.
B) Applicant argues that Maris does not teach the claimed inertial sensors, and argues that the claimed invention requires inertial sensors that measure mechanical motion related to frequency, amplitude, pitch angle, etc.
In Response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Foremost, Examiner stated the following in the rejection (reproduced below for convenience):
As can be seen above, Examiner had not stated that Maris discloses inertial sensors that measure mechanical motions, etc. Thus, the reason for using Egedal, which does teach the claimed inertial sensors with respect to mechanical motion. Applicant is advised that the Applicant is attacking the prior arts individually, and that “one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references, see MPEP 2145).
C) Applicant argues that the combination of prior arts does not teach the claimed inertial sensors to filter a pressure-derived turbulence signal.
In Response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Maris discloses filtering signals, including signals related to mechanical vibration in various cited paragraphs as shown in the rejection. Egedal meanwhile, discloses inertial sensors to measure signals due to mechanical vibration motion on the blade. As such, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings, and arrive at the claimed invention, and use filtering on the signals associated with mechanical turbulence as claimed, with reduced noise.
D) Applicant argues Collot does not cure the deficiencies.
In Response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior arts in combination, as discussed above and shown in rejection, disclose as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857