DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 11-15, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng (United States Patent Application Publication 20120073641 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 2, 20 and 21,Tseng discloses a photovoltaic array (see fig.4A and B and fig.5 A and B) and an absorption based optical device (see fig.4A and fig.5A and 5B) comprising; a plurality of subwavelength dimensions ([0002]: The invention relates to a solar cell apparatus, particularly to a solar cell apparatus having the transparent conducting layer with the structure as a plurality of nano-level well-arranged arrays.) inverted cone bodies (see the cone bodies that make of 402) that are arranged on a layer (see the layer 403), each cone body being a solid-filled cone body that projects from the layer toward incoming radiation (see the layer of 402 in fig4 A and the direction of incident light), has a wider base facing the incoming radiation (see the incident light in light and the wide base in fig.4A) and a narrower base joined to the layer (see the narrow base in fig.4A), and has a curved sidewall in cross-section (see the curved cross section of 402 in fig.4A and photo active layer 403 in fig.4A), wherein either:(a) said inverted cone bodies as well as the layer are fabricated from a semiconductor material (see 402 which is made from ITO and 401 : “The photoactive layer 403 is mainly a material which can form the electron and electric hole, including solar cell material.” ): or (b) said inverted cone bodies and the layer are fabricated from a dielectric material and are attached, at a rear side thereof, to an underlying layer fabricated from a semiconductor material, used in an absorption- based optical device (see the operation of fig.4 and 5B), the absorption-based optical device which is configured to absorb broadband light (see para.[0049]: “summarized from the above-mentioned description, the invention can be applied to and designed in various solar cell materials and photodetectors, in order to increase the absorption efficiency of solar light.” ).
With respect to claims 4, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 1, wherein the curved sidewall is convex (see the shape of fig. 5B).
With respect to claim 7, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 1, wherein the curved sidewall is concave (see the shape of fig.4).
With respect to claim 8, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 7, wherein the curved concave sidewall has a trumpet-like shape (see the shape of fig.4).
With respect to claim 11, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 1, which is fabricated from a semiconductor material (see the disclosure of silicon-see claim 6: “wherein the photoactive layer is selected from the group consisting of crystalline silicon and amorphous silicon.”).
With respect to claim 12, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 11, wherein the semiconductor material is selected from Silicon, GaAs, or Germanium (see the disclosure of silicon-see claim 6: “wherein the photoactive layer is selected from the group consisting of crystalline silicon and amorphous silicon.”).
With respect to claim 13, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 1, wherein each of the cone bodies, together with the layer, forms a photovoltaic cell (see the photovoltaic cell of fig.4).
With respect to claim 14, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 1, which is configured to absorb radiation in a specific spectrum or wavelength of light (disclosed by design of 4: “[0012] :The invention uses the structure as a plurality of nano-level well-arranged arrays, wherein the plurality of nano-level well-arranged arrays is a periodic or a quasi-periodic with a plurality of certain defect areas, to trap the light in the limited thickness of thin film solar cell”).
With respect to claim 15, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 1, which is configured to a limited range of spectral radiation (disclosed by design of fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (United States Patent Application Publication 20120073641 A1) in view of Endoh (EP 2372403 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the cone bodies is a truncated cone which is inverted such that its wider base faces the incoming radiation.
Endoh discloses wherein each of the cones is a truncated cone which is inverted such that its wider base faces the incoming radiation (see the orientation of fig.18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array of Tseng with the teaching of Endoh so that each of the cone bodies is a truncated cone which is inverted such that its wider base faces the incoming radiation to facilitate the absorption of light.
With respect to claim 9 and 10, Tseng discloses the photovoltaic array of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the period between the cone bodies is in the subwavelength light range, wherein the period between the cone bodies is substantially in the order of a wavelength of an impinging illumination.
Endoh wherein the period between the cones is in the subwavelength light range (see the distance between the centers of the inverted cones in fig.18 and see the abstract), wherein the period between the cones is substantially in the order of a wavelength of an impinging illumination (again see the abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array of Tseng with the teaching of Endoh so that wherein the period between the cone bodies is in the subwavelength light range, wherein the period between the cone bodies is substantially in the order of a wavelength of an impinging illumination to facilitate the absorption of light.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (United States Patent Application Publication 20120073641 A1) in view of Zhao (CN 102790114 A).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Tseng discloses the array of claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the convex sidewall has a compound parabolic body shape, or wherein convex sidewall has a parabolic shape.
Zhao shows this shape is well known in the art to light trapping: wherein the convex sidewall has a compound parabolic body shape, or wherein convex sidewall has a parabolic shape (see para.[0005]: common compound parabolic concentrator (CPC) (FIG. 4) ).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array of Tseng with the teaching of Zhao so that the convex sidewall has a compound parabolic body shape, wherein convex sidewall has a parabolic shape to facilitate the absorption of light.
Claims 17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (United States Patent Application Publication 20120073641 A1) in view of Todd (United States Patent Application Publication 201200865 A1).
With respect to claims 17 and 22, Tseng discloses the absorption-based optical device of claims 1 and 20, but does not disclose further comprising a filter to limit the absorption to a specific spectrum or wavelength of light.
Todd discloses further comprising an anti-reflection coating or a filter to limit the absorption to a specific spectrum or wavelength of light ( see para.[0030]:such as UV filters, anti-reflective layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tseng with the teaching of Todd so that the array further comprises an anti-reflection coating or a filter to limit the absorption to a specific spectrum or wavelength of light to enhance light capture or to enhance the durability of the photovoltaic cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15, 17 and 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882