DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application Number: 16/992,843 filed on 8/13/20 has a total of 14 claims pending for examination; there are 2 independent claims and 12 dependent claims, of which only claims 6-8 and 10-14 are examined below.
Drawings
The drawing(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81 to 1.85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP3640183A1 to Hitachi (hereinafter Hitachi).
With regards to claim 6, Hitachi teaches a ladder apparatus [figs 1-8] comprising:
a pair of stiles between which rungs are supported [fig 1 element 16 shows a pit ladder having two stiles supporting plural rungs];
a lockout mechanism [fig 3B elements, and elements 33, 33a, fig 8 elements 34] disposed in an elevator pit [figs 1, 8 element 82] distinct from an elevator control panel [fig 8 element 92] disposed in a machine control room [fig 8 element 83] external to the elevator pit [figs 1, 8 element 82] and configured to compel a machine [fig 8 elements 85, 88, 89, 90, 91] into a non-operational state [not allowing element 85 and corresponding connected elements to operate - paragraphs 25, 36, 38, 41] from an operational state [allowing element 85 and corresponding connected elements to operate - paragraphs 18, 26, 30. 41], the lockout mechanism [fig 3B elements, and elements 33, 33a, fig 8 elements 34] configured to also compel the machine [fig 8 elements 85, 88, 89, 90, 91] into the non-operational state [not allowing element 85 and corresponding connected elements to operate] in response to a user engaging with the ladder apparatus such that the machine [fig 8 elements 85, 88, 89, 90, 91] is excluded from the operational state [paragraphs 18, 26, 30. 41]; and
a reset circuit [fig 3A elements 33, 33a, fig 8 elements 34, 92] configured to compel, in response to activation thereof, the machine [fig 8 elements 85, 88, 89, 90, 91] into the operational state [allowing element 85 and corresponding connected elements to operate] from the non-operational state [paragraphs 25, 36, 38, 41].
With regards to claim 12, Hitachi teaches the ladder apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a support frame [figs 1, 3A, 3B elements 12, 14, 20, 30] relatively translatable with respect to the stiles [fig 1 element 16 has stiles], the stiles being upwardly biased [element 19 – paragraphs 22] and mechanically coupled to a switch [figs 3A, 3B elements 33, 33a] that is engaged against the support frame [figs 1, 3A, 3B elements 12, 14, 20, 30] when the stiles have moved downwardly against the bias [element 19 – paragraphs 22] to meet a distance criterion, and an electrical protective device mechanism includes a weight-activated electrical protective device that compels the machine [fig 8 elements 85, 88, 89, 90, 91] into the non-operational state [not allowing element 85 and corresponding connected elements to operate] in response to relative motion between the stiles and the support frame meets the distance criterion [paragraphs 18, 26, 30. 41].
With regards to claim 14, Hitachi teaches the ladder apparatus of claim 6, wherein the machine is an elevator [fig 8 elements 85, 88, 89, 90, 91].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3640183A1 to Hitachi (hereinafter Hitachi) in view of US Patent No. 10,214,962 to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20200207574 to Hosemann et al. (hereinafter Hosemann).
With regards to claim 7, Hitachi teaches all of the above but is silent as to a cover that in a closed configuration prohibits access to the rungs and in an open configuration allows access to the rungs, and an electrical protective device mechanism including a cover electrical protective device that compels the machine into the non-operational state in response to the cover transitioning from the closed configuration to the open configuration, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
However, Lin teaches a ladder having a cover that in a closed configuration prohibits access to the rungs [Lin figs 1, 10] and in an open configuration allows access to the rungs [Lin figs 4, 10] for the benefit of preventing unauthorized access of an unsafe area to individuals [Lin abstract, column 1 lines 42-50].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hitachi and Lin to have the ladder apparatus have a cover that in a closed configuration prohibits access to the rungs [Lin figs 1, 10] and in an open configuration allows access to the rungs [Lin figs 4, 10] for the benefit of preventing unauthorized access of an unsafe area to individuals [Lin abstract, column 1 lines 42-50].
Furthermore, Hosemann teaches a cover electrical protective device [Hosemann elements 26, 28 paragraphs 28, 32, 56, 88] that compels (a) the machine [Hosemann element 10] into the non-operational state in response to the cover transitioning from the closed configuration to the open configuration [Hosemann paragraphs 9, 13, 56, 88], for the benefit of ensuring the safety of the elevator [Hosemann paragraphs 9, 13, 56].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hitachi, Lin and Hosemann to further have a cover electrical protective device [Hosemann elements 26, 28 paragraphs 28, 32, 56, 88] that compels (a) the machine [Hosemann element 10] into the non-operational state in response to the cover transitioning from the closed configuration to the open configuration [Hosemann paragraphs 9, 13, 56, 88], for the benefit of ensuring the safety of the elevator [Hosemann paragraphs 9, 13, 56].
With regards to claim 8, the combination of Hitachi, Lin and Hosemann teaches wherein the cover [Lin figs 1, 4 element 2 made up of elements 20, 25] comprises an inclined flap formed of an upper section thereof [Lin figs 1, 4 element 25] so as to fold over an uppermost one of the rungs when the cover is in the closed configuration [figs 1, 4 as shown] for the benefit of preventing unauthorized access of an unsafe area to individuals [Lin abstract, column 1 lines 42-50].
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3640183A1 to Hitachi (hereinafter Hitachi) in view of JP2011230920A to Uchida (hereinafter Uchida) – see attached translation .
With regards to claim 10, Hitachi teaches all of the above but is silent as to the ladder apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a pressure sensitive region disposed on at least one of the rungs, and an electrical protective device mechanism includes a rung electrical protective device that compels the machine into the non-operational state in response to pressure being applied to the pressure sensitive region that meets a pressure criterion.
However, Uchida teaches a pressure sensitive region [Uchida fig 10 element 31] disposed on at least one of the rungs [Uchida fig 10 element 34], and an electrical protective device mechanism includes a rung electrical protective device [Uchida fig 10 element 31 and signal sent to control panel] that compels (a) the machine [hoisting machine (elevator)] into (a) the non-operational state in response to pressure being applied to the pressure sensitive region that meets a pressure criterion [Uchida specification final 4 paragraphs directed to figure 10 just before “REFERENCE SIGNS LIST” section] for the benefit of preserving the safety of an elevator maintenance worker working in an elevator pit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hitachi and Uchida to have a pressure sensitive region [Uchida fig 10 element 31] disposed on at least one of the rungs [Uchida fig 10 element 34], and an electrical protective device mechanism includes a rung electrical protective device [Uchida fig 10 element 31 and signal sent to control panel] that compels the machine [hoisting machine (elevator)] into the non-operational state in response to pressure being applied to the pressure sensitive region that meets a pressure criterion [Uchida specification final 4 paragraphs directed to figure 10 just before “REFERENCE SIGNS LIST” section] for the benefit of preserving the safety of an elevator maintenance worker working in an elevator pit.
With regards to claim 11, the combination of Hitachi and Uchida is silent as to the ladder apparatus of claim 10, wherein the pressure criterion is a threshold of five (5) pounds of pressure
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pressure criterion be a threshold of five (5) pounds of pressure to make sure the pressure criterion used is sufficient to detect the force provided by a maintenance worker and not by something else that could provide a false reading and inadvertently stop the machinery.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3640183A1 to Hitachi (hereinafter Hitachi).
With regards to claim 13 Hitachi and Uchida is silent as to the ladder apparatus of claim 12, wherein the distance criterion is four (4) inches.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the distance criterion be four (4) inches to make sure the distance criterion used is sufficient to detect the force provided by a maintenance worker and not by something else that could provide a false reading and inadvertently stop the machinery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to Applicant’s arguments directed to claim 6, that the Hitachi reference fails to teach the newly added limitations to the claim, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown above, Hitachi’s lockout mechanism [fig 3B elements, and elements 33, 33a, fig 8 elements 34] is shown in figures 1, 3A and 3B to be disposed within element 82 which is an elevator pit. Figure 8 then shows elevator pit element 82 being external to a machine control room element 83. Figure 8 also shows a (physical) structural floor at the bottom of said machine control room element 83 that acts as the (physical) structural ceiling of the elevator shaft and elevator pit element 82 and thus the machine room and elevator pit being external to each other since they are separated by a physical barrier. Furthermore, the lockout mechanism [fig 3B elements, and elements 33, 33a, fig 8 elements 34] is engaged or disengaged based on an operator/user engaging the ladder apparatus. Otherwise the lockout mechanism wouldn’t operate at all if it wasn’t for the operator/user engaging said ladder apparatus. The weight of the operator/user is what makes the lockout mechanism [fig 3B elements, and elements 33, 33a, fig 8 elements 34] operate between modes. See Hitachi paragraphs 18, 25-26, 30, 36, 38, 41.
Due to the above, claims 6-7 and 10-14 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEM
/DAVID E MARTINEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634