DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 12/01/2025.
Claims 1, 5-9, 13-17, 20-21 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 17, have been amended.
No new claim has been added and claims 2-4, 10-12, 18-19 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filled on 12/01/2025 with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See PARK0713 et al. ( US 20180270713 A1).
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551,32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994) The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No., CN201810152183.7, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The priority document explicitly or implicitly disclose claim limitations as required by all independent claims. Therefore, the effective filing date of the application has been deemed to be the filing date, 02/14/2019, of the instant application.
Per MPEP §2152.06 “(C). Submitting a claim to priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a) - (d) within the time period set in 37 CFR 1.55 by identifying a prior foreign application in a corrected application data sheet under 37 CFR 1.76 and by establishing that the prior foreign application satisfies the enablement and written description requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or filing a grantable petition to accept a delayed priority claim under 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP §§ 213 - 216. The foreign priority filing date must antedate the reference and be perfected. The filing date of the priority document is not perfected unless applicant has filed a certified priority document in the application (and an English language translation, if the document is not in English) (see 37 CFR 1.55(g))”. The applicant must show that the Applicant has all the support for the claim languages in all the prior documents.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 15, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Specifically,
Claim 13 line 1: recite “The apparatus according to claim 12” but claim 12 has been canceled in the latest claim sets dated 12/01/2025. So which claim does this claim 13 depend on?
Claim 15 line 1: recite “The apparatus according to claim 12” but claim 12 has been canceled in the latest claim sets dated 12/01/2025. So which claim does this claim 15 depend on?
Claim 20 line 1: recite “The apparatus according to claim 19” but claim 19 has been canceled in the latest claim sets dated 12/01/2025. So which claim does this claim 19 depend on?
Appropriate action required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5-9, 13-17, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20200154498 A1; hereinafter as “WANG ) in view of PARK0713 et al. (US 20180270713 A1; hereinafter as “PARK0713” which has priority date March 17, 2017 ).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to WANG unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 9, WANG teaches An apparatus, of a control plane (see fig. 5-fig. 6: Control Plane Functional Unit; central unit (CU) with control plane CU-CP and user plane CU-UP : [0117]; also see fig. 8: SN-CP: secondary Node control plane ), comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor , in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions to perform (see fig. 18 where processor and memory are interconnected with computer code running on them : : [0424]—0431]) the following steps:
sending, to a user plane node (==SN-UP secondary Node User Plane ), first indication information indicating at least one of a plurality of user plane nodes has a master-cell resource configuration or a secondary-cell resource configuration ( see fig. 8 element 802 where SN-CP (==control plan in claim ) sends to SN-UP Resource Setup Request Message (==first indication information in claim ). Step 802: The SN-CP transmits a resource setup request message to an SN-UP.”: [0185]; “transmitting, by the SN-CP, a first resource setup request message to an SN-UP according to the first SN setup request message; ”: [0034]; Aforesaid Resource Setup Request Message “ includes at least one of the following: an identifier of a cell in which a bearer is to be established (==master-cell resource configuration or secondary-cell resource configuration in claim ); an identifier corresponding to a UE for which a resource is to be established or modified; an identifier of a bearer or an identifier of a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) stack; encrypted information and configuration information of the PDCP; an address for receiving uplink (UL) data; an address for receiving downlink (DL) data; the type of a first bearer; and PDCP operation indication information ”: [0080]; [0172]);
receiving, from the user plane node (==SN-UP in fig. 8), a first message (==Resource Setup Response Message) comprising an uplink tunnel endpoint of a first interface, an uplink tunnel endpoint of a second interface, and a downlink tunnel endpoint of a third interface ( fig. 8 element 804, “receiving, by the SN-CP, a first resource setup response message transmitted by the SN-UP; ”: [0035]; [0043], [0172; aforesaid “ SN setup request message contains an identifier of a data bearer, and a transport layer address for receiving uplink data and a Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID) of the data bearer in the core network.”: [0123]; Tunnel Information includes Uplink and Downlink TEID information: [0147]),
the first interface is an interface between the user plane node (==see fig. 8 element SN-UP) and a second network node (==MN; interface between SP-UP and MN in Fig. 8) ,
the second interface is an interface between the user plane node (==see fig. 8 element SN-UP) and a third network node (==UE) (interface between SN-UP and UE ), and
the third interface is an interface between the user plane node (==see fig. 8 element SN-UP) and a core network node (CN: or SN-DU: “The CU can be further divided into a control plane functional entity (referred to as a CU-CP or a CP hereinafter) and a user plane functional entity (referred to as a CU-UP or a UP). The CP and the UP can be individual physical entities, and there is an open interface between the physical entities. ”: [0076]; “ The SN setup request message contains an identifier of a data bearer, and a transport layer address for receiving uplink data and a Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID) of the data bearer in the core network. This message further carries the capability information of a UE, and/or the type of connection determined by the MN. The type of dual-connection established on the SN can include a split bearer, an SCG bearer, a SCG split bearer and/or an MCG split signaling”: [0123]);
sending, to the second network node (==MN; interface between SP-UP and MN in Fig. 8) , a second message comprising the uplink tunnel endpoint of the first interface (see fig. 8 where SN-CP sends SN Setup Response to MN in fig. 8 element 8 where it includes TEID Information : “Step 806: The CP transmits an SN setup response message to the MN. ”: [0211] ; “ Step 807: The CP transmits a resource modification request message to the UP. By using this message in this step, the UP is notified that it can begin to transmit data. It is also possible that there is no corresponding response message. Or, the uplink data transmission of the UP is activated by a user plane. For example, the DU transmits a data packet to the UP, and the data packet contains the address for receiving downlink data allocated by the DU. Upon receiving the data packet, the UP can begin to transmit downlink data to the DU. ”: 0212])
sending, to the third network node (==UE), a third message comprising the uplink tunnel endpoint of the second interface and the downlink tunnel endpoint of the third interface (see fig. 8 element 806, element 809 combined, first message, SN-CP Sends RRC reconfiguration Request Message to UE via MN : “ Step 806: The CP transmits an SN setup response message to the MN: [0211]; “ .
[0221] Step 809: An MN transmits an RRC reconfiguration request to the UE, where this message contains configuration parameters of radio resources for the UE from the SN. ”: [0219]-[0211]; “The SN setup request message contains an identifier of a data bearer, and a transport layer address for receiving uplink data and a Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID) of the data bearer in the core network.”[0123]; “The SN setup request message contains an identifier of the bearer, and a receiving IP address and a TEID of the bearer in a core network gateway. : ”[0176]).
WANG does not expressively disclose:
sending, to the user plane node, a data forwarding instruction that instructs the user plane node to assign an uplink data forwarding address and a downlink data forwarding address for data forwarding;
receiving, from the second network node, a fourth message comprising the downlink tunnel endpoint of the first interface; and
sending, to the user plane node, a fifth message comprising at least one of the downlink tunnel endpoint of the second interface, or the uplink tunnel endpoint of the third interface.
PARK0713, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
sending, to the user plane node (==User Plane ), a data forwarding instruction that instructs the user plane node to assign an uplink data forwarding address and a downlink data forwarding address for data forwarding (Core Network entry or control plane establish connection with user plane; Afore Core Network entry update/instructs user plane with downlink tunnel endpoint identifier for one or more bearers for the wireless device between a user plane and core network entry : [0145]; user plane is given uplink classifier to support routing traffic flow to data network, QOS : [0052]);
receiving, from the second network node , a fourth message comprising the downlink tunnel endpoint of the first interface ( “ A third base station may receive a response from the wireless device for the core network paging procedure, and the third base station may send a tunnel endpoint identifier (e.g. IP address) of the third base station to the first base station, for example, via the core network entity. The first base station may transmit the packets received from the user plane core network entity to the third base station based on the tunnel endpoint identifier.”: [0170]); and
sending, to the user plane node (==), a fifth message comprising at least one of the downlink tunnel endpoint of the second interface, or the uplink tunnel endpoint of the third interface ( “ the third base station may transmit a tunnel endpoint identifier (e.g. tunnel identifier) of a tunnel for data forwarding to the second core network entity. The data forwarding may comprise transmitting the one or more packets from the first base station to the third base station. The tunnel endpoint identifier may comprise an IP address of the third base station. The tunnel may comprise a logical IP tunneling between the first base station and the third base station. The transmitting of the tunnel endpoint identifier may be based on the indication parameter (of the one or more core network paging messages) indicating that an anchor base station (e.g. the first base station) has a UE context of the wireless device.”: [0178]; “ the tunnel endpoint identifier of the first base station may be an IP address of the first base station, and the tunnel endpoint identifier of the user plane core network entity may be an IP address of the user plane core network entity”:[0198]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of WANG to include above cited limitation taught by PARK0713. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency of a wireless network ( PARK0713: [0145]).
Regarding claim 1, WANG teaches A method for communications performed by a control plane node, comprising: sending, to a user plane node, first indication information indicating at least one of a plurality of user plane nodes has a master-cell resource configuration or a secondary-cell resource configuration; receiving, from the user plane node, a first message comprising an uplink tunnel endpoint of a first interface, an uplink tunnel endpoint of a second interface, and a downlink tunnel endpoint of a third interface, the first interface is an interface between the user plane node and a second network node, the second interface is an interface between the user plane node and a third network node, and the third interface is an interface between the user plane node and a core network node; sending, to the second network node, a second message comprising the uplink tunnel endpoint of the first interface; sending, to the third network node, a third message comprising the uplink tunnel endpoint of the second interface and the downlink tunnel endpoint of the third interface; sending, to the user plane node, a data forwarding instruction that instructs the user plane node to assign an uplink data forwarding address and a downlink data forwarding address for data forwarding; receiving, from the second network node, a fourth message comprising the downlink tunnel endpoint of the first interface; and sending, to the user plane node, a fifth message comprising at least one of the downlink tunnel endpoint of the second interface, or the uplink tunnel endpoint of the third interface. (this claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9).
Regarding claim 17, WANG teaches A non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions that configure at least one processor, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps: sending, to a user plane node, first indication information indicating at least one of a plurality of user plane nodes has a master-cell resource configuration or a secondary-cell resource configuration; receiving, from the user plane node, a first message comprising an uplink tunnel endpoint of a first interface, an uplink tunnel endpoint of a second interface, and a downlink tunnel endpoint of a third interface, the first interface is an interface between the user plane node and a second network node, the second interface is an interface between the user plane node and a third network node, and the third interface is an interface between the user plane node and a core network node; sending, to the second network node, a second message comprising the uplink tunnel endpoint of the first interface; sending, to the third network node, a third message comprising the uplink tunnel endpoint of the second interface and the downlink tunnel endpoint of the third interface; sending, to the user plane node, a data forwarding instruction that instructs the user plane node to assign an uplink data forwarding address and a downlink data forwarding address for data forwarding; receiving, from the second network node, a fourth message comprising the downlink tunnel endpoint of the first interface; and sending, to the user plane node, a fifth message comprising at least one of the downlink tunnel endpoint of the second interface, or the uplink tunnel endpoint of the third interface (Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 5, WANG in view of PARK0713 teach claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, WANG teaches, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the user plane node, the uplink data forwarding address and the downlink data forwarding address (received uplink forwarding address and downlink forwarding address (“ Optionally, the first request message further includes channel information of the first user plane channel, and the channel information includes at least one of encryption information, scenario indication information, or quality of service information. The encryption information may be an encryption key, an encryption algorithm, or the like, and is used to indicate an encryption manner of the first user plane channel, so that the control plane network element can decrypt a received data packet based on a corresponding decryption manner. The scenario indication information is used to indicate that the first user plane channel is used for buffering, lawful interception, IP address assignment of the target user equipment, forwarding of related data of the target user equipment based on Policy and Charging Control (PCC)/Application Data Center (ADC), and the like. The quality of service information may include a QCI, an Allocation and Retention Priority (ARP), a maximum bit rate (MBR), an aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), a guaranteed bit rate (GBR), and the like.”: [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, WANG in view of PARK0713 teach claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, WANG teaches, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: Assigning an uplink data forwarding address and a downlink data forwarding address for data forwarding, and sending the uplink data forwarding address and the downlink data forwarding address to the user plane node: ( [0066]).
Regarding claim 7, WANG in view of PARK0713 teach claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, WANG teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink data forwarding address and the downlink data forwarding address are dedicated to a bearer or QoS flow ( {0049]).
Regarding claim 8, WANG in view of PARK0713 teach claim 1 as shown above. Furthermore, WANG teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the control plane node comprises at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) protocol layer function, a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer function, or a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer function; and the second network node comprises at least one of a radio link control (RLC) protocol layer function, a media access control (MAC) layer function, or a physical (PHY) layer function ( “ In a possible implementation, the control plane network element obtains a state of the target user equipment by using an MME, namely, learns whether the target user equipment is in an idle mode or in a connected mode. It may be understood that in the idle mode, a radio resource control (RRC) connection between the user equipment and a base station is in a disconnected mode, namely, no data transmission is performed between the user equipment and the base station. In the connected mode, the RRC connection between the user equipment and the base station is in the connected mode, namely, data transmission is performed between the user equipment and the base station. It may be considered that the user equipment in a power saving mode or an airplane mode is in the idle mode. The MME may detect in real time an operating status of the target user equipment. Once the target user equipment enters the idle mode, the MME sends an indication message to the control plane network element, to indicate that the target user equipment is in the idle mode. When receiving the indication message that is sent by the MME and that indicates that the target user equipment is in the idle mode, the control plane network element may determine that a connection between the target user equipment and an access network is disconnected, and the first user plane channel needs to be established for data packet buffering. Therefore, when determining that the target user equipment is in the idle mode, the control plane network element sends the first request message to the user plane network element.”: [0064]).
Regarding claims 13 and 20: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claims 14 and 21: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411 /DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411