DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received 10/14/2026. Claims 1 and 9 are amended. Claims 1, 3, and 5-9 are currently pending. Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from prosecution as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 3, and 9 are examined herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's elected Group II – claims 1-7 with traverse in the reply filed 12/20/2022. Claims 5-8 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/20/22. The restriction requirement mailed 09/22/2022 is still deemed proper, as detailed in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 3/2/2023.
Applicant's elected species Psoriasis in claim 3, Cathepsin G in claims 4 and 7, and Cathepsin G inhibitor I in claim 5 without traverse in the reply filed 12/20/2022.
The non-elected species in claim 3 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/20/22.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 part a) recites the limitation: “a peptide consisting of 3 to 8 consecutive amino acids, wherein the 3 to 8 consecutive amino acids comprise: Glu-Pro-Phe (EPF), Ala-Phe-Leu-Phe (AFLF) (SEQ ID NO:7), Lys-Ala-Leu (KAL), Phe-Leu-Phe-CMK (FLF-CMK), Glu-Pro-Phe-CMK (EPF-CMK), or Ala-Phe-Leu-Phe-CMK (AFLF (SEQ ID NO:7)-CMK). It is unclear if the phrase “consisting of” limits only the number of amino acids required by the peptide such that it only consists of between 3 and 8 consecutive amino acids, but also allows chemical modifications or it also limits the peptide to amino acids with no chemical modifications. If the peptide can also be a derivative comprising or consisting of chemical modifications, the claim language should reflect that. Claim 1 part b), claim 9 part a) and claim 9 part b) are objected to for similar reasons. Appropriate correction is required.
Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
For the purposes of compact prosecution, claim 1 part a), 1 part b), 9 part a), and 9 part b) are being interpreted to limit the number and sequence of the amino acids listed while allowing the -CMK group where listed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - withdrawn
Rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claims filed 10/14/2026 to limit part b) to 3 amino acids.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - withdrawn
Rejection of claims 1, 3, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US20140348859A1; published November 27, 2014, priority to January 10, 2013) in withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claims filed 10/14/2026 adding “-CMK” to “FLF” in part a) of claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – new necessitated by amendment
Claims 1, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US20140348859A1; published November 27, 2014, priority to January 10, 2013), in view of Cooley et al. (The serpin MNEI inhibits elastase-like and chymotrypsin-like serine proteases through efficient reactions at two active sites. Biochemistry, 40(51), 15762-15770; published 11/30/2001; cited in the 892) and Powers et al. (published 11/8/2002 Cite No. 35 in the IDS filed 9/1/2023). This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment of claims 1 and 9 to add “-CMK” to FLF in part a) and to limit the length of the peptide in part b) from “3 to 7” to “3” consecutive amino acids.
Kim’s disclosure is directed to generating and using recombinant constructs of alpha-1 antitrypsin (AAT) having superior properties to commercially available AAT compositions for therapeutic uses (see entire document). Kim further teaches that recombinant AAT constructs can be isolated for use for any AAT-related activity, for example, as an anti-inflammatory agent, an immune modulator and/or a serine protease inhibitor (see abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Kim teaches a method of treatment for inflammatory skin disorders in a subject in need thereof comprising administering an effective amount of the serine protease inhibitor alpha-1 antitrypsin (AAT) (see abstract and paras 0004-0005 and 0063-0064). Kim teaches that the serine protease inhibitor AAT can comprise fragments and subfragments as small as “about 5 AAs”, which encompasses lengths of 4 amino acids and 6 amino acids (see para 0005, claim 1). Kim teaches treatments including the pentapeptides of AAT comprising the 3 consecutive amino acids of Phe-Leu-Phe (FLF) (see paras 0096 and 0099-0105; SEQ ID NOs: 8-11 and 15-16).
However, Kim does not specifically teach the peptide consisting of only 3 amino acids or comprising a CMK group.
Cooley’s disclosure is directed to inhibitors of serine protease, including elastase, (entire document). Cooley teaches that MNEI (monocyte/neutrophil elastase inhibitor) plays a regulatory role at extravascular sites to limit inflammatory damage due to proteases of cellular origin (see abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Cooley teaches the tripeptide Suc-Phe-Leu-Phe-SBzl (Suc-FLF-SBzl), which teaches part a) of claims 1 and 9 as a substrate to measure protease inhibition activity and teaches that the tripeptide was the most sensitive (see p. 15763-15734; Table 1).
Powers’ disclosure is directed to a review of irreversible inhibitors of serine, cysteine, and threonine proteases (entire document). Powers teaches the importance of proteases in various disease states including inflammation (abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Powers teaches protease inhibitor design and that chloromethyl ketone (CMK) derivatives can be used as irreversible inhibitors of serine and cysteine proteases (pp. 4644-4547; Table 2). Powers further teaches that the CMK derivatives are widely used in vivo and in animals (p. 4648).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim’s tetrapeptide protease inhibitor with the tripeptide Suc-FLF-SBzl taught in Cooley because it would have amounted to a simple substitution of known small peptide inhibitors to obtain predictable results of inhibiting protease activity. One would have been motivated to use the tripeptide Suc-FLF-SBzl because Cooley shows that is the most sensitive of several peptides tested. It would have been further obvious to have modified the Suc-FLF-SBzl peptide to substitute the chemical groups with a CMK group as taught in Powers to because Powers teaches that the peptidyl CMK derivatives are irreversibly serine and peptide inhibitors and are widely used in vivo and in animals, making them suitable for treating a subject (p. 4648). One would have been motivated to optimize the treatment of an inflammatory disease in a subject with protease inhibitor short peptides. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Kim, Cooley, and Powers are directed to inhibitors of proteases and peptide derivatives. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches AAT therapy for treatment of plaque psoriasis, guttate psoriasis pustular psoriasis, erythrodermic psoriasis, inverse psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, lichen planus, Bullous pemphigoid, dermatomyositis, and dermatitis (see paras 0063-0064).
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments, pages 2-7, are directed towards the 102 rejection of record over now amended claims 1 and 9. A new 103 rejection necessitated by amendment is detailed above. Therefore, the arguments are moot and will not be addressed.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHALEDA B HASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/BRIAN WHITEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636